دعاوى التعرض للإصابة PFAS | 30 مليار دولار في التسويات والأحكام

تزعم الدعاوى القضائية المتعلقة بالمواد المشبعة بالفلورو ألكيل والبولي فلورو ألكيل (PFAS) أن المصنعين قد أطلقوا هذه المواد الكيميائية السامة في إمدادات المياه ، مما تسبب في إصابة الأفراد بالسرطان وأمراض خطيرة أخرى. تم استخدام PFAS على نطاق واسع في الولايات المتحدة منذ الأربعينيات. هذه المواد الكيميائية السامة لا تتحلل أو تخفف أو تتحلل - مما يجعلها تحمل اسم "المواد الكيميائية إلى الأبد" - لذلك ليس من المفاجئ أنها موجودة في كل مكان تقريبًا.

يستخدم المصنعون هذه المواد التي من صنع الإنسان لصنع مجموعة واسعة من المنتجات الاستهلاكية ، بما في ذلك أدوات الطهي ، ورغوة مكافحة الحرائق ، والسجاد ، والتعبئة والتغليف ، وفي النهاية تجد المواد الكيميائية طريقها إلى الماء والتربة والهواء ، مما يعرض الملايين لآثارها المسببة للسرطان.

تمثل شركة المحاماة الخاصة بنا الأفراد الذين تعرضوا لـ PFAS وأصيبوا بالسرطان وأمراض أخرى من هذا التعرض.

نحن نحارب الشركات الكبيرة المهملة منذ عام 1955. تتمتع شركتنا بسجل حافل من تحقيق النتائج ، حيث حققت أحكامًا وتسويات بلغ مجموعها أكثر من 30 مليار دولار. سيعمل محامونا على الحصول على تعويض لك عن تعرضك لـ PFAS والإصابات.

الشكل 1 هذه الصورة موجودة كخريطة تفاعلية على موقع مجموعة العمل البيئي. توثق الخريطة تلوث PFAS في أنظمة المياه العامة والخاصة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، والذي يستمر في النمو "بمعدل ينذر بالخطر". مصدر: مجموعة العمل البيئي

 

تحديثات الدعاوى القضائية الخاصة بشركة PFAS

31 أكتوبر 2022

رفضت قاضية المقاطعة الأمريكية إيفلين بادين محاولة شركة 3M تجنب دعوى قضائية أقامتها شركة Middlesex Water. تدعي شركة المياه أن التكتل متعدد الجنسيات أطلق مواد كيميائية سامة إلى الأبد في إمدادات مياه الشرب. وأكدت شركة 3M أن شركة المرافق لم تتمكن من إثبات التلوث الناتج عن عمليات التصنيع أو التوزيع الخاصة بالشركة. وقف القاضي مع شركة Middlesex Water ، وما زالت القضية قيد النظر. (Casetext)

16 سبتمبر 2022

انتصر المدعون في حركة 3M لحكم موجز في التقاضي متعدد المقاطعات (AFFF) في الرغاوي المكونة للأفلام المائية (في إعادة إنتاج الرغاوي المائية المكونة للأغشية. لياب. Litig.DSC ، رقم 2: 18 دقيقة 02873). جادل المدعى عليه بأنه محصن من المسؤولية عن الأضرار المزعومة لأن الشركة طورت رغوة للبحرية الأمريكية ، مما يحد من مسؤوليتها بموجب دفاع مقاول حكومي. رفض القاضي ريتشارد إم جيرجيل محاولة شركة 3M للحصول على الحصانة ، مشيرًا إلى وجود قضايا واقعية فيما يتعلق بمعرفة الحكومة بالمخاطر المرتبطة بقسم الشؤون المالية والاقتصادية. وأشار القاضي إلى السجلات التي كشفت أن الحكومة لم تكن على علم بوجود PFAS في AFFF حتى عام 2000. علاوة على ذلك ، فشلت 3M في الكشف عن أكثر من 1,000 دراسة داخلية حول سمية PFAS ووجودها في AFFF. (قانون بلومبرج)

 

من يمكنه رفع دعوى قضائية من PFAS؟

إذا كنت مصابًا أو أصبت بأمراض معينة بسبب تعرضك لـ PFAS ، فأنت مؤهل لرفع دعوى قضائية لـ PFAS والمطالبة بتعويض عن خسائرك.

حاليًا ، يمثل محامونا العملاء الذين:

  1. حصل على تشخيص (منذ 2000)
  2. سرطان الخصية
  3. سرطان الكلى
  4. التهاب القولون التقرحي
  5. شربت من إمدادات المياه الملوثة من عام 1990 حتى الوقت الحاضر لمدة ستة أشهر تراكمية على الأقل

تم العثور على PFAS في المياه في المناطق التالية:

  1. ألاباما
  2. كاليفورنيا (سان خوسيه أو شرق لوس أنجلوس أو فريسنو)
  3. كولورادو (كولورادو سبرينغز أو دنفر)
  4. فلوريدا (بينساكولا أو ستيوارت أو ميامي)
  5. ماساتشوستس (آير)
  6. نيو هامبشاير (بورتسموث)
  7. نيو جيرسي
  8. نيويورك (هامبتون بايز)
  9. كارولينا الشمالية (ميسفيل)
  10. أوهايو (دايتون)
  11. بنسلفانيا (وارمينستر أو وارينجتون)
 

كم ستحصل في تسوية PFAS؟

يعتمد المبلغ الذي يمكنك استرداده في مطالبة PFAS على نوع وشدة السرطان أو المرض الناجم عن PFAS. تتضمن بعض الأضرار القابلة للاسترداد التي قد يطلبها محامونا نيابة عنك ما يلي:

  1. التكاليف الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية
  2. الأجور المفقودة في الماضي والمستقبل
  3. الآلام والمعاناة في الماضي والمستقبل ، سواء النفسية والجسدية
  4. الأضرار العقابية المحتملة

إذا فقدت أحد أفراد أسرتك بسبب مرض أو مرض أصيبوا به من التعرض لـ PFAS ، فقد تكون مؤهلاً لمتابعة دعوى وفاة غير مشروعة. سيعمل محامو الموت غير الشرعيين لدينا بتعاطف لمساعدتك خلال هذه العملية.

 

ما هي دعاوى الدعوى الجماعية PFAS حول؟

النوعان الأكثر شيوعًا من مواد per-fluoroalkyl و poly-fluoroalkyl هما سلفونات البيرفلوروكتان ("PFOS") وحمض البيرفلورو أوكتانويك ("PFOA"). تتراكم هذه المواد الكيميائية المسببة للسرطان إلى الأبد وتستمر في البيئة مما يؤدي إلى عدد متزايد من الدعاوى القضائية على مدى السنوات العديدة الماضية. تأمل الأمثلة التالية:

  1. رفعت البلديات دعاوى قضائية ضد تلوث المياه PFAS ضد مصنعي المواد الكيميائية والشركات الصناعية لتلويث أنظمة المياه في جميع أنحاء البلاد.
  2. اعتبارًا من 1 سبتمبر 2022 ، تم رفع أكثر من 3,000 حالة تزعم حدوث إصابة بسبب تعرض PFAS من تلوث المياه الجوفية بالرغوة المكونة للغشاء المائي (AFFF) ، والمعروفة باسم "رغوة مكافحة الحرائق". AFFF هو المساهم الأكثر غزارة في تلوث PFAS.
  3. في عام 2022 ، تم تسمية ماكدونالدز في دعوى قضائية جماعية للمستهلكين لبيع المواد الغذائية في عبوات تحتوي على PFAS.
  4. تم رفع العديد من الدعاوى القضائية من قبل الأفراد الذين عانوا من التعرض لمياه الشرب الملوثة بـ PFAS ، مما تسبب في إصابتهم بالسرطان ومشاكل صحية خطيرة أخرى.

تعتمد أهلية رفع دعوى قضائية تتعلق بشركة PFAS على قدرتك على إثبات التعرض. إذا تلقيت إشعارًا بأنه تم اكتشاف PFAS في مياه الشرب الخاصة بك ، فاتصل بنا اليوم على (800) 277-1193 . سيرشدك فريقنا القانوني خلال الخطوات التالية.

 

يمكن أن تكون مكشوفًا بطرق عديدة

لسوء الحظ ، فإن التاريخ الطويل لاستخدام PFAS في تصنيع العديد من المنتجات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع طبيعة المادة الكيميائية للاستمرار والتراكم ، يعني أن معظمنا عانى من التعرض. في الواقع ، تتواجد المواد الكيميائية في دماء 97٪ من الأمريكيين ، وفقًا لـ بيو للأبحاث.

مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها أفادت (CDC) أنه تم اكتشاف ما لا يقل عن 12 PFAS في مصل الدم منذ عام 1999. تم العثور على أربعة PFAS في مصل الدم لجميع الأشخاص تقريبًا الذين تم اختبارهم من خلال المسح الوطني لفحص الصحة والتغذية.

طرق التعرض لـ PFAS

وكالة حماية البيئة يحذر من أن تعرض الأشخاص للسلفونات المشبعة بالفلور (PFAS) يحدث عندما يستهلكون طعامًا أو ماءًا ملوثًا بالسلفونات المشبعة بالفلور أو عندما يستخدمون المنتجات المحتوية على PFAS ، بما في ذلك:

  1. مياه الشرب
  2. رغوة إطفاء
  3. المياه والتربة في مواقع النفايات الخطرة والمطامر ومواقع التخلص
  4. المرافق التي يتم فيها استخدام أو إنتاج PFAS
  5. الغذاء ، مثل الأسماك من المياه الملوثة بالسلفونات المشبعة بالفلور والألبان من الماشية المعرضة لـ PFAS
  6. تغليف المواد الغذائية ، مثل أغلفة وحاويات الوجبات السريعة ، وصناديق البيتزا ، وأكياس الفشار القابلة للتسخين في الميكروويف
  7. المنتجات المنزلية مثل بقع السجاد والمنتجات المقاومة للماء المستخدمة في السجاد والملابس والمفروشات ، وكذلك أدوات الطهي غير اللاصقة
  8. منتجات العناية الشخصية ، مثل مستحضرات التجميل والشامبو وخيط تنظيف الأسنان
  9. المواد الصلبة الحيوية ، مثل بعض الأسمدة من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

بعض المهن ، بما في ذلك مكافحة الحرائق وتصنيع أو معالجة المواد الكيميائية ، تتسبب أيضًا في زيادة التعرض للسلفونات المشبعة بالفلور (PFAS).

 

ما هي المخاطر الصحية لـ PFAS؟

وكالة للمواد السمية وسجل الأمراض أصدرت (ATSDR) بيانًا يعترف بالآثار التي قد يحدثها التعرض لمستويات عالية من PFAS على جهاز المناعة البشري. وبحسب الوكالة فإن أ البرنامج الوطني للسموم كشفت المراجعة أن PFAS قمع استجابة الجسم المضاد في كل من الحيوانات والبشر.

استكشفت مجموعة كبيرة من الدراسات النتائج المحتملة للتعرض للمواد البيروفلورو ألكيل والبولي فلورو ألكيل ، بما في ذلك:

  1. سرطان الكلى
  2. سرطان الخصية
  3. سرطان الكبد
  4. سرطان البروستاتا
  5. التهاب القولون التقرحي
  6. ارتفاع مستويات الكوليسترول
  7. انخفاض في أوزان المواليد
  8. تغييرات في إنزيمات الكبد
  9. زيادة خطر الإصابة بارتفاع ضغط الدم أو تسمم الحمل عند النساء الحوامل
 

يقدم مكتب المحاماة لدينا خبرة في PFAS والتقاضي البيئي

يجلب محامو PFAS لدينا مجموعة فريدة من الخبرة والمعرفة لهذه القضايا ، حيث أن مكتب المحاماة الخاص بنا كان يمثل بالفعل الدول والحكومات البلدية والكيانات الخاصة في استرداد التكاليف المرتبطة إزالة ومعالجة PFAS.

لدينا أيضًا خبرة واسعة وسجل حافل من النتائج مع الحالات البيئية:

  1. 2017: تسوية بقيمة 670 مليون دولار مع شركة دوبونت لتعويض 3,500 فرد أصيبوا بالمادة الكيميائية C8 ، والتي تم تصريفها في نهر أوهايو
  2. 2011: تم اختياره لرئاسة دعوى فيدرالية تتعلق بانسكاب نفط BP في خليج المكسيك - أكبر تسرب نفطي عرضي في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة
  3. 2007: حكم هيئة المحلفين بقيمة 380 مليون دولار لسكان ولاية فرجينيا الغربية في مجتمع ملوث بملوثات من مصنع دوبونت
  4. 2001: تسوية 70 مليون دولار مع Agrico و Conoco لتلويث مجرى مائي بينساكولا بفلوريدا

سيضع فريق PFAS القانوني لدينا هذه المعرفة والخبرة للعمل من أجلك.

 

كم يكلف رفع دعوى قضائية PFAS؟

تعمل شركة المحاماة لدينا على أساس رسوم الطوارئ. هذا يعني أننا نفرض رسومًا الرسوم والتكاليف القانونية فقط عندما وإذا استردنا الأضرار نيابة عنك. إذا لم نفز ، فلن تدفع.

نقدم لك أيضًا تقييمًا أوليًا للحالة بدون أي تكلفة عليك. هذه استشارة خاصة غير ملزمة.

 

هل هناك دليل علمي على أن PFAS ضار بالبشر؟

إن القول بأن هناك دليلًا على أن PFAS يضر بالبشر هو بخس. هذه عينة صغيرة.

آفاق الصحة البيئية: أضافت الدراسة التي أجريت في سبتمبر 2022 إلى مجموعة الأدلة بين التعرض لـ PFAS ومستويات الكوليسترول المرتفعة.

التعرض والصحة: في يوليو 2022 ، حدد الباحثون 5.52 مليار دولار في "عبء المرض السنوي والتكاليف الاجتماعية المرتبطة به" المرتبطة بالتعرض السنوي الحالي لـ PFAS طويل السلسلة.

وكالة حماية البيئة: في يونيو 2022 ، أصدرت وكالة حماية البيئة إرشادات بشأن مياه الشرب لـ PFAS. وحذرت الوكالة من أن البشر قد يعانون من آثار صحية سلبية من تركيزات PFAS في الماء التي تكون دقيقة للغاية بحيث لا يمكن اكتشافها. هذا يعني أن هذه المواد الكيميائية خطيرة في أي تركيز.

البرنامج الوطني لعلم السموم التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية بالولايات المتحدة و الوكالة الدولية لبحوث السرطان: في عام 2016 ، أصدرت هذه الوكالات تحليلاتها للآثار الضارة لـ PFAS. وفقًا لبرنامج NTP ، يُفترض أن كلا من PFOA و PFOS "يشكلان خطرًا مناعيًا على البشر". وخلصت الوكالة الدولية لبحوث السرطان إلى أن هناك "دليل" على "إمكانية الإصابة بالسرطان في. . . حمض بيرفلورو الأوكتانويك (PFOA) في البشر وحيوانات التجارب.

 

لديك وقت محدود لتقديم دعوى PFAS

تحدد قوانين التقادم الوقت المتاح لك من تاريخ إصابتك بمرض أو إصابة لرفع دعوى قضائية. تفرض كل ولاية قانون التقادم الصارم الخاص بها. إذا فاتك الموعد النهائي لرفع دعوى قضائية في قضيتك ، فقد يتم منعك إلى الأبد من استرداد الأضرار الناجمة عن السرطان الذي يسببه PFAS أو مرض آخر. تصرف الآن للحفاظ على حقوقك.

نحن شركة محاماة وطنية ، وسيفهم محامو PFAS قانون التقادم في ولايتك.

 

سندافع عن حقك في الاسترداد في دعوى قضائية مع شركة PFAS

لا يتراجع ليفين بابانتونيو رافيرتي عن الشركات الكبيرة. لدينا المعرفة والخبرة والشغف لمحاسبة الشركات التي لوثت الأرض والمياه والهواء بمواد كيميائية ضارة من PFAS - مع إعطاء الأولوية للربح على سلامة الأمريكيين وصحتهم ورفاههم

إذا أصبت بسرطان أو مرض آخر بعد تعرضك لـ PFAS ، فسنناضل من أجل حقك في التعويض.

اتصل اليوم للحصول على استشارتك المجانية: (800) 277-1193 .

PFAS Injury Exposure Lawsuits | $30 Billion in Settlements & Verdicts

Perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) lawsuits claim that manufacturers have released these toxic chemicals into water supplies, causing individuals to develop cancer and other serious illnesses. PFAS have been widely used in the U.S. since the 1940s. These toxic chemicals do not break down, dilute, or degrade—earning them the name “forever chemicals”-- so it comes as no surprise that they are virtually everywhere.

Manufacturers use these man-made substances to make a broad range of consumer products, including cookware, firefighting foam, carpet, and packaging, and the chemicals eventually find their way into water, soil, and air, exposing millions to their carcinogenic effects.

Our law firm is representing individuals who have been exposed to PFAS and have developed cancer and other illnesses from this exposure.

We have been fighting large, negligent corporations since 1955. Our firm has a strong track record of delivering results, having achieved verdicts and settlements totaling more than $30 billion. Our attorneys will work to get you compensation for your PFAS exposure and injuries.

Figure 1 This image exists as an interactive map on the Environmental Working Group website. The map documents PFAS pollution in public and private water systems throughout the U.S., which continues to grow at "an alarming rate." SOURCE: Environmental Working Group

 

PFAS Lawsuits Updates

October 31, 2022

U.S. District Judge Evelyn Padin rejected 3M Co.’s attempt to avert a lawsuit filed by Middlesex Water. The water company claims that the multinational conglomerate released toxic forever chemicals into the drinking water supply. 3M asserted that the utility company could not prove the contamination resulted from the corporation’s manufacturing or distribution operations. The judge sided with Middlesex Water, and the case is proceeding. (Casetext)

September 16, 2022

Plaintiffs prevailed in 3M’s Motion for Summary Judgment in the Aqueous Film Forming Foams (AFFF) multidistrict litigation (In Re Aqueous Film-Forming Foams Prod. Liab. Litig., D.S.C., No. 2:18-mn-02873). Defendant argued that it was immune from liability for alleged damages because the company had developed the foam for the U.S. Navy, which limits its liability under a government contractor defense. Judge Richard M. Gergel rejected 3M’s bid for immunity, stating there were issues of fact as to the government’s knowledge of the risks associated with AFFF. The judge pointed to records revealing that the government was unaware of PFAS’ presence in AFFF until the year 2000. Furthermore, 3M failed to disclose the more than 1,000 internal studies on PFAS toxicity and its presence in AFFF. (Bloomberg Law)

 

Who Can File a PFAS Lawsuit?

If you were injured or developed certain illnesses because of your PFAS exposure, you are eligible to file a PFAS lawsuit and seek compensation for your losses.

Currently, our lawyers are representing clients who:

  1. Received a diagnosis (since 2000) of
  2. Testicular cancer
  3. Kidney cancer
  4. Ulcerative colitis
  5. Drank from contaminated water supply from 1990 to present for at least six cumulative months

PFAS has been found in the water in the following areas:

  1. Alabama
  2. California (San Jose, East Los Angeles, or Fresno)
  3. Colorado (Colorado Springs or Denver)
  4. Florida (Pensacola, Stuart, or Miami)
  5. Massachusetts (Ayer)
  6. New Hampshire (Portsmouth)
  7. New Jersey
  8. New York (Hampton Bays)
  9. North Carolina (Maysville)
  10. Ohio (Dayton)
  11. Pennsylvania (Warminster or Warrington)
 

How Much Would You Get in a PFAS Settlement?

The amount you could recover in a PFAS claim depends on the type and severity of your PFAS-caused cancer or illness. Some of the recoverable damages our lawyers could seek on your behalf include:

  1. Past and future medical costs
  2. Past and future lost wages
  3. Past and future pain and suffering, both mental and physical
  4. Possible punitive damages

If you lost a loved one due to a disease or illness they developed from PFAS exposure, you could be eligible to pursue a wrongful death action. Our wrongful death lawyers would work compassionately to help you through this process.

 

What Are the PFAS Class Action Lawsuits About?

The two most common types of per-fluoroalkyl and poly-fluoroalkyl substances are perfluorooctane sulfonate (“PFOS”) and perfluorooctanoic acid (“PFOA”). These cancer-causing forever chemicals build up and persist in the environment prompting a growing number of lawsuits over the last several years. Consider the following examples:

  1. Municipalities have filed PFAS water contamination lawsuits against chemical manufacturers and industrial companies for polluting water systems all over the country.
  2. As of September 1, 2022, more than 3,000 cases have been filed alleging injury due to PFAS exposure from groundwater contamination by aqueous film-forming foam (AFFF), commonly known as the “firefighting foam.” AFFF is the most prolific contributor to PFAS contamination.
  3. In 2022, McDonald’s was named in a consumer class action lawsuit for selling food in packaging that contains PFAS.
  4. Numerous lawsuits have been filed by individuals who suffered exposure to PFAS-contaminated drinking water, causing them to develop cancer and other serious health problems.

Eligibility to file a PFAS lawsuit depends on your ability to establish exposure. If you have received notice that PFAS has been detected in your drinking water, call us today at (800) 277-1193. Our legal team will guide you through the next steps.

 

You Can Be Exposed in Many Ways

Unfortunately, the long history of using PFAS in the manufacturing of so many products, combined with the chemical’s nature to persist and accumulate, means most of us have suffered exposure. In fact, the chemicals exist in the blood of 97% of Americans, according to Pew Research.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that a minimum of 12 PFAS have been detected in blood serum since 1999. Four PFAS were found in the blood serum of almost all the people tested through the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey.

Methods of PFAS Exposure

EPA cautions that PFAS exposure in people occurs when they consume PFAS-contaminated food or water or when they use PFAS-containing products, including:

  1. Drinking water
  2. Firefighting foam
  3. Water and soil at hazardous waste sites, landfills, and disposal sites
  4. Facilities where PFAS is used or produced
  5. Food, like fish from PFAS-contaminated water and dairy from PFAS-exposed livestock
  6. Food packaging, such as fast food wrappers and containers, pizza boxes, and microwaveable popcorn bags
  7. Household products like carpet stain and water-repellant products used on carpets, clothing, and upholstery, as well as non-stick cookware
  8. Personal care products, such as cosmetics, shampoo, and dental floss
  9. Biosolids, like certain fertilizers from wastewater treatment plants

Certain occupations, including firefighting and manufacturing or processing of chemicals, also lend themselves to heightened PFAS exposure.

 

What Are the Health Risks of PFAS?

The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) has issued a statement recognizing the effects that exposure to high levels of PFAS may have on the human immune system. According to the agency, a National Toxicology Program review revealed that PFAS suppressed antibody response in both animals and humans.

A large body of studies have explored the potential outcomes of exposure to per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances, including:

  1. Kidney cancer
  2. Testicular cancer
  3. Liver cancer
  4. Prostate cancer
  5. Ulcerative colitis
  6. Heightened cholesterol levels
  7. Decreases in infant birth weights
  8. Changes in liver enzymes
  9. Increased risk of high blood pressure or pre-eclampsia in pregnant women
 

Our Law Firm Offers Experience in PFAS and Environmental Litigation

Our PFAS lawyers bring a unique set of experience and knowledge to these cases, as our law firm has already been representing states, municipal governments, and private entities in recovering costs associated with removal and remediation of PFAS.

We also have extensive experience and a strong track record of results with environmental cases:

  1. 2017: $670 million settlement with DuPont to compensate 3,500 individuals injured by the chemical C8, which had been discharged into the Ohio River
  2. 2011: Chosen to head up federal litigation relating to the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico—the largest accidental oil spill in U.S. history
  3. 2007: $380 million jury verdict for West Virginia residents of a community contaminated by pollutants from a DuPont plant
  4. 2001: $70 million settlement with Agrico and Conoco for polluting a Pensacola, Florida, waterway

Our PFAS legal team will put this knowledge and experience to work for you.

 

How Much Does it Cost to File a PFAS Lawsuit?

Our law firm operates on a contingency fee basis. This means we charge legal fees and costs only when and if we recover damages on your behalf. If we don’t win, you don’t pay.

We also offer you an initial case evaluation at no charge to you. This is a private, no-obligation consultation.

 

Is There Scientific Evidence That PFAS Are Harmful to Humans?

To say there is evidence that PFAS harms humans is an understatement. Here’s a small sample.

Environmental Health Perspectives: This September 2022 study added to the body of evidence between PFAS exposure and elevated cholesterol levels.

Exposure and Health: In July 2022, researchers identified $5.52 billion in an “annual disease burden and associated social costs” associated with the current annual exposure to long-chain PFAS.

Environmental Protection Agency: In June 2022, EPA issued drinking water advisories for PFAS. The agency cautioned that humans could suffer negative health effects from PFAS concentrations in water that are so minute they cannot be detected. This means that these chemicals are dangerous at any concentration.

National Toxicology Program of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and the International Agency for Research on Cancer: In 2016, these agencies released their analyses of the adverse effects of PFAS. According to the NTP, both PFOA and PFOS are “presumed to be an immune hazard to humans.” The IARC concluded that there is “evidence” of “the carcinogenicity of . . . PFOA” in humans and in experimental animals.

 

You Have Limited Time to File a PFAS Lawsuit

Statutes of limitations define the time you have from the date you sustain an illness or injury to file a lawsuit. Each state imposes its own strict statute of limitations. If you miss the deadline for filing a lawsuit in your case, you could be forever barred from recovering damages for your PFAS-caused cancer or other illness. Act now to preserve your rights.

We are a national law firm, and our PFAS attorneys will understand the statute of limitations in your state.

 

We Will Defend Your Right to Recovery in a PFAS Lawsuit

Levin Papantonio Rafferty does not back down from large corporations. We have the knowledge, experience, and passion to hold accountable the companies that polluted our earth, water, and air with harmful PFAS chemicals--prioritizing profit over Americans’ safety, health, and well-being

If you developed cancer or another illness after being exposed to PFAS, we will fight for your right to compensation.

Call today for your free consultation: (800) 277-1193.