تقوم مكتب المحاماة في الوقت الحالي بالتحقيق في الشكاوى المقدمة من الكيانات الحكومية والتي تشمل التلوث من مواد البيرفلوروالكيل (PFAS). وتشمل هذه المواد عددا من المركبات ذات الصلة كيميائيا المستخدمة في العمليات الصناعية ، والتصنيع ، والعديد من المنتجات المنزلية ، ومن المعروف أن تكون مسببة للسرطان.

لسوء الحظ ، بسبب التصنيع والاستخدام الصناعي ، تم اكتشاف PFAS في إمدادات المياه العامة والخاصة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. المعالجة صعبة ومكلفة. تساعد شركتنا الكيانات العامة والخاصة في استرداد التكاليف المتضمنة في إزالة PFAS وعلاجه.

كيف يتم استخدام PFAS؟

أسباب التقاضي PFAS

كان بيع PFAS أ مصدر رئيسي للدخل للشركات مثل DuPont و 3M. وكعنصر حاسم في إنشاء الماء وطارد البقع للمنسوجات (مثل النسيج والسجاد والتنجيد) ، يمثل PFAS إيرادات سنوية تبلغ $ 1 بليون. السوق الثانوي ل PFAS هو في المستحلبات لزيوت التشحيم ، الطلاء على الطلاء ، والدهانات ، وتلميع. تستحوذ المبيعات في هذا المجال على مبلغ إضافي قدره 100 مليون دولار سنويًا.

تستخدم PFAS أيضا كمكون في تصنيع:

  1. مثبطات اللهب ورغاوي الإطفاء
  2. حبر
  3. المبيدات الحشرية
  4. السوائل الهيدروليكية لصناعة السيارات والفضاء
  5. الأجهزة الطبية
  6. مكونات الناسخات الملونة والطابعات
  7. طلاء المعادن (مثل الكروم)
  8. طلاء لأواني الطبخ غير عصا
  9. تغليف الطعام

تأثير بيئي

لأن PFAS قد استخدمت على نطاق واسع على مدى عدة عقود ، فهي موجودة في كل مكان تقريبا في البيئة. في يونيو 2017 ، و مجموعة العمل البيئي نشر تقريرًا خلص إلى وجود تلوث PFAS في إمدادات المياه في 27 في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، مما يؤثر على ما يقرب من 15 مليون أمريكي. تم العثور على هذه المواد الكيميائية بكميات متفاوتة في الدم من جميع البشر تقريبا وكذلك الحيوانات الأليفة والحياة البرية. تم إدراج هذه المواد الكيميائية في 2009 على أنها "ملوثات عضوية ثابتة" أو ملوثات عضوية ثابتة بموجب اتفاقية استكهولم ، وهي معاهدة دولية تم التصديق عليها في 2004 من أجل وضع حد لتصنيع واستخدام المواد غير القابلة للتحلل البيولوجي مثل PFAS.

ولسوء الحظ ، فإن PFAS شديدة المقاومة للتدهور البيئي من خلال العمليات الطبيعية مثل الاضمحلال والشمس والتعرض لأحوال الطقس. بمجرد إطلاقه في البيئة ، لا يزال PFAS غير مسمى. تُظهر الدراسات العلمية أن عمر النصف (المدة الزمنية اللازمة لنصف كمية المادة التي تتحلل) من PFAS هي 10,000 سنوات. عند إطلاقها في إمدادات المياه ، فإن نصف العمر هذا أكثر من 1 مليون سنة.

العواقب الصحية

إن تأثير PFAS على صحة الإنسان والحيوان متفاوت وخطير ، ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى مستويات التعرض أقل من أجزاء 05 لكل مليار. وقد تم الاعتراف PFAS من قبل العلوم الطبية كمادة مسرطنة الإنسان. يمكن أن يسبب التعرض لسرطان الخصية والكلى. وتشمل الاضطرابات الأخرى التي نُسبت إلى ، أو المرتبطة بتعرض PFAS:

  1. ارتفاع الكوليسترول في الدم
  2. تسمم الحمل (المعروف أيضا باسم toxemia ، وهو أحد المضاعفات الخطيرة المحتملة للحمل)
  3. ضعف الغدة الدرقية (خاصة عند الأطفال الصغار) والسرطان
  4. ضعف عقلي وإعاقة تنموية
  5. العقم
  6. مرض يصيب جهاز المناعه
  7. اضطرابات الدم
  8. التهاب القولون التقرحي

كيف وأين تدخل شركة PFAS إمدادات المياه؟

تدخل شركة PFAS إمدادات المياه في المقام الأول من خلال تصريف النفايات الصناعية. يمكن أن يحدث هذا في الأنهار والجداول ، ولكن يمكن أن يحدث أيضًا عندما تنتهي مثل هذه النفايات على الأرض أيضًا. عندما تمطر ، هذه المواد تشق طريقها إلى طبقات المياه الجوفية. للأسف ، لا تنتهي المشكلة هناك. لأن PFAS ليست قابلة للتحلل البيولوجي ، فإنها تتراكم لأنها تشق طريقها إلى السلسلة الغذائية.

بما أن PFAS تستخدم في رغاوي إخماد الحرائق ، فإن أحد المصادر المحتملة هو مرافق التدريب على الحرائق وكذلك الأماكن التي شهدت مؤخرا حرائق خطيرة. لأن PFAS غالباً ما تكون أحد مكونات مواد التشحيم الثقيلة والسوائل الهيدروليكية ، يوجد التلوث عادة في مصادر المياه بالقرب من القواعد العسكرية والمواقع الصناعية. آبار المياه بالقرب من قاعدة سلاح الجو الأمريكي السابق في ولاية ميشيغان تم العثور على احتواء 10,000 مرات الاستشارات الصحية مدى الحياة التي وضعتها وكالة حماية البيئة. في يوليو من 2018 ، ميتشيغان الملازم المحافظ بريان كاللي أعلنت حالة الطوارئ أكثر من مستويات PFAS في إمدادات المياه في مجتمعين Kalamazoo.

وفقا لدراسة مراجعة النظراء نشرت في المجلة بحوث البيئة في أغسطس 2018 ، تقريبًا 6 مليون أميركي لا تزال تتعرض لمياه ملوثة بـ PFAS تتعدى المستويات الاستشارية للوكالة الأمريكية لحماية البيئة. ا الخريطة الأخيرة من مجموعة العمل البيئي يبين مستويات خطيرة من تلوث PFAS في إمدادات المياه للمدن والبلدات على طول الساحل الأطلسي ، وساحل كاليفورنيا وجنوب Puget Sound.

المحامي ويس بودين يناقش PFAS التلوث

إزالة PFAS

لسوء الحظ ، فإن الخيارات المتاحة لإزالة تلوث PFAS من إمدادات المياه محدودة ومكلفة. يمكن لترشيح الكربون المنشط الحبيبي (GAC) إزالة 99.9٪ من PFOA و PFOS. ومع ذلك ، فإن سلاسل PFAS قصيرة السلسلة ، مثل GenX ، تتطلب طرق تصفية أكثر كثافة مثل التبادل الأيوني و التناضح العكسي. يمكن أن يكلف وضع هذه المعدات في مكانها وبدء عملية الترشيح أكثر من $ 1 مليون. تصل النفقات السنوية الجارية إلى نطاق من ستة أرقام ، مما يضع عبئا ثقيلا على المجتمعات المتضررة.

تحمل المتسببين بالمسؤولية

الشركات القابضة

في فبراير 2018 ، ولاية مينيسوتا وصلت إلى تسوية مع 3M ، الشركة المصنعة لـ Scotchgard طارد المياه. حل تسوية التقاضي التي كانت مستمرة منذ 2010. قبل ثلاثة أشهر ، اكتشفت السلطات الصحية في الولاية عددًا غير معتاد من حالات الولادة المبكرة وحالات السرطان في منطقة مينيابوليس. ولهذا السبب ، أعلنت المدعية العامة للولاية لوري سوانسون أنها سوف تسعى للحصول على تعويضات جزائية كان من شأنها أن تكلف المدعى عليه مليار دولار 5. وقبل بدء المحاكمة مباشرة ، قامت 3M بتسوية القضية بمبلغ $ 850 مليون ولكنها لم تقبل بأي مخالفات. وفقا ل AG سوانسون ، سيتم استخدام أموال تسوية لإزالة PFAS.

حاليا ، تعمل شركتنا مع شركات المرافق العامة والخاصة في استرداد التكاليف الضخمة التي ينطوي عليها إزالة PFAS من إمدادات المياه. المدعى عليهم تشمل الشركات المصنعة PFAS وكذلك الشركات التي تستخدم مثل هذه المواد الكيميائية في عمليات التصنيع أو المنتجات التامة الصنع.

لماذا نحن

وكان مكتب محاماة لدينا في وجود أكثر من 65 سنوات، ويعتبر زعيم وطني في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا أكثر بكثير من الأحكام جنة التحكيم 150 في جميع أنحاء البلاد في كمية 1 مليون $ أو أكثر، وحققت الاحكام والمستوطنات تزيد من 4 مليار $.

نحن واحدة من شركات المحاماة الست التي كشفت لأول مرة عن مخاطر شركة دوبونت الكيميائية C8 ، ووصلت إلى تسوية بمبلغ 10 مليون دولار مع الشركة نيابة عن المصابين نتيجة إلقاء C670 في نهر أوهايو والهواء في ويست فرجينيا .

وتمثل مكتب المحاماة في الوقت الحالي أكثر من وكالات حكومية 700 ضد الموزعين والشركات المصنعة للأفيونيات بالجملة من أجل استرداد الأضرار الهائلة التي لحقت بهم نتيجة لهذه الشركات التي تسبب الوباء الأفيوني الحالي.

نحن مكتب المحاماة الذي صاغ فكرة إعادة صياغة قانون فلوريدا لاستعادة حقوق الغير ، ثم بدأ التقاضي ضد صناعة التبغ نيابة عن ولاية فلوريدا ، مما أدى إلى تسوية بقيمة مليار دولار 13.

وذكر البروفيسور ريتشارد داينارد من جامعة نورث إيسترن أن إعادة كتابة مكتب محاماة لمشروع قانون ميديكايد في فلوريدا بغرض مقاضاة شركة Big Tobacco كان: "أكبر ضربة ضد صناعة التبغ والصحة العامة التي تم القيام بها في الولايات المتحدة".

نحن مؤسس شركة Mass Torts Made Perfect ، وهي عبارة عن ندوة وطنية يحضرها محامي 800 تقريبًا مرتين سنويًا حيث نساعد في التدريس الناجح للحالات ضد أكبر شركات الأدوية في العالم.

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر استمارة التقييم المجانية والسرية. ستتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد المحامين لدينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعاوى إصلاح PFAS.

Perfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS) Government Lawsuits & Remedies
GenX Lawsuit Header

Our law firm is currently investigating complaints from government entities involving pollution from perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS). These substances include a number of chemically-related compounds used in industrial processes, manufacturing, and numerous household products, and are known to be carcinogenic.

Unfortunately, largely because of manufacturing and industrial use, PFAS have been detected in public and private water supplies across the country. Remediation is difficult and costly. Our firm is assisting public and private utilities in recovering costs involved in the removal and remediation of PFAS.

 

How Are PFAS Used?

Reasons for PFAS Litigation

The sale of PFAS has been a major source of revenue for companies such as DuPont and 3M. As a critical component in the creation of water and stain repellents for textiles (i.e., fabric, carpet, and upholstery), PFAS represents an annual revenue stream of $1 billion. The secondary market for PFAS is in emulsifiers for lubricants, spray-on coatings, paints, and polishes. Sales in this area account for an additional $100 million per year.

PFAS are also used as an ingredient in the manufacturing of:

  1. flame retardants and extinguishing foams
  2. ink
  3. pesticides
  4. hydraulic fluids for the auto and aerospace industries
  5. medical devices
  6. components of color copiers and printers
  7. metal plating (such as chrome)
  8. coating for non-stick cookware
  9. food packaging
 

Environmental Impact

Because PFAS have been used so extensively over several decades, it is present virtually everywhere in the environment. In June 2017, the Environmental Working Group published a report which found PFAS contamination in water supplies in 27 states across the country, affecting approximately 15 million Americans. These chemicals have been found in varying amounts in the blood of virtually all humans as well as domestic animals and wildlife. These chemicals were listed in 2009 as “persistent organic pollutants,” or POPs, under the Stockholm Convention, an international treaty ratified in 2004 in order to bring an end to the manufacture and use of non-biodegradable substances such as PFAS.

Unfortunately, PFAS are highly resistant to environmental degradation through natural processes such as decay and sun and weather exposure. Once released into the environment, PFAS remain almost indefinitely. Scientific studies show the half-life (the length of time needed for half of the amount of a substance to degrade) of PFAS to be 10,000 years. When released into water supplies, that half-life is more than 1 million years.

 

Health Consequences

The impact of PFAS on human and animal health are varied and serious, and can result in exposure levels as little as .05 parts per billion. PFAS have been recognized by medical science as human carcinogen. Exposure can cause testicular and kidney cancer. Other disorders that have been attributed to, or associated with PFAS exposure, include:

  1. high cholesterol
  2. pre-eclampsia (also known as toxemia, a potentially dangerous complication of pregnancy)
  3. thyroid dysfunction (particularly in young children) and cancer
  4. mental impairment and developmental disability
  5. infertility
  6. autoimmune disease
  7. blood disorders
  8. ulcerative colitis
 

How and Where Do PFAS Enter the Water Supply?

PFAS enters the water supply primarily through the discharge of industrial waste. This can happen in rivers and streams, but can also occur when such waste products end up on the ground as well. When it rains, these substances make their way into underground aquifers. Unfortunately, the problem does not end there. Because PFAS are not biodegradable, they accumulate as they make their way into the food chain.

As PFAS are used in fire suppressant foams, one probable source is fire training facilities as well as places that have recently experienced serious fires. Because PFAS are often a component of heavy-duty lubricants and hydraulic fluids, contamination is commonly found in water sources near military bases and industrial sites. Water wells near a former US Air Force base in Michigan were found to contain 10,000 times the lifetime health advisory set by the EPA. In July of 2018, Michigan Lt. Governor Brian Calley declared a state of emergency over levels of PFAS in water supplies in two Kalamazoo communities.

According to a peer-reviewed study published in the journal Environmental Research in August 2018, approximately 6 million Americans are still exposed to water contaminated with PFAS that exceed EPA advisory levels. A recent map from the Environmental Working Group shows serious levels of PFAS contamination in water supplies for cities and towns along the Atlantic seaboard, the California Coast and south Puget Sound.

 

PFAS Removal

Unfortunately, the options for removing PFAS contamination from water supplies are limited and expensive. Granular activated carbon (GAC) filtration can remove 99.9% of PFOA and PFOS. However, shorter chain PFASs, such as GenX, require more intensive filtration methods such as ion exchange and reverse osmosis. Putting such equipment in place and starting the filtration process can cost over $1 million. Annual ongoing expenses run into the six-figure range, putting a heavy burden on affected communities.

 

Holding Polluters Accountable

Holding Companies Accountable

In February 2018, the State of Minnesota reached a settlement with 3M, a manufacturer of the water-repellent Scotchgard. The settlement resolved litigation that had been going on since 2010. Three months earlier, state health authorities discovered an unusual number of premature births and cases of cancer in the Minneapolis area. Because of this, state Attorney General Lori Swanson announced that she would be seeking punitive damages that would have cost the defendant $5 billion. Just before the case was scheduled to go to trial, 3M settled the case for $850 million but has not admitted to any wrongdoing. According to AG Swanson, the settlement funds will be used for PFAS removal.

Currently, our firm is working with public and private utility companies in recovering the massive costs involved in PFAS removal from water supplies. Defendants include PFAS manufacturers as well as companies that use such chemicals in their manufacturing processes or finished products.

 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 63 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are one of the six law firms that first exposed the dangers of DuPont's chemical C8, and reached a $670 million settlement with the company on behalf of those injured as a result of C8 being dumped into the Ohio River and the air in West Virginia.

Our law firm is currently representing more than 700 governmental agencies against wholesale distributors and manufacturers of opioids in order to recover the immense damages they have sustained as a result of these companies creating the current opioid epidemic.

We are the law firm that formulated the idea of rewriting Florida’s Medicaid Third-Party Recovery Act, and then initiating the litigation against the Tobacco Industry on behalf of the state of Florida, which resulted in a $13 billion settlement.

Professor Richard Daynard of Northeastern University stated that our law firm’s rewrite of Florida’s Medicaid bill for the purpose of suing Big Tobacco was: "the single biggest blow against the tobacco industry and for the public health that's ever been done in the United states."

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against the world’s largest pharmaceutical companies.

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Gadolinium lawsuits.