دعوى باراكوات - المستوطنات والاستدعاءات - شركة محاماة لمرض باركنسون

تدعي دعوى باراكوات أن استخدام مبيدات الأعشاب باراكات يمكن أن يسبب مرض باركنسون.

نحن نقبل العملاء الذين تعرضوا بشكل كبير للباراكوات وتم تشخيص إصابتهم بمرض باركنسون.

نحن نتعامل مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد أكبر الشركات في العالم منذ عام 1955. كل عام نعلم 1,500 محامٍ كيف يتعاملون مع هذه القضايا بنجاح. نحن مدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة الوطنية.

 

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى باراكوات

دعوى الباراكوات

في الثمانينيات ، كشفت تجربة في جنوب كاليفورنيا أن MPTP ، ملوث للهيروين ، تسبب في معاناة المستخدمين من أعراض مثل تلك المرتبطة بمرض باركنسون. أظهرت التجربة أن ملوث الهيروين دمر الخلايا العصبية الدوبامين ، وهي نفس الخلايا العصبية التي تعاني من تلف في مرضى باركنسون. تشترك MPTP و Paraquat في هياكل كيميائية مماثلة.

في عام 1997 ، أعلنت وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) أن التعرض للباراكوات أثناء خلط وتحميل وتطبيق مبيدات الأعشاب وأثناء عملية ما بعد التطبيق يمثل الطريق الأساسي للتعرض إلى المركب الكيميائي. واقترحت الوكالة كذلك أنه على الرغم من عدم تسجيل مبيدات الأعشاب للاستخدام السكني ، فإن هذا التعرض ممكن للأفراد الذين يعيشون بالقرب من المزارع حيث يتم استخدام مبيدات الأعشاب.

على مدى السنوات العشرين الماضية ، كثف المجتمع العلمي من فحصه لتأثيرات التعرض للباراكوات على البشر ، وعلى وجه التحديد مخاطر الإصابة بمرض باركنسون.

في عام 2009 ، نشر بحث في المجلة الأمريكية لعلم الأوبئة كشفت أن أي تعرض للباراكوات على بعد 1,600 قدم من المنزل أدى إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بمرض باركنسون بنسبة 75 في المائة.

في عام 2011 ، المجلة آفاق الصحة البيئية، بالتعاون مع المعهد الوطني لعلوم الصحة البيئية ، نشر نتائج من أ دراسة قوية لحالات مرض باركنسون ومبيدات الآفات. في هذه الدراسة ، ظهر الباراكوات كمصدر قلق كبير.

ارتبط مرض باركنسون بمجموعات من المبيدات الحشرية التي تمنع مركب الميتوكوندريا وتلك التي تسبب الإجهاد التأكسدي. الطريقة التي يعمل بها الباراكوات هي إنتاج جزيئات داخل الخلايا تدمر الخلايا عن طريق التسبب في الإجهاد التأكسدي. وخلصت الدراسة إلى أن "مرض باركنسون مرتبط بشدة بـ" الباراكوات. وأكد المؤلفون كذلك أن احتمالية التعرض للباراكوات تتجاوز البيئة المهنية / الزراعية وأن الكثير من الناس قد يتعرضون لمبيد الآفات دون أن يدركوا وجوده في بيئاتهم.

في 2014، و المراجعة السنوية لعلم الصيدلة وعلم السموم النتائج المنشورة المتعلقة السموم البيئية ومرض باركنسون. أبلغت المراجعة عن خمس دراسات وضوابط للحالات كشفت عن خطر أكبر للإصابة بمرض باركنسون لدى الأفراد الذين عانوا من التعرض للباراكوات. عانى مطبقو مبيدات الآفات الذين استخدموا الباراكوات مرتين من خطر الإصابة بمرض باركنسون مقارنة بعموم السكان.

أبرزت المراجعة أيضًا زيادة ملحوظة في خطر الإصابة بمرض باركنسون لدى الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا لكل من الباراكوات ونوع معين من مبيدات الفطريات يسمى مانيب الفطريات. أخيرًا ، عانى المشاركون في الدراسة الذين يفتقرون إلى نسخة نشطة من جين معين (مفقود في 20 في المائة من القوقازيين و 40 في المائة من الآسيويين) من خطر الإصابة بتسمم الباراكوات.

في عام 2016 ، أعلنت وكالة حماية البيئة أنها ستعيد تقييم الباراكوات ، بما في ذلك الارتباط المحتمل بمرض باركنسون.

في 24 يوليو 2017 ، أرسل مجلس الدعوة الموحد لباركنسون رسالة إلى وكالة حماية البيئة، قبل مراجعة تسجيل الباراكوات للوكالة. أدرجت الرسالة ، التي وقعها جميع أعضاء المجلس ، قائمة غسيل من الحقائق التي تربط باراكوات بتطور أعراض مرض باركنسون وعلم الأمراض واختتمت بحث وكالة حماية البيئة على رفض إعادة تسجيل باراكوات.

أكدت الرسالة كذلك على التكاليف الاقتصادية لشخص يعاني من مرض باركنسون ، مثل:

  1. 26,400،XNUMX دولارًا سنويًا على الرعاية الفردية لشخص مصاب بمرض باركنسون.
  2. 19.8 إلى 26.4 مليار دولار العبء الاقتصادي السنوي في الولايات المتحدة
  3. التكاليف المرتبطة بالاعتماد على برامج مثل Medicaid و Medicare والتأمين ضد العجز الاجتماعي.
إقرأ المزيد

في 6 أكتوبر 2017 ، تم رفع دعوى قضائية ضد Syngenta و Growmark ، مصنعي Paraquat. تم تقديم الشكوى نيابة عن مزارعين وعمال زراعيين أصيبوا بمرض باركنسون بعد تعرضهم للباراكوات. منذ تقديم المطالبة الأصلية ، تمت إضافة شركة Chevron Chemical كمدعى عليه في الدعوى.

في عام 2018 ، أعلن البرنامج الوطني لعلم السموم (NTP) التابع لوزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الأمريكية عن بروتوكوله الخاص بـ مراجعة التعرض لثاني كلوريد الباراكوات ومرض باركنسون. مع الاعتراف بأن مئات الدراسات قد بحثت في الصلة بين التعرض للباراكوات ومرض باركنسون ، ستحاول المراجعة تحديد الدليل الذي يربط مبيدات الأعشاب بمرض باركنسون.

في فبراير 2021 ، رفع إليس برات دعوى قضائية في المحكمة الجزئية الأمريكية للمنطقة الجنوبية من إلينوي. ووفقًا للشكوى ، فقد تعرض المدعي بانتظام للباراكوات أثناء عمله في خلط مبيدات الأعشاب ووضعها على المحاصيل في الأراضي الزراعية. من عام 1964 إلى عام 1974 ، تحمل برات هذا التعرض ، وغالبًا ما كان يلامس مبيدات الأعشاب على جلده. لم يكن يعلم بخطورة هذا الانكشاف.

بعد معاناته من أعراض متعددة ، تم تشخيص المدعي رسميًا بمرض الكلى في عام 2021 مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ينصح أنه بمجرد دخول الباراكوات إلى جسم الإنسان ، يمكن أن ينتقل إلى عدة مناطق ويسبب تفاعلات كيميائية سامة. يشتمل تقرير مركز السيطرة على الأمراض (CDC) على حقيقة أن تناول حتى كميات صغيرة إلى متوسطة من مبيدات الأعشاب يمكن أن يسبب الفشل الكلوي.

تزعم شكوى برات أن المدعى عليهم - Syngenta Crop Protection، LLC.، Syngenta AG، and Chevron USA، Inc. - إما كانوا يعرفون أو يجب أن يكونوا على علم بمخاطر الضرر الذي تروج له شركة Paraquat.

في دعوى أخرى ، تم رفعها في محكمة المقاطعة الأمريكية للمنطقة الشمالية من كاليفورنيا في مايو 2021 ، أكد المدعي إدوين إدواردز ادعاءات مماثلة. استخدم إدواردز الباراكوات كمبيد للأعشاب ابتداءً من عام 1975 وعانى من التعرض المتكرر للمادة ، فضلاً عن استنشاقه وابتلاعه وامتصاصه في جسمه.

تم تشخيص إدوارد لاحقًا بمرض باركنسون. دراسة نشرت في سبتمبر 2019 في مجلة علم السموم والصحة البيئية يدعم البحث السابق الذي يوضح العلاقة بين التعرض للباراكوات وتطور مرض باركنسون. وفقًا لتقرير عام 2019 ، وجد أن حدوث مرض باركنسون كان أعلى بنسبة 25 في المائة لدى المشاركين الذين تعرضوا لمبيدات الأعشاب.

في يونيو 2021 ، رفع زوجان من فورت وورث بولاية تكساس دعوى قضائية ضد نفس المتهمين. وفقًا للشكوى ، تعرض المدعي ، ديفيد تاكل ، إلى الباراكوات كجزء من وظيفته في Rock Island Railroad في عام 1970. قام المدعي بانتظام بتوزيع مبيدات الأعشاب حول جسور السكك الحديدية. في دوره اللاحق كمهندس مياه للسكك الحديدية ، عمل تاكل في غرفة بحجم 10 × 12 حيث تم تخزين الباراكوات. تم تشخيص المدعي في النهاية بمرض باركنسون.

ويتهم المتهمين بصنع وتسويق وبيع منتج يعلمون أنه يسبب مرض باركنسون والتعمد إخفاء مخاطر مبيدات الأعشاب وإخفاء الأدلة على مخاطرها عن وكالات السلامة الحكومية.

 

التعويض في قضايا الباراكوات

إذا تم تشخيصك أنت أو أحد أفراد أسرتك بمرض باركنسون بعد التعرض الكبير للباراكوات ، فسنسعى للحصول على التعويضات التالية لك:

  1. النفقات الطبية والجنسية الماضية والمستقبلية الناتجة عن الإصابات.
  2. آلام ومعاناة الماضي والمستقبل (الجسدية والعقلية) الناجمة عن الإصابات ، وعملية العلاج والانتعاش.
  3. فقدان الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل وفقدان العقارات (إذا حدثت الوفاة).
  4. خسارة الماضي والمستقبل من القدرة على الكسب.
  5. فقدان الماضي والمستقبل من التمتع بالحياة.
  6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.
 

المحاميان مايك بابانتونيو وأليكس تايلور يناقشان قضايا الباراكوات

 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

وكان مكتب محاماة لدينا في وجود أكثر من 65 سنوات، ويعتبر زعيم وطني في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا أكثر بكثير من الأحكام جنة التحكيم 150 في جميع أنحاء البلاد في كمية 1 مليون $ أو أكثر، وحققت الاحكام والمستوطنات تزيد من 8 مليار $.

لقد تم تعييننا في اللجنة التنفيذية للمدعين من قبل القاضي المشرف على الدعاوى القضائية الفيدرالية المتعلقة بالباراكوات. هذا يعني أننا نشارك بشكل مباشر في التحقيق الوطني والاكتشاف الذي نأمل أن يؤدي إلى نتيجة إيجابية للأفراد المصابين بهذا المنتج.

نحن واحدة من شركات المحاماة الست التي كشفت لأول مرة عن مخاطر شركة دوبونت الكيميائية C8 ، ووصلت إلى تسوية بمبلغ 10 مليون دولار مع الشركة نيابة عن المصابين نتيجة إلقاء C670 في نهر أوهايو والهواء في ويست فرجينيا .

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect ، وهي ندوة وطنية يحضرها ما يقرب من 1000 محام مرتين سنويًا حيث نساعد في تعليم التعامل الناجح مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد أكبر الشركات في العالم. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في مجال الأعمال التجارية 65 عاما - 8 مليار $ في الاحكام والمستوطنات - المدرجة في أفضل المحامين في أمريكا، SuperLawyers ومحاكمة المحامين قاعة المشاهير
 
ماذا يكلف تأجير لنا

يقدم محامونا استشارات سرية مجانية تمامًا ، وإذا كنا محظوظين بما يكفي لتوظيفنا ، فلن نفرض عليك أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم تتعافى أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪ اعتمادًا على مقدار ما نقوم باسترداده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
معلومات الإتصال

للاتصال بنا للحصول على استشارة مجانية ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب استشارة بالنقر نموذج استشارة باراكوات مجاني وسري، أي النموذج سيتم مراجعته على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعوى باراكوات.

إقرأ المزيد

هل سيتم التعامل مع قضية الباراكوات الخاصة بي كإجراء جماعي

الدعوى الجماعية هي نوع من الدعاوى القضائية حيث يمثل عدد قليل من الأفراد مصلحة العديد من الأفراد الآخرين. تعتبر أحكام المحكمة ملزمة لجميع الأشخاص الذين يعتبرون أعضاء في الفصل. يُطلب من جميع أعضاء الصف قبول التسوية التي وافقت عليها المحكمة ، حتى إذا لم يحصل أي عضو من أعضاء الصف على تعويض يذكر.

هذا ليس نوع التقاضي الذي سنقوم بملاحقته لعملاء باراكوات. بدلاً من ذلك ، نحن نمثل كل فرد بناءً على ظروفه الخاصة ، ونقيم التعافي لكل عميل بناءً على حقائقه / حقائقها. يتمتع كل عميل من عملائنا دائمًا بخيار تسوية أو عدم تسوية قضيته.

للحصول على مناقشة تفصيلية حول الإجراءات الجماعية والأضرار الجماعية والتقاضي متعدد المجالات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا فئة العمل الجماعي صفحة للأضرار.

 

مبالغ تسوية دعوى باراكوات

مستوطنات الباراكوات

اعتبارًا من هذا الوقت ، لم تكن هناك مجموعات كبيرة من مستوطنات الأضرار الجماعية يشمل الباراكوات والارتباط بمرض باركنون. ومع ذلك ، فإن التقاضي مثل هذا يستغرق عمومًا سنوات عديدة لحلها ، حيث تنفق فرق المحامين ملايين الدولارات في محاولة لتحديد ما حدث بالضبط ، وكيف كان من الممكن منعه.

لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من التسويات عمومًا حتى يتم محاكمة عدد قليل من القضايا أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة المصنعة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أكثر شمولاً. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية عادةً في تجميع مجموعات كبيرة من القضايا في المحكمة الفيدرالية لأغراض الاكتشاف. تُعرف هذه العملية باسم التقاضي متعدد المناطق (المعروف باسم MDL).

في يونيو 2021 ، أ MDL للباراكوات تم تشكيلها مع نقل جميع القضايا الفيدرالية المتعلقة بباراكوات إلى المنطقة الجنوبية من إلينوي للاستماع إليها أمام القاضي نانسي ج. روزنستنجل. تعمل شركة المحاماة لدينا كعضو في اللجنة التنفيذية للمدعين في MDL.

 

ماذا نعرف عن الباراكات

الغرض من الباراكوات

يتوفر مبيد الأعشاب Paraquat تجاريًا منذ عام 1962 ، وهو أحد أكثر مبيدات الأعشاب استخدامًا في جميع أنحاء العالم. يتم استخدامه للسيطرة على الحشائش وكعامل تجفيف بعد الحصاد.

كمبيد أعشاب مقيد الاستخدام ، يمكن خلط الباراكوات و / أو تحميله و / أو استخدامه فقط من قبل الأفراد الذين أكملوا برنامج تدريب معتمد من وكالة حماية البيئة. يرتبط مبيدات الأعشاب بإمكانية عالية لسوء الاستخدام ، وكذلك التسمم.

وقت الاستحمام اصبح اكثر متعة مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) يتبع الباراكوات لأن الوكالة تعتبره أكثر سمية من مبيدات الأعشاب الأخرى. تتجلى سمية المادة الكيميائية من خلال الابتلاع وامتصاص الجلد والاستنشاق. إلى جانب التسبب في الحروق ، يُعرف مبيد الأعشاب باسم أ السبب المحتمل للعيوب الخلقية والسرطانوكذلك مرض باركنسون.

وفقًا لمقال يونيو 2019 في الصحة البيئية، الباراكوات هو واحد من اثنين فقط من مبيدات الأعشاب التي لا تزال تستخدم في الولايات المتحدة التي تم استخدامها بالفعل محظورة أو في طور التخلص التدريجي منها في الصين والاتحاد الأوروبي والبرازيل. 

 

كيف يتم استخدام الباراكات

يتم تطبيق الباراكات مباشرة على النباتات كرذاذ يقتل الأوراق عن طريق الاتصال المباشر. يتم تعطيل المركب عند ملامسته للتربة.

يتم رش المبيدات كآلية تطهير الحقول قبل زراعة المحاصيل، وكذلك لغرض تدمير محاصيل الماريجوانا في المكسيك والولايات المتحدة.  

وفقًا للمجلس الاستشاري الموحد لمرض باركنسون ، يستخدم الباراكوات أيضًا كمبيد للأعشاب التي طورت مقاومة لمبيدات الأعشاب التي تحتوي على الجليفوسات.

مع تم الإبلاغ عن 640 مليون دولار من المبيعات العالمية في عام 2011، شهد استخدام الباراكوات مؤخرًا زيادة في المبيعات نتيجة لارتفاع الدعاوى القضائية رفيعة المستوى ، فضلاً عن زيادة عدد الأعشاب المقاومة للغليفوسات.

 

ماذا نعرف عن مرض باركنسون

مرض باركنسون هو اضطراب تنكسي عصبي مع بداية الإنسان في منتصف إلى سنوات لاحقة في الحياة. تشمل تأثيرات النظام الحركي هزات في الذراعين والساقين ، وضعف التنسيق والتوازن ، والحركات البطيئة ، وصلابة الجسم والأطراف. تعزى مثل هذه الآثار إلى التدهور التدريجي للخلايا العصبية الدوبامينية في الدماغ.

في مجال أمراض الأعصاب ، مرض باركنسون هو ثاني أكثر الأمراض شيوعًا. المرض مزمن وتدريجي ، مع تخفيف جزئي فقط للأعراض من العلاجات الطبية اليوم. نظرًا لأن العالم يعاني من شيخوخة السكان المتزايدة ، فقد شهدنا انتشارًا أكبر لمرض باركنسون ، خاصة في البلدان المتقدمة نسبيًا ، مثل الهند والصين.

تلعب العوامل الوراثية دورًا سببيًا في نسبة صغيرة من حالات مرض باركنسون ، لكن السبب الرئيسي لمرض باركنسون ظل غامضًا لسنوات. في السنوات الأخيرة نسبيًا ، ربط عدد متزايد من الدراسات العلمية مرض باركنسون بالتعرضات البيئية ، مثل مبيدات الآفات.

Paraquat Lawsuit – Settlements & Recalls - Parkinson’s Disease

The Paraquat lawsuit claims that the use of the herbicide Paraquat can cause Parkinson's Disease.

We are accepting clients who have had significant exposure to Paraquat and have been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease.

We have been handling lawsuits against the world's largest companies since 1955. Each year we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About the Paraquat Lawsuits

Paraquat Lawsuit

In the 1980s, an experiment in Southern California revealed that MPTP, a heroin contaminant, caused users to suffer symptoms like those associated with Parkinson’s disease. The experiment showed that the heroin contaminant destroyed dopamine neurons, which are the same neurons that suffer damage in Parkinson’s disease patients. MPTP and Paraquat share similar chemical structures.

In 1997, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that exposure to Paraquat during the mixing, loading, and application of the herbicide and during the post-application process represented the primary route of exposure to the chemical compound. The agency further suggested that despite the herbicide not being registered for residential use, such exposure is possible for individuals who live near farms where the herbicide is used.

Over the past 20 years, the scientific community has stepped up its examination of the effects of Paraquat exposure on humans, and specifically the risk of Parkinson’s disease.

In 2009, research published in the American Journal of Epidemiology revealed that any exposure to Paraquat within 1,600 feet of a home resulted in a heightened Parkinson’s disease risk of 75 percent.

In 2011, the journal Environmental Health Perspectives, in association with the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, published results from a robust study of Parkinson’s disease cases and pesticides. Within this study, Paraquat emerged as a significant concern.

Parkinson’s disease was connected to groups of pesticides that block mitochondrial complex and those that cause oxidative stress. The way Paraquat works is to produce intracellular molecules that damage cells by causing oxidative stress.  The study concluded that “Parkinson’s disease was strongly associated with” Paraquat. The authors further underscored that the potential for exposure to Paraquat reaches beyond the occupational/agricultural environment and that many people may be exposed to the pesticide without even being aware of its presence in their environments.

In 2014, the Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology published findings related to Environmental Toxins and Parkinson's Disease. The review reported five case-control studies that revealed a greater risk of Parkinson’s disease in individuals who had experienced exposure to Paraquat. Pesticide applicators who had applied Paraquat suffered twice the risk of Parkinson’s disease than the general population.

The review also highlighted a marked increased risk of Parkinson’s disease in people who had been exposed to both Paraquat and a certain type of fungicide called fungicide maneb. Finally, study participants who lacked an active copy of a specific gene (missing in 20 percent of Caucasians and 40 percent of Asians) suffered a heightened risk of Paraquat toxicity.

In 2016, the EPA announced it would be re-evaluating Paraquat, including the potential link to Parkinson's disease.

On July 24, 2017, the Unified Parkinson’s Advocacy Council sent a letter to the EPA, in advance of the agency’s Paraquat registration review. The letter, signed by all members of the council, listed a laundry list of facts that connect Paraquat with the development of Parkinson’s disease symptoms and pathology and concluded by urging the EPA to deny Paraquat’s reregistration.

The letter further emphasized the economic costs to a person suffering from Parkinson’s disease, such as:

  1. $26,400 per year on individual care for a person with Parkinson’s disease.
  2. $19.8 to $26.4 billion annual economic burden in the U.S.
  3. Costs associated with reliance on programs like Medicaid, Medicare, and Social Security Disability Insurance.
Read More

On October 6, 2017, a lawsuit was filed against Syngenta and Growmark, the manufacturers of Paraquat. The complaint was filed on behalf of farmers and agricultural workers who had developed Parkinson’s disease after being exposed to Paraquat. Since the filing of the original claim, Chevron Chemical has been added as a defendant in the lawsuit.

In 2018, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ National Toxicology Program (NTP) announced its protocol for a review of Paraquat dichloride exposure and Parkinson’s disease. Acknowledging that hundreds of studies had investigated the link between Paraquat exposure and Parkinson's Disease, the review will attempt to map evidence that associates the herbicide with Parkinson’s disease.

In February 2021, Ellis Pratt filed a lawsuit in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois. According to the complaint, the plaintiff had been regularly exposed to Paraquat while he worked mixing the herbicide and applying it to crops on farmland. From 1964 to 1974, Pratt endured this exposure, often coming into contact with the herbicide on his skin. He did not know of the danger of this exposure.

After suffering multiple symptoms, the plaintiff was officially diagnosed with kidney disease in 2021. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) advises that once Paraquat enters the human body, it can travel to several areas and cause toxic chemical reactions. Included in the CDC advisory is the fact that ingesting even small to medium amounts of the herbicide can cause kidney failure.

Pratt’s complaint alleges that the defendants—Syngenta Crop Protection, LLC., Syngenta AG, and Chevron U.S.A., Inc.—either knew or should have known of the risk of harm Paraquat promotes.

In another lawsuit, filed in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California on May 2021, plaintiff Edwin Edwards asserted similar claims. Edwards applied Paraquat as an herbicide starting in 1975 and suffered repeated exposure to the substance, as well as inhaling, ingesting, and absorbing it into his body.

Edward was later diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. A study published in September 2019 in the Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health supports earlier research showing the link between Paraquat exposure and the development of Parkinson’s disease. According to the 2019 report, the occurrence of Parkinson’s disease was found to be 25 percent greater in participants who had been exposed to the herbicide.

In June 2021, a couple from Fort Worth, Texas, filed a lawsuit against the same defendants. According to the complaint, the plaintiff, David Tackel was exposed to Paraquat as part of his job on the Rock Island Railroad in 1970. The plaintiff regularly distributed the herbicide around the railroad bridges. In his later role as water engineer for the railroad, Tackel worked in a 10’ x 12’ room where Paraquat was stored. The plaintiff was eventually diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease.

He accuses the defendants of making, marketing, and selling a product that they knew causes Parkinson’s disease and of deliberately concealing the risks of the herbicide and hiding evidence of its dangers from government safety agencies.

 

Compensation in Paraquat Lawsuits

If you or a loved one has been diagnosed with Parkinson's disease after having significant exposure to Paraquat, then we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical and funeral expenses that result from the injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss and loss of estate (if death occurred).
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.
 

Attorneys Mike Papantonio and Alex Taylor Discuss the Paraquat Lawsuits

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 65 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $8 billion.

We have been appointed to the Plaintiffs' Executive Committee by the judge overseeing the federal lawsuits involving Paraquat. This means that we are directly involved in the national investigation and discovery that will hopefully result in a positive outcome for the individuals injured by this product.

We are one of the six law firms that first exposed the dangers of DuPont's chemical C8, and reached a $670 million settlement with the company on behalf of those injured as a result of C8 being dumped into the Ohio River and the air in West Virginia.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 1000 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of lawsuits against the largest companies in the world. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in business 65 years - $8 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
 
What Does It Cost to Hire Us

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40% depending upon how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Contact Information

To contact us for a free consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request a consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Paraquat Consultation Form, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Paraquat litigation.

Read More

Will My Paraquat Case be Handled as a Class Action

A class action is a type of lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many other individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are considered a member of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement approved by the court, even if an individual class member is going to receive little or no compensation.

This is not the type of litigation we will be pursuing for our Paraquat clients. Instead, we represent each individual based on his/her specific circumstances, and evaluate the recovery for each client based on his/her facts. Each of our clients always has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Paraquat Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

Paraquat Settlements

As of this time, there have been no large groups of mass torts settlements involving Paraquat and the link to Parkinon's Disease. However, litigation likes this generally takes many years to resolve, with teams of lawyers spending millions of dollars trying to determine exactly what occurred, and how it could have been prevented.

Large groups of settlements do not generally occur until such time as a few cases are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk. The first step in this process is usually having large groups of cases combined in federal court for discovery purposes. This process is known as Multi-District Litigation (known as an MDL).

In June 2021, an MDL for Paraquat was formed with all federal cases involving Paraquat being transferred to the Southern District of Illinois to be heard before Judge Nancy J. Rosenstengel. Our law firm is serving as on the Plaintiffs' Executive Committee for the MDL.

 

What Do We Know About Paraquat

Paraquat Purpose

The herbicide Paraquat has been commercially available since 1962, and is one of the most widely used herbicides around the world. It's utilized to control weeds and as a post-harvest drying agent.

As a restricted-use herbicide, Paraquat can be mixed, loaded, and/or applied only by individuals who have completed an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-approved training program. The herbicide is associated with a high potential for misuse, as well as poisonings.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) follows Paraquat because the agency considers it to be more toxic than other herbicides. The chemical’s toxicity manifests through ingestion, skin-absorption, and inhalation. Besides causing burns, the herbicide is known as a possible cause of birth defects and cancer, as well as of Parkinson’s Disease.

According to a June 2019 article in Environmental Health, Paraquat is one of only two herbicides still being used in the U.S. that have already been banned or are in the process of being phased out in China, EU, and Brazil. 

 

How is Paraquat Utilized

Paraquat is applied directly to plants as a spray that kills the leaves with direct contact. The compound is inactivated when it makes contact with soil.

The pesticide is sprayed as a mechanism for clearing fields before crops are planted, as well as for the purpose of destroying marijuana crops in Mexico and the U.S.  

According to the Unified Parkinson’s Advisory Council, Paraquat is also used as an herbicide for weeds that have developed a resistance to Roundup and other glyphosate-based herbicides.

With $640 million in global sales reported in 2011, use of Paraquat has recently been experiencing a sales increase as a result of the rise in high-profile Roundup lawsuits, as well as an increase in the number of glyphosate-resistant weeds.

 

What Do We Know About Parkinson’s Disease

Parkinson's disease is a disabling neurodegenerative disorder with a human onset in mid to later years in life. Effects to the motor system include tremors in the arms and legs, impaired coordination and balance, slow movements, and rigidity of the body and limbs. Such effects are attributed to the progressive degeneration of dopaminergic neurons in the brain.

In the realm of neurodegenerative diseases, Parkinson’s disease is the second most common. The disease is chronic and progressive, with only partial relief of symptoms from today’s medical therapies. As the world is experiencing an increasingly aging population, we have seen a greater prevalence of Parkinson’s disease, particularly in relatively newer developed countries, like India and China.

Genetic factors play a causal role in a small percentage of Parkinson’s disease cases, but the main cause of Parkinson’s disease has remained a mystery for years. In relatively recent years, an increasing number of scientific studies have connected Parkinson’s disease to environmental exposures, such as pesticides.