عوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم هي عبارة عن عقاقير يتم حقنها عن طريق الحقن في الوريد المريض قبل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) أو تصوير الأوعية بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRA) لتحسين الرؤية الداخلية للأعضاء الداخلية والأوعية الدموية والأورام والأنسجة.

ويدعي الدعوى القضائية التي تشمل عوامل التباين المستندة إلى الجادولينيوم أن استخدام هذه الأدوية يمكن أن يؤدي إلى سمية الجادولينيوم ، ومرض ترسب الجادولينيوم ، والتليف الجهازي الكلوي.

ماذا نعرف عن الدعاوى القضائية الجادولينيوم؟

أسباب التقاضي بشأن الجادولينيوم

خلال الفترة 2008 - 2015 ، تم تقديم أكثر من دعاوى 1,000 ضد الشركات المصنعة لوكلاء التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم (GBCA). وشملت هذه الدعاوى القضائية المرضى الذين عانوا من إصابات التليف الجهازي الكلوي بعد خضوعهم للتصوير بالرنين المغنطيسي (MRI) أو تصوير الأوعية بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRA) الذي استخدم GBCA.

عندما حدثت هذه الدعاوى القضائية ، قيل لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية أن المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل في الكلى والكلى هم وحدهم الذين يمكن أن يعانوا من إصابات ناتجة عن استخدام عوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم. وقد ثبت أن هذا خطأ. تم العثور الآن على إصابات خطيرة في المرضى الذين يعانون من وظائف الكلى العادية الذين خضعوا لفحص MRI أو MRA حيث تم استخدام GBCA الخطي.

في غضون دقائق وحتى شهرين بعد استخدام التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أو MRA حيث يتم استخدام GBCA الخطي ، يمكن للمرضى الذين يعانون من وظائف الكلى والكلية الطبيعية ظهور أعراض تتفق مع سمية الجادولينيوم. فشلت الشركات المصنعة لهذه GBCAs في تحذير مقدمي الرعاية الصحية من هذا الخطر حتى مايو 21 ، 2018.

اصابات الجادولينيوم والآثار الجانبية

الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعا الناجمة عن عوامل التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم هي الصداع ، والغثيان ، والدوخة ، وردود الفعل التحسسية. هذه الأعراض تحدث عادة في غضون دقائق من حقن الجادولينيوم ، إذا كانت تحدث.

أكثر الإصابات خطورة الناجمة عن استخدام وكلاء التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم هي مرض الجادولينيوم ترسب والتهاب الجهاز التنفسي كلوي.

التليف الجهازي الكلوي (NSF) هو مرض موهن وقاتل يتسبب في تصلب الجلد ، ويؤدي إلى تقلص مفاصل المريض. تتأثر المناطق الواقعة بين الكاحلين والفخذين والرسغين وأعلى الذراعين. تتطور الأعراض ببطء على مدى بضعة أسابيع إلى بضعة أشهر بعد التعرض لعوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم ، ويمكن أن تؤدي إلى الألم المزمن وفقدان الحركة.

مرض ترسب الجادولينيوم (GDD) يسبب مرضى يعانون من تليف (سماكة وتندب من النسيج الضام) في الجهاز والعظام ، والجلد ، و gadolinium ليتم الاحتفاظ بها في نواة الخلايا العصبية في الدماغ. تبدأ الأعراض في غضون دقائق تصل إلى شهرين بعد التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أو MRA حيث تم استخدام عامل التباين الخطي القائم على الجادولينيوم.

المرضى الذين يعانون من مرض ترسب الغادولينيوم في كثير من الأحيان يعانون من الصداع المزمن ، وآلام العظام والمفاصل ، والحدة الذهنية. ويمكنهم أيضًا تجربة سماكة الأنسجة الرخوة تحت الجلد والتي تبدو إسفنجية أو مطاطية إلى حد ما. قد تصبح الأوتار والأربطة أيضًا مؤلمة ولها مظهر سميك.

أعراض مرض ترسب الجادولينيوم

  1. حرق شديد للجلد ، يوصف بأنه دبابيس وإبر
  2. ألم شديد في العظام والمفاصل والأوتار والأربطة
  3. الارتباك الذهني أو الضباب الدماغي
  4. وخز أو خدر في الجلد
  5. صداع شديد ومستمر
  6. تلف الكلى
  7. الجلد الذي يظهر اسفنجي أو مطاطي

إقرأ المزيد

الاحتباس الجادوليوم والسمية هي مرض تقدمي. تتوفر العديد من العلاجات إذا تم اكتشاف الحالة في وقت مبكر ، ولكن في كثير من الأحيان يكون المرض غير قابل للشفاء.

يحدث الاحتفاظ الجادولينيوم فقط في المرضى الذين تلقوا وكيل التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم. الجادولينيوم لا يحدث بشكل طبيعي في الجسم وليس هناك مصدر بيئي معروف.

يمكن أن تكون سمية الجادولينيوم مؤلمة ، وغالبا ما تحدث في الذراعين والساقين. يمكن أن تتطور الأعراض إلى عدم قدرة المريض على استخدام ذراعيه ورجليه ويديه وقدميه ومفاصل أخرى.

يمكن إجراء اختبار بسيط لساعة 24-hour لتحديد ما إذا كان المريض يحتفظ بالجادولينيوم. يجب إجراء هذا الاختبار بعد 30 يوم أو أكثر بعد إدارة GBCA الأحدث.

التعويض في الدعاوى القضائية الجادولينيوم

إذا كنت تعاني من سمية الجادولينيوم بعد إجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أو MRA حيث تم استخدام عامل تباين خطي يعتمد على الجادولينيوم ، فقد يحق لك الحصول على الأضرار التالية:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية الناتجة عن إصاباتك.
  2. آلام ومعاناة الماضي والمستقبل (الجسدية والعقلية) الناجمة عن الإصابات ، وعملية العلاج والانتعاش.
  3. خسارة الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل.
  4. خسارة الماضي والمستقبل من القدرة على الكسب.
  5. فقدان الماضي والمستقبل من التمتع بالحياة.
  6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

المقاضاة الجادولينيوم دعوى التسوية

مستوطنات الجادولينيوم

اعتبارا من هذا الوقت ، لم يكن هناك كبير التسويات الجماعية تنطوي على إصابات سمية الجادولينيوم والارتباط إلى عوامل التباين الخطي القائم على الجادولينيوم. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الأنواع المحددة من الإصابات أصبحت معروفة في الآونة الأخيرة. الدعاوى القضائية هي مجرد بداية. مجموعات كبيرة من المستوطنات لا تحدث بشكل عام حتى وقت قليل محاكمات رائدة تحدث والشركات المصنعة قادرة على فهم أعمق لمخاطرها المالية.

في 2008 ، تم رفع المئات من الدعاوى القضائية في محكمة اتحادية تزعم أن وكلاء التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم تسببوا في إصابات التليف الجهازي الكلوي (NSF) في المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل في الكلى أو الكلى الذين خضعوا بعد ذلك ل MRI. كانت الحالات معصوم أمام قاضٍ واحد في المحكمة الفيدرالية في ولاية أوهايو. استقرت الحالات في نهاية المطاف لمبالغ كبيرة من المال ، وكانت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية مطالبة الشركات المصنعة بوضعها بالتفصيل تحذيرات على ملصقاتهم. كان قانوننا هو المحامي المشارك الرئيسي لجميع المدّعين في هذا التقاضي.

فرعون أبناء عمومة والمحامي كيم آدمز ناقش السمية الجادولينيوم

مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

غادولينيوم الاستدعاءات والتحذيرات

في ديسمبر 2017 ، بدأت إدارة FDA تحذير لتتضمن مع عوامل التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم. يهدف هذا التحذير إلى إخطار الأطباء بأن الجادولينيوم يمكن أن يبقى في جسم المريض ، بما في ذلك الدماغ ، لعدة أشهر إلى سنوات بعد حقن المريض بهذا الدواء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيتم توفير دليل الدواء للمرضى الذين يقومون بتثقيفهم حول هذا الخطر المحتمل.

في شهر أيار (مايو) ، أصدرت 21 ، 2018 ، الشركات الأربع المصنعة لوسطاء التباين على أساس الجادولينيوم تحذير مشترك للمرضى الذين يعانون من وظائف الكلى الطبيعية. حذر المصنعون من أن الجادولينيوم من GBCAs الخطية يمكن أن يبقى في جسم المريض لعدة أشهر بعد سنوات بعد الحقن. وحذروا من أنه تم العثور على أعلى تركيزات الجادولينيوم المحتجز في عظام المريض ، تليها الأعضاء (مثل الدماغ والجلد والكلى والكبد والطحال). حدث هذا حتى مع المرضى الذين لديهم وظيفة الكلى الطبيعية قبل أن يكون لديهم التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أو MRA.

كان المرضى المعرضون لأعلى درجة خطورة لسمية الجادولينيوم من النساء الحوامل ومرضى الأطفال. تم تحذير مقدمي الرعاية الصحية من أن الاحتفاظ كان أكبر عندما تم حقن المرضى مع GBCA الطولي مقابل GBCA macrocyclic.

ما هو الغرض من وكلاء العقد القائم على الجادولينيوم؟

وكلاء التباين القائم على الجادولينيوم (GBCA) يتم حقن العقاقير الوريدية في الوريد المريض قبل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) أو تصوير الأوعية بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRA) لتحسين الرؤية الداخلية للأعضاء الداخلية والأوعية الدموية والأورام والأنسجة.

وقد استخدمت GBCAs في أمريكا منذ 1988 ، والآن هي تستخدم في 33٪ تقريبًا لجميع التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. هناك نوعان من GBCAs ، خطي و macrocyclic.

تكون GBCAs الخطية أقل استقرارًا من حيث ميلها إلى إطلاق أيونات الجادولينيوم. تميل GBCAs الحلزونية الكبرى للبقاء سليمة لأن الجزيء يوفر حماية أفضل من خلال الربط الأقوى للأيونات المعدنية.

وقد ادعى صانعي أن GBCAs الخطية من المفترض أن تقوم بإزالة الكلى بسرعة عن طريق البول ، وليس المرضى ذوي التأثيرات العادية إلى وظائف الكلى شبه الطبيعية. قيل لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية أن GBCA له عمر نصف من 90 - 120 دقيقة في المرضى الذين يعانون من وظائف الكلى العادية. وقد ثبت أن هذا غير صحيح ، ويصدر مصنعو GBCA الخطي تحذيراً مشتركًا في 2018 فيما يتعلق باحتمال الاحتفاظ بالجادولينيوم بعد استخدام GBCA.

هناك أربع شركات مصنعة رئيسية لـ GBCA الخطي: (1) شركة باير للرعاية الصحية ، والتي تنتج Magnevist & Eovist ؛ (2) GE Healthcare ، التي تنتج Omniscan ؛ (3) Bracco Diagnositics ، التي تنتج MultiHance ؛ (4) Guerbet ، التي تنتج Optimark ؛ و (5) Mallinckrodt ، التي تنتج OptiMARK.

جادولينيوم دعوى قضائية الأخبار

Gadolinium أخبار بانر

Chuck Norris، FDA And Gadolinium - Untangling The Lawsuit:

يقاضي تشاك وجينا نوريس المصنعين وموزعي وكيل التباين المستخدم في التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) للتأثيرات الضارة على صحة جينا. تدعي جينا نوريس أنها طورت مرض غدولاسيوم (GDD) بعد خضوعها لثلاث عمليات تصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي المعززة في فترة أسبوع واحد. ذكرت في المجلس الأمريكي للعلوم والصحة

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق باستخدام الجادولينيوم

مرض ترسب الجادولينيوم: الوصف الأولي للمرض الذي كان موجودًا منذ فترة:

يبدو أن سمية الجادولينيوم قد نشأت بعد إدارة GBCA ، والتي يبدو أنها تحتوي على سمات سريرية شوهدت في التليف الجهازي الكلوي ، ولكن أيضا سمات لم تلاحظ في هذا الشرط. ذكرت في التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي

الجادولينيوم في البشر: عائلة من الاضطرابات:

"مرض ترسب الجادولينيوم" هو الاسم الذي نقترحه لعملية مرضية تتم ملاحظتها في الأشخاص ذوي وظائف الكلى العادية أو شبه العادية والذين يصابون بأعراض دائمة تنشأ قبل ساعات من إعطاء 2 أشهر من إدارة GBCAs. في هذه الحالات ، لا يوجد مرض موجود مسبقا أو مرض متطور في وقت لاحق من عملية بديلة معروفة للحساب للأعراض. ذكرت في المجلة الأمريكية للعلم الأشعة

تحذر إدارة الأغذية والأدوية (FDA) من الإبقاء على عوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم (GBCAs) في الجسم ؛ يتطلب تحذيرات فئة جديدة:

حتى الآن ، فإن التأثير الصحي الضار الوحيد المعروف المتعلق باحتفاظ الجادولينيوم هو حالة نادرة تسمى "التليف الليفي" nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) التي تحدث في مجموعة فرعية صغيرة من المرضى الذين يعانون من فشل كلوي سابق. تلقينا أيضا تقارير عن الأحداث الضائرة التي تنطوي على أنظمة أجهزة متعددة في المرضى الذين يعانون من وظائف الكلى الطبيعية. لا يمكن تأسيس علاقة سببية بين هذه الأحداث الضائرة واحتباس الجادولينيوم. ذكرت في FDA سلامة الاتصالات

تتطلب إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA تحذيراً طبقاً جديدًا وأبحاثًا إضافية حول الاحتفاظ في جسم الجادولينيوم من عوامل التباين المستندة إلى الجادولينيوم المستخدم في التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي:

وتتطلب إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير إصدار تحذير جديد لجميع أنواع GBCAs حول الجادولينيوم المتبقي في الجسم لأشهر أو سنوات بعد تلقي الدواء. يجب على مصنعي GBCAs إجراء دراسات بشرية وحيوانية لمواصلة تقييم سلامة عوامل التباين هذه. كما تطلب إدارة الغذاء والدواء دليلاً للمرضى يقدم معلومات تربوية سيحصل عليها كل مريض قبل استلام GBCA. ذكرت في موجز ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير

إقرأ المزيد

لا تحدد إدارة الغذاء والدواء أي آثار ضارة حتى الآن مع احتجاز الدماغ لعوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم في التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. مراجعة للمتابعة:

لم تقم مراجعة FDA حتى الآن بتحديد الآثار الصحية السلبية الناجمة عن الجادولينيوم المحتفظ به في الدماغ بعد استخدام عوامل التباين القائمة على الجادولينيوم (GBCAs) للتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). ذكرت في FDA سلامة الدواء والاتصالات 2017

ترسب الجادوليني داخل القحف بعد التصوير بالرنين المغير المعزز بالتناقض:

يرتبط التواجد عن طريق الحقن الوريدي المصاحب لـ GBCA بترسب الأنسجة العصبية في وضع وظائف الكلى الطبيعية نسبيًا. هناك حاجة لدراسات إضافية للتحقيق في الأهمية السريرية لهذه النتائج وتعميمها على GBCAs الأخرى. ذكرت في طب إشعاعي

تحذيرات جديدة لاستخدام عوامل التباين المبنية على الجادولينيوم في المرضى الذين يعانون من خلل في وظائف الكلى:

تطالب إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) بتغييرات في ملصق الدواء لعوامل التباين المبنية على الجادولينيوم (GBCAs) لتقليل خطر الإصابة بالتليف الجهازي الكلوي (NSF) ، وهي حالة نادرة ولكنها خطيرة ترتبط باستخدام GBCAs في بعض المرضى الذين يعانون من خلل في الكلى. ذكرت في FDA سلامة الدواء والاتصالات 2010

جوائز وتكريم
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
جوائز وتكريم
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
التوصيات
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

التوصيات
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

Gadolinium Lawsuit Lawyer - MRI Contrast Agent Toxicity Settlements
Gadolinium Lawsuit Header Gadolinium Lawsuit Header

The Gadolinium lawsuit claims that patients can suffer gadolinium toxicity after undergoing an MRI scan that uses Linear Gadolinium-Based Contrast Agents.

Our law firm is accepting clients who experienced symptoms of gadolinium toxicity (such as severe bone and joint pain, headaches, and mental confusion) after having an MRI, and who had normal kidney and renal function before the MRI.

We have been handling lawsuits against drug companies since 1955. Each year we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

Why Are Gadolinium Lawsuits Being Filed?

Reasons for Gadolinium Litigation

During the period 2008 - 2015, more than 1,000 lawsuits were filed against the manufacturers of Gadolinium-Based Contrast Agents (GBCA). These lawsuits involved patients who experienced Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis injuries after undergoing a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or a magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) scan that used GBCA.

When these lawsuits occurred, healthcare providers were told that only patients with renal and kidney issues could suffer injuries from the use of gadolinium-based contrast agents. This has proven to be wrong. Severe injuries have now been found in patients with normal kidney function who underwent an MRI or MRA scan where a Linear GBCA was used.

Within minutes to up to two months after having an MRI or MRA where a Linear GBCA is utilized, patients with normal kidney and renal function can develop symptoms consistent with gadolinium toxicity. The manufacturers of these GBCAs failed to warn healthcare providers of this danger until May 21, 2018.

Lawsuits are now being filed on behalf of patients who have suffered gadolinium toxicity after an MRI or MRA and who had no known kidney or renal issues before the scan.

 

Gadolinium Injuries & Side Effects

The most serious injuries caused by the use of gadolinium-based contrast agents are Gadolinium Deposition Disease and Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis.

Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis (NSF) is a debilitating and deadly disease that causes the skin to harden, and causes the patient’s joints to contract.

Symptoms of Gadolinium Deposition Disease include fibrosis in bones, organs, and skin, and retention in the neuronal nuclei of the brain. Symptoms start within minutes up to two months after an MRI or MRA where a linear gadolinium-based contrast agent was used.

Patients suffering from Gadolinium Deposition Disease (GDD) often experience chronic headaches, bone and joint pain, and clouded mental acuity. They also can experience subcutaneous soft-tissue thickening that appears somewhat spongy or rubbery. Tendons and ligaments may also become painful and have a thickened appearance.

Gadolinium toxicity pain can be excruciating, often occurring in the arms and legs. Symptoms can progress to a patient’s inability to use his/her arms, legs, hands, feet, and other joints.

Symptoms of Gadolinium Deposition Disease

  1. Intense burning of the skin, described as pins and needles
  2. Intense pain in bones, joints, tendons, and ligaments
  3. Mental confusion or brain fog
  4. Tingling or numbness in the skin
  5. Severe and persistent headaches
  6. Kidney damage
  7. Skin that appears spongy or rubbery

Gadolinium retention and toxicity is a progressive disease. Several treatments are available if the condition is caught early, but often the disease is not curable. Gadolinium retention only occurs in patients who have received a gadolinium-based contrast agent. Gadolinium does not occur naturally in the body and there is no known environmental source.

A simple 24-hour urine test can be performed to determine whether a patient is retaining gadolinium. This test should be performed 30 days or more after the most recent GBCA administration.

 

Compensation in Gadolinium Lawsuits

If you suffered from gadolinium toxicity after having an MRI or MRA where a linear gadolinium-based contrast agent was utilized, we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical expenses that result from your injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss.
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 
 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the law firm that served as co-lead plaintiffs' counsel for the original national litigation involving the link between gadolinium-based contrast agents and Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis. This litigation settled for a large, confidential amount.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against drug companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Gadolinium Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Gadolinium lawsuits.

Read More

Will My Gadolinium Case be Handled as a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are a part of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement, even if an individual is going to receive little or no compensation.

Our Gadolinium attorneys will not be pursuing class actions for our clients. Instead, we represent each client on his/her specific facts, and we evaluate each client's damages on his/her specific facts. Each of our clients has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Gadolinium Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

Gadolinium settlements

As of this time, there have been no large mass tort settlements involving gadolinium toxicity injuries and the link to linear gadolinium-based contrast agents. However, these specific types of injuries have just recently become publicly known. Lawsuits are now just beginning. Large groups of settlements do not generally occur until such time as a few bellwether trials occur and the manufacturers are able to more thoroughly understand their financial risk.

In 2008, hundreds of lawsuits were filed in federal court claiming Gadolinium-Based Contrast Agents had caused Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis (NSF) injuries in patients suffering from kidney or renal issues who then underwent an MRI. The cases were consolided before one judge in federal court in Ohio. The cases eventually settled for large sums of money, and the FDA required the manufacturers to place detailed warnings on their labels. Our law was the co-lead counsel for all plaintiffs in this litigation.

 

Farron Cousins & Attorney Kim Adams Discuss Gadolinium Toxicity

 
Watch More Videos
 

Gadolinium Recalls & Warnings

On May 21, 2018, the four manufacturers of linear Gadolinium-Based Contrast Agents issued a joint warning to patients with normal kidney function. The manufacturers warned that gadolinium from linear GBCAs could remain in a patient’s body for months to years after injection. They warned that the highest concentrations of retained gadolinium were being found in a patient’s bones, followed by organs (such as the brain, skin, kidney, liver, and spleen). This occurred even with patients who had normal kidney function before having their MRI or MRA.

Patients at highest risk of gadolinium toxicity were pregnant women and pediatric patients. Healthcare providers were warned that the retention was greater when patients were injected with linear GBCA versus macrocyclic GBCA.

 

What is the Purpose of Gadolinium-Based Contract Agents?

Gadolinium-Based Contrast Agents (GBCA) are intravenous drugs injected into a patient's vein before a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or a magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) scan to improve visualization of internal organs, blood vessels, and tissues.

GBCAs have been used in America since 1988, and now are utilized in almost 40% of all MRIs. There are two types of GBCAs, linear and macrocyclic.

Linear GBCAs are less stable in terms of their tendency to release Gadolinium ions. Macrocyclic GBCAs tend to stay intact because the molecule offers better protection through stronger binding of the metal ions.

Manufacturers have claimed that linear GBCAs are supposed to quickly clear the kidneys through urine, and not impact patients with normal to near-normal kidney function. Healthcare providers have been told that GBCA has a half-life of 90 – 120 minutes in patients with normal kidney function. This has proven to be false, and the manufacturers of linear GBCA issues a joint warning in 2018 regarding the potential retention of gadolinium after the use of GBCA.

There are four main manufacturers of linear GBCA: (1) Bayer Healthcare, which produces Magnevist & Eovist; (2) GE Healthcare, which produces Omniscan; (3) Bracco Diagnositics, which produces MultiHance; and (iv) Guerbet, which produces Optimark.

 

Gadolinium Lawsuit News

Gadolinium News Banner

Chuck Norris, FDA And Gadolinium - Untangling The Lawsuit:

Chuck and Gena Norris are suing manufacturers and distributors of a contrast agent used in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) for ill effects on Gena’s health. Gena Norris is claiming that she developed Gadolinium Deposition Disease (GDD) after undergoing three contrast-enhanced MRIs in a one week period. Reported in The American Council on Science and Health

 

FDA & Scientific Studies Regarding Gadolinium Use

Gadolinium deposition disease: Initial description of a disease that has been around for a while:

Gadolinium toxicity appears to arise following GBCA administration, which appears to contain clinical features seen in Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis, but also features not observed in that condition. Reported in Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Gadolinium in Humans: A Family of Disorders:

“Gadolinium deposition disease” is the name we propose for a disease process observed in subjects with normal or near normal renal function who develop persistent symptoms that arise hours to 2 months after the administration of GBCAs. In these cases, no preexistent disease or subsequently developed disease of an alternate known process is present to account for the symptoms. Reported in American Journal of Roentgenology

FDA warns that gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) are retained in the body; requires new class warnings:

To date, the only known adverse health effect related to gadolinium retention is a rare condition called nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) that occurs in a small subgroup of patients with pre-existing kidney failure. We have also received reports of adverse events involving multiple organ systems in patients with normal kidney function. A causal association between these adverse events and gadolinium retention could not be established. Reported in FDA Safety Communication

FDA requires new class warning and additional research on retention in the body of gadolinium from gadolinium-based contrast agents used in magnetic resonance imaging:

The FDA is requiring a new class warning for all GBCAs about gadolinium remaining in the body for months or years after receiving the drug. Manufacturers of GBCAs must also conduct human and animal studies to further assess the safety of these contrast agents. The FDA is also requiring a patient medication guide providing educational information that every patient will be given before receiving a GBCA. Reported in FDA Brief

Read More

FDA identifies no harmful effects to date with brain retention of gadolinium-based contrast agents for MRIs; review to continue:

An FDA review to date has not identified adverse health effects from gadolinium retained in the brain after the use of gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Reported in FDA Drug Safety Communication 2017

Intracranial Gadolinium Deposition after Contrast-enhanced MR Imaging:

Intravenous GBCA exposure is associated with neuronal tissue deposition in the setting of relatively normal renal function. Additional studies are needed to investigate the clinical significance of these findings and the generalizability to other GBCAs. Reported in Radiology

New warnings for using gadolinium-based contrast agents in patients with kidney dysfunction:

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is requiring changes in the drug label for gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) to minimize the risk of nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF), a rare, but serious, condition associated with the use of GBCAs in certain patients with kidney dysfunction. Reported in FDA Drug Safety Communication 2010

 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.
 
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.