Abilify ، وضعت أصلا من قبل شركة اوتسوكا للادوية وتسويقها في الولايات المتحدة من قبل بريستول ماير سكويب (BMS) ، حصلت على موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية لأول مرة في نوفمبر 2002 وتمت الموافقة عليها من قبل وكالة الأدوية الأوروبية (EMA) في 2004.

Abilify هو "الجيل الثاني" غير نمطية الأدوية المضادة للذهان تستخدم في المقام الأول لعلاج الفصام والاضطراب الثنائي القطب. في بعض الحالات ، يستخدم Abilify جنبا إلى جنب مع العلاجات والأدوية الأخرى للمرضى الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب الشديد ، واضطرابات العرة مثل متلازمة توريت ، والتهيج المرتبط بالتوحد.

Abilify نظرة عامة

Abilify نظرة عامة

Abilify (aripiprazole) هي واحدة من عدد من "الأدوية المضادة للذهان" من الجيل الثاني "الجيل الثاني" ، والمعروفة باسم SGAs. تشمل الأدوية الأخرى الموصوفة في هذه الفئة سافريس (asenapine maleate) ، Clozaril (كلوزابين)، سروقول (quetiapine fumarate) و ريسبردال (الريسبيريدون).

مثل مضادات الذهان السابقة "التقليدية" مثل هالدول (هالوبيريدول) ، ومستقبلات SGAs كتلة في الدماغ مسارات الدوبامين، والتي تشارك في السلوكيات بدافع الثواب. واحدة من المزايا التي توصف ل SGAs على مضادات الذهان التقليدية هي أنها أقل عرضة للتسبب في اضطرابات الحركة ، مثل الهزات المرتبطة بمرض باركنسون. لسوء الحظ ، أثبتت عدد قليل نسبيا من SGAs أنها أفضل من الأدوية السابقة في هذا الصدد.

في الواقع ، في حين أن SGAs تعتبر منذ فترة طويلة "أكثر أمانًا" من الأدوية المضادة للذهان من الجيل الأول ، فقد ثبت أن لها آثار جانبية خطيرة خاصة بها ، والتي تشمل:

  1. خلل الحركة المتأخر، اضطراب يتميز بحركات الرجيج اللاإرادية
  2. متلازمة خبيثة للذهان، وهو تأثير جانبي نادر ولكنه خطير ينتج عنه صلابة عضلية وتغير الإدراك والدوار وانخفاض ضغط الدم ووظيفة العضلات اللاإرادية (أي معدل ضربات القلب)
  3. زيادة خطر الإصابة بسكتة دماغية أو نوبة قلبية مفاجئة
  4. الجلطة (تخثر الدم)
  5. مستويات الجلوكوز المرتفعة ومرض السكري
  6. زيادة الوزن

Abilify التاريخ

Abilify التاريخ

اعتمدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) على أبيليفايي Abilify على بيانات تم جمعها من خمسة دراسات سريرية "كافية ومراقبة بشكل جيد" ، أربعة منها استمرت لمدة ستة أسابيع أو أقل واستمرت لمدة ستة أشهر. أظهرت البيانات من الدراسات قصيرة الأجل انخفاضًا واضحًا في الأعراض المصاحبة للذهان ، في حين أظهرت الدراسة الأطول انخفاضًا في معدل الانتكاس في الأشخاص الذين حصلوا على الدواء مقارنةً بالمجموعة الثانية.

بعد الموافقة المبدئية في الولايات المتحدة على علاج مرض انفصام الشخصية ، انتقل أبيليفي إلى تلقي الضوء الأخضر من الجهات التنظيمية من أجل:

  1. اضطراب المزاج ثنائي القطب (2004)
  2. الاكتئاب السريري (2007)
  3. التهيج المرتبط بالتوحد (2009)

بواسطة 2013 ، كان أبيليفاي مبيعا المخدرات وصفة طبية في الولايات المتحدة ، مع مبيعات بمليارات الدولارات. تم توفير إصدار عام من Abilify منذ أبريل ، 2015.

في 2005 ، وجدت دراسة ما بعد السوق أن المرضى المسنين الذين عولجوا مع Abilify للخرف كانوا أكثر عرضة للوفاة المبكرة. على الرغم من حقيقة أن إدارة الغذاء والدواء لم تمنح الموافقة على هذا المؤشر - وفي الواقع ، طلبت أن يتم تضمين صندوق أسود يحذر من الخطر مع التغليف - BMS مضت إلى الأمام وبسرعة تسويق الدواء للمرضى المسنين وكذلك الأطفال والمراهقين أغراض غير مصرح بها "خارج التسمية". عندما اكتشف المنظمون الفيدراليون تكتيكات التسويق الخاصة بالشركات ، وقع BMS على "اتفاقية تكامل الشركات" مع الحكومة ودفع مبلغ 515 مليون دولار لتسوية الادعاءات.

Abilify السلوك القهري

يبطئ السلوك القهري

في يوليو 2011 ، ورقة نشرت في المجلة البريطانية للطب النفسي أبلغ عن ثلاث دراسات حالة وجد فيها المرضى أنفسهم مهووسين بالمقامرة وغير قادرين على التحكم في نبضاتهم بعد وصفهم لأبيليفاي.

وجد أحد المرضى ، الذي كان يخضع بالفعل لعلاج القمار القهري ، نفسه يتحول إلى الجريمة من أجل تمويل أنشطته. كان هناك مريض آخر ، كان يقضي نصف دخله على أنشطة القمار قبل اتخاذ أبيليفاي ، ينفق جميع أمواله تقريبا ، معترفا بأن القمار أصبح سببا للعيش فيه. وجد مريض آخر ، لم يسبق له مثيل من قبل أن لعب ألعاب الحظ ، أنه "يشعر باحتجاجات قوية للمقامرة على شكل شعور مبتهج عند التفكير في المقامرة" ، وفي النهاية سيتكبد ديون ما يقرب من £ 25 000 (حوالي $ 40,000 USD) على الإنترنت الكازينوهات القائمة. بعد إيقاف أبيليف ، فقد المريض كل الرغبة في المقامرة.

في 2013 ، أشارت دراسة نُشرت في مجلة Addictive Behaviors إلى أن الإفراط في تحفيز مستقبلات الدوبامين في الدماغ يزيد من مشاعر المتعة. هذه هي آلية عمل أبيليفاي. على مر السنين بعد الموافقة على الدواء ، تلقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء أكثر من تقارير 180 للسلوكيات التي لا يمكن التحكم فيها والمرتبطة بأبيليفاي ، والتي تشمل:

  1. القمار المرضي
  2. السلوك و النشاط الجنسي
  3. التسوق القهري
  4. الشراهة عند تناول الطعام

ومن الغريب أن عبوات Abilify في الاتحاد الأوروبي تضمنت تحذيرات حول هذه المسألة التي تبدأ في 2012 ، وتتبعها كندا في 2015. ومع ذلك ، لم يظهر هذا التحذير على العبوة الأمريكية حتى مايو 2016 ، عندما أمرت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير بإدراج هذه المعلومات في تصنيف أبيليف - ووفقا لمسؤولي إدارة الأغذية والأدوية ، حتى هذا التحذير غير كاف. ليس من الواضح لماذا لم يتم تقديم مثل هذه التحذيرات في الولايات المتحدة حتى وقت اضطر الشركات المصنعة للقيام بذلك.

في ديسمبر 2016 ، دفعت BMS $ 19.5 مليون إلى وزارة العدل الأمريكية لتسوية مزاعم التقليل من مخاطر Abilify ، تشويه البيانات من الدراسات السريرية ، وتعزيز المخدرات بشكل غير قانوني لأغراض خارج التسمية. وعلى الرغم من هذا العدد المتزايد من الدعاوى Abilify ، اوتسوكا تقديم طلب جديد للمخدرات مع FDA في مايو 2016 للحصول على شكل جديد من Abilify يحتوي على جهاز استشعار رقمي سهل الحمل. هذا التطبيق قيد المراجعة حاليًا.

أبيليفي القضايا

تعويض Invokana

تم تقديم أكثر من دعاوى 2,000 ضد الشركات المصنعة لأبيليفي. يزعم المدعون أن Abilify كان مسؤولاً عن سلوكهم القهري غير القابل للسيطرة ، مما أدى إلى أضرار مالية وشخصية. كما يزعمون أن الشركات المصنعة كانت على علم بهذه الآثار الجانبية المحتملة لكنها فشلت في واجبها في تحذير المستهلكين والمهنيين الطبيين.

للحصول على معلومات موسعة حول هذه الإجراءات القضائية ، قم بزيارة موقعنا Abilify دعوى قضائية. تصف هذه الصفحة بالتفصيل الدعاوى المرفوعة ضد Otsuka Pharmaceutical و Bristol-Myers Squibb ، وكيف يمكن لشخص مصاب من Abilify المشاركة في إجراءات المحكمة والحصول على تعويض عن إصاباتهم.

Abilify Side Effects & Injuries - Compulsive Behaviors
Testosterone Lawsuit Header

Abilify, originally developed by Otsuka Pharmaceuticals Company and marketed in the U.S. by Bristol-Meyer Squibb (BMS), first gained approval by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in November 2002 and was approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) in 2004.

Abilify is an atypical “second-generation” anti-psychotic medication used primarily for the treatment of schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. In some cases, Abilify is used in conjunction with other treatments and medications for patients suffering major depression, tic disorders such as Tourette's Syndrome, and autism-related irritability.

 

Abilify Overview

Abilify Overview

Abilify (aripiprazole) is one of a number of “second generation” atypical antipsychotic medications, commonly known as SGAs. Other frequently-prescribed drugs in this class include Saphris (asenapine maleate), Clozaril (clozapine), Seroquel (quetiapine fumarate) and Risperdal (risperidone).

Like earlier “typical” antipsychotics such as Haldol (haloperidol), SGAs block receptors in the brain's dopamine pathways, which are involved in reward-motivated behaviors. One of the advantages touted for SGAs over typical antipsychotics is that they are less likely to cause movement disorders, such as tremors associated with Parkinson's disease. Unfortunately, relatively few SGAs have proven to be any better than earlier medications in this regard.

In fact, while SGAs have long been considered “safer” than first generation antipsychotic drugs, they have been shown to have their own dangerous side effects, which include:

  1. tardive dyskinesia, a disorder characterized by uncontrollable, involuntary jerking movements
  2. neuroleptic malignant syndrome, a rare, but serious side effect resulting in muscular rigidity, altered perception, dizziness, low blood pressure and involuntary muscle function (i.e., heart rate)
  3. increased risk of stroke or sudden heart attack
  4. thrombosis (blood clotting)
  5. elevated glucose levels and diabetes
  6. weight gain

 

Abilify History

Abilify History

FDA approval of Abilify was based on data gathered from five “adequate and well-controlled” clinical studies, four of which ran for six weeks or less and one lasting six months. The data from the short-term studies demonstrated a clear reduction in symptoms associated with psychoses, while the longer study showed a reduced rate of relapse in subjects who were given the medication compared with the placebo group.

Following initial approval in the U.S. for the treatment of schizophrenia, Abilify went on to receive the greenlight from regulators for:

  1. bipolar disorder (2004)
  2. clinical depression (2007)
  3. autism-associated irritability (2009)

By 2013, Abilify was the top-selling prescription drug in the U.S., with multi-billion dollars in sales. A generic version of Abilify has been available since April, 2015.

In 2005, a post-market study found that elderly patients treated with Abilify for dementia were at greater risk for premature death. Despite the fact that the FDA had never granted approval for this indication – and in fact, requested that a black box warning about the risk be included with packaging – BMS went ahead and aggressively marketed the drug to geriatric patients as well as children and adolescents for unapproved “off-label” purposes. When federal regulators discovered the company's marketing tactics, BMS signed a “Corporate Integrity Agreement” with the government and paid $515 million to settle the allegations.

 

Abilify Compulsive Behaviors

Abilify Compulsive Behavior

In July 2011, a paper published in the British Journal of Psychiatry reported three case studies in which patients found themselves obsessed with gambling and unable to control their impulses after having been prescribed Abilify.

One patient, who had already been under treatment for compulsive gambling, found himself turning to crime in order to fund his activities. Another patient, who had been spending half of his income on gambling activities prior to taking Abilify, was spending virtually all of his funds, admitting that gambling had become his reason for living. Another patient, who had never before played games of chance, found himself “experiencing strong urges to gamble in the form of a euphoric feeling when thinking about gambling,” eventually incurring debts of approximately £25 000 (approximately $40,000 USD) at Internet-based casinos. After discontinuing Abilify, the patient lost all desire to gamble.

In 2013, a study published in the journal Addictive Behaviors noted that overstimulation of dopamine receptors in the brain intensify feelings of pleasure. This is Abilify's mechanism of action. Over the years following the drug's approval, the FDA received more than 180 reports of uncontrollable behaviors linked to Abilify, which include:

  1. pathological gambling
  2. hypersexual behavior and activity
  3. compulsive shopping
  4. binge eating

Oddly, Abilify packaging in the European Union included warnings about this issue beginning in 2012, with Canada following suit in 2015. However, this warning did not appear on U.S. packaging until May 2016, when the FDA ordered that such information be included on Abilify labeling – and according to FDA officials, even this warning was inadequate. It is not clear as to why such warnings were not given in the U.S. until such time as the manufacturers were forced to do so.

In December 2016, BMS paid $19.5 million to the U.S. Justice Department to settle allegations of minimizing the risks of Abilify, misrepresenting data from clinical studies, and illegally promoting the drug for off-label purposes. Despite this and the growing number of Abilify lawsuits, Otsuka filed a New Drug Application with the FDA in May 2016 for a new form of Abilify containing an ingestible, digital sensor. That application is currently under review.

 

Abilify Lawsuits

Invokana compensation

Hundreds of claims have been filed against the manufacturers of Abilify. Plaintiffs claim Abilify was responsible for their compulsive, uncontrollable behavior, resulting in financial and personal damages. They further allege that the manufacturers were aware of these potential side effects yet failed in their duty to warn consumers and medical professionals.

For extensive information on these court proceedings, visit our Abilify Lawsuit Page. This page describes in detail the litigation pending against Otsuka Pharmaceutical and Bristol-Myers Squibb, and how someone injured by Abilify can participate in the court proceedings and receive compensation for their injuries.

 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against pharmaceutical companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in business 62 years - $4 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
What Does It Cost

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193 (toll free). You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Abilify litigation.