تزعم دعوى أبيليفايي أن صانعي أبيليفاي فشلوا في تحذير الأطباء والمرضى من أن هذا العقار يمكن أن يسبب القمار القهري والتسوق والأكل والجنس. اعتبارا من ديسمبر 2018 ، تم رفع أكثر من الدعاوى القضائية 2,100 في محكمة اتحادية ضد الشركات المصنعة Abilify.

ماذا نعرف عن الدعاوى Abilify؟

أسباب ابيليفي التقاضي

ويتهم اتسوكا الدوائية وبريستول- مايرز سكويب ، وصانعي أبيليف ، من تصميم إهمال Abilify وإخفاء الأدلة على أن المخدرات يزيد من خطر السلوك الإدماني.

تشير سجلات المحكمة إلى أن صانعي الأدوية فشلوا في اختبار Abilify بشكل صحيح ؛ مبالغ فيها فوائد الدواء. وشجع الأطباء على استخدام الدواء لأغراض لم توافق عليها إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير. لم يتم اعتماد Abilify لعلاج اضطرابات القلق ، والخرف ، واضطرابات الأكل ، والأرق ، اضطراب الوسواس القهري ، أو اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة. ومع ذلك ، فإن صانعي أبيليفاي أقنعوا الأطباء بتجربتها لهذه الشروط.

القضايا القانونية الرئيسية
  • فشلت صانعي أبيليف في تحذير الأطباء والمرضى من العلاقة بين أبيليفاي والسلوكيات القهرية.
  • اختبأ صانعو أبيليفاي أدلة من الحكومة عندما حصلوا عليها موافقة ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير.
  • أقنع صانعو Abilify الأطباء بأن يصفوا Abilify لشروط غير معتمدة من قبل FDA.
  • يجادل المحامون بأنه إذا كان الأطباء قد عرفوا المخاطر الحقيقية من اتخاذ أبيليفاي ، فإن الأطباء كانوا قد وصفوا دواءً مختلفاً لعلاج المريض. كان الأطباء بالتأكيد يستخدمون دواءً مختلفًا إذا بدأ المريض في التعرض لسلوك هوس.

    Abilify الإصابات والآثار الجانبية

    في 2016 ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء تحذير أنها راجعت حالات 184 التي تربط Abilify بالسلوكيات القهرية ، مثل المقامرة والسلوك الجنسي والتسوق والأكل وقضايا التحكم في الانفعالات.

    بدأ السلوك الإدماني بعد وقت قصير من بدء المريض في أخذ أبيليفاي ، وتوقف بعد أن تحول المريض إلى دواء مختلف.

    يقوم المريض بتطوير رغبة لا يمكن السيطرة عليها للقيام بعمل ما (مثل المقامرة) ، ولا يمكنه التوقف عن فعل ذلك. سيؤدي المريض هذا الإجراء حتى إذا تسبب في إصابات شخصية أو اجتماعية أو مالية.

    أكثر إصابة بالغة

    Abilify يمكن أن يسبب السلوك الإدماني. لا يمكن للمرضى التوقف عن أداء هذه الإجراءات على الرغم من أنهم يريدون بشدة أن يتوقفوا عنها ، وأن الأفعال تسبب الأذى. يبدو أن Abilify يؤثر على مستوى دوبامين المريض ، مما يؤثر على مشاعر المتعة لدى الفرد.

    الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعا التي تسببها Abilify هي القلق. عدم وضوح الرؤية الإمساك. دوخة؛ سيلان اللعاب. النعاس. صداع الراس؛ الدوار. غثيان؛ الأرق؛ مشكلة في النوم وزيادة الوزن.

    بعض المرضى يعانون من ارتفاع نسبة السكر في الدم (ارتفاع السكر في الدم) عند اتخاذ Abilify. يجب على مرضى السكر التحقق من مستويات السكر في الدم على أساس منتظم.

    أحيانًا ما يواجه المراهقون قبل سن المراهقة أفكارًا انتحارية عند تناول هذا النوع من الأدوية. يجب على أفراد العائلة مراقبة الأطفال الذين يأخذون Abilify بعناية.

    قد يسبب تعاطي Abilify أثناء الحمل ضررًا لحديثي الولادة ، مثل أعراض الانسحاب وصعوبات التنفس ومشاكل التغذية. ومع ذلك ، يجب عليك عدم التوقف عن أخذ Abilify دون التحدث أولاً مع طبيبك المعالج.

    التعويض في دعوى Abilify

    إذا كنت تواجه خسائر في المقامرة بسبب Abilify ، فقد تتمكن من متابعة الأنواع التالية من الأضرار:

    1. النفقات الطبية في الماضي والمستقبل لعلاج إدمانك.
    2. الآلام والمعاناة النفسية السابقة والمستقبلية الناجمة عن إدمانك ، مثل فقدان العائلة والأصدقاء والعمل والمال.
    3. خسارة الأجور.
    4. خسائر القمار.
    5. الخسائر الاقتصادية الأخرى التي تعرضت لها بسبب سلوكك القهري.
    6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

    اعتبارًا من ديسمبر 2018 ، أكثر من دعاوى 2,100 تم تقديمه في محكمة اتحادية ضد صانعي أبيليفاي من قبل أفراد يدعون أنهم تعرضوا لسلوكيات قهرية بسبب العقار. يتم الاستماع الحالات من قبل رئيس المحكمة م. كيسي رودجرز في المنطقة الشمالية من ولاية فلوريدا.

    Abilify دعوى تسوية التسوية

    ازل المستوطنات

    في 2005 ، دفعت بريستول-مايرز سكويب غرامة قدرها عشرة دولارات أمريكية إلى حكومة الولايات المتحدة لتسوية المطالبات بأن الشركة قامت بتسويق Abilify للمرضى الأكبر سنا والأطفال لم تتم الموافقة عليهم أغراض "خارج التسمية".

    في 2008 ، دفعت شركة Otsuka Pharmaceutical للحكومة الأمريكية مبلغ 4 مليون دولار لتسوية المطالبات بأن الشركة قامت بتسويق Abilify إلى الأطباء النفسيين الأطفال ودور رعاية المسنين لأغراض "غير معلنة" غير المعتمدة.

    في 2016 ، دفعت شركة Bristol-Myers Squibb مبلغ $ 19.5 مليونًا إلى العديد من حكومات الولايات لتسوية المطالبات بأن الشركة قللت من مخاطر Abilify ، البيانات المشوهة من التجارب السريرية، وروجت بشكل غير قانوني المخدرات لأغراض "خارج التسمية". ودفعت الشركة أيضا مبلغا قدره 30 مليون دولار إلى ولاية كاليفورنيا لدفع الأطباء بشكل غير قانوني في وصف أدويتها.

    في 2016 ، الولايات المتحدة حكمت الهيئة القضائية على دعوى التقاضي المتعددة أن جميع الدعاوى الاتحادية التي تنطوي على Abilify والاتصال بالسلوك القهري يتم التعامل معها من قبل قاض اتحادي في المنطقة الشمالية من ولاية فلوريدا. في أيار / مايو 2018 ، القضايا الثلاث الأولى المقرر المحاكمة استقر ل مبلغ غير معروف.

    في 2019، إلى تسوية سرية تم الوصول إلى إشراك جميع مطالبات الإصابة بالإصابة بالإصابة بالتهابات في المحكمة الفيدرالية MDL.

    المحامي مايك بابانتونيو يناقش قضايا Abilify

    مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

    Abilify الاستدعاءات والتحذيرات

    اعتبارا من يناير 2019 ، لم يكن هناك أ تذكر من Abilify المتعلقة السلوكيات الإدمانية. ومع ذلك ، في 2016 طلبت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية تغيير تسمية Abilify للتحذير من العلاقة بين Abilify والقمار والسلوكيات الإدمانية الأخرى.

    تقرأ تسمية Abilify الآن: "قد لا يتعرف المرضى على سلوكياتهم [الإدمانية] على أنها غير طبيعية ، فمن المهم أن يسأل المصلحون المرضى أو مقدمي الرعاية على وجه التحديد عن تطوير حوافز جديدة أو مكثفة للقمار ، أو حث جنسي جنسي ، أو تسوق قهري ، أو حفلة أو الأكل القهري ، أو غيرها من الحوافز أثناء العلاج بأريبيبرازول ".

    ومن المثير للاهتمام أن علامات Abilify في أوروبا شملت تحذيرات بشأن السلوك الإدماني الذي بدأ في 2012 ، وبدأت كندا في طلب التحذير في 2015.

    ما هو الغرض من أبيليفاي؟

    Abilify هو دواء مضاد للذهان يستخدم لعلاج الشيزوفرينيا ، الاضطراب ثنائي القطب ، متلازمة توريت ، التوحد ، والاكتئاب.

    من المفترض أن يقلل الهلوسة ، والتفكير غير المنظم ، وتقلب المزاج ، والأفكار الاكتئابية ، والتشنزات اللاإرادية. لم تتم الموافقة على علاج الخرف ، ويمكن أن تزيد من خطر الوفاة في المرضى الذين يعانون من الخرف.

    تلقت Abilify (aripiprazole) في البداية موافقة FDA في 2002. إنها واحدة من "أدوية الجيل الثاني" غير التقليدية المضادة للذهان ، والمعروفة باسم SGAs. الأدوية الأخرى في هذه الفئة هي Saphris (asenapine maleate) ، Clozaril (كلوزابين) ، Seroquel (quetiapine fumarate) ، و Risperdal (risperidone).

    Abilify يعمل عن طريق منع المستقبلات في مسارات الدوبامين في الدماغ. وتشارك هذه المستقبلات في السلوكيات المدفوعة بمكافأة الشخص. من المفترض أن تقلل الأدوية مثل Abilify من الانقسام المزاجي ، وفرط النشاط ، والسلوكيات العدوانية.

    بعد حصول أبيليفاي على موافقة في الولايات المتحدة لعلاج الشيزوفرينيا ، حصل على موافقة لعلاج:

    1. اضطراب المزاج ثنائي القطب (2004)
    2. الاكتئاب السريري (2007)
    3. التهيج المرتبط بالتوحد والاضطرابات النفسية المختلفة التي يعاني منها المراهقون (2009)

    في 2013 ، كان Abilify هو الوصفة الطبية الأكثر مبيعاً في الولايات المتحدة ، مع مبيعات سنوية تقدر بمليارات الدولارات.

    Abilify دعوى قضائية الأخبار

    Abilify الأخبار

    FDA يحذر Abelify يمكن أن تتسبب في الجنس القهري والقمار

    أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية FDA تحذيرًا بأن استخدام Abilify مرتبط بدعوات لا يمكن السيطرة عليها لتناول الطعام والمقامرة والتسوق وممارسة الجنس. ذكرت في مجلة تايم - Abilify Behaviour Behavior Warning

    مضادات الذهان الشعبية المخدرات يسبب الحافز لا يمكن السيطرة عليه

    Abilify هو دواء الأكثر مبيعا "الذي يستخدم لعلاج مرض انفصام الشخصية ، ويمكن استخدامه في تركيبة مع أدوية أخرى لعلاج الاكتئاب ،" كما يقول STAT News. اتضح أنه يمكن ، في حالات نادرة على الأقل ، أن يسبب بعض الآثار الجانبية الغريبة جدا. ذكرت STAT أنه في تحذير تم نشره يوم أمس ، أوضحت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية أن العقار يبدو أحيانًا أنه يحث الناس على المشاركة في أشكال مختلفة من السلوك بشكل مندفع ، بدءًا من الجنس إلى القمار. ذكرت في مجلة نيويورك - Abilify لا يمكن السيطرة عليها تحث

    اللوم المخدرات ألقى باللوم على القمار القهري

    "قالت أم الاثنين إنها فقدت حضانة أطفالها وحيازة منزلها لعادة قمار قالت إنها بدأت في 2008 بعد وصفها لأبيليف لمرض الاكتئاب". FOX 31 - القمار القهري و Abilify

    كالجاري امرأة جزء من دعوى قضائية ضد صانعي المخدرات

    "إن امرأة كالجاري هي واحدة من مئات الكنديين الذين قالوا إن حياتهم تأثرت سلبًا بالمخدر Abilify ، وهم يشاركون في دعوى قضائية جماعية. وقد وصفت كريستينا ميليسيتش العقار في 2013 للمساعدة في الهلوسة والبارانويا ، ولكن بدلاً من الإغاثة ، لاحظت بسرعة السلوكيات الجديدة الغريبة أنها لا يمكن السيطرة عليها ، لا سيما القمار " أخبار CTV - الكندية Abilify فئة العمل

    تدفع شركة Bristol-Myers مبلغ $ 19.5 مليون دولار في التسوية التسويقية خارج Abelify

    بعد ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان بعد تسوية ادعاءات Abilify التسويقية مع وزارة العدل الأمريكية ، وافق بريستول مايرز سكويب على دفع مبلغ 19.5 مليون دولار لتسوية مطالبات مماثلة على مستوى الدولة. هذا الاتفاق ، الذي أعلنه المدعي العام في نيويورك إيريك شنايدرمان ، يغطي الاتهامات بأن بريستول مايرز دفعت أبيليفاي كعلاج للأطفال ومرضى كبار السن المصابين بالخرف ، عندما لم تتم الموافقة على استخدامهم من قبل إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير. ذكرت في Fierce Pharma - Abilify Off-Label Settlement

    تدفع شركة Bristol-Myers مبلغ $ 30 لتسوية رسوم الاسترداد

    بعد ما يقرب من عقد من التقاضي ، وافق بريستول مايرز سكويب على دفع مبلغ 10 مليون دولار لتسوية اتهامات من قبل مسؤولي كاليفورنيا بدفع رشاوى لحمل الأطباء على وصف العديد من الأدوية. من بين العديد من الأدوية التي تم إقناع الأطباء لكتابة المزيد من الوصفات الطبية كانت حبوب الكوليسترول برافاكول. أرق الدم بلافيكس. the Abilify antipsychotic؛ علاج مرض السكري بالجلوكوفاج. والمخدر BuSpar المخدرات. ذكرت في STAT - Abilify Kickback Scheme

    بريستول مايرز سكويب تدفع أكثر من عشرة ملايين دولار لإيجاد حل لمزاعم تسويق وتسويق المخدرات غير المشروعة

    ادعت الحكومة أنه من 2002 حتى نهاية 2005 ، روجت BMS عن علم عن بيع واستخدام Abilify ، وهو دواء مضاد للذهان غير نمطى ، لاستخدام الأطفال لعلاج الذهان المرتبط بالخرف ، كلاهما استخدام "خارج التسمية". وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء Abilify على علاج مرض انفصام الشخصية لدى البالغين واضطراب ثنائي القطب ، ولكنها لم توافق على استخدام Abilify للأطفال والمراهقين أو لمرضى الشيخوخة الذين يعانون من الذهان المرتبط بالخرف. في الواقع ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية تفويضًا بأن تحمل علامة Abilify تحذير "الصندوق الأسود" بخصوص استخدامه في علاج الذهان المرتبط بالخرف. ذكرت في وزارة العدل - تسويق المخدرات غير المشروعة

    Abilify Off-Label Marketing Settled $ $ 4M

    ووافقت شركة Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd على دفع مبلغ 4 مليون دولار لتسوية الادعاءات التي رفعتها وزارة العدل الأمريكية ، مدعياً ​​أن الشركة قامت بتسويق عقار Abilify المضاد للذهان لاستخدامه خارج نطاق التسمية من خلال استهداف الأطباء النفسيين الأطفال ودور رعاية المسنين. ذكرت في LAW 360 - Abilify Illegal Marketing

    ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق Abilify

    ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير يحذر من العلاقة بين أبيليف وإيسبوسيفي السلوك

    أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) تحذيراً بأن الدعوات القهرية أو غير القابلة للسيطرة على المقامرة ، وتناول الطعام ، والتسوق ، وممارسة الجنس قد تم الإبلاغ عنها باستخدام الأدوية المضادة للذهان aripiprazole (Abilify، Abilify Maintena، Aristada، and generics). تم الإبلاغ عن هذه الحوافز الخارجة عن السيطرة عندما توقف الدواء أو تم تخفيض الجرعة. ذكرت في ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير Abilify اتصالات السلامة

    حددت إدارة الغذاء والدواء مرضى 167 بين 2002 و 2016 الذي بدأ يعاني من حوافز جديدة تؤدي إلى السلوك القهري بعد بدء علاج Abilfy. في غضون بضعة أيام إلى أسابيع بعد تقليل أو وقف الدواء ، أبلغ جميع المرضى عن توقيفهم. لم يكن لدى أي من المرضى تاريخ من المقامرة المرضية أو السلوك الجنسي القهري أو الأكل بنهم أو التسوق القهري قبل بدء العلاج.

    معلومات السلامة للأدوية المضادة للذهان Abilify ومخاطر بعض السلوكيات التحكم في الاندفاع

    تسميات لعقاقير مضادة للذهان وصفة طبية وقد تم تحديث Abilify و Abilify Maintena (aripiprazole) في كندا لتقديم المشورة من زيادة خطر السلوكيات الاندفاعية من القمار المرضي وفرط فرط الجنس. ذكرت في الصحة الكندية - Abilify Safety Concerns

    جوائز وتكريم
    الجوائز
    • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
    • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
    • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
    • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
    • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
    • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
    • SuperLawyers
    جوائز وتكريم
    الجوائز
    • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
    • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
    • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
    • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
    • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
    • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
    • SuperLawyers
    لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
    أحكام لجنة التحكيم
    • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
    • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
    • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
    • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
    • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
    • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
    • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
    • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
    لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
    أحكام لجنة التحكيم
    • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
    • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
    • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
    • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
    • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
    • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
    • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
    • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
    التوصيات
    بيانات العميل

    فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

    أنت أنقذت حياتي.
    أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
    تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
    أنا ممتن جدا.

    لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

    التوصيات
    بيانات العميل

    فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

    أنت أنقذت حياتي.
    أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
    تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
    أنا ممتن جدا.

    لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

Abilify Lawsuit Lawyer – Settlements & Recalls – Gambling Addiction
Abilify Lawsuit Header Abilify Lawsuit Header

The Abilify lawsuit claims the manufacturers of Abilify failed to warn doctors and patients that the drug could cause compulsive behaviors, such as gambling, shopping, eating and sex. As of May 2018, more than 800 lawsuits are pending in federal court against the Abilify manufacturers.

Our law firm is accepting clients who took Abilify and began experiencing compulsive casino gambling and experienced at least $50,000 in losses.

We have been handling lawsuits against pharmaceutical companies since 1955, and each year we teach more than 1,000 attorneys how to successfully handle these types of cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

Why Are Abilify Lawsuits Being Filed

Abilfy Purpose

Otsuka Pharmaceutical and Bristol-Myers Squibb, the manufacturers of Abilify, are accused in court proceedings of negligence in the design of Abilify, and hiding evidence from the government and public of the increased risks of patients' developing compulsive urges.

Court documents state the two drug makers failed to properly test Abilify, exaggerated the benefits of the drug, and encouraged physicians to use the medication for purposes not approved by the FDA (such as, anxiety disorders, dementia, eating disorders, insomnia, obsessive-compulsive disorder and post-traumatic stress disorder).

The Key Legal Issues
  • The Abilify manufacturers failed to warn doctors and patients of the link between Abilify and compulsive behaviors.
  • The Abilify manufacturers hid evidence from the government when getting FDA approval.
  • The Abilify manufacturers convinced doctors to prescribe Abilify for non-approved uses.
  • Lawyers argue that if doctors had known the true risks, then a different medication would have been used to treat a patient's symptoms, and especially if the patient began to experience obsessive behavior.

     

    Abilify Injuries & Side Effects

    In 2016, the FDA issued a warning that it had reviewed 184 cases linking Abilify to compulsive behaviors, such as gambling, sexual behavior, shopping, eating, and impulse-control issues.

    The addictive behavior was found to start almost immediately upon a patient taking Abilify, and stop once the patient switched to another medicine.

    The obsessive behavior caused by Abilify is such that the person develops an uncontrollable urge to perform an act (such as, gambling), and cannot resist the desire. The person will continue to do the act even if it's causing him or her personal, social and financial injuries.

    The Most Severe Injury

    The use of Abilify can cause addictive behaviors. Patients can't stop performing these acts even though they desperately want to stop, and the acts are causing them harm. It appears that Abilify affects a patient's dopamine level, which then influences the individual's feelings of pleasure.

    The most common side effects caused by Abilify include: anxiety; blurred vision; constipation; dizziness; drooling; drowsiness; headache; lightheadedness; nausea; restlessness; trouble sleeping; and weight gain.

    Some patients have experienced high blood sugar (hyperglycemia) while taking the medication. Diabetics should check their blood sugar levels on a regular basis.

    Pre-teens have been found to occasionally experience suicidal thoughts when taking this type of medication. Therefore, family members should carefully monitor children while taking Abilify.

    Taking Abilify during pregnancy may cause issues with the newborn, such as withdrawal symptoms, breathing difficulties, and feeding problems. However, you should not stop taking Abilify without first speaking with your treating doctor.

     

    Compensation in an Abilify Lawsuit

    If you have experienced more than $50,000 in gambling related losses caused by Abilify, then we will be seeking the following damages for you:

    1. Past and future medical expenses to treat your addiction.
    2. Past and future mental pain and suffering that results from the addiction, such as losing family, friends, employment and finances.
    3. Wage loss, if any.
    4. Gambling losses, if any.
    5. Other economic losses you might have sustained as a result of your compulsive behavior.
    6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

    As of May 2018, more than 800 lawsuits were pending in federal court against the manufacturers of Abilify by individuals who claim to have experienced compulsive behaviors because of the drug. The cases are being heard by Chief Judge M. Casey Rodgers in the Northern District of Florida.

     
     
    Why Choose Us

    Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

    We are one of only a very few law firms that have been appointed to the Plaintiffs Executive Committee by the judge overseeing all of the federal lawsuits involving Abilify and the connection to compulsive behaviors. This means that we are directly involved in the national investigation and discovery against Otsuka Pharmaceutical and Bristol-Myers Squibb that will hopefully result in a positive outcome for the individuals injured by this drug.

    We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of lawsuits against pharmaceutical companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

    in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
     
    Our Fees & Costs

    Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover.

    The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40% depending upon how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

     
    Free Case Consultation

    To contact us for a free consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request a consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Abilify Consultation Form, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Abilify litigation.

     

    Will My Abilify Case be Handled as a Class Action

    A class action is a type of lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many other individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are considered a member of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement approved by the court, even if an individual class member is going to receive little or no compensation.

    This is not the type of litigation that our Abilify attorneys will be pursuing for our clients. Instead, we represent each individual based on his/her specific circumstances, and evaluate the recovery for each client based on his/her facts. Each of our clients always has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

    For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

     

    Abilify Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

    Abilify settlements

    In 2005, Bristol-Myers Squibb paid a $515 million penalty to the U.S. government to settle allegations that the company aggressively marketed Abilify to geriatric patients as well as children and adolescents for unapproved “off-label” purposes.

    In 2008, Otsuka Pharmaceutical paid the U.S. government $4 million to settle claims that the company marketed Abilify to child psychiatrists and nursing homes for unapproved “off-label” purposes.

    In 2016, Bristol-Myers Squibb paid $19.5 million to various state governments to settle allegations that the company minimized the risks of Abilify, misrepresented data from clinical trials, and illegally promoted the drug for "off-label" purposes. The company also paid $30 million to the state of California for illegally paying doctors to prescribe its medication, including Abilify.

    In 2016, the United States Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation ruled that all federal lawsuits involving Abilify and the link to compulsive behaviors are to be handled by a federal judge in the Northern District of Florida. In May 2018, the first three cases scheduled for trial settled for an undisclosed amount. All others cases have been put on hold for 120 days while the parties attempt to work out a global settlement.

     

    Attorney Mike Papantonio Discusses the Abilify Lawsuits

     
    Watch More Videos
     

    Abilify Recalls & Warnings

    As of this time, there has not been a recall of Abilify related to addictive behaviors. However, the FDA ordered a label change in 2016 to warn of the relationship between Abilify and pathological gambling and other compulsive behaviors.

    The Abilify label now reads: "patients may not recognize [their addictive] behaviors as abnormal, it is important for prescribers to ask patients or their caregivers specifically about the development of new or intense gambling urges, compulsive sexual urges, compulsive shopping, binge or compulsive eating, or other urges while being treated with aripiprazole."

    Interestingly, Abilify packaging in the European Union included warnings about this issue beginning in 2012, with Canada requiring the warning in 2015.

     

    What is the Purpose of Abilify

    Abilify is an anti-psychotic medication used in the treatment of schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, Tourette’s syndrome, autism, and depression.

    It’s intended to help decrease hallucinations, disorganized thinking, mood swings, depressive thoughts, and tics. It's not approved to treat symptoms related to dementia, and can increase the risk of death in patients suffering from dementia.

    Abilify (aripiprazole) initially received FDA approval in 2002. It's one of a number of “second generation” atypical antipsychotic medications, commonly known as SGAs. Other frequently-prescribed drugs in this class include Saphris (asenapine maleate), Clozaril (clozapine), Seroquel (quetiapine fumarate), and Risperdal (risperidone).

    The drug is intended to work by blocking receptors in the brain's dopamine pathways, which are involved in reward-motivated behaviors. Manufacturers claim the drug helps reduce moodiness, hyperactivity, and aggressive behaviors.

    Following initial approval in the U.S. for the treatment of schizophrenia, Abilify went on to receive approval for:

    1. bipolar disorder (2004)
    2. clinical depression (2007)
    3. autism-associated irritability and various psychological disorders experienced by teenagers (2009)

    By 2013, Abilify was the top-selling prescription drug in the U.S., with multi-billion dollars in annual sales.

     

    Abilify Lawsuit News

    Abilify News Banner

    FDA Warns Abilify Can Cause Compulsive Sex and Gambling

    The FDA has issued a warning that the use of Abilify is linked to uncontrollable urges to eat, gamble, shop and have sex. Reported in Time Magazine - Abilify Compulsive Behavior Warning

    A Popular Antipsychotic Drug Is Causing Uncontrollable Urges

    Abilify is a best-selling drug that “is used to treat schizophrenia, and can be used in combination with other drugs to treat depression,” as STAT News puts it. It turns out that it can also, in rare cases at least, cause some very odd side effects. STAT reports that in a warning posted yesterday, the FDA explained that the drug appears to sometimes cause people to have urges to engage in various forms of behavior impulsively, ranging from sex to gambling. Reported in New York Magazine - Abilify Uncontrollable Urges

    Abilify drug blamed for compulsive gambling

    "The mother of two said she lost custody of her kids and possession of her house to a gambling habit she said began in 2008 after she was prescribed Abilify for depression.” Reported in FOX 31 - Compulsive Gambling & Abilify

    Calgary woman part of class-action lawsuit against drug maker

    "A Calgary woman is one of hundreds of Canadians who said their lives were negatively impacted by the drug Abilify and are taking part in a class-action lawsuit. Christina Milisic was prescribed the drug in 2013 to help with hallucinations and paranoia, but instead of relief, she quickly noticed strange new behaviors that she couldn’t control, especially gambling.” Reported in CTV News - Canadian Abilify Class Action

    Bristol-Myers to pay $19.5 million in Abilify off-label marketing settlement

    Almost a decade after settling up Abilify marketing allegations with the U.S. Justice Department, Bristol-Myers Squibb agreed to pay $19.5 million to settle similar claims at the state level. Announced by New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman, the deal covers claims that Bristol-Myers pushed Abilify as a treatment for kids and for elderly patients with dementia, when neither use was approved by the FDA. Reported in Fierce Pharma - Abilify Off-Label Settlement

    Bristol-Myers pays $30 million to settle kickback charges

    After nearly a decade of litigation, Bristol-Myers Squibb agreed to pay $30 million to settle charges by California officials of paying kickbacks to induce doctors to prescribe several of its medicines. Among the many medicines for which doctors were persuaded to write more prescriptions were the Pravachol cholesterol pill; the Plavix blood thinner; the Abilify antipsychotic; the Glucophage diabetes treatment; and the BuSpar antianxiety drug. Reported in STAT - Abilify Kickback Scheme

    Bristol-Myers Squibb to Pay More Than $515 Million to Resolve Allegations of Illegal Drug Marketing and Pricing

    The Government alleged that, from 2002 through the end of 2005, BMS knowingly promoted the sale and use of Abilify, an atypical antipsychotic drug, for pediatric use and to treat dementia-related psychosis, both “off-label” uses. The Food and Drug Administration has approved Abilify to treat adult schizophrenia and bi-polar disorder, but has not approved the use of Abilify for children and adolescents or for geriatric patients suffering from dementia-related psychosis. In fact, the FDA has mandated that the label for Abilify carry a “black box” warning concerning its use in the treatment of dementia-related psychosis. Reported in Department of Justice - Illegal Drug Marketing

    Abilify Off-Label Marketing Case Settled For $4M

    Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. agreed to pay $4 million to settle allegations brought by the U.S. Department of Justice, claiming the company marketed its anti-psychotic drug Abilify for off-label uses by targeting child psychiatrists and nursing homes. Reported in LAW 360 - Abilify Illegal Marketing

     

    FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Abilify

    The FDA Warns of Link Between Abilify and Obsessive Behavior

    The FDA issued a warning that compulsive or uncontrollable urges to gamble, binge-eat, shop, and have sex have been reported with the use of the anti-psychotic drug aripiprazole (Abilify, Abilify Maintena, Aristada, and generics). These uncontrollable urges were reported to have stopped when the medicine was discontinued or the dose was reduced. Reported in FDA Abilify Safety Communication

    The FDA identified 167 patients between 2002 and 2016 that began experiencing new urges leading to compulsive behavior after starting Abilfy treatment. Within days to weeks of reducing or discontinuing the medicine, all of the patients reported their intense urges stopped. None of the patients had a history of pathological gambling, compulsive sexual behavior, binge eating, or compulsive shopping prior to starting the treatment.

    Safety information for antipsychotic drug Abilify and risk of certain impulse-control behaviours

    Labels for the prescription antipsychotic drugs Abilify and Abilify Maintena (aripiprazole) have been updated in Canada to advise of an increased risk of impulsive behaviours of pathological gambling and hypersexuality. Reported in Health Canada - Abilify Safety Concerns

     
    Awards
    AWARDS
    • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
    • Best Lawyers in America
    • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
    • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
    • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
    • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
    • SuperLawyers
    For a list of our awards, click here.
     
    Awards
    AWARDS
    • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
    • Best Lawyers in America
    • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
    • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
    • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
    • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
    • SuperLawyers
    For a list of our awards, click here.
     
    Jury Verdicts
    JURY VERDICTS
    • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
    • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
    • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
    • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
    • $42 Million in Fraud Case
    • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
    • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
    • $18 Million in Train Derailment
    For a list of our verdicts, click here.
    Jury Verdicts
    JURY VERDICTS
    • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
    • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
    • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
    • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
    • $42 Million in Fraud Case
    • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
    • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
    • $18 Million in Train Derailment
    For a list of our verdicts, click here.
    Testimonials
    CLIENT STATEMENTS

    Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

    You saved my life.
    I want to express my deepest appreciation.
    You mean so much to our family.
    I am so appreciative.

    To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

    The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.
     
    Testimonials
    CLIENT STATEMENTS

    Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

    You saved my life.
    I want to express my deepest appreciation.
    You mean so much to our family.
    I am so appreciative.

    To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

    The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.