تنص الدعوى القضائية التي تتضمن زيمر بيوم Reverse Shoulder على أن الشركة المصنعة لهذا الجهاز الطبي كانت مهملة في تصميمها ، والتي تعاني من معدل فشل عالٍ ، والحاجة إلى إجراء جراحة مراجعة.

ما نعرفه عن الدعاوى الكتف زيمر البيومتر

تذكير الكتف زيمر

تجري مقاضاة شركة Zimmer Biomet بسبب فشل عملية زراعة الكتف الخلفية عند معدل أعلى من الشركة التي كشفت عنها في البداية.

قام Zimmer Biomet بتسويق جهازه الطبي كطريقة للمساعدة في استعادة حركة ذراع المريض الطبيعية ، خاصةً الأفراد الذين عانوا من تمزقات الكفة المدورة المعروفة باسم "اعتلال المفاصل المسيل للدموع" (نوع شديد من التهاب المفاصل في الكتف) ، والذين فشلوا في الاستجابة للعلاج التقليدي جراحة استبدال الكتف.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن هذه الغرسات قد تم الفشل ، مما أسفر عن الكسور وجراحة المراجعة. الجراحة خطيرة للغاية ، ويمكن أن تتسبب في فقدان المريض للكتف ، وفي بعض الحالات يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الوفاة.

التي تشترك في زرع يزرع Zimmer في الدعاوى

إن الزرعة المحددة التي تخضع لعملية الاستعادة هي علبة زيمر بيومت الشاملة للصندوق العكسي للكاميرات 115340 التي تم إنتاجها في الفترة ما بين أغسطس 2008 و سبتمبر 2011 ، وتم توزيعها بين أكتوبر 2008 و 2015 لشهر سبتمبر. ما يقرب من يزرع 3,500 تخضع لاستدعاء.

ما هو الغرض من زرع الكتف العكسي

زيمر بيومت الغرض الكتف

تم تصميم غرسة استبدال الكتف التقليدية لتكرار التشريح الطبيعي للكتف. في استبدال الكتف العكسي ، يتم عكس التصميم ليكون بالضبط عكس التشريح الطبيعي للشخص.

من المفترض أن يعمل استبدال الكتفين العكسي بشكل أفضل من غرسات الكتف التقليدية للأشخاص الذين يعانون من اعتلال المفصل المسيل للدموع لأنه يعتمد على عضلات مختلفة لتحريك الذراع. على وجه التحديد ، يعتمد استبدال الكتف العكسي على العضلة الدالية ، بدلاً من الكفة المدورة ، لتثبيت الذراع وتشغيله. أصبح هذا النوع من الجراحة ثالث أكبر سوق في إعادة الإعمار المشترك ، مدفوعا إلى حد كبير بالشيخوخة السكانية وارتفاع مستويات البدانة.

حصل Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder على موافقة إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA في 2008 من خلال عملية الموافقة المسبقة للسوق 510 (k) المثيرة للجدل ، والتي تسمح للمصنعين بإحضار المنتجات إلى السوق إذا استطاعوا إظهار أن المنتجات "متشابهة إلى حد كبير" مع منتج حالي يتم بيعه بالفعل و وزعت.

Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder Videos

مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

زيمر Biomet الكتف دعوى قضائية أخبار

أخبار بانر

Zimmer Biomet يذكر الكتف العكسي الشامل بسبب ارتفاع معدل الكسر

في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، أرسلت شركة 2016 Zimmer Biomet إشعاراً عاجلاً باستدعاء الأجهزة الطبية وشهادة من استمارة شكر للمستشفيات والأطباء باستخدام بعض غرزات الكتف العكسي الموزعة على مدى سبع سنوات. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أورثو العمود الفقري الأخبار

The Zimmer Biomet Recall

في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، أصدرت 15 و 2016 و Zimmer Biomet استدعاءً طوعيًا لزرعات 3,662 الشاملة للكتف عكسي الكتف الموزعة خلال فترة 2008 - 2015. وقد طلبت الشركة من مقدمي الرعاية الصحية إزالة جميع الغرسات المسترجعة من أرففهم والعودة إلى الشركة.

وقد حددت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير هذا الاستدعاء على أنه استدعاء من الفئة 1 ، مما يعني أن الغرسات المعيبة لها القدرة على التسبب في إصابة خطيرة أو حتى الموت.

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي توجد فيها مشاكل مع نظام الكتف العكسي في زيمر. في 2010 ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) استدعاءًا للعلبة الشاملة العكسيّة للكتف العكسي مع قفل القفل. في 2015 ، كان هناك استدعاء شامل كليفلت البسيطة 25mm مع محول تفتق الكتف.

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق Zimmer Biomet عكس الكتف

FDA Research Banner

Zimmer Biomet يذكر الكتف العكسي الشامل بسبب ارتفاع معدل الكسر

لقد حددت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير هذا على أنه فئة أذكر ، أخطر أنواع الاستدعاء. قد يتسبب استخدام هذه الأجهزة في حدوث إصابات خطيرة أو الوفاة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق جهاز FDA الطبي يستدعي

Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder Lawsuit Lawyer – Recall & Settlement
Zimmer Biomet Shoulder Lawsuit Header

The lawsuit involving the Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder states the manufacturer of this medical device was negligent in its design, which is experiencing a high failure rate, and the need for revision surgery.

Why are Zimmer Biomet Shoulder Lawsuits Being Filed

zimmer shoulder recall

Zimmer Biomet is being sued because its reverse shoulder implant has been failing at a rate higher than the company initially revealed.

Zimmer Biomet marketed its medical device as a way to help restore a patient’s natural arm movement, especially individuals who had suffered a rotator cuff tear known as “cuff tear arthropathy” (a severe type of shoulder arthritis), and who failed to respond to traditional shoulder replacement surgery.

Unfortunately, these implants have been failing, resulting in fractures and revision surgery. The surgery is extremely risky, and can cause a patient to lose use of the shoulder, and in some cases can result in death.

 

Which Zimmer Shoulder Implants are Involved in the Lawsuits

The specific implant subject to the recall is the Zimmer Biomet Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder System Humeral Tray Model 115340 manufactured between August 2008 and September 2011, and distributed between October 2008 and September 2015. Approximately 3,500 implants are subject to the recall.

 

What is the Purpose of a Reverse Shoulder Implant

zimmer biomet shoulder purpose

A conventional shoulder replacement implant is designed to replicate the normal anatomy of a shoulder. In a reverse shoulder replacement, the design is reversed to be exactly opposite to a person’s natural anatomy.

The reverse total shoulder replacement supposedly works better than conventional shoulder implants for people with cuff tear arthropathy because it relies on different muscles to move the arm. Specifically, the reverse shoulder replacement relies on the deltoid muscle, instead of the rotator cuff, to stabilize and operate the arm. This type of surgery has become the third largest market in joint reconstruction, driven largely by the aging population and increasing levels of obesity.

The Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder received FDA approval in 2008 through the controversial 510(k) Pre-Market Approval process, which allows manufacturers to bring products to market if they can show the products are “substantially similar” to an existing product already being sold and distributed.

 

Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder Videos

 
Watch More Videos

Zimmer Biomet Shoulder Lawsuit News

News Banner
Zimmer Biomet Recalls Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder due to a High Fracture Rate

In December 2016 Zimmer Biomet sent an Urgent Medical Device Recall Notice and a Certificate of Acknowledgement form to hospitals and physicians using certain reverse shoulder implants distributed over a seven year period. To read more, click Ortho Spine News

 

The Zimmer Biomet Recall

On December 15, 2016, Zimmer Biomet issued a voluntary recall of its 3,662 Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder Humeral implants distributed during the period 2008 - 2015. The company has asked for health care providers to remove all of the recalled implants from their shelves and return to the company.

The FDA has identified this recall as a Class 1 recall, meaning the faulty implants have the potential to cause serious injury or even death.

This is not the first time there have been problems with Zimmer's Reverse Shoulder System. In 2010, the FDA issued a recall for the Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder Humeral Tray with Locking Ring. In 2015, there was a recall of the Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder Glenosphere Mini Baseplate 25mm with Taper Adaptor.

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Zimmer Biomet Reverse Shoulder

FDA Research Banner

Zimmer Biomet Recalls Comprehensive Reverse Shoulder due to a High Fracture Rate

The FDA has identified this as a Class I recall, the most serious type of recall. Use of these devices may cause serious injuries or death. To read more, click FDA Medical Device Recall