فولكس واجن Lawsuit المحامي - المستوطنات وردود الفعل - الاحتيال في الانبعاثات

زعمت فولكسفاجن أنها الداعم الرئيسي للسيارات التي تعمل بالديزل النظيفة والتي تعمل بالوقود في الولايات المتحدة. وقد تم بيع "الديزل النظيف" لتوفير المزيد من الأميال لكل غالون ، ومدى أكبر بين عمليات التعبئة ، وانخفاض تكلفة التشغيل ، والتشويق والتسارع في محرك توربو.

وقالت فولكسفاجن للمستهلكين الأميركيين إن مركباتها تضمنت تكنولوجيا المحركات التي من شأنها أن تقضي على العيب الرئيسي لوقود الديزل: ارتفاع انبعاثات التلوث. أخبرت شركة فولكس فاجن الناس أنهم يمكن أن يشعروا بالمسؤولية البيئية عن شراء سيارة تعمل بالديزل. على كل هذا ، فرضت الشركة لعملائها قسطًا صحيًا على السيارات المشابهة بمحركات البنزين.

في سبتمبر 18 ، 2015 ، علمنا جميعًا أن قصة نجاح محرك الديزل VW كانت كذبة. اتهمت وكالة حماية البيئة شركة فولكس فاجن باستخدام "جهاز هزيمة" على محركاتها لخداع اختبارات الانبعاثات. تحت ظروف المختبر ، تبقى انبعاثات السيارات المتضررة تحت الحد القانوني. على الطريق المفتوح ، وجد الباحثون ، يمكن أن تكون الانبعاثات عالية مثل 40 ضرب المرات.

أدى احتيال شركة فولكس فاجن إلى رفع دعاوى قضائية ضخمة من قبل الحكومة الأمريكية والمستهلكين وحتى المساهمين.

إقرأ المزيد

اعترفت فولكس فاجن أنها طورت ونفذت برمجيات غير قانونية في مركباتها العاملة بالديزل ، وحتى بعض المركبات التي لا تعمل بالديزل ، للسماح للسيارة باكتشاف ما إذا كانت تعمل في مختبر أو على الطريق السريع المفتوح ، ومن ثم ضبط الانبعاثات وفقًا لذلك . على الطريق المفتوح ، تسبب الانبعاثات (بشكل رئيسي أكاسيد النيتروجين) المطر الحمضي والضباب الدخاني والمخاطر الصحية المباشرة لأولئك الذين يتعرضون لها. ترتبط مستويات أكسيد النيتروجين العالية بآلاف الوفيات سنوياً.

 

فولكس فاجن - أودي انبعاثات التسوية

التلك مسحوق راية

أعطى قاض فدرالي موافقة مبدئية على تسوية عالمية مقترحة تشمل فولكسفاغن وأصحاب السيارات التي تأثرت بالاحتيال في انبعاثات فولكس واجن. تم تعيين جلسة استماع نهائية لشهر أكتوبر 18 ، 2016 ، وعند هذه النقطة يمكن أن يبدأ التعويض على الفور. ومع ذلك ، فمن المحتمل أيضًا أن يتم تأخير التعويض خلال عملية الاستئناف ، ومن خلال تطوير عملية المطالبات الرسمية.

بموجب التسوية المقترحة ، يمكن لمالكي المركبات الاختيار بين إعادة الشراء أو الإصلاح - بالإضافة إلى التعويض الذي يتراوح من $ 5,100 إلى $ 10,000 لكل مالك. تم التوصل إلى هذا المبلغ من خلال أخذ 20٪ من قيمة التبادل التجاري لسيارة في أغسطس 2015 بالإضافة إلى 3,000 $ ، ولكن ليس أقل من $ 5,100. لمعرفة الأرقام الدقيقة لكل سيارة معنية ، انقر فوق VW-Audi Settlement Amount. سيحصل الأفراد الذين لديهم سيارات مستأجرة على متوسط ​​3,500 $ كتعويض ويمكن إنهاء عقودهم.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه اعتبارًا من هذا الوقت ، لم تحصل التسوية على موافقة من وكالة حماية البيئة ومجلس موارد الهواء في كاليفورنيا فيما يتعلق بحل الإصلاح المقترح للمركبات. بدون هذه الموافقة ، سوف تضطر شركة فولكس فاجن إلى إعادة شراء جميع السيارات ، مع عمليات إعادة شراء تتراوح من 12,500 إلى $ 44,000.

لمعرفة المزيد من التفاصيل حول التسوية المقترحة ، انقر فوق تفاصيل تسوية VW-Audi.

 

مركبات فولكسفاجن تشارك في استدعاء واستقرار

عارضات ازياء سنوات
أودي A3 2010-2015
أودي كواترو A6 2014-2016
أودي كواترو A7 2014-2016
أودي A8 / A8L 2014-2016
أودي Q5 2014-2016
أودي Q7 2009-2016
بورش كايين 2013-2016
فولكس واجن بيتل 2012-2015
فولكس فاجن بيتل المكشوفة 2012-2015
فولكس واجن غولف 2010-2015
فولكس فاجن جولف سبورت واغن 2015
فولكس واجن جيتا 2009-2015
فولكس واجن جيتا سبورت واغن 2009-2014
فولكس واجن باسات 2012-2015
فولكس واجن طوارق 2009-2016
 
 
اخبار اخبار راوندوب

فولكس واجن قضائية & مستوطنة الأخبار

تحصل تسوية فولكس واجن على موافقة مبدئية: أصدر قاض اتحادي موافقة أولية يوم الثلاثاء على تسوية شاملة بين فولكسفاجن والمنظمين الأمريكيين ومالكي سيارات فولكس فاجن التي ستحصل على آلاف الدولارات كتعويض. . . . يمكن أن تأتي الموافقة النهائية على تسوية الدعوى الجماعية في جلسة استماع أكتوبر 18 ، وعند هذه النقطة يمكن أن يبدأ التعويض على الفور. يمكن لمالكي وقود الديزل من فولكس واجن الاختيار بين إعادة الشراء أو الإصلاح - بالإضافة إلى التعويض النقدي الذي يتراوح من $ 5,100 إلى $ 10,000 لكل مالك.لقراءة المزيد، انقر على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اليوم

تحصل شركة فولكس فاجن على موافقة مبدئية بقيمة $ 14.7 Billion Settlement مع سائقين أمريكيين: منح قاضٍ فيدرالي الموافقة المبدئية على تسوية شركة 14.7 مليار دولار لشركة Volkswagen AG مع السائقين الأمريكيين للمركبات التي تعمل بالديزل يوم الثلاثاء ، مما يمهد الطريق أمام الشركة لوضع الخطة موضع التنفيذ ووضع فضيحة الانبعاثات خلفها. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على مجلة وول ستريت

تعدل انبعاثات فولكس واجن صفقة راعة لعملائها الأكثر أهمية: أعرف أن الكثير من مالكي TDI رأوا أرقام التسوية المقترحة واعتقدوا أنها كبيرة. لكن عندما تنظر إليها حقًا ، هل هي كذلك؟ تم بيع مالكي TDI فاتورة بضائع ، وبعد سنوات 16 من الاحتيال عن عمد على المستهلكين ، وجد VW بطريقة ما طريقة لتقاسم الجانب السلبي المالي من الوقوع مع المستهلكين أنفسهم الذين كذبوا عليهم. بغض النظر عن كيفية تقسيمها ، قضت شركة فولكس فاجن سنوات 16 بإتقان ما هو الاحتيال بالجملة بلا شك على مستوى لم يسمع به من اليوم. هذا "جهاز الغش" ، المشار إليه داخليا في شركة فولكس فاجن باسم "وظيفة صوتية" ، كان في جيله السادس عند اكتشافه. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على مسار الطريق

إقرأ المزيد

تواجه فولكس واجن المليارات من العقوبات مع رفع الولايات المتحدة دعوى على انتهاكات البيئة: رفعت وزارة العدل الأمريكية يوم الاثنين دعوى قضائية مدنية ضد شركة Volkswagen AG بزعم أنها تنتهك قانون الهواء النقي عن طريق تركيب أجهزة غير قانونية لإضعاف أنظمة التحكم في الانبعاثات في سيارات 600,000 تقريباً. وقال مسؤول كبير بوزارة العدل إن الادعاءات ضد فولكسفاجن ووحداتها في أودي وبورش تحمل عقوبات يمكن أن تكلف شركات صناعة السيارات مليارات الدولارات. قد تواجه شركة فولكس فاجن غرامات نظريًا تتخطى $ 90 مليار - أو بقدر $ 37,500 لكل مركبة في انتهاك للقانون ، بناءً على الشكوى. في سبتمبر ، قال المنظمون الحكوميون في البداية أن شركة فولكس فاجن قد تواجه غرامات تزيد عن مليار دولار 18. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على رويترز

دليل للانبعاثات فولكسفاغن نذكر: وقد اتهمت شركة فولكس فاجن ـ واعترفت بذلك ـ بالالتفاف على نظام التحكم في الانبعاثات في سيارات 482,000 التي تباع في الولايات المتحدة منذ 2008 بمحرك الديزل 2.0-liter. قد تتأثر 11 مليون سيارة حول العالم. في منتصف سبتمبر ، أصدرت هيئة حماية البيئة إخطارًا بانتهاك شركة فولكس فاجن أيه جي ، وأودي إيه جي ، ومجموعة فولكس واجن الأمريكية (بشكل جماعي لشركة فولكس فاجن) بسبب عدم الامتثال لقوانين قانون الهواء النظيف. في نوفمبر ، قامت وكالة حماية البيئة بإبلاغ صانع السيارات عن الانتهاكات التي تم العثور عليها مع محرك الديزل 3.0-liter V6 ، كذلك. وبتحقيق ذلك ، قررت الوكالة أن بعض موديلات أودي ، وبورشه ، وفولكسفاجن تصدر المزيد من الملوثات أكثر من كونها مقبولة قانونًا ، مما يترك آثارًا بيئية وصحية محتملة. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على تقارير المستهلكين

فولكس واجن يقول 800,000 المزيد من السيارات تتأثر في الانبعاثات المسبار: وقالت شركة فولكس فاجن أيه جي إن تحقيقًا داخليًا في أعقاب فضيحة الديزل التي عصفت بها شركة صناعة السيارات الألمانية أظهر وجود مخالفات في انبعاثات CO2 التي تؤثر على سيارات 800,000 إضافية ، مما أدى إلى تعميق الأزمة التي كلفت الرئيس التنفيذي مارتن وينتركورن وظيفته منذ فترة طويلة ، سعر السهم وأدت إلى أحكام البالونينج. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على بلومبرغ

اختبارات انبعاثات الديزل في فولكس فاجن التلاعب في أوروبا ، يقول وزير الألمانية: قال وزير النقل الألماني إن فولكسفاجن اعترفت بتزوير اختبارات الانبعاثات في أوروبا بنفس الطريقة التي زورت بها النتائج في الولايات المتحدة. وقال ألكسندر دوبريندت إنه من غير المعروف عدد سيارات 11 مليون التي تأثرت في أوروبا. وقال أيضا سيتم فحص المركبات المصنعة الأخرى. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على بي بي سي نيوز

استقال رئيس شركة فولكس فاجن من فضيحة انبعاثات الديزل استقال الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة فولكس واجن مارتن وينتركورن يوم الأربعاء ، مستسلما للضغط من أجل التغيير في شركة صناعة السيارات الألمانية ، والتي تترنح من القبول بأنها خدعت المنظمين الأمريكيين بشأن مقدار تلوث سيارات الديزل. وقال وينتركورن بعد اجتماع ماراثوني مع اللجنة التنفيذية لمجلس فولكسفاجن: "تحتاج فولكس واجن إلى بداية جديدة - من حيث الموظفين. أفسح الطريق أمام هذه البداية الجديدة مع استقالتي". لقراءة المزيد، انقر على أخبار رويترز

فولكس واجن فضيحة يوسع: تجدر الإشارة إلى أن فولكس واجن تعاني من أزمة متنامية بسبب محاولتها جعل ملايين سيارات الديزل تبدو أكثر نظافة مما تبدو عليه. اندلعت الفضيحة الجمعة ، عندما قال المنظمون الأمريكيون إن الشركة الألمانية برمجت بعض سيارات 500,000 لإصدار مستويات أقل من الانبعاثات الضارة في الاختبارات الرسمية أكثر من الطرق. صدمت شركة فولكسفاغن المستثمرين يوم الثلاثاء بالاعتراف بأن المشكلة كانت أكبر من ذلك بكثير: فقد كشفت التحقيقات الداخلية عن وجود اختلافات كبيرة في 11 مليون سيارة حول العالم. خصصت الشركة 6.5 مليار يورو (7.3 مليار دولار) لتغطية تكاليف عمليات السحب والجهود الأخرى للحد من الأضرار ، متخلية عن توقعات أرباحها للسنة في هذه العملية. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على CNN المال

فولكس واجن تقول إن 11 Million Cars Worldwide تتأثر في خداع الديزل: انتشرت فضيحة ضربت صورة فولكس واجن في الولايات المتحدة إلى سوق السيارات في أوروبا في يوم الثلاثاء ، عندما قالت الشركة إن 11 مليون من سياراتها التي تعمل بالديزل مجهزة ببرامج يمكن استخدامها في الغش في اختبارات الانبعاثات. كان ذلك أكثر من 20 عددًا من السيارات التي تم الكشف عنها سابقًا. كما قالت الشركة إنها ستخصص 6.5 مليار يورو ، أو نحو 7.3 مليار دولار - أي ما يعادل أرباح نصف العام - لتغطية تكلفة جعل السيارات تتوافق مع معايير التلوث. لقراءة المزيد، انقر على نيويورك تايمز

انتهاكات انبعاثات فولكسفاجن: في شهر سبتمبر ، عُثِر على شركة 2015 لصناعة السيارات الألمانية فولكسفاغن أي جي أن تستخدم برنامجًا للغش في اختبارات الانبعاثات الخاصة بـ 11 مليون من محركاتها التي تعمل بالديزل من فولكس واجن ، والتي يتم بيعها بين 2009 و 2015. اكتشف البرنامج عندما كانت السيارات تقود اختبار انبعاث وتحولت ضوابط التلوث التي كانت عادة غير نشطة. وقد أدى ذلك إلى نجاح نماذج السيارات في اجتياز اختبارات وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية (EPA) أثناء القيادة الفعلية في العالم التي تصل إلى 40 مرات الحد القانوني لأكاسيد النيتروجين (NOx). لقراءة المزيد، انقر على يكيبيديا

Volkswagen Lawsuit Lawyer - Recall, Settlements & Help
VW Lawsuit Header

Volkswagen has claimed to be the leading proponent of “clean diesel” fueled cars in the United States. “Clean diesel” has been sold as providing more miles per gallon, greater range between fill-ups, lower cost of operation, and the thrill and acceleration of a turbo engine.

Volkswagen told American consumers its vehicles included engine technology that would eliminate the chief disadvantage of diesel fuel: high emissions of pollution. Volkswagen told people they could feel environmentally responsible for buying a diesel car. For all this, the company charged its customers a healthy premium over similar vehicles with gasoline engines.

On September 18, 2015, we all learned that VW's diesel success story was a lie. The EPA charged Volkswagen with using a “defeat device” on its engines to deceive emissions tests. Under laboratory conditions, the affected cars’ emissions stay under the legal limit. On the open road, researchers found, emissions can be as high as 40 times the limit.

VW's fraud led to massive lawsuits being filed by the US government, consumers and even shareholders.

Read More

Volkswagen admitted that it developed and implemented illegal software into its diesel vehicles, and even some non-diesel vehicles, to allow the cars to detect whether they were being operated in a lab or on the open highway, and then to automatically adjust the emissions accordingly. On the open road, the emissions (mainly NOx) cause acid rain, smog, and immediate health hazards for those exposed to them. High levels of NOx are linked to thousands of deaths annually.

 

VW - Audi Emissions Settlement

Talc Powder Banner

A federal judge has given preliminary approval to a proposed global settlement involving Volkswagen and owners of vehicles impacted by the VW emissions fraud. A final hearing is set for October 18, 2016, at which point compensation could begin immediately. However, it's also likely that compensation could be delayed during an appeals process, and through the development of an official claims process.

Under the proposed settlement, vehicle owners can choose between a buyback or a fix — in addition to compensation ranging from $5,100 to $10,000 per owner. This sum is arrived at by taking 20% of the trade-in value of a car in August of 2015 plus $3,000, but not less than $5,100. To see the exact figures for every vehicle involved, click VW-Audi Settlement Amount. Individuals with leased vehicles will receive an average of $3,500 in compensation and can terminate their leases.

It should be noted that as of this time, the settlement has not received approval from the EPA and California Air Resources Board in regard to a proposed fix for the vehicles. Without that approval, VW would be forced to buy back all of the vehicles, with buybacks ranging from $12,500 to $44,000.

To find out more details on the proposed settlement, click VW-Audi Settlement Details.

 

The Volkswagen Vehicles Involved in the Recall and Settlement

MODELS YEARS
Audi A3 2010-2015
Audi A6 Quattro 2014-2016
Audi A7 Quattro 2014-2016
Audi A8/A8L 2014-2016
Audi Q5 2014-2016
Audi Q7 2009-2016
Porsche Cayenne 2013-2016
Volkswagen Beetle 2012-2015
Volkswagen Beetle Convertible 2012-2015
Volkswagen Golf 2010-2015
Volkswagen Golf SportWagen 2015
Volkswagen Jetta 2009-2015
Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen 2009-2014
Volkswagen Passat 2012-2015
Volkswagen Touareg 2009-2016
 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $3 billion. We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against the world's largest corporations. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in business 60 years - $3 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
What Does It Cost

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193 (toll free). You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling this litigation.

 
Roundup News Banner

Volkswagen Lawsuit & Settlement News

Volkswagen settlement gets preliminary approval: A federal judge gave preliminary approval Tuesday to a sweeping settlement between Volkswagen, U.S. regulators and owners of VW diesels who will receive thousands of dollars in compensation. . . . Final approval of the class-action lawsuit settlement could come at a hearing Oct. 18, at which point compensation could begin immediately. Volkswagen diesel owners can choose between a buyback or a fix — in addition to cash compensation ranging from $5,100 to $10,000 per owner.To read more, click USA Today

Volkswagen Gets Initial Approval of $14.7 Billion Settlement With U.S. Drivers: A federal judge granted preliminary approval to Volkswagen AG’s $14.7 billion settlement with U.S. drivers of diesel-powered vehicles on Tuesday, clearing the way for the company to put the plan into action and put the emissions scandal behind it. To read more, click Wall Street Journal

VW's Emissions Settlement Is a Raw Deal for Its Most Important Customers: I know a lot of TDI owners saw the proposed settlement numbers and thought they were great. But when you really look at it, are they? TDI owners were sold a bill of goods and—after 16 years of knowingly defrauding consumers—VW has somehow found a way to share the financial downside of being caught with the very consumers they lied to. No matter how you slice it, VW spent 16 years perfecting what is unquestionably wholesale fraud on a level unheard of today. This "cheat device," referred to internally at VW as the "acoustic function," was in its sixth generation when discovered. To read more, click Road & Track

Read More

Volkswagen faces billions in penalties as U.S. sues for environment violations: The U.S. Justice Department on Monday filed a civil lawsuit against Volkswagen AG for allegedly violating the Clean Air Act by installing illegal devices to impair emission control systems in nearly 600,000 vehicles. The allegations against Volkswagen, along with its Audi and Porsche units, carry penalties that could cost the automaker billions of dollars, a senior Justice Department official said. VW could face fines in theory exceeding $90 billion – or as much as $37,500 per vehicle per violation of the law, based on the complaint. In September, government regulators initially said VW could face fines in excess of $18 billion. To read more, click Reuters

Guide to the Volkswagen Emissions Recall: Volkswagen is accused of—and has admitted to—circumventing the emissions control system in about 482,000 vehicles sold in the United States since 2008 with the 2.0-liter diesel engine. As many as 11 million vehicles worldwide may be affected. In mid-September, the EPA issued a notice of violation to Volkswagen AG, Audi AG, and Volkswagen Group of America (collectively VW) for failure to comply with Clean Air Act regulations. In November, the EPA notified the automaker about violations found with its 3.0-liter V6 diesel engine, as well. In doing so, the agency determined that certain Audi, Porsche, and Volkswagen models have been emitting more pollutants than legally acceptable, leaving in their wake potential environmental and health implications. To read more, click Consumer Reports

Volkswagen Says 800,000 More Cars Affected in Emissions Probe: Volkswagen AG said an internal probe in the wake of the diesel scandal that has engulfed the German carmaker showed irregularities in CO2 emissions affecting an additional 800,000 cars, deepening a crisis that has already cost long-time Chief Executive Officer Martin Winterkorn his job, depressed the stock price and led to ballooning provisions. To read more, click Bloomberg

Small Non-Profit (not EPA) Brought Down World’s Largest Automaker: Caught VW’s Emission Fraud: Volkswagen not only has a problem with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, it now has a problem with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. VW certified its diesel-powered cars as being eligible for a clean energy tax credit for buyers in 2009 and 2010, and some 60,000 Volkswagen owners claimed a $1,300 credit on their taxes. To read more, click Ring of Fire

VW Under Investigation by the I.R.S. for Tax Fraud arising out of Emission Cheat Device: Earlier this week, German automaker Volkswagen was exposed for perpetrating a massive deception by installing a small device on as many as 11 million diesel-powered vehicles designed to cheat emissions tests. This egregious example of corporate malfeasance was discovered not by government regulators and inspectors, whose job it was – but by two engineers in different countries, working for a little-known non-profit laboratory. To read more, click Ring of Fire

VW manipulated diesel emissions tests in Europe, says German minister: Volkswagen has admitted rigging emissions tests in Europe in the same way it falsified results in the US, Germany's transport minister has said. Alexander Dobrindt said it was not known how many of the 11 million vehicles affected were in Europe. He also said other manufacturers' vehicles would be checked. To read more, click BBC News

Volkswagen boss quits over diesel emissions scandal: Volkswagen Chief Executive Martin Winterkorn resigned on Wednesday, succumbing to pressure for change at the German carmaker, which is reeling from the admission that it deceived U.S. regulators about how much its diesel cars pollute. "Volkswagen needs a fresh start - also in terms of personnel. I am clearing the way for this fresh start with my resignation," Winterkorn said, following a marathon meeting with the executive committee of the VW board. To read more, click Reuters News

Volkswagen Scandal Widens: Volkswagen is being engulfed by a growing crisis over its attempt to make millions of diesel cars appear cleaner than they are. The scandal broke Friday, when U.S. regulators said the German company had programmed some 500,000 vehicles to emit lower levels of harmful emissions in official tests than on the roads. Volkswagen stunned investors Tuesday by admitting that the problem was much bigger than that: internal investigations had found significant discrepancies in 11 million vehicles worldwide. The company set aside 6.5 billion euros ($7.3 billion) to cover the cost of recalls and other efforts to limit the damage, trashing its profit forecast for the year in the process. To read more, click CNN Money

Volkswagen Says 11 Million Cars Worldwide Are Affected in Diesel Deception: A scandal that has battered Volkswagen’s image in the United States spread to the automaker’s core market in Europe on Tuesday, when the company said that 11 million of its diesel cars were equipped with software that could be used to cheat on emissions tests. That was more than 20 times the number of cars previously disclosed. The company also said it would set aside 6.5 billion euros, or about $7.3 billion — the equivalent of half a year’s profits — to cover the cost of making the cars comply with pollution standards. To read more, click New York Times

Volkswagen emissions violations: In September 2015, German car maker Volkswagen AG was found to have used software to cheat on emissions tests for 11 million of its diesel engine Volkswagen cars sold between 2009 and 2015. The software detected when cars were driving an emission test and turned on pollution controls that were normally inactive. This resulted in car models passing United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) tests while in real-world driving emitting up to 40 times the legal limit of nitrogen oxides (NOx). To read more, click WikiPedia