فيبرزي (eluxadoline) ، منتج من تيفا للصناعات الدوائية، هو دواء مصمم لعلاج شكل معين من متلازمة القولون العصبي يرافقه الإسهال (IBS-D). وهو يعمل عن طريق تثبيط عمل بعض مستقبلات الأفيون في الجهاز الهضمي أثناء تنشيط الآخرين.

ونتيجة لآلية العمل هذه ، يستطيع الغذاء الانتقال من خلال الأمعاء الدقيقة بشكل أكثر كفاءة ، مما يؤدي بدوره إلى تخفيف أعراض التهاب الأمعاء. دراسة السلامة نشرت في ديسمبر 2016 في المجلة الأمريكية لأمراض الجهاز الهضمي حدد عددًا من القضايا ، بما في ذلك ما يعرف باسم أحداث "Sphincter of Oddi Spasm" (SOS). هذه هي مصدر قلق خاص ، لأن هذه التشنجات ، والتي تحدث في المرضى الذين أزيلت المرارة ، يمكن أن يكون لها عواقب تهدد الحياة.

ما هي "مصرة أودي"؟

Viberzi الآثار الجانبية

تمت تسميته بعد أواخر 19th عالم القرن الطبي روجيرو أودي ، ويعرف هذا العضو أيضا باسم مصرة الكبد الكبدية. وهو عبارة عن صمام عضلي من نوع pf ينظم تدفق العصارات الهضمية من الكبد والبنكرياس إلى داخلها. قناة الكبد الكبدية، أو أمبولة. هذا هو المكان الذي تتلاقى فيه القناة الصفراوية من الكبد والقناة التي تحمل عصير البنكرياس قبل دخول القسم الأول من الأمعاء الدقيقة ، أو duodendum. عادة ، يتم استرخاء العضلة العاصرة من Oddi (SO) ، أو فتح ، من خلال عمل هرمون (كوليسيستوكينين) تفرزها خلايا الغدد الصماء في duodendum.

SOS والأفيونيات

يمكن أن يكون سبب أحداث SOS عن طريق استخدام مسكنات الألم الأفيونية - لا سيما في المرضى الذين لديهم إزالة المرارة أو الذين خضعوا لعملية جراحية في المعدة. وقد عرفت هذه العلاقة لأكثر من سنوات 75. في 1941 ، عندما كانت مدينة لندن لا تزال خاضعة للغارات الجوية الدورية خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، الطبيب JB Williamson كتب رسالة إلى المجلة الطبية البريطانية، معربا عن مخاوفه بعد قراءة منشور من زميل له وجد أن بعض الأدوية الأفيونية تسبب في أحداث SOS في المرضى الذين خضعوا لاستئصال المرارة (إزالة المرارة). مع ملاحظة أن هذا المريض قد عانى من ألم شديد بعد تناول جرعة صغيرة من الكوديين ، كتب ويليامسون:

"يجب أن يكون هناك عدد لا بأس به من الأشخاص الذين لا يعانون من المرارة في البلاد ، إذا أصيبوا بجروح ، فمن المحتمل أن يتم إعطاء جرعة كاملة من المورفين من قبل طبيب لا يعرف شيئًا عن تاريخهم الطبي. يفترض المرء أنه ، بعيداً عن تخفيف الألم والصدمة ، قد يزيد هذا الأمر."

دراسة من 2001 نظرت في تأثير المخدرات مثل المورفين والكوديين على وظيفة SO ، ووجدت أن ... "SO حساس بشكل رائع لجميع المخدرات ... [التي] تتداخل مع SO انقباضات [انقباض واسترخاء النسيج العضلي]. "

Viberzi و SOS

Viberzi الآثار الجانبية

في مارس 2017 ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية اتصال سلامة الدواء بشأن حالات دخول المستشفى الخطيرة والوفيات المرتبطة بفايبرزي التي أخذها مرضى استئصال المرارة. في سياق تفاعلات الدواء مع مستقبلات الأفيون في الجهاز الهضمي ، هؤلاء المرضى يعانون من أحداث SOS شديدة. ونتيجة لذلك ، يتم تنشيط الأنزيمات الهضمية التي يطلقها الكبد والبنكرياس قبل أن يتم إطلاقها في الإثني عشر - وتبدأ في العمل على البنكرياس ، مما تسبب في التهاب حاد (التهاب البنكرياس). هذا ، بدوره ، يمكن أن يسبب إصابات داخلية شديدة تؤثر على الأعضاء الحيوية مثل القلب والرئتين والكلى.

بالنظر إلى حقيقة أن آثار المواد الأفيونية على SO من مرضى استئصال المرارة معروفة منذ عقود ، فإن السؤال الواضح هو لماذا فشلت الشركات المصنعة في التحقيق في الآثار الجانبية المحتملة للدواء المصمم للتفاعل مع المستقبلات الأفيونية؟ هذا هو السبب في تقديم دعاوى قضائية ضد الشركات المصنعة لفيبرزي. لمعرفة المزيد ، تفضل بزيارة موقعنا صفحة Viberzi Lawsuit.

Viberzi Injuries and the Link to Pancreatitis
IVC Filter Lawsuit Header IVC Filter Lawsuit Header

Viberzi (eluxadoline), a product of Teva Pharmaceutical Industries, is a medication designed to treat a specific form of irritable bowel syndrome accompanied by diarrhea (IBS-D). It works by inhibiting the action of certain opioid receptors in the digestive tract while activating others.

As a result of this mechanism of action, food is able to move through the small intestine more efficiently, which in turn, relieves IBD symptoms. A safety study published in December 2016 in the American Journal of Gastroenterology identified a number issues, including what are known as “Sphincter of Oddi Spasm” (SOS) events. These are of particular concern, since these spasms, which occur in patients who have had their gallbladders removed, can have life-threatening consequences.

 

What Is The “Sphincter of Oddi”?

 Viberzi Side Effects Banner

Named after late-19th Century medical scientist Ruggero Oddi, this organ also is known as the hepatopancreatic sphincter. It is a type pf muscular valve that regulates the flow of digestive juices from the liver and the pancreas into the hepatopancreatic duct, or ampulla. This is where the bile duct from the liver and the duct carrying pancreatic juice come together before entering the first section of the small intestine, or duodendum. Normally, the Sphincter of Oddi (SO) is relaxed, or opened up, through the action of a hormone (cholecystokinin) secreted by endocrine cells in the duodendum.

 

SOS and Opioids

SOS events can be caused by the use of opioid pain relievers – particularly in patients who have had their gallbladders removed or who have undergone gastric bypass surgery.  This association has been known for well over 75 years. In 1941, when the city of London was still subject to periodic air raids during the Second World War, physician J.B. Williamson wrote a letter to the British Medical Journal, expressing his concerns after reading a publication by a colleague who found that certain opioid medications caused SOS events in patients who had undergone a cholecystectomy (gallbladder removal). Noting that such a patient had experienced severe pain after taking a small dose of codeine, Williamson wrote:

There must be in the country a fair number of people without gallbladders...if they become casualties, a full dose of morphine will probably be administered by a doctor who knows nothing of their medical history. One supposes that, far from relieving their pain and shock, this may increase it.

A study from 2001 looked at the effect of narcotics such as morphine and codeine on SO function, and found that “...the SO is exquisitely sensitive to all narcotics...[which] interfere with SO peristalsis [the constriction and relaxation of muscle tissue].”

 

Viberzi and SOS

 Viberzi Side Effects Banner

In March 2017, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration issued a Drug Safety Communication regarding serious hospitalizations and deaths associated with Viberzi taken by cholecystectomy patients. In the course of the drug's interactions with the digestive system's opioid receptors, these patients experience severe SOS events. As a result, the digestive enzymes released by the liver and pancreas are activated before they are released into the duodenum – and begin to act on the pancreas, causing acute inflammation (pancreatitis). This, in turn, can cause severe internal injuries affecting vital organs such as the heart, lungs and kidneys.

Given the fact that the effects of opioids on the SO of cholecystectomy patients has been known for decades, the obvious question is why did the manufacturers fail to investigate the possible side effects of a drug designed to interact with opioid receptors? This is the reason that lawsuits are being filed against the manufacturers of Viberzi. To learn more, visit our Viberzi Lawsuit page.