تدعي الدعوى القضائية Viberzi أن الشركة المصنعة لـ Viberzi فشلت في تحذير الأطباء من أن الدواء يزيد من مخاطر التهاب البنكرياس بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يفتقدون إلى المرارة.

يقبل مكتب المحاماة العملاء الذين عانوا من التهاب البنكرياس أثناء وصفه Viberzi.

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى Viberzi

Viberzi Pancreatitis Banner

كجزء من دعوى الدعوى Viberzi ، يزعم محامو المدعي أن المرضى الذين خضعوا للمرارة لديهم لديهم خطر متزايد من التهاب البنكرياس الخطير والمميت (التهاب البنكرياس) عند تناول Viberzi (المعروف أيضا باسم Eluxadoline).

في مارس 15 و 2017 و ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير أصدر اتصالات السلامة الدوائية بشأن المستشفيات والوفيات المرتبطة بالمرضى الذين أخذوا Viberzi والذين خضعوا لاستئصال المرارة ، وإزالة المرارة.

في وقت تنبيهها ، تلقت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير تقارير 120 للمرضى الذين عانوا من التهاب البنكرياس الخطير بعد تناولهم لفيبرزي. ستة وسبعون من هؤلاء المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى دخول المستشفى. ستة وخمسين منهم تم استئصال المرارة. توفي اثنان من المرضى من أخذ Viberzi - وكلاهما لم يكن لديهم مرارة وكانوا يأخذون جرعة 75 mg.

اصابات فيبرزي واثار جانبية

يجب على المرضى تناول فيبرزي فقط إذا كان لديهم المرارة ، وإلا فإنهم معرضون لخطر الإصابة بالتهاب البنكرياس الحاد. يمكن أن تبدأ الأعراض بعد وقت قصير من تناول جرعة Viberzi لأول مرة ، حتى خلال ساعة واحدة.

أعراض التهاب البنكرياس

يجب على الأفراد الذين يتناولون Viberzi مراقبة الأعراض التالية بعناية ، والإبلاغ عن الأعراض إلى مقدم الرعاية الصحية: ألم البطن وألم الظهر ومعدل ضربات القلب السريع والحمى وفقدان الشهية والغثيان والتعرق والقيء وفقدان الوزن. هذه كلها علامات على احتمال حدوث التهاب البنكرياس.

بالإضافة إلى تجنب Viberzi إذا لم يكن المريض مصاباً بمرارة ، لا ينصح Viberzi عندما يأخذ المريض ما يلي:

  1. مثبطات SLCO1B1 المستخدمة لعلاج فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ، وارتفاع نسبة الكوليسترول ، وبعض المضادات الحيوية ، واضطرابات المناعة الذاتية ، وكذلك الأدوية المضادة للرفض (تدار لمرضى زرع)
  2. الأدوية الأفيونية
  3. Lotronex (alosetron ، وهو دواء لعلاج IBS-D على وجه التحديد في النساء)
  4. مضادات الكولين (المستخدمة في علاج الاضطرابات المعدية المعوية بما في ذلك القرحة والإسهال والتهاب الرتج والتهاب القولون)
  5. البزموت subalinylate (أي ، Pepto-Bismol وأدوية مشابهة OTC)
  6. كرستور (رسيوفاستاتين) ، وهو عقار ستاتين

تناول أي من الأدوية المذكورة أعلاه مع Viberzi يمكن أن يسبب زيادة خطيرة في تركيزات هذه الأدوية. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن تناول Viberzi في نفس الوقت مع Crestor يمكن أن يزيد من خطر انحلال الربيدات rhabdomyolysis ، وهي حالة ينهار فيها النسيج العضلي ، مما يؤدي إلى إطلاق بعض البروتينات في مجرى الدم التي يمكن أن تضر بالكلى.

لا يُنصح أيضًا بـ Viberzi إذا كان المريض يعاني من أو لديه سجل في أي من المشكلات التالية:

  1. تستهلك أكثر من ثلاثة مشروبات كحولية في اليوم
  2. الإمساك المزمن
  3. مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي التي تسببها العضلة العاصرة لصمام العضلات Oddi
  4. انسداد المرارة
  5. انسداد معوي
  6. مرض الكبد
  7. قضايا البنكرياس

هذه المرارة ، التي تقع تحت الكبد وفوق البنكرياس ، تستقبل الصفراء من الكبد وتخزنها حتى الحاجة إلى هضم الدهون. في حين أن ما يقرب من 30 ٪ من مرضى استئصال المرارة يعانون من عسر الهضم إلى حد ما ، من النادر حدوث مضاعفات خطيرة.

ومع ذلك ، في وجود Viberzi ، يمكن أن يعاني المرضى من تشنجات من العضلة العاصرة الكبدية ، وهو الصمام الذي يتحكم في تدفق الصفراء من الكبد ويتداخل مع تدفق السوائل الهضمية من البنكرياس. والنتيجة هي التهاب البنكرياس الشديد.

تحدث هذه الحالة عن طريق إنزيمات هضمية يتم تنشيطها قبل إطلاقها في الأمعاء الدقيقة. عندما يحدث هذا ، تبدأ هذه الانزيمات في تمزيق البنكرياس نفسه. في النهاية ، يمكن أن يسبب التهاب البنكرياس الحاد والشديد إصابة القلب والرئتين والكليتين.

تعليمات العبوات ل Viberzi تستدعي استخدام 100 mg قرصًا مرتين يوميًا مع الطعام لمعظم المرضى. هناك أيضًا جرعة منخفضة موصى بها للمرضى الذين لا يستطيعون تحمل الجرعة الأعلى ، الذين قد يأخذون مثبطات SLCO1B1 ، أو الذين يعانون من بعض أشكال ضعف الكبد.

تنصح إدارة الغذاء والدواء بشدة مرضى استئصال المرارة الذين يعانون من الإسهال لتجنب فيبرزي تمامًا واستخدام العلاجات التي لا تستلزم وصفة طبية مثل Kaopectate أو Pepto-Bismol كعلاجات بديلة.

التعويض في دعوى فايبرزي

إذا كنت تعاني من التهاب البنكرياس أثناء وجودك في فيبرزي ، فسوف نبحث عن التعويضات التالية لك كجزء من الدعوى القضائية الخاصة بك فيبرزي:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية الناتجة عن إصاباتك.
  2. آلام ومعاناة الماضي والمستقبل (الجسدية والعقلية) الناجمة عن الإصابات ، وعملية العلاج والانتعاش.
  3. خسارة الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل.
  4. خسارة الماضي والمستقبل من القدرة على الكسب.
  5. فقدان الماضي والمستقبل من التمتع بالحياة.
  6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

لماذا نحن

وكان مكتب محاماة لدينا في وجود أكثر من 65 سنوات، ويعتبر زعيم وطني في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا أكثر بكثير من الأحكام جنة التحكيم 150 في جميع أنحاء البلاد في كمية 1 مليون $ أو أكثر، وحققت الاحكام والمستوطنات تزيد من 4 مليار $.

نحن مؤسس كتلة الجنح صنع الكمال، وهي ندوة وطنية بحضور المحامين 800 تقريبا مرتين في السنة حيث نساعد تعليم التعامل الناجح قضايا ضد شركات الأدوية. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا استشارات سرية مجانية تمامًا ، وإذا كنا محظوظين بما يكفي لتوظيفنا ، فلن نفرض عليك أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم تتعافى أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪ اعتمادًا على مقدار ما نقوم باسترداده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على استشارة مجانية ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب استشارة بالنقر إستشارة مجانية و سرية Viberzi نموذج، وسيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج فورًا بواسطة أحد محاميينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعوى فيبرزي.

سيتم التعامل مع بلدي فايبرزي دعوى كعمل فئة

الدعوى الجماعية هي نوع من الدعاوى القضائية حيث يمثل عدد قليل من الأفراد مصلحة العديد من الأفراد الآخرين. تعتبر أحكام المحكمة ملزمة لجميع الأشخاص الذين يعتبرون أعضاء في الفصل. يُطلب من جميع أعضاء الصف قبول التسوية التي وافقت عليها المحكمة ، حتى إذا لم يحصل أي عضو من أعضاء الصف على تعويض يذكر.

ليس هذا هو نوع التقاضي الذي سنقوم به محامونا فيبرزي لعملائنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نمثل كل فرد بناءً على ظروفه الخاصة ، وتقييم عملية استرداد كل عميل استنادًا إلى وقائعه. كل واحد من عملائنا لديه دائما خيار تسوية أو عدم تسوية حالته.

للحصول على مناقشة تفصيلية حول الإجراءات الجماعية والأضرار الجماعية والتقاضي متعدد المجالات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا فئة العمل الجماعي صفحة للأضرار.

Viberzi Settlement Amounts

تعويض Viberzi

اعتبارا من هذا الوقت ، لم يكن هناك كبير التسويات الجماعية تنطوي على Viberzi والارتباط المحتمل لالتهاب البنكرياس. التقاضي يحبذ هذا يستغرق سنوات عديدة لحل ، مع فرق من المحامين تنفق ملايين الدولارات في محاولة لتحديد ما حدث بالضبط ، وكيف كان يمكن منعها.

بشكل عام ، لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من المستوطنات حتى يحين الوقت الذي يتم فيه محاكمة عدد قليل من القضايا أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أشمل.

المحامي كيم آدامز يناقش قضايا فيبرزي

ما هو الغرض من فيبرزي

Viberzi (eluxadoline) هو دواء محدد لعلاج متلازمة القولون العصبي مع الإسهال (IBS-D). وضعت في الأصل من قبل شركة Actavis Pharma Inc. ، ويتم تسويق Viberzi وبيعها من قبل Allergan. كل من هذه الشركات هي الآن جزء من شركة Teva للصناعات الدوائية المحدودة ، وهي شركة أدوية متعددة الجنسيات مقرها في إسرائيل.

Viberzi جزء من فئة من الأدوية التي تعمل على مستقبلات الجسم الأفيونية. هناك ثلاثة مستقبلات أفيونيد مميزة متضمنة ، تم تحديدها بالحروف اليونانية μ (mu) و κ (kappa) و δ (delta).

تم العثور على عدد من المستقبلات الأفيونية - in في الجهاز الهضمي. عندما يتم تنشيط هذه المستقبلات ، فإنه يمنع ما يعرف باسم التمعج ، عمل العضلات في الأمعاء الدقيقة التي تنقل الطعام من خلال النظام. عندما لا تعمل مستقبلات op-opioid (MORs) بشكل صحيح ، لا يمكن أن يحدث عمل تمعجية ، والنتيجة هي الإمساك. وهو أيضا أحد أسباب متلازمة القولون العصبي. Viberzi هو ما يُعرف باسم منبهات MOR ، مما يعني أنه ينشط مستقبلات op-opioid ، وبالتالي يحفز عمل التمعج في الأمعاء الدقيقة.

وتشترك مستقبلات op-opioid (KORs) في الإدراك والمشاعر للألم الجسدي. وهناك عدد من مسكنات الألم هي ناهضات KOR ، بما في ذلك Viberzi.

المضاد هو الدواء الذي يمنع حدوث شيء ما في الجسم. Viberzi هو مضاد لمستقبلات الأفيون (DOR) ، يعمل مع مستقبلات الأفيون in في التحكم في الأحاسيس المؤلمة.

هناك عدد من مسكنات الألم تستهدف DORs. على وجه التحديد ، DORs بمثابة مكون مهم ، ولكن منفصلة من الجهاز العصبي المركزي للجسم ، والمعروفة باسم الجهاز العصبي المعوي. تتكون هذه الشبكة من شبكة من الخلايا العصبية تتحكم في القناة الهضمية. من خلال استهداف DORs ومنعهم من القيام بعملهم ، يهدف Viberzi إلى حماية الجهاز العصبي المركزي من الأذى.

ويستند تطوير آلية عمل Viberzi في استهداف ثلاثة مستقبلات أفيونية مختلفة إلى دليل يشير إلى أن IBS-D ناجم عن انهيار الاتصالات بين الجهاز العصبي والجهاز الهضمي. الغرض الدقيق من الدواء هو علاج أعراض IBS-D مع منع الإمساك ومشاكل أخرى يمكن أن تحدث مع الأدوية التي تمكّن MORs فقط.

أخبار Viberzi الدعوى

Viberzi أخبار بانر

FDA يحذر من زيادة خطر الإصابة بالتهاب البنكرياس الخطير مع Viberzi من Allergan

بعد وفاة اثنين من المرضى دون المرارة على المخدرات الأمعاء المتعسرة في أليرجان Viberzi (eluxadoline) ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) يوم الأربعاء حذر حول زيادة خطر التهاب البنكرياس الخطير في هؤلاء المرضى. ذكرت في جمعية الشؤون التنظيمية الاحترافية - فيبرزي فيات

تحذر ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير من حالات الوفاة بالتهاب البنكرياس من العلاج مع IBS-D med Viberzi من Allergan

حذرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية من أنه لا ينبغي على المرضى الذين لا يعانون من المرارة أن يستخدموا الدواء بعد أن وجدت مراجعة الوكالة زيادة في المخاطر بالنسبة لأولئك المرضى الذين يعانون من التهاب البنكرياس الخطير الذي قد يؤدي إلى دخول المستشفى أو حتى الموت. ذكرت في FiercePharma - Viberzi Pacreatitis

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية بشأن Viberzi

تحذر ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير من ازدياد خطر الإصابة بالتهاب البنكرياس الخطير بأدوية الانفعال المعوية Viberzi (eluxadoline) في المرضى الذين لا يعانون من المرارة

تحذر إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) من أن Viberzi (eluxadoline) ، وهو دواء يستخدم في علاج متلازمة الأمعاء المتهيجة بالإسهال (IBS-D) ، يجب ألا يستخدم في المرضى الذين لا يعانون من المرارة. وجدت مراجعة FDA هؤلاء المرضى لديهم خطر متزايد من تطوير التهاب البنكرياس الخطير الذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى دخول المستشفى أو الموت. ذكرت في ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير فيبيرزي الاتصالات السلامة

خطر التهاب البنكرياس بعد علاج متلازمة القولون العصبي مع Eluxadoline

في تحليل للتقارير حول eluxadoline (Viberzi) المقدمة إلى "نظام الإبلاغ عن الحدث الضريبي الفدرالي" ، أكدنا على خطر سبق الإبلاغ عن التهاب البنكرياس المرتبطة eluxadoline. يجب أن تؤدي الحاجة إلى الاستشفاء في نصف هذه الحالات على الأقل وتقرير حديث عن حالات وفاة 2 إلى إعادة تقييم نسبة المخاطرة والعامل للوكيل. ذكرت في الجمعية الأمريكية لأمراض الجهاز الهضمي

الجوائز
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
الجوائز
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
شهادات زبائننا
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

شهادات زبائننا
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

Viberzi Lawsuit Lawyer – Settlements & Recalls – Pancreatitis Injury
Viberzi Lawsuit Header Viberzi Lawsuit Header

The Viberzi lawsuits claim the manufacturer of Viberzi failed to warn doctors that the drug increases the risks of pancreatitis for patients who are missing their gallbladder.

Our law firm is accepting clients who suffered pancreatitis while prescribed Viberzi. We have been handling claims against pharmaceutical companies since 1955, and each year we teach more than 1,000 attorneys how to successfully handle these types of cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

Why Are Viberzi Lawsuits Being Filed

 Viberzi Pancreatitis Banner

As part of the Viberzi lawsuit filings, plaintiff attorneys argue that patients who have had their gallbladder removed have an increased risk of serious and potentially fatal pancreatitis (inflammation of the pancreas) when taking Viberzi (also known as Eluxadoline).

On March 15, 2017, the FDA issued a Drug Safety Communication regarding hospitalizations and deaths associated with patients who had taken Viberzi and who had undergone a cholecystectomy, the removal of the gallbladder.

At the time of its alert, the FDA had received 120 reports of patients who had suffered serious pancreatitis after taking Viberzi. Seventy-six of these patients required hospitalization; fifty-six of them had their gallbladder removed. Two of the patients died from taking Viberzi – both of whom had no gallbladder and were taking the 75 mg dosage.

 

Viberzi Injuries & Side Effects

Patients should only take Viberzi if they have their gallbladder, otherwise they are at risk of suffering from severe pancreatitis. Symptoms can begin very soon after first taking a Viberzi dose, even within one hour.

Symptoms of Pancreatitis

Individuals taking Viberzi should carefully watch for the following symptoms, and report the symptoms to their healthcare provider: abdominal pain, back pain, fast heart rate, fever, loss of appetite, nausea, sweating, vomiting, and weight loss. These all are signs of potential pancreatitis.

In addition to avoiding Viberzi if a patient doesn’t have a gallbladder, Viberzi is not recommended when a patient is taking the following:

  1. SLCO1B1 inhibitors used to treat HIV, high cholesterol, certain antibiotics, and autoimmune disorders, as well as anti-rejection drugs (administered to transplant patients)
  2. Opioid medications
  3. Lotronex (alosetron, a medication for treating IBS-D specifically in women)
  4. Anticholinergics (used in the treatment of gastrointestinal disorders including ulcer, diarrhea, diverticulitis and colitis)
  5. Bismuth subsalinylate (i.e., Pepto-Bismol and similar OTC medications)
  6. Crestor (rosuvastatin), a statin drug

Taking any of the above drugs in combination with Viberzi can cause a dangerous increase in the concentrations of these drugs. Furthermore, taking Viberzi at the same time as Crestor can raise the risk of rhabdomyolysis, a condition in which muscle tissue breaks down, resulting in the release of certain proteins into the bloodstream that can damage the kidneys.

Viberzi also is not recommended if a patient suffers from, or has a history of, any of the below issues:

  1. Consuming more than three alcoholic beverages per day
  2. Chronic constipation
  3. Digestive problems caused by the sphincter of Oddi muscle valve
  4. Gallbladder obstruction
  5. Intestinal obstruction
  6. Liver disease
  7. Pancreatic issues

This gallbladder, which is located below the liver and above the pancreas, receives bile from the liver and stores it until needed for the digestion of fats. While approximately 30% of cholecystectomy patients experience indigestion to some extent, serious complications are rare.

In the presence of Viberzi, however, patients can experience spasms of the hepatopancreatic sphincter, the valve that controls the flow of bile from the liver and interferes with the flow of digestive fluids from the pancreas. The result is severe pancreatic inflammation.

This condition is caused by digestive enzymes that are activated before being released into the small intestine. When this occurs, these enzymes begin tearing down the pancreas itself. Ultimately, acute, severe pancreatitis can cause injury to the heart, lungs, and kidneys.

Package instructions for Viberzi calls for one 100 mg tablet twice daily with food for most patients. There is also a lower recommended dosage for patients who cannot tolerate the higher dosage, who may be taking SLCO1B1 inhibitors, or who suffer from some form of liver impairment.

The FDA strongly advises cholecystectomy patients suffering from diarrhea to avoid Viberzi altogether and to use over-the-counter remedies such as Kaopectate or Pepto-Bismol as alternative treatments.

 

Compensation in a Viberzi Lawsuit

If you suffered pancreatitis while on Viberzi, then we will be seeking the following damages for you as part of your Viberzi lawsuit:

  1. Past and future medical expenses that result from your injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss.
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 
 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against pharmaceutical companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40% depending upon how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request a consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Viberzi Consultation Form, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Viberzi litigation.

 

Will My Viberzi Claim be Handled as a Class Action

A class action is a type of lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many other individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are considered a member of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement approved by the court, even if an individual class member is going to receive little or no compensation.

This is not the type of litigation our Viberzi attorneys will be pursuing for our clients. Instead, we represent each individual based on his/her specific circumstances, and evaluate the recovery for each client based on his/her facts. Each of our clients always has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Viberzi Settlement Amounts

 Viberzi compensation

As of this time, there have been no large mass tort settlements involving Viberzi and the potential link to pancreatitis. Litigation likes this takes many years to resolve, with teams of lawyers spending millions of dollars trying to determine exactly what occurred, and how it could have been prevented.

Generally, large groups of settlements do not occur until such time as a few cases are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk.

 

Attorney Kim Adams Discusses the Viberzi Lawsuits

 
 

What is the Purpose of Viberzi

Viberzi (eluxadoline) is a medication indicated for the treatment of irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhea (IBS-D). Originally developed by Actavis Pharma Inc., Viberzi is marketed and sold by Allergan. Both of these companies are now part of Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd., a multinational drug company based in Israel.

Viberzi is part of a class of medications that operate on the body's opioid receptors. There are three distinct opioid receptors involved, identified by the Greek letters μ (mu), κ (kappa) and δ (delta).

A number of μ-opioid receptors are found in the digestive tract. When these receptors are activated, it prevents what is known as peristalsis, the action of muscles in the small intestine that move food through the system. When μ-opioid receptors (MORs) are not operating properly, peristaltic action cannot occur, and the result is constipation. It is also one of the causes of irritable bowel syndrome. Viberzi is what is known as a MOR agonist, meaning that it activates the μ-opioid receptors, thus stimulating peristaltic action in the small intestine.

The κ-opioid receptors (KORs) are involved in perception and feelings of physical pain. A number of pain relievers are KOR agonists, including Viberzi.

An antagonist is a medicine that prevents something from happening in the body. Viberzi is a δ-opioid receptor (DOR) antagonist, working with the μ-opioid receptor in the control of painful sensations.

A number of pain relievers target DORs. Specifically, DORs function as an important, but separate component of the body's central nervous system, known as the enteric nervous system. This network consists of a mesh of neurons controlling the gastrointestinal tract. By targeting DORs and preventing them from doing their job, Viberzi is intended to protect the central nervous system from harm.

The development of Viberzi's mechanism of action in targeting three different opioid receptors is based on evidence indicating that IBS-D is caused by a breakdown in communications between the nervous system and the gastrointestinal tract. The exact purpose of the medication is to treat the symptoms of IBS-D while preventing constipation and other problems that can occur with drugs that enable only MORs.

 

Viberzi Lawsuit News

Viberzi News Banner

FDA Warns of Increased Risk of Serious Pancreatitis with Allergan’s Viberzi

Following the death of two patients without a gallbladder on Allergan’s irritable bowel drug Viberzi (eluxadoline), the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on Wednesday warned about the increased risk of serious pancreatitis in such patients. Reported in Regulatory Affairs Professional Society – Viberzi Deaths

FDA warns of pancreatitis deaths from treatment with Allergan's IBS-D med Viberzi

The FDA has warned that patients without a gallbladder shouldn’t use the med after an agency review found an increased risk for those patients of developing serious pancreatitis that could result in hospitalization or even death. Reported in FiercePharma – Viberzi Pacreatitis

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Viberzi

Viberzi: Increased Risk of Serious Pancreatitis In Patients Without A Gallbladder

FDA is warning that Viberzi (eluxadoline), a medicine used to treat irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhea (IBS-D), should not be used in patients who do not have a gallbladder. An FDA review found these patients have an increased risk of developing serious pancreatitis that could result in hospitalization or death. Pancreatitis may be caused by spasm of a certain digestive system muscle in the small intestine. Reported in FDA Viberzi Safety Communication

Risk of Pancreatitis Following Treatment of Irritable Bowel Syndrome With Eluxadoline

In an analysis of reports on eluxadoline (Viberzi) submitted to the Federal Adverse Event Reporting System, we confirmed a previously reported risk of pancreatitis associated with eluxadoline. The need for hospitalization in at least half of these instances and a recent report of 2 fatalities should prompt reassessments of the agent’s risk-benefit ratio. Reported in American Gastroenterological Association

 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.
 
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.