الدعوى Uloric يدعي فشل الشركة المصنعة لل Uloric في تحذير المستخدمين من زيادة خطر النوبات القلبية والسكتات الدماغية.

ماذا نعرف عن الدعاوى اللوريه

Uloric (Febuxostat) هو مثبط أوكسيديز الزانثين الموصوف لإدارة فرط حمض يوريك الدم المزمن (حمض اليوريك الزائد) في المرضى البالغين المصابين بالنقرس. تم جلب Uloric إلى السوق بواسطة Takeda Pharmaceuticals وحصلت في الأصل على موافقة إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير في فبراير 13 ، 2009.

عندما وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) على Uloric في 2009 ، احتاجت الحكومة إلى تحذير حول الأحداث القلبية الوعائية ، وتطلبت أيضًا أن تقوم Takeda بإجراء دراسة إلزامية لسلامة القلب والأوعية الدموية بعد التسويق.

تم نشر نتائج تجربة سلامة 6,000 للمريض في نيو انغلاند جورنال اوف ميديسين في مارس 12 ، 2018. وجد مؤلفو الدراسة زيادة خطر إحصائيا في موت القلب والأوعية الدموية لمستخدمي Uloric مقارنة بمستخدمي الوبيورينول.

في شباط (فبراير) من 2019 ، طلبت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير (FDA) من الشركة المصنّعة لشركة Uloric البدء في وضع تحذيرات على عقاقيرها لمناقشة العلاقة بين مشاكل Uloric والقلب والأوعية الدموية.

ماذا نعرف عن النقرس

النقرس هو شكل من أشكال التهاب المفاصل يتميز بهجمات مفاجئة وشديدة من الألم والتورم والاحمرار والحنان في المفاصل ، غالبًا في القدمين والقدمين ، والتي تنتج عن ارتفاع مستويات حمض اليوريك في مجرى الدم.

هناك احتمالية عالية لحدوث الحوادث القلبية الوعائية في المرضى الذين يعانون من فرط حمض يوريك الدم ونقرس غير مفهومة تمامًا ولكنها قد تكون ذات صلة بالالتهاب المزمن المرتبط بعملية المرض الكامنة. يعاني مرضى النقرس عادة من أمراض المصاحبة المختلفة التي ترتبط نفسها بزيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية.

النقرس هو حالة مرضية لا تتوفر سوى عدد قليل من العلاجات الطبية ، وكان الوبيورينول منذ فترة طويلة هو معيار العلاج. تمّ إدخال allopurinol في الأصل إلى السوق بواسطة شركة Casper Pharma LLC في 1966 ، وهو يتمتع بملف أمان قائم ومتاح بشكل عام منذ سبتمبر 1984 على الأقل.

فقط المرضى الذين يعانون من اختلال وظيفي كلوي حاد أو أولئك الذين لا يستطيعون تحمل الوبيورينول يجب أن يجربوا Uloric ، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن الوبيورينول فعال مثل Uloric وهو أرخص بشكل كبير.

المحامي ويس بودين يناقش الدعاوى Uloric

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق Uloric

FDA Research Banner

في نوفمبر 15 ، 2017 ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) اتصالات سلامة الدواء تنبيه "الجمهور" أن النتائج الأولية من تجربة سريرية للسلامة تظهر زيادة خطر الموت المرتبط بالقلب باستخدام febuxostat (Uloric) مقارنةً بعقار النقرس الآخر المسمى allopurinol "، وأشار إلى أنه سيجري مراجعة شاملة لسلامة Uloric.

عقدت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA اجتماعًا مشتركًا للجنة الاستشارية لالتهاب المفاصل واللجنة الاستشارية لإدارة مأمونية الأدوية والمخاطر في يناير 11 ، 2019 ، حيث تمت مناقشة سلامة Uloric. في حين وافقت اللجنة على أن المعقولية البيولوجية لموت القلب والأوعية الدموية غير واضحة ، "اتفقوا على أن هناك إشارة ثابتة على وفاة القلب والأوعية الدموية المرتبطة febuxostat".

اتفق معظم أعضاء اللجنة على أنه لم يعد من الممكن تعيين Uloric كعلاج الخط الأول لمرض النقرس ويجب أن يتم حجزه للمرضى الذين لا يستطيعون تحمل الوبيورينول أو حيث لم يكن الوبيورينول فعالاً. كما أشاروا إلى أنه لا ينبغي استخدام Uloric في عدد من مرضى النقرس أو في المرضى الذين لديهم تاريخ من الأحداث القلبية الوعائية أو المعرضين لمخاطر عالية لأحداث القلب والأوعية الدموية.

أصدرت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير (FDA) اتصالاً آخر لسلامة الدواء في شهر فبراير (21) ، 2019 ، والذي ذكر فيه أنه كان هناك زيادة خطر الموت مع Uloric بالمقارنة مع الوبيورينول. وبالتالي ، فإن ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير المطلوبة لإضافة تحذير محاصر لموت القلب والأوعية الدموية والحد من استخدام حجز العلاج فقط للمرضى الذين يعانون من فرط حمض يوريك الدم أعراض.

Uloric Lawsuit Lawyer – Settlements & Recalls - Heart Injuries

The Uloric lawsuit claims the manufacturer of this gout medication failed to warn users of the increased risk of heart attacks and strokes.

 

What Do We Know About the Uloric Lawsuits

Uloric (Febuxostat) is a xanthine oxidase inhibitor prescribed for the management of chronic hyperuricemia in adult patients with gout. Uloric was brought to market by Takeda Pharmaceuticals and originally received FDA approval on February 13, 2009.

When the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved Uloric in 2009, the government required a warning about cardiovascular events and also required that Takeda conduct a mandatory post-marketing cardiovascular safety study.

The results of the 6,000-patient safety trial were published in the New England Journal of Medicine on March 12, 2018. The authors of the study found a statistically significant increased risk of cardiovascular death for users of Uloric compared to users of allopurinol.

 

What Do We Know About Gout

Gout is a form of arthritis characterized by sudden, severe attacks of pain, swelling, redness, and tenderness in the joints, often in the feet and toes, which results from elevated uric acid levels in the bloodstream.

There is an elevated risk of cardiovascular events in patients with hyperuricemia and gout which is not entirely understood but may be related to chronic inflammation associated with the underlying disease process. Gout patients also typically suffer from various comorbidities which are themselves associated with an increased risk for cardiovascular events.

Gout is a disease state for which only a few medical therapies are available and allopurinol has long been the standard of treatment. Originally brought to market by Casper Pharma LLC in 1966, allopurinol has an established safety profile and has been available in generic form since at least September 1984.

Only patients with severe renal dysfunction or those who cannot tolerate allopurinol should try Uloric, considering allopurinol is just as efficacious as Uloric and is dramatically cheaper.

 

Compensation in Uloric Lawsuits

We are representing individuals who have suffered cardiovascular events such as heart attacks and strokes while using Uloric. If you or a loved one experienced injuries or death, then we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical and funeral expenses that result from the injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss and loss of estate.
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.
 
 
Why Choose Our Lawyers

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against drug companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 64 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Uloric Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Uloric lawsuits.

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Uloric

FDA Research Banner

On November 15, 2017, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a Drug Safety Communication alerting “the public that preliminary results from a safety clinical trial show an increased risk of heart-related death with febuxostat (Uloric) compared to another gout medicine called allopurinol” and noted it would be conducting a comprehensive review of Uloric’s safety.

The FDA held a joint meeting of the Arthritis Advisory Committee and the Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee on January 11, 2019, during which the safety of Uloric was discussed. While the committee agreed that biological plausibility for cardiovascular death was unclear, they “agreed that there is a consistent signal of cardiovascular death associated with febuxostat”.

Most committee members agreed that Uloric should no longer be designated as a first-line therapy for gout and should be reserved for patients who cannot tolerate allopurinol or where allopurinol was not effective. They also noted that Uloric should not be used in the general gout population or in patients with a history of cardiovascular events or at high risk for cardiovascular events.

The FDA issued another Drug Safety Communication on February 21, 2019, in which it stated there was an increased risk of death with Uloric compared to allopurinol. Thus, the FDA required the addition of a boxed warning for cardiovascular death and a Limitation of Use reserving treatment only for patients with symptomatic hyperuricemia.