دعاوى Surfside Condo - ما حدث ، والتسويات والتعويضات

انهيار شقة فلوريدا سيرفسايد: ما حدث والحصول على تعويض

لا يزال يتعين على الخبراء تحديد العوامل التي أدت إلى انهيار شقة في Surfside ، فلوريدا. ستكون معرفة سبب تدمير المبنى المكون من 12 طابقًا أمرًا ضروريًا لتقييم سلامة المباني الأخرى ، وكذلك لتحديد المسؤولية القانونية للمقيمين الذين يسعون إلى تعويض الأضرار.

التزمت مدعية ولاية ميامي ديد كاثرين فرنانديز راندل بأن تقوم هيئة محلفين كبرى بدراسة انهيار المبنى والبدء في تمهيد الطريق للمساءلة عن الكارثة.

ترك الانهيار المفاجئ لأبراج شامبلين جنوب الخبراء في حيرة من أمرهم. بدأت العديد من النظريات في الظهور ، ولكن لم يتم اختبارها ولم يتم التحقق منها.

 

فشل نظام دعم الخرسانة

قام أحد المهندسين ، جون بيستورينو ، بالتحقيق في الانهيار وعانى في شرح اللقطات من فيديو للمراقبة ، على الرغم من المشاهدات المتعددة. قال: "إنه غير قابل للتفسير" أخبار 10 المحلية في ميامي، مضيفًا ، "تمنحك الخرسانة تحذيرًا. لا تفشل بهذه السرعة ".

يتشابك منظور بيستورينو مع دليل من رسالة أرسلها رئيس جمعية الشقة الخاصة بالمبنى ، جان وودنيكي ، قبل أشهر من الانهيار. حذرت الرسالة السكان من فشل نظام الدعم الملموس مع الضرر المتسارع و "سيبدأ في التضاعف أضعافا مضاعفة" في السنوات التي تقترب فيها.

حث Wodnicki السكان على تمويل إصلاحات تتجاوز 15 مليون دولار. كتب وودنيكي في الرسالة: "عندما يمكنك رؤية التشقق الخرساني بصريًا ، فهذا يعني أن حديد التسليح الذي يربطها معًا يصدأ ويتدهور تحت السطح".

تم الإبلاغ عن تدهور الخرسانة لأول مرة في أكتوبر 2018 عندما قام المهندس فرانك بي مورابيتو بتأليف تقرير مسح هيكلي يوضح فشل العزل المائي أسفل محرك المدخل وسطح حمام السباحة ، مما يسمح بالتسرب. تظهر الصور من تقرير الفحص السابق تشققًا شعريًا على الجانب السفلي من ألواح الأرضية. كما أشار تقرير التفتيش إلى تدهور في الأعمدة والجدران والعوارض الخرسانية.

Surfside Condo Deterioration. تدهور سيرفسايد كوندو

أوضح تقرير Morabito أن الإصلاحات المطلوبة كانت ضرورية "للحفاظ على السلامة الهيكلية" للشقة. قام المهندس بتضمين خطة مفصلة للإصلاحات من شأنها أن تساعد المبنى على اجتياز شرط إعادة التأهيل لمدة 40 عامًا.

أضرار بركة سيرفسايد كوندو

وفقًا لبيان صادر عن شركة الهندسة Morabito Consultants ، لم تبدأ تلك الإصلاحات عندما سقطت الشقة. ومع ذلك ، كشف عضو سابق في مجلس إدارة الشقة أن المجلس بدأ مشروع إنشاء بقيمة 15 مليون دولار لحل المشكلات الموضحة في تقرير Morabito. من المهم العمل من خلال هذا التناقض لأنه إذا كان هذا التسريب قد ساهم في كارثة الأسبوع الماضي ، فيمكن للمرء أن يرسم خطاً للمساءلة أمام الأطراف التي فشلت في معالجة المشكلة.

وبغض النظر عن هذه الإصلاحات ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه وفقًا لمورابيتو ، نشأت المشكلة في أبراج شامبلين جنوبًا عندما تم تشييد المبنى. وأوضح مورابيتو أنه لتسهيل جريان المياه ، كان يجب وضع العزل المائي على منحدر. بدلاً من ذلك ، تم وضعه على لوح مسطح.  

لأسباب غير معروفة ، لم يقدم مورابيتو هذا التقرير إلى مدينة سيرفسايد إلا بعد كارثة الأسبوع الماضي ، واشنطن بوست التقارير. ومع ذلك، ايه بي سي نيوز ذكرت تقارير أن مسؤول مبنى Surfside ، Rosendo “Ross” Prieto ، نُقل في محضر اجتماع مجلس الإدارة قوله إن تقرير Morabito أظهر أن "المبنى في حالة جيدة جدًا."

 

الظروف البيئية

كان بيستورينو أحد مؤلفي كود مقاطعة ميامي ديد ، وفقًا للتقارير 4 سي بي اس ميامي. في وقت مبكر من حياته المهنية ، أقام علاقة بين المناخ الفريد والمالح والرطب في المنطقة وانهيار مبنى DEA Miami في وسط المدينة في عام 1974. تسبب هذا الانهيار في وفاة سبعة من موظفي DEA ، وألهم Pistorino بفكرة مبنى مفوض. إعادة التأهيل بعد 40 عامًا من البناء (حيث كان عمر مبنى إدارة مكافحة المخدرات 40 عامًا عندما سقط).

المياه المالحة تآكل بشكل خاص في الخرسانة القديمة ، وقد أخبر مدير الصيانة السابق في مبنى الشقة (من 1995 إلى 2000) كبس ميامي أنه "في أي وقت نشهد فيه ارتفاعًا في المد والجزر بعيدًا عن المعتاد ، أو أي كينج تايد أو أي شيء من هذا القبيل ، سيكون لدينا الكثير من المياه المالحة التي تدخل من خلال قاع الأساس" ، كما ادعى ، مضيفًا أنه يتعين عليهم استخدام اثنين مضخات كبيرة لمحاولة إزالة المياه المتصاعدة. "ولكن كان هناك الكثير من الماء ، طوال الوقت ، لدرجة أن المضخات لم تكن قادرة على مواكبة ذلك." سيتم النظر في هذا العامل عندما يستكشف المحققون تأثير مثل هذه الظروف البيئية على هيكل شقة Surfside.

تشمل العوامل البيئية المحتملة أيضًا تآكل الجزر الحاجزة. تقع بلدة Surfside على جزيرة حاجزة تمتص تأثير الرياح والمياه من الأعاصير وعرام العواصف. يتألف هذا النوع من التكوين من الرمال المتحركة ، ودورها الرئيسي يتمثل في "الدفاع الساحلي في الخطوط الأمامية" ، وفقًا للتقارير MSN الأخبار.

 

ممكن بالوعة

وفقًا لـ إدارة حماية البيئة في فلوريدا. في عام 2018 ، أفاد الخبراء بوجود 400 حفرة بالوعة في الولاية منذ ظهور إعصار إيرما لأول مرة.

تظهر هذه المنخفضات المغلقة عادةً عندما تستقر الرواسب الموجودة على السطح في فراغات تحت الأرض تحدث عندما تذوب المياه الجوفية في صخور الأساس تحتها.

يمكن أن تنتج المجاري أيضًا عن أنشطة أخرى تحت السطح ، بما في ذلك ضغط الطبقات عند إزالة المياه ، أو تحلل الحطام العضوي ، أو أنابيب الصرف الصحي المكسورة أو المنهارة ، أو أنابيب الصرف ، أو خزانات الصرف الصحي.

أدلى عمدة مقاطعة ديد دانييلا ليفين كافا بتصريح مفاده أنه لا يوجد دليل يشير إلى احتمال حدوث حفرة تسبب في انهيار شقة Surfside.

 

ساء الهبوط بسبب ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر

أظهرت الأرض أسفل Surfside علامات الغرق (أو الهبوط) في فترة ما قبل التسعينيات ، وفقًا لتقرير أظهر فيه جامعة فلوريدا الدولية قام الأستاذ بتحليل بيانات الرادار الفضائية. أشار البروفيسور شيمون ودوينسكي من معهد FIU للبيئة إلى عمارات Champlain Towers South كموقع تم اكتشاف هبوط الأرض فيه بين عامي 1993 و 1999. وذكر الأستاذ أن صور الأقمار الصناعية أظهرت تحرك المباني ، على الرغم من أنه ذكر أن هبوط الأرض لن يكون على الأرجح هو السبب الوحيد لانهيار المبنى.

Surfside Condo Subsistence
 

الاهتزازات من البناء القريب

بينما البرج الفاخر المكون من 18 طابقًا ، ثمانون سبعة بارك، الذي كان قيد الإنشاء في ميامي بيتش ، اشتكى سكان برج شامبلين من الاهتزازات والاهتزاز. في يناير 2019 ، كتب أحد أعضاء مجلس إدارة الشقة رسالة شكوى إلى مسؤولي Surfside أعرب فيها عن قلقه بشأن هيكل مبنى Surfside لأن عمال البناء كانوا يحفرون بالقرب من برج Champlain.

كان رد مسؤولي Surfside أنه ليس لديهم سلطة لوقف بناء Eighty Seven Park. اقترحوا أن مجلس الشقة يمكن أن يوظف مستشارًا خارجيًا لتقييم مخاوفهم.

 

عملية التفتيش في حاجة إلى ترقية

نظرًا لعدد العوامل المسببة والعوامل المساهمة المحتملة في أبراج شامبلين الجنوبية ، يتساءل بعض الأشخاص عن مدى 40 عامًا من إنشاء المبنى قبل أن يحين موعد فحص إعادة التأهيل الإلزامي.

أثار السؤال التكهنات حول ما إذا كانت عملية المراجعة التي استمرت 40 عامًا يمكن أن تتعرض لبعض المراجعة - مع عمليات تفتيش أكثر تواترًا وأكثر صرامة.  

حسب بعض التقارير ، فإن التحقيق الذي يحل سبب كارثة Surfside سيستغرق ما يصل إلى عامين. لا ينتظر ضحايا انهيار المبنى ، حيث رفع العديد منهم دعاوى قضائية ، وفقًا لـ ميامي هيرالد.

 

يناقش المحامي مايك بابانتونيو مسؤولية شقة ركوب الأمواج

 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة الخاصة بنا في التعامل مع دعاوى الإصابات الشخصية والتأمين في عام 1955. واليوم ، أصبحنا معروفين كشركة وطنية رائدة في الدعاوى القضائية التي تشمل أكبر الشركات في العالم. لقد تلقينا أكثر من 150 حكماً من هيئة المحلفين بمبلغ مليون دولار أو أكثر ، وفزنا بأحكام وتسويات من هيئة المحلفين تتجاوز 1 مليارات دولار.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا مؤتمر وطني يحضره 1,500 محام كل عام حيث نقوم بتدريس كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع هذه الأنواع من الدعاوى القضائية. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
 
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر استمارة تقييم مجانية وسرية لشقة Surfside. سيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع الدعاوى القضائية في Surfside Condo.

إقرأ المزيد

هل سيتم التعامل مع حافظة Surfside Condo الخاصة بي كإجراء جماعي؟

الدعوى الجماعية هي دعوى قضائية حيث يمثل عدد قليل من الأفراد مصلحة العديد من الأفراد. أحكام المحكمة ملزمة لجميع الأشخاص الذين هم جزء من العمل الطبقي. يجب على جميع أعضاء الفصل قبول التسوية ، حتى لو كان الفرد سيحصل على تعويض قليل أو بدون تعويض.

لن يتابع محامو Surfside Condo إجراءات جماعية لعملائنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نحن نمثل كل عميل بناءً على حقائقه المحددة ، ونقوم بتقييم الأضرار التي تلحق بكل عميل بناءً على الحقائق المحددة الخاصة به. كل عميل لدينا لديه خيار تسوية أو عدم تسوية قضيته.

للحصول على مناقشة تفصيلية حول الإجراءات الجماعية والأضرار الجماعية والتقاضي متعدد المجالات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا فئة العمل الجماعي صفحة للأضرار.

Surfside Condo Lawsuits - What Happened, Settlements & Compensation

Florida Surfside Condo Collapse: What Happened and Getting Compensation

Experts have yet to identify the factors that prompted the collapse of a condo in Surfside, Florida. Knowing what brought the 12-story building down will be essential to evaluating the safety of other buildings, as well as to determine legal liability for residents who seek to recover damages.

Miami-Dade State Attorney Katherine Fernandez Rundle committed to having a grand jury study the building’s collapse and start paving the way to accountability for the disaster.

The sudden crumbling of the Champlain Towers South has left experts perplexed. Several theories, yet untested and unverified, have begun to emerge.

 

Concrete Support System Failure

One engineer, John Pistorino, investigated the collapse and struggled to explain the footage from a surveillance video, despite multiple viewings. “It’s unexplainable,” he told Miami’s Local 10 News, adding, “Concrete gives you a warning. It doesn’t fail that fast.”

Pistorino’s perspective meshes with evidence from a letter the building’s condo association president, Jean Wodnicki, sent months before the collapse. The letter warned residents about a failing concrete support system with damage that was accelerating and “would begin to multiply exponentially” in the years that approach.

Wodnicki urged residents to fund repairs exceeding $15 million. “When you can visually see the concrete spalling [cracking], that means that the rebar holding it together is rusting and deteriorating beneath the surface,” Wodnicki wrote in the letter.

The deterioration of concrete was first reported in October 2018 when engineer Frank P. Morabito composed a structural survey report showing failed waterproofing below the entrance drive and pool deck, permitting leaks. Photos from the earlier inspection report show hairline cracking on the floor slabs’ underside. The inspection report also conveyed deterioration in the concrete columns, walls, and beams.

Surfside Condo Deterioration

Morabito’s report made clear that the required repairs were essential to “maintaining the structural integrity” of the condo. The engineer included an elaborate plan for repairs that would help the building pass a 40-year recertification requirement.

Surfside Condo Pool Damage

According to a statement from the engineer’s firm, Morabito Consultants, those repairs had not commenced when the condo fell. However, a former member of the condo board revealed that the board had initiated a $15 million construction project to resolve issues outlined in Morabito’s report. It is important to work through this discrepancy because, if this leaking contributed to last week’s disaster, one can draw a line of accountability to parties who failed to address the problem.

Putting these repairs aside, it is worth noting that, according to Morabito, the problem at Champlain Towers south originated when the building was constructed. To facilitate water run-off, the waterproofing should have been laid on a slope, Morabito explained. Instead, it was laid on a flat slab.  

For reasons unknown, Morabito did not submit this report to the city of Surfside until after last week’s disaster, The Washington Post reports. However, ABC News reports that a Surfside building official, Rosendo “Ross” Prieto, reportedly is quoted in board meeting minutes as saying that Morabito’s report showed that “the building is in very good shape.”

 

Environmental Conditions

Pistorino was one of the authors of the Miami-Dade County code, reports 4 CBS Miami. Early in his career, he made a connection between the area’s uniquely salty and humid climate and the collapse of a downtown DEA Miami building in 1974. That collapse caused the death of seven DEA employees, and it inspired Pistorino with the idea of a mandated building recertification 40 years after construction (as the DEA building was 40 years old when it fell).

Saltwater is particularly corrosive in older concrete, and a former maintenance manager at the condo building (from 1995 to 2000) told CBS Miami that “Any time that we had high tides away from the ordinary, any King Tide or anything like that, we would have a lot of saltwater come in through the bottom of the of the foundation,” he claimed, adding they had to use two large pumps to try and remove the rising water. “But it was so much water, all the time, that the pumps never could keep up with it.” This factor will be considered as investigators explore the impact that such environmental conditions might have had on the Surfside condo’s structure.

Potential environmental factors also include barrier island erosion. The town of Surfside exists on a barrier island, which absorbs the impact of wind and water from hurricanes and storm surges. This type of formation consists of shifting sand, with its chief role being that of “frontline coastal defense,” reports MSN News.

 

Possible Sinkhole

The Florida landscape is dotted with sinkholes, according to the Florida Department of Environmental Protection. In 2018, experts reported 400 sinkholes in the state since Hurricane Irma made its debut.

These closed depressions typically manifest when sediments on the surface settle into underground voids caused when groundwater dissolves in bedrock beneath.

Sinkholes can also result from other activities beneath the surface, including the compression of layers when water is removed, the decomposition of organic debris, broken or collapsed sewer pipes, drainpipes, or septic tanks.

Dade County’s Mayor Daniella Levine Cava made a statement that no evidence points to the likelihood of a sinkhole causing the Surfside condo’s collapse.

 

Subsidence Worsened by Rise in Sea Level

The ground beneath Surfside showed signs of sinking (or subsidence) as far back as the 1990s, according to a report in which a Florida International University Professor analyzed space-based radar data. FIU Institute of Environment Professor Shimon Wdowinski singled out Champlain Towers South condominium as a location where land subsidence was detected between 1993 and 1999. The professor reports that satellite images showed the buildings moving, although he states that land subsidence would not be likely to be the sole cause of a building’s collapse.

Surfside Condo Subsistence
 

Vibrations From Nearby Construction

While the luxury, 18-story luxury tower, Eighty Seven Park, was under construction in Miami Beach, Champlain Tower residents complained of vibrations and shaking. In January 2019, one member of the condo board wrote a letter of complaint to Surfside officials expressing his concern about the Surfside building’s structure because construction workers were digging too close to the Champlain Tower.

The response from Surfside officials was that they had no jurisdiction to stop the Eighty Seven Park construction. They suggested that the condo board could hire an outside consultant to evaluate their concerns.

 

Inspection Process in Need of an Upgrade

Given the number of potential causal and contributing factors in the Champlain Towers South, some people are questioning the span of 40 years from the building’s construction before it was due for mandated recertification inspection.

The question has prompted speculation about whether the 40-year review process could stand some revising—with more frequent and more rigorous inspections.  

By some reports, the investigation that solves what caused the Surfside disaster will take up to two years. Victims of the building’s collapse are not waiting, with several having already filed lawsuits, according to the Miami Herald.

 

Attorney Mike Papantonio Discusses the Surfside Condo Liability

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury and insurance claims in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving the largest companies in the world. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle these types of lawsuits. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 65 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Surfside Condo Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Surfside Condo lawsuits.

Read More

Will My Surfside Condo Case be Handled as a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are a part of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement, even if an individual is going to receive little or no compensation.

Our Surfside Condo attorneys will not be pursuing class actions for our clients. Instead, we represent each client on his/her specific facts, and we evaluate each client's damages on his/her specific facts. Each of our clients has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.