Retinopathy Prematurity - عمى الرضع - سوء الممارسة الطبية الدعوى
اعتلال الشبكية من الخداجي Malpractice المحامي رأس

يغطي هذا الموقع الأسباب والعلاج لاعتلال الشبكية الخداجي ، بما في ذلك العلاقة بين سوء الممارسة الطبية وفقدان البصر الشديد والعمى عند الرضع والأطفال.

ما هي العلاقة بين العمى اعتلال الشبكية وسوء الممارسة الطبية

اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي ، المعروف أيضا باسم التلاؤم الليفي retralental fibroplasia أو متلازمة تيري Terry syndrome ، هو مرض في العين شائع نسبيا بين الرضع الخدج منخفضي وزن الولادة.

غالباً ما تكون خفيفة مع عدم وجود عواقب على المدى القصير أو طويل الأجل. ومع ذلك ، تحدث كل عام حالات 1,250 الشديدة تقريبًا ، مما يؤدي إلى انفصال الشبكية الكامل أو العمى عند الرضع 500 تقريبًا.

يمكن منع أخطر عواقب مرض العين هذا في جميع الحالات تقريبا إذا تم تشخيص الحالة ومعالجتها في الوقت المناسب وبطريقة مناسبة طبيا.

عندما يحدث العمى أو شبه العمى ، فإنه غالباً ما يكون نتيجة سوء الممارسة الطبية وغيرها من الرعاية الصحية دون المستوى التي يؤديها المستشفى ، أو وحدة العناية المركزة لحديثي الولادة ، وطبيب الأطفال حديثي الولادة ، وطبيب الأطفال ، و / أو أخصائي العيون.

 

ما هو اعتلال الشبكية من الخداج وماذا يسبب ذلك

بانر ROP

اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي (ROP) هو ثاني أكبر سبب للعمى في الأطفال في أمريكا. ويؤثر ذلك على الأطفال الخدّج من 15,000 كل عام ، حيث يعاني عدة مئات من العمى الكامل أو شبه الكامل. واحد من أشهر الناس الذين أعمهم شرطة عمان السلطانية هو الموسيقار ستيفي ووندر.

يؤثر المرض بشكل رئيسي على الرضع المولودين قبل أسابيع من الحمل ويزنون أقل من ثلاثة أرطال. كلما كان الطفل أصغر عند الولادة ، كلما حدث سرطان عنق الرحم الأكثر احتمالا. عادة ما يحدث اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي في كلتا العينين في نفس الوقت لأن الأوعية الدموية في عيني الطفل المبتسر تفشل في النمو بشكل طبيعي نتيجة نقص الأوكسجين والمواد المغذية.

وتشمل العوامل الأخرى المرتبطة بشرطة عمان السلطانية سمية الأوكسجين ، نقص الأكسجين (نقص الأكسجة) ، فقر الدم (نقص خلايا الدم الحمراء) ، ضعف اكتساب الوزن ، نقل الدم ، العدوى ، الإنتان ، الضائقة التنفسية ، سمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون (hypercapnia) ، معدل ضربات القلب البطيء (بطء القلب) ، وصعوبات في التنفس.

يقع شرطة عمان السلطانية ضمن مجموعة من الشدة ، من دون أعراض إلى العمى الكلي. يعتمد نوع وشدة شرطة عمان السلطانية على موقع المرض داخل العين ، وظهور الأوعية الشبكية.

إذا لم تتم مراقبة الأطفال الخدج بعناية من أجل تطوير الـ ROP ، فإن الأوعية الدموية في عيني الطفل يمكن أن تبدأ في تسريب الدم. هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تندب ، والذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى انفصال جزئي أو كامل للشبكية ، وعمى.

الأطفال الذين يعانون من ROP هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض العين الأخرى في نهاية المطاف ، بما في ذلك انفصال الشبكية ، قصر النظر (قصر النظر) ، الحول (العينين المتقاطعتين) ، الحول (العين الكسولة) ، والزرق.

 

ما الذي يجب على مقدمي الرعاية الصحية القيام به لمنع وعلاج ROP

الآثار الجانبية ROF

عامل الاختطار الأكثر أهمية لـ ROP هو الخداج. وبالتالي ، يجب على الأطباء اتباع الرعاية الطبية المناسبة والمتاحة للمساعدة في منع ، أو على الأقل تأخير لأطول فترة ممكنة ، والولادات المبكرة.

يجب على مقدمي الرعاية الصحية (وعلى وجه الخصوص أخصائيو طب الأطفال وطب الأطفال وأطباء العيون) فحص جميع الرضع لشرطة عمان السلطانية المحتملة إذا ولدوا في وقت أقرب من أسابيع 32 ، أو وزن أقل من جنيه 3 عند الولادة. يجب أن يبدأ هذا الفحص في غضون أسبوع واحد من الولادة ، ويستمر حتى يصبح من الواضح أن الطفل لا يعاني من ROP.

يجب إجراء الفحوصات على فترات زمنية محددة من أجل تحديد ما إذا كانت الأوعية الدموية للرضيع تتطور بشكل طبيعي. يجب أن يبحث الأطباء بعناية عن نمط نمو الأوعية الدموية ، مع التأكد من أنهم على طول شبكية العين ، وليس باتجاه مركز العين.

كما ينبغي عليهم أن يتأكدوا من عدم زيادة أو تضخم الأوعية الدموية ("مرض زائد"). وأخيرًا ، يتعين عليهم التأكد من عدم فصل الشبكية. انفصال الشبكية هو السبب الرئيسي لضعف البصر والعمى بـ ROP.

عند الاشتباه في ظهور أعراض ROP ، يجب على مقدمي الرعاية الصحية النظر في العلاجات التالية ، والتي يجب أن تبدأ بشكل عام في غضون ثمانية وأربعين ساعة من التشخيص:

  1. علاج الأكسجين
  2. التجميد لمنع الأوعية الدموية غير الطبيعية من الانتشار (العلاج بالتبريد) ؛
  3. العلاج بالليزر بالاختزال الشبكي لمنع الأوعية الدموية الشاذة من الانتشار (التخثير الضوئي) ؛
  4. وضع شريط سيليكون حول العين وشدها (مشبك الصلبة) ؛
  5. إزالة الزجاجي واستبداله بمحلول ملحي (استئصال الزجاجية) ؛ و
  6. جراحة إصلاح شبكية العين.

إذا تم علاج الطفل في الوقت المناسب وبشكل صحيح ، فلن يحتمل أن يعاني الرضيع من أي فقدان دائم للرؤية نتيجة لسرطان عنق الرحم. ومع ذلك ، حتى إذا لم يلاحظ الأطباء أي ضرر دائم تسببه شرطة عمان السلطانية ، فعليهم أن يأمروا الوالدين بالبحث عن استشارة متابعة في غضون ثمانية إلى اثني عشر شهرًا لرصد الأمراض الأخرى التي قد تنشأ في المستقبل نتيجةً لمرض الرضيع الذي يعاني منه .

من أكثر المشاكل شيوعًا التي تحدث في اعتلال الشبكية يحدث سوء التصرف عندما يتم إطلاق الأم والطفل من المستشفى ، ولا يتم توفير العائلة لنقل صحيح إلى أخصائي و / أو فشل أطباء المستشفى المعالجين في متابعة الرعاية المقدمة في الوقت المناسب.

 
 
لماذا نحن

وكان مكتب محاماة لدينا في وجود أكثر من 60 سنوات، ويعتبر زعيم وطني في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا أكثر بكثير من الأحكام جنة التحكيم 150 في جميع أنحاء البلاد في كمية 1 مليون $ أو أكثر، وحققت الاحكام والمستوطنات تزيد من 3 مليار $.

في مجال الأعمال التجارية 60 عاما - 3 مليار $ في الاحكام والمستوطنات - المدرجة في أفضل المحامين في أمريكا، SuperLawyers ومحاكمة المحامين قاعة المشاهير
ما يكلف

توفر لدينا محامين مشاورات سرية حرة تماما، وإذا كنا محظوظين بما يكفي بالنسبة لك لاستئجار لنا، ونحن أبدا لن تهمة لكم أي رسوم أو تكاليف إلا إذا كنت استعادة أولا. لاستعراض ملخص لدينا الرسوم والتكاليف، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

معلومات الإتصال

في الاتصال بنا للحصول على سرية مجانا التشاور، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 (المجاني). يمكنك أيضا أن تطلب إجراء مشاورات سرية عن طريق النقر مجانا وسري استشارة، وهو النموذج الذي سيتم مراجعته على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع اعتلال الشبكية في التقاضي الخداعي.

 

اعتلال الشبكية في الخداج

 

اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي

اعتلال الشبكية من الخدعة أخبار بانر
اعتلال الشبكية من الولادة المبكرة

يجب أن يكون على عاتق اختصاصي حديثي الولادة تحديد جميع الرضع المؤهلين في الحضانة وتحديد التوقيت المناسب لامتحان ROP الأولي. كل أسبوع ، يجب على اختصاصي طب الولدان أن يضع قائمة بجميع الرضع المؤهلين الذين يحتاجون إلى فحص قاع العين. ينبغي وضع أمر لهذا الفحص في السجل الطبي للطفل وينبغي إخطار مستشار طب العيون. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب إبلاغ أسرة المريض بطبيعة و احتمالية ROP. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق الرابطة الأمريكية لطب وجراحة العيون للأطفال

اعتلال الشبكية من الخداج يتطلب رعاية المتابعة الدؤوب

هناك ما يقرب من 3.9 مليون رضيع ولدوا في الولايات المتحدة كل عام. تتأثر 14,000 بـ ROP و 90٪ من المصابين به مرض خفيف فقط. حول 1,100-1,500 يصابون بمرض شديد بما يكفي لتطلب علاجًا طبيًا ، وأصبح الأطفال 400-600 في كل عام في الولايات المتحدة مصابون بالعمى من ROP. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق شركة تأمين متبادلة عينية

أزمة طب العيون: اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي

ستؤدي ظاهرة الولادة قبل الأوان ، إلى جانب عدد أقل من الأخصائيين المستعدين لفحص الرضع لسرطان الرئة (ROP) ، في نهاية المطاف إلى ارتفاع معدلات العمى لدى الأطفال بسبب عدم الكشف المبكر. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق طبيب شبكية

 

كيف يمكن تعويض الكثير من التعويضات في اعتلال الشبكية من دعوى مبادلة

اعتلال الشبكية من تعويضات الخداج

سنسعى للحصول على الأضرار التالية لك ولطفلك:

  1. النفقات الطبية في الماضي والمستقبل.
  2. الآلام والمعاناة النفسية في الماضي والمستقبل.
  3. خسارة الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل.
  4. خسائر اقتصادية أخرى قد تتكبدها أنت وطفلك نتيجة لإصابات طفلك ، مثل الرعاية الصحية المنزلية ، والرعاية النهارية ، ومتطلبات التعليم الخاص.
  5. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

 

الدراسات العلمية المتعلقة باعتلال الشبكية الخداجي وسوء الممارسة الطبية

شعار بحث ROF

سوء التصرف ونوعية الرعاية في اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي

أجريت مراجعة لثلاثة عشر حالة سوء الممارسة ROP. يجب فحص هؤلاء الرضع ومتابعتها. يجب أن يكون لدى أخصائي العيون المشارك المعرفة والمهارة المطلوبة وأن يكون مسؤولاً عن التشخيص والإدارة المناسبين للشبكية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق معاملات الجمعية الأمريكية لطب العيون

اعتلال الشبكية من مطالبات سوء الإدارة الخداجي

يمكن معالجة العديد من العوامل التي يمكن الوقاية منها لتحسين رعاية شرطة عمان السلطانية. من الضروري التأكد من تحديث أطباء العيون وأطباء الأطفال حديثي الولادة وأطباء الأطفال والعائلات وفقًا للإرشادات الحالية لفحص ومعالجة شرطة عمان السلطانية وتيسير مواعيد المتابعة قبل خروج المريض من المستشفى. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأميركية

حقائق حول اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي

العلاجات الأكثر فعالية ل ROP هي العلاج بالليزر أو العلاج بالتبريد. العلاج بالليزر "يحرق" محيط الشبكية ، التي لا يوجد بها أوعية دموية طبيعية. باستخدام العلاج بالتبريد ، يستخدم الأطباء جهازًا يولد درجات حرارة متجمدة ليلمس البقع لفترة وجيزة على سطح العين التي تعلو محيط الشبكية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق المعهد الوطني للعيون

Retinopathy Prematurity - Infant Blindness - Medical Malpractice Lawsuit
Retinopathy of Prematurity Malpractice Lawyer Header

This website covers the causes and treatment of Retinopathy of Prematurity, including the connection between medical malpractice and severe vision loss and blindness in babies and infants.

What is the Relationship Between Retinopathy Blindness and Medical Malpractice

Retinopathy of Prematurity, also known as retrolental fibroplasia or Terry syndrome, is an eye disease that is relatively common among premature and low birth weight infants.

Most often it’s mild with no short-term or long-term consequences. However, each year approximately 1,250 severe cases occur, resulting in complete retinal detachment or blindness in approximately 500 infants.

The most serious consequences of this eye disease can be prevented in almost all cases if the condition is diagnosed and treated in a timely and medically appropriate manner.

When blindness or near-blindness does occur, it often is the result of medical malpractice and other substandard health care performed by the hospital, the neonatal ICU, the neonatologist, the pediatrician, and/or the ophthalmologist.

 

What is Retinopathy of Prematurity and What Causes It

ROP Banner

Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP) is the second highest cause of blindness in children in America. It affects about 15,000 premature babies each year, with several hundred suffering complete or near-complete blindness. One of the most famous people to be blinded by ROP is musician Stevie Wonder.

The illness mainly affects infants born prior to 32 weeks gestation and weighing less than three pounds. The smaller the baby at birth the more likely ROP will occur. Retinopathy of Prematurity generally occurs in both eyes at the same time because the blood vessels in a premature baby’s eyes fail to grow normally as a result of a lack of oxygen and nutrients.

Other factors that are associated with ROP include oxygen toxicity, oxygen deficiency (hypoxia), anemia (lack of red blood cells), poor weight gain, blood transfusion, infections, sepsis, respiratory distress, carbon dioxide toxicity (hypercapnia), slow heart rate (bradycardia), and breathing difficulties.

ROP falls within a range of severity, from no symptoms to total blindness. The type and severity of ROP depends on the location of the disease within the eye, and the appearance of the retinal vessels.

If premature infants are not carefully monitored for the development of ROP, the blood vessels in the baby’s eyes can begin leaking blood. This can result in scarring, which then can result in a partial or complete retinal detachment, and blindness.

Babies who suffer from ROP are at a greater risk to eventually develop other eye diseases, including retinal detachment, myopia (nearsightedness), strabismus (crossed eyes), amblyopia (lazy eye), and glaucoma.

 

What Should Health Care Providers do to Prevent and Treat ROP

ROF Side Effects

The most significant risk factor for ROP is prematurity. Thus, doctors must follow proper and available medical care to help prevent, or at least delay for as long as possible, premature births.

Health care providers (and specifically neonatologists, pediatricians and ophthalmologists) should screen all babies for possible ROP if they are born sooner than 32 weeks, or weigh less than 3 pounds at birth. This screening should be started within one week of birth, and continue until it’s clear the baby is not suffering from ROP.

The screenings should occur at specific intervals in order to determine whether the infant’s blood vessels are developing normally. Doctors should be carefully looking for the growth pattern of the blood vessels, making sure they are along the surface of the retina, and not toward the center of the eye.

They should also be looking to make sure the blood vessels have not become enlarged and twisted (“Plus Disease”). Finally, they need to make sure the retina is not becoming detached. Retinal detachment is the main cause of visual impairment and blindness with ROP.

When symptoms of ROP are suspected, health care providers should consider the following treatments, which generally should begin within forty-eight hours of diagnosis:

  1. Oxygen treatment;
  2. Freezing to prevent abnormal blood vessels from spreading (cryotherapy);
  3. Retinal ablation laser therapy to prevent abnormal blood vessels from spreading (photocoagulation);
  4. Placement of a silicone band around the eye and tightening it (scleral buckle);
  5. Removing the vitreous and replacing it with a saline solution (vitrectomy); and
  6. Retina repair surgery.

If treated timely and properly, the infant will not likely sustain any permanent, serious loss of vision as a result of ROP. However, even if the physicians see no permanent damage caused by ROP, they should instruct the parents to seek a follow-up consult within eight to twelve months to monitor for other diseases that might arise in the future as a result of the infant experiencing ROP.

On of the most common issues found in retinopathy malpractice occurs when the mother and child are released from the hospital, and the family is not provided a proper transfer to a specialist and/or the treating hospital physicians fail to follow-up on the care being provided in a timely manner.

 
 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $3 billion.

in business 60 years - $3 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
What Does It Cost

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193 (toll free). You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Retinopathy of Prematurity litigation.

 

Retinopathy of Prematurity Malpractice Videos

 

Retinopathy of Prematurity Malpractice News

Retinopathy of Prematurity News Banner
Retinopathy of Prematurity

It should be the responsibility of the neonatologist to identify all eligible infants in the nursery and set the appropriate timing for the initial ROP exam. Each week, the neonatologist should make a list of all eligible infants who require a fundus examination. An order for this examination should be placed in the baby’s medical record and the ophthalmologic consultant should be notified. Additionally, the patient’s family should be informed of the nature and possibility of ROP. To read more, click American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

Retinopathy of Prematurity Requires Diligent Follow-up Care

There are approximately 3.9 million infants born in the U.S. each year. About 14,000 are affected by ROP and 90% of those affected have only mild disease. About 1,100- 1,500 develop disease severe enough to require medical treatment and 400-600 infants each year in the U.S. become legally blind from ROP. To read more, click Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company

An Ophthalmology Crisis: Retinopathy of Prematurity

The preterm birth phenomenon, coupled with fewer specialists who are willing to screen infants for ROP, will eventually result in higher rates of childhood blindness due to lack of early detection. To read more, click Retinal Physician

 

How Much Compensation can be Recovered in a Retinopathy of Prematurity Lawsuit

Retinopathy of Prematurity Compensation

We will be seeking the following damages for you and your child:

  1. Past and future medical expenses.
  2. Past and future mental pain and suffering.
  3. Past and future wage loss.
  4. Other economic losses you and your child might sustain as a result of your child’s injuries, such as home health care, daycare, special education requirements.
  5. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 

Scientific Studies Regarding Retinopathy of Prematurity and Medical Malpractice

ROF Research Banner

Malpractice and The Quality of Care in Retinopathy of Prematurity

A review of thirteen ROP malpractice cases was conducted. These infants must be screened and followed. The participating ophthalmologist must have the requisite knowledge and skill and be responsible for appropriate retinal diagnosis and management. To read more, click Transactions of the American Ophthalmological Society

Retinopathy of Prematurity Malpractice Claims

Many preventable factors can be addressed to improve ROP care. It is essential to ensure that ophthalmologists, neonatologists, pediatricians, and families are updated on current guidelines for ROP screening and treatment and to facilitate follow-up appointments before patient discharge from the hospital. To read more, click Journal of the American Medical Association

Facts About Retinopathy of Prematurity

The most effective proven treatments for ROP are laser therapy or cryotherapy. Laser therapy “burns away” the periphery of the retina, which has no normal blood vessels. With cryotherapy, physicians use an instrument that generates freezing temperatures to briefly touch spots on the surface of the eye that overlie the periphery of the retina. To read more, click National Eye Institute

 

Share this Page with Others