Законопослушник «Зелнорм» - адвокат по сердечно-сосудистым травмам

Администрация по контролю за продуктами и лекарствами США объявила, что разрешает ограниченное использование Zelnorm (тегасерод малеата) в соответствии с протоколом нового исследовательского препарата (IND) для лечения синдрома раздраженной толстой кишки с запором (IBS-C) и хроническим идиопатическим запором (CIC) в женщины моложе 55, которые соответствуют конкретным рекомендациям.

В марте 30, 2007, FDA уведомили медицинских работников и пациентов, что Novartis согласилась прекратить маркетинг Zelnorm, препарат, используемый для краткосрочного лечения женщин с синдромом раздраженной толстой кишки с запором и для пациентов моложе 65 лет с хроническим запор. Анализ FDA данных о безопасности, собранных из клинических испытаний 29 с участием пациентов с 18,000, показал избыточное количество серьезных сердечно-сосудистых побочных эффектов, включая ангину, сердечные приступы и инсульт, у пациентов, принимавших Zelnorm по сравнению с пациентами, получавшими плацебо.

FDA выпустило это консультативное заключение для общественного здравоохранения, чтобы сообщить пациентам и специалистам здравоохранения, что спонсор Zelnorm (tegaserod matate), Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation, согласился прекратить продажу Zelnorm. Zelnorm выводится с рынка, потому что новый анализ безопасности обнаружил более высокий шанс сердечного приступа, инсульта и ухудшения боли в грудной клетке сердца, которая может стать сердечным приступом у пациентов, получавших Zelnorm, по сравнению с пациентами, получавшими сахарную таблетку, которые, по их мнению, были Zelnorm.

FDA объявило следующее, действующее немедленно:

  1. По просьбе FDA корпорация Novartis Pharmaceuticals согласилась прекратить продажу Zelnorm.
  2. Пациентам, лечившимся с Zelnorm, следует обратиться к врачу, чтобы обсудить альтернативные методы лечения их состояния.
  3. Пациенты, принимающие Зелнорм, должны немедленно обратиться за неотложной медицинской помощью, если они испытывают сильную боль в груди, одышку, головокружение, внезапное возникновение слабости или трудности при ходьбе или разговоре или другие симптомы сердечного приступа или инсульта.

Zelnorm - это рецептурный препарат, одобренный для краткосрочного лечения женщин с синдромом раздраженного кишечника с запором и для пациентов моложе 65 лет с хроническим запором. В конце февраля и в начале марта 2007, Novartis Pharmaceuticals дали FDA результаты новых анализов 29 клинических исследований Zelnorm для лечения различных состояний желудочно-кишечного тракта; данные всех исследований были объединены для оценки вероятности побочных эффектов на сердце и кровеносные сосуды. В каждом исследовании пациенты назначались случайным образом либо в Zelnorm, либо в сахарную таблетку, которую, как они считали, были Zelnorm. Эти исследования 29 включали пациентов 11,614, получавших Zelnorm и 7,031, обработанных сахарной пилюлей. Средний возраст пациентов в этих исследованиях составлял 43 лет, а большинство пациентов - 88% - женщины.

Zelnorm: FDA Recall Citing Increased Risks of Serious Cardiovascular Events | Levin Papantonio | Personal Injury Lawyers
Zelnorm

Zelnorm RESOURCES:

Zelnorm Update

FDA NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: July 27, 2007
Media Inquiries: Rita Chappelle, 301-827-6246, rita.chappelleatfda.hhs.gov


Consumer Inquiries: 888-INFO-FDA

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration announced that it is permitting the restricted use of Zelnorm (tegaserod maleate) under a treatment investigational new drug (IND) protocol to treat irritable bowel syndrome with constipation (IBS-C) and chronic idiopathic constipation (CIC) in women younger than 55 who meet specific guidelines. More>>

Levin Papantonio is currently investigating cases of cardiovascular events of stroke and heart attack and ischemic colitis associated with Zelnorm use. To contact and speak to one of our Zelnorm attorneys, please complete our short Zelnorm form.

On March 30, 2007, the FDA notified healthcare professionals and patients that Novartis has agreed to discontinue marketing Zelnorm, a drug used for the short-term treatment of women with irritable bowel syndrome with constipation and for patients younger than 65 years of age with chronic constipation. FDA analysis of safety data pooled from 29 clinical trials involving over 18,000 patients showed an excess number of serious cardiovascular adverse events, including angina, heart attacks, and stroke, in patients taking Zelnorm compared to patients given placebo.

The FDA issued this public health advisory to inform patients and health care professionals that the sponsor of Zelnorm (tegaserod maleate), Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation, has agreed to stop selling Zelnorm. Zelnorm is being taken off the market because a new safety analysis has found a higher chance of heart attack, stroke, and worsening heart chest pain that can become a heart attack in patients treated with Zelnorm compared to those treated with a sugar pill they thought was Zelnorm.

The FDA announced the following, effective immediately:

  • At FDA's request, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation has agreed to stop selling Zelnorm.
  • Patients being treated with Zelnorm should contact their physician to discuss alternative treatments for their condition.
  • Patients who are taking Zelnorm should seek emergency medical care right away if they experience severe chest pain, shortness of breath, dizziness, sudden onset of weakness or difficulty walking or talking or other symptoms of a heart attack or stroke.

Zelnorm is a prescription medication approved for short term treatment of women with irritable bowel syndrome with constipation and for patients younger than 65 years with chronic constipation. In late February and early March 2007, Novartis Pharmaceuticals gave FDA the results of new analyses of 29 clinical studies of Zelnorm for treatment of a variety of gastrointestinal tract conditions; the data from all the studies were combined to assess the chance of side effects on the heart and blood vessels. In each study, patients were assigned at random to either Zelnorm or a sugar pill they thought was Zelnorm. These 29 studies included 11,614 patients treated with Zelnorm and 7,031 treated with a sugar pill. The average age of patients in these studies was 43 years and most patients-88%--were women.

If you or a loved one suffered a cardiovascular event of stroke or heart attack and/or been diagnosed with ischemic colitis while being prescribed Zelnorm, kindly please contact Lea Morris, Esq., Levin Papatonio law firm.