معلومات Trasylol | ليفين بابانتونيو رافيرتي - محامو الإصابات الشخصية

وفقًا لتقرير نُشر في 60 Minutes ، فإن التأخير في إخراج Trasylol من السوق بعد نشر الدراسة الرائدة التي أجراها الدكتور دنيس مانجانو والتي تُظهر مخاطر عالية من تلف الكلى (بما في ذلك غسيل الكلى) والنوبات القلبية والسكتة الدماغية قد تكلف حياة 22,000. يقدر الدكتور مانجانو أن ما يصل إلى 1,000 من الأشخاص شهريًا ماتوا نتيجة استخدام Trayslol خلال جراحة التاج التاجي الشراعي التاجي من نشر مقاله في يناير ، 2006 حتى انسحاب الدواء في نوفمبر من 2007.

في فبراير 21 2008 ، نُشرت دراستان في مجلة نيو إنجلند الطبية. أكدت كلتا الدراستين أن Trasylol يتسبب في زيادة خطر الوفاة وتلف الكلى مقارنة بالأدوية البديلة أو عدم وجود أدوية على الإطلاق. Trasylol هو عامل مضاد لمركبات الفيبرين يستخدم أثناء جراحة القلب لتقليل خطر نقل الدم. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى استخدام مثل هذا الدواء ، يوجد بديلان: حمض أمينوكابرويك وحمض الترانيكساميك - وكلاهما أقل تكلفة بكثير من تراسيلول. وفقًا لأحدث مقالتين ودراسة الدكتور مانجانو ، فإن حمض الأمينوكابرويك وحمض الترانيكساميك لهما نفس القدر من الفعالية في الحد من مخاطر الحاجة إلى نقل الدم بسبب فقدان الدم ، لكنهما لا يمثلان أيًا من المشكلات الصحية التي يعرضها تراسيلول.

وفقًا لمقال 2008 لشهر فبراير الصادر عن الدكتور أندرو شو ، وآخرون ، "كان البقاء على قيد الحياة أسوأ بين المرضى الذين عولجوا بـ [Trasylol] ، مع نسبة خطر التأثيرات الرئيسية لوفاة 1.32 (فاصل الثقة 95٪ ، 1.12 إلى 1.55) لـ المقارنة مع المرضى الذين لا يتلقون أي علاج لمضادات الذهان (P = 0.003) و 1.27 (95٪ CI ، 1.10 إلى 1.46) للمقارنة مع المرضى الذين يتلقون حمض أمينوكاربويك (P = 0.004).

بالإضافة إلى مقال شو ، يتم أيضًا نشر مقال للدكتور شناويس وآخرون في مجلة نيو إنجلند الطبية هذا الشهر. هذه هي الدراسة التي تم تمويلها بالفعل من قبل باير وتم حجبها عن إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير حتى بعد اجتماع اللجنة الاستشارية المحورية حول Trasylol. تخلص هذه الدراسة إلى أن خطر الوفاة أعلى بنسبة 64٪ مع Trasylol مقارنةً بحمض الأمينوكابروك (خطر نسبي ، 1.64 ؛ فاصل الثقة 95٪ ، 1.50 إلى 1.78).

Trasylol Health Advisories

Trasylol هو دواء يستخدم للسيطرة على النزيف والحد من الحاجة لنقل الدم في المرضى الذين يخضعون لجراحة ترقيع الشريان التاجي. وقد ربطت العديد من الدراسات تراسيلول بمضاعفة خطر الإصابة بالفشل الكلوي تقريبًا مما أدى إلى الحاجة إلى غسيل الكلى. نظرًا لأنه يتم إعطاء Trasylol عن طريق الوريد بعد تعرض المريض للتخدير ، فإن المرضى لا يدركون أنهم تلقوا هذا الدواء الخطير.

فشل باير في الكشف عن النتائج التي توصلت إليها أبحاثه إلى إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير التي أكدت أن الدواء زاد من خطر هذه الآثار الجانبية الخطيرة. الدراسة ، التي أجريت بناء على طلب باير ، فحصت سجلات المستشفى لمرضى 67,000 الذين يخضعون لإجراءات CABG. تلقى حوالي نصف هؤلاء المرضى Trasylol بينما تلقى النصف الآخر واحدًا من البدائل الأقل تكلفة والأكثر أمانًا (يمكن أن تكلف جرعة واحدة من Trasylol 1,400 دولارًا).

تشير الدراسة إلى أن المرضى الذين تلقوا Trasylol كانوا في خطر متزايد للوفاة ، الفشل الكلوي ، النوبة القلبية والسكتة الدماغية. كان باير قد تلقى نتائج الدراسة في وقت اجتماع لجنة المجلس الاستشاري FDA الذي عقد لمناقشة سلامة الدواء ، لكنه فشل في ذكر وجود الدراسة أو نتائجها.

الأربعاء ، يناير 25 (HealthDay News) - كشفت دراسة أن الدواء الذي يتم الترويج له على نطاق واسع والذي يستخدم لمنع النزيف أثناء جراحة القلب يضاعف من خطر الفشل الكلوي ويزيد من خطر الإصابة بنوبة قلبية وفشل القلب والسكتة الدماغية.

ذكر تقرير صدر في عدد يناير 26 من مجلة نيو إنجلند للطب أن عقارين من الأدوية الجنيسة الأقل تكلفة المستخدمة لنفس الغرض لا يحملان نفس المخاطر.

وقال الدكتور دنيس مانجانو ، مدير مؤسسة إيشيميا للأبحاث والتعليم ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تتخذ من كاليفورنيا مقراً لها ، إن الدراسة نظرت في بيانات عن مرضى 4,374 الذين خضعوا للجراحة بعد الأزمات القلبية وهي "أكبر دراسة أجريت حتى الآن". مؤلف التقرير.

وقارن نتائج العمليات التي أعطيت للمرضى الذين يخضعون لجراحة الشريان التاجي إما واحد من ثلاثة أدوية للحد من النزيف: أبروتينين ، أحدث وكيل. حمض أمينوكابرويك حمض الترانيكساميك؛ أو لا المخدرات على الإطلاق.

وقال التقرير إن معدل الإصابة بالفشل الكلوي لدى المرضى الذين أصيبوا بالبروتينين كان أكثر من ضعف أولئك الذين حصلوا على أي من العقارين الآخرين أو لا يوجد لديهم أي دواء على الإطلاق. كان خطر الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية أعلى بنسبة 181 ، في حين كانت نسبة الإصابة بالنوبات القلبية أو الفشل القلبي أعلى بنسبة 55.

وقال مانجانو إن الدراسة أجريت لأن التجارب السابقة الأصغر تشير إلى زيادة المخاطر المرتبطة بالأبروتينين ، لكن أيا منها لم يكن كبيرًا بما يكفي ليكون محددًا.

تمت الموافقة على Aprotinin من قبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية في 1993. يتم تسويقه بواسطة Bayer HealthCare تحت الاسم التجاري Trasylol.

وقال بيان صادر عن باير "لقد أصبح مجرد علم بهذه الدراسة الرصدية" ولم يراجع نتائجها بعد. لكن الشركة قالت إن الزيادات المبلغ عنها في المخاطر "لا تتفق مع أكثر من 15 من البيانات السريرية وتجربة باير جمعت على هذا الدواء." وقال باير إن إدعائه للسلامة يستند إلى تجارب محكومة بما في ذلك ما يقرب من مرضى جراحة القلب 6,500.

ورد مانجانو بقوله إن هذه الدراسات نظرت إلى فعالية الدواء ، وليس في سلامته. وقال "لا يوجد حافز مالي لصناعة الأدوية لإجراء تجارب السلامة بعد الموافقة عليها."

وقال مانجانو إن الدراسة التي تبحث في السلامة "ستجد صعوبة بالغة في تسجيل المرضى". "ستخبر المرضى أنهم سيحصلون على بروتين يشجع على الفشل الكلوي".

وقال إن حقيقة أن أبروتينين هو بروتين ، في حين أن الأدوية الأخرى مختلفة كيميائيا ، يمكن أن تتسبب في تلف الكلى المبلغ عنه. وقال مانجانو إن البروتين يتم تناوله بواسطة الكلى ، حيث يبقى لمدة ساعات 24 ويمكنه تغيير وظائف الكلى. وقدر أن 10,000 الأمريكيون يحتاجون الآن إلى كليتين اصطناعيتين لأنهم أُعطوا أبروتينين.

وقال بيان باير إن الدراسة الجديدة لم تكن من التجارب المعشاة ذات الشواهد التي تعتبر "المعيار المقبول لسلامة وفعالية الأدوية".

في مقال افتتاحي مرفق في المجلة ، قال الدكتور جوس جيه. فلهاكس من مستشفى ماساتشوستس العام إن "المتطلبات التنظيمية والرغبة في ضمان الموافقة غالبًا ما تهيمن على تصميم التجارب السريرية".

وقال فلاهاكس ، رئيس قسم جراحة القلب في المستشفى ، إن الرغبة في الحصول على عقار معتمد بسرعة غالبًا ما تؤدي إلى اختيار المرضى الذين تقل احتمالية تعرضهم لردود الفعل السلبية. لكن بمجرد اعتماد الدواء ، تصبح الشركة حرة في الضغط من أجل الاستخدامات الموسعة.

أظهرت الدراسة الجديدة الحاجة إلى مواصلة اختبار العقاقير بعد موافقتها الأولى ، على حد تعبير فلاهاكس. وقال "هذه المرحلة من اختبار 4 [بعد الموافقة] أعتقد أنها مهمة للغاية وشيء قد ترغب إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA في طلبه".

في حالة أبروتينين ، اقترح باير استخدامه لجميع مرضى جراحة القلب ، قائلاً إن هذا الدواء يمكن أن يمنع رد الفعل الالتهابي الذي يحدث غالبًا بسبب استخدام جهاز القلب والرئة أثناء العملية ، على حد تعبير فلاهاكس. وقال إن نتائج الدراسة "هي اقتراح قوي بأنه لا يمكنك فقط وضع أبروتينين في مرجع لجميع المرضى".

في مستشفى ماساتشوستس العام ، يتم إعطاء مرضى جراحة القلب بشكل عام أحد الأدوية القديمة ، مع استخدام الأبروتينين "فقط في ظروف محددة حيث نتوقع أن نواجه صعوبة خاصة في النزيف" ، قال فلاهاكس. وقال إن التجربة أظهرت أن نصف الجرعة الموصى بها فعالة بشكل كامل.

  1. دواء القلب قد يزيد من خطر الوفاة

    أخبار ليلية مع برايان ويليامز ، الولايات المتحدة - فبراير 20 ، 2008

  2. ألف شخص يعيشون في الشهر

    سي بي اس نيوز ، الولايات المتحدة - فبراير 17 ، 2008

    يقدر الباحث أن حياة 22,000 كان من الممكن إنقاذها لو تم سحب Trasylol في وقت مبكر ...

  3. كندا NewsWire (نشرة صحفية) ، كندا - مارس 30 ، 2007

    Trasylol (R) هو دواء يتم حقنه أثناء جراحة القلب الالتفافية للمساعدة في تقليل النزيف والحاجة إلى نقل الدم. - يجب استخدام Trasylol (R) فقط ...

  4. تجاوز المخدرات قد يرفع معدل الوفاة

    WFIE-TV ، في فبراير 9 ، 2007

    توفي 21 تقريبًا من الأشخاص الذين تلقوا أبروتينين (Trasylol) في غضون خمس سنوات من الجراحة ، مقارنة بحوالي 13 من الأشخاص الذين لم ...

  5. نتائج بحثي لجراحة القلب تثير خطر الموت

    FOX News - Feb 7، 2007

    وقال الباحثون إن استبدال الدواء - أبروتينين ، الذي تبيعه شركة Bayer AG تحت الاسم التجاري Trasylol - مع أدوية أخرى أرخص سعراً لمدة عام ...

  6. Newsinferno.com ، نيويورك - فبراير 7 ، 2007

    أبروتينين عقار باير المثير للجدل لجراحة القلب ، والذي تم تسويقه باسم Trasylol ، يتعرض للنيران مرة أخرى بفضل دراسة جديدة وجدت أن الدواء يحمل ...

  7. Newsinferno.com ، نيويورك - يناير 27 ، 2007

    أعلنت Bayer HealthCare أنها ستوقف ثلاث تجارب سريرية للعقار ، Trasylol ، مستشهدة بالتغييرات الحديثة التي تمت الموافقة عليها من قبل FDA. ...

  8. باير توقف برنامج التجارب السريرية Trasylol (R) في مؤشرات غير CABG

    أخبار طبية اليوم (نشرة صحفية) ، المملكة المتحدة - يناير 26 ، 2007

    قررت Bayer HealthCare إنهاء ثلاث دراسات سريرية جارية تبحث في سلامة وفعالية Trasylol (R) (حقن أبروتينين) عند نقل الدم ...

Trasylol Information | Levin Papantonio | Personal Injury Lawyers

BREAKING NEWS ON TRASYLOL

According to a report on 60 Minutes, the delay in taking Trasylol off the market after the publication of Dr. Dennis Mangano's groundbreaking study showing elevated risks of kidney damage (including dialysis), heart attack and stroke may have cost 22,000 lives. Dr. Mangano estimates that as many as 1,000 people per month died as a result of the use of Trayslol during Coronary Artery Bypass Graft surgery from the publication of his article in January, 2006 until the drug's withdrawal in November of 2007.

On February 21 2008, two studies were published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Both studies confirmed that Trasylol causes an increased risk of death and kidney damage compared to alternative medicines or no medicine at all. Trasylol is an antifibrinolytic agent used during cardiac surgery to reduce the risk of blood transfusions. However, for patients that require the use of such a medication, two alternatives exists - aminocaproic acid and tranexamic acid - both of which are substantially less expensive than Trasylol. According to the two most recent articles and Dr. Mangano's study, aminocaproic acid and tranexamic acid are equally effective in reducing the risk of needing blood transfusions due to blood loss but present none of the health problems that Trasylol presents.

TRASYLOL RESOURCES:
Case Evaluation Form

 Trasylol

According to the February 2008 article by Dr. Andrew Shaw, et al., "survival was worse among patients treated with [Trasylol], with a main-effects hazard ratio for death of 1.32 (95% confidence interval, 1.12 to 1.55) for the comparison with patients receiving no antibrinolytic therapy (P=0.003) and 1.27 (95% CI, 1.10 to 1.46) for the comparison with patients receiving aminocarpoic acid (P=0.004).

In addition to the Shaw article, an article by Dr. Schneeweiss, et al., is also being published in the New England Journal of Medicine this month. This is the study that was actually funded by Bayer and withheld from the FDA until after a pivotal Advisory Committee meeting on Trasylol. This study concludes that the risk of death is 64% higher with Trasylol compared to aminocaproic acid (relative risk, 1.64; 95% confidence interval, 1.50 to 1.78).

Levin Papantonio is one of the leaders in the Trasylol litigation. We have filed multiple cases and are proceeding in both state and federal court. We are in the process of reviewing millions of pages of documents produced by Bayer in relation to this dangerous drug. Next month, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation will hear argument on the formation of an MDL. Levin Papantonio is supporting an MDL in the Northern District of Georgia or the Middle District of Florida. Bayer is proposing an MDL in the District of Connecticut. Other alternatives proposed are the Southern District of Florida and the Northern District of California.

If you or a loved one suffered renal failure requiring dialysis after cardiac surgery, kindly contact Lea Morris, Esq., Levin Papantonio law firm.

View the video from CBS News

Trasylol Health Advisories

Levin, Papantonio law firm is actively pursuing claims against Bayer, the manufacturer of the drug Trasylol, also known as Aprotinin, on behalf of individuals who suffered renal failure requiring dialysis after cardiac surgery.

Trasylol is a drug used to control bleeding and limit the need for blood transfusions in patients undergoing Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting surgery. Several studies have linked Trasylol to a nearly doubling of the risk of kidney failure resulting in the need for dialysis. Because Trasylol is administered intravenously after the patient is under anesthesia, patients are unaware that they have received this dangerous drug. Levin, Papantonio is representing clients who suffered kidney failure resulting in dialysis after having heart surgery.

The law firm of Levin, Papantonio, Thomas, Mitchell, Rafferty & Proctor, P.A., has filed one of the first lawsuits in the country against Pharmaceutical giant Bayer for the catastrophic injuries associated with use of its drug Trasylol. In its complaint filed in the Middle District of Florida on February 7, 2007, the Plaintiff alleges claims including but not limited to negligence, strict liability, misrepresentation, fraud, deceptive trade practices, and failure to warn against Bayer as it relates to the corporation’s manufacturing and marketing of the drug Trasylol.

This lawsuit is among the first in what is sure to be a large wave of litigation that follows the release of several studies that link the use of Trasylol with numerous deadly side effects including stroke, heart attack and kidney failure resulting in the need for dialysis. The lawsuits also follow news that Bayer failed to disclose the findings from its own research to the FDA that confirmed the drug increased the risk of these serious side effects.

The study, conducted at Bayer’s request, examined the hospital records of 67,000 patients undergoing CABG procedures. About half of these patients received Trasylol while the other half received one of the cheaper, safer alternatives (one dose of Trasylol can cost upward of $1,400). The study suggests that the patients who received Trasylol were at an increased risk for death, kidney failure, heart attack and stroke. Bayer had received the results of the study at the time of the FDA advisory board committee meeting held to discuss the safety of the drug, yet failed to mention the study’s existence or it’s results.

WEDNESDAY, Jan. 25 (HealthDay News) -- A widely promoted drug used to prevent bleeding during heart surgery doubles the risk of kidney failure and increases the risk of heart attack, heart failure and stroke, a study finds.

Two less expensive generic drugs used for the same purpose do not carry the same dangers, said a report in the Jan. 26 issue of the New England Journal of Medicine.

The study looked at data on 4,374 patients who had surgery after heart attacks and is "the largest study yet done," said Dr. Dennis T. Mangano, director of the Ischemia Research and Education Foundation, a California-based nonprofit organization, and lead author of the report.

It compared the outcomes of operations in which patients undergoing coronary artery surgery were given either one of three drugs to reduce bleeding: aprotinin, the newer agent; aminocaproic acid; tranexamic acid; or no drug at all.

The incidence of kidney failure in patients who got aprotinin was more than double that of those who got either of the two other drugs or no drugs at all, the report said. The risk of stroke was 181 percent higher, while the incidence of heart attack or heart failure was 55 percent higher.

The study was done because previous, smaller trials indicated an increased risk associated with aprotinin, but none of them was large enough to be definitive, Mangano said.

Aprotinin was approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in 1993. It is marketed by Bayer HealthCare under the brand name Trasylol.

A statement from Bayer said it "has only just become aware of this observational study" and has not yet reviewed its findings. But the company said the reported increases in risks "are not consistent with the more than 15 years of clinical data and experience Bayer has amassed on this drug." Bayer said its claim of safety was based on controlled trials including almost 6,500 heart-surgery patients.

Mangano countered by saying those studies looked at the effectiveness of the drug, not at its safety. "There is no financial incentive for the drug industry to do safety trials after approval," he said.

And a study looking at safety "would find it very difficult to enroll patients," Mangano said. "You would be telling patients they would get a protein that promotes kidney failure."

The fact that aprotinin is a protein, while the other drugs are different chemically, could account for the reported kidney damage, he said. A protein is taken up by the kidney, where it remains for 24 hours and can change kidney function, Mangano said. He estimated that 10,000 Americans now require artificial kidneys because they were given aprotinin.

The Bayer statement said the new study was not the kind of randomized, controlled trial that is "the accepted standard for the safety and efficacy of drugs."

In an accompanying editorial in the journal, Dr. Gus J. Vlahakes of Massachusetts General Hospital said that "regulatory requirements and the desire to ensure approval often dominate the design of clinical trials."

The desire to get a drug approved quickly often leads to selection in trials of patients who are least likely to have adverse reactions, said Vlahakes, who is chief of cardiac surgery at the hospital. But once a drug is approved, the company is free to push for expanded uses, he said.

The new study shows the need for continued testing of drugs after their first approval, Vlahakes said. "This process of phase 4 testing [after approval] I think is very important and something the FDA might want to require," he said.

In the case of aprotinin, Bayer has proposed its use for all heart-surgery patients, saying the drug can prevent an inflammatory reaction often caused by use of a heart-lung machine during the operation, Vlahakes said. The results of the study "are a strong suggestion that you can't just put aprotinin in the repertoire for all patients," he said.

At Massachusetts General Hospital, heart-surgery patients are generally given one of the older drugs, with aprotinin used "only in select circumstances where we expect to have particular difficulty with bleeding," Vlahakes said. Experience has shown that half the recommended dose is fully effective, he said.

  • Heart drug may boost risk of death, FDA says

    Nightly News with Brian Williams, U.S. - Feb 20, 2008

  • One Thousand Lives A Month

    CBS News, U.S. - Feb 17, 2008

    Researcher Estimates 22,000 Lives Could Have Been Saved Had Trasylol Been Pulled Earlier...

  • >

    Canada NewsWire (press release), Canada - Mar 30, 2007

    Trasylol(R) is a drug injected during heart bypass surgery to help reduce bleeding and the need for blood transfusions. - Trasylol(R) should only be used ...

  • Heart drug warning

    Orlando Sentinel, FL - Feb 27, 2007

    According to a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, the drug Trasylol was linked to a 48-percent increased chance of dying in ...

  • Costly bypass medication may raise death risk later

    Asbury Park Press, NJ - Feb 20, 2007

    The Food and Drug Administration approved Trasylol for use in coronary bypass surgery patients in 1993. Last year, it was used 246000 times in the US, ...

  • Lakeland, Haven Hospitals Don't Use Anti-Bleeding Drug Aprotinin

    The Ledger, FL - Feb 9, 2007

    Aprotinin, also called Trasylol, is one of several drugs that can be used to prevent excessive bleeding during open-heart surgery. ...

  • Bypass Drug may Raise Death Rate

    WFIE-TV, IN Feb 9, 2007

    Nearly 21 percent of people who received aprotinin (Trasylol) died within five years of their surgery, compared to about 13 percent of those who didn't ...

  • Heart Surgery Drug Raises Death Risk, Study Finds

    FOX News - Feb 7, 2007

    The researchers said replacing the drug — aprotinin, sold by Bayer AG under the brand name Trasylol — with other, cheaper medications for a year would...

  • Newsinferno.com, NY - Feb 7, 2007

    Bayer's controversial heart-surgery drug aprotinin, marketed as Trasylol, is under fire yet again thanks to a new study that found that the drug carries ...

  • Heart surgery drug hikes death risk for 5 years

    Feb 6, 2007 - Aprotinin joins the painkiller Vioxx, drug-coated stents and other drugs and devices where safety concerns arose after the products were on the market. “We don’t know enough about what happens with drugs and devices once they go into the public ...

  • Newsinferno.com, NY - Jan 27, 2007

    Bayer HealthCare announced it is discontinuing three clinical trials for their drug, Trasylol, citing recent FDA-approved label changes. ...

  • Bayer Discontinues Trasylol(R) Clinical Trial Program In Non-CABG Indications

    Medical News Today (press release), UK - Jan 26, 2007

    Bayer HealthCare has decided to end three ongoing clinical studies investigating the safety and efficacy of Trasylol(R) (aprotinin injection) on transfusion ...

(Video from CBS News)