دعوى ضد التهاب السحايا بالستيرويد | ليفين بابانتونيو رافيرتي - محامو الإصابات الشخصية

حقن الستيرويد

تلقى ما يصل إلى 13,000 من الناس لقطات سترويد يشتبه في اندلاع التهاب السحايا الوطني. لكن ليس من الواضح كم منهم في خطر. لا يعرف المسؤولون عدد الطلقات الملوثة بالفطريات المسببة لالتهاب السحايا. وهذا الرقم لا يشمل فقط أولئك الذين وضعوهم في الظهر من أجل الألم - الأكثر عرضة للخطر - ولكن أيضًا أولئك الذين حصلوا على الطلقات في أماكن أخرى ، مثل الركبتين والكتفين. وقال كورتيس ألين ، المتحدث باسم مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها ، إنه لم يحدث أي عجز في عدد حقن الظهر. وقال إن أولئك الذين حقنوا في المفاصل لا يُعتقد أنهم معرضون لخطر الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا.

بلغ عدد المصابين في تفشي المرض 105 يوم الاثنين. ارتفع عدد الوفيات إلى ثمانية ، مع وفاة أخرى في ولاية تينيسي ، قال مركز السيطرة على الأمراض. يوجد في ولاية تينيسي معظم الحالات ، تليها ميشيغان وفيرجينيا وإنديانا وفلوريدا وماريلاند ومينيسوتا ونورث كارولينا وأوهايو. يشتبه المحققون في أن دواء الستيرويد الذي تصنعه صيدلية متخصصة قد يكون هو السبب. تم إرسال حوالي 17,700،23 قنينة أحادية الجرعة من الستيرويد إلى XNUMX ولاية. وجد المفتشون قنينة واحدة على الأقل مختومة ملوثة بالفطر ، وتجرى الاختبارات على قوارير أخرى.

تم تشخيص أول حالة معروفة من حالات الالتهاب السحائي الفطري نادراً ما شوهدت الشهر الماضي في ولاية تينيسي. استذكر صانع الستيرويد ، مركز نيو إنجلاند المركب في فرامنغهام ، ماساتشوستس ، المخدرات ، وفي نهاية الأسبوع استذكر كل شيء آخر يصنعه.

تعد عيادتان من بينساكولا من بين ثمانية مرافق في الولاية تلقت دواءً ملوثاً للألم من صيدلية متخصصة في ماساتشوستس تم ربطها بتفشي التهاب السحايا على مستوى البلاد. لكن لم يتم ربط أي من حالات التهاب السحايا بالستيرويد ، كما قال المسؤولون المحليون.

تعتبر Pain Consultants من غرب فلوريدا على طريق North Davis Highway واحدة من عيادتين في Pensacola تلقتا الستيرويد المصنوع حسب الطلب من مركز New England Complexing في Framingham ، ماساتشوستس. العيادة الأخرى في Pensacola ، مركز إعادة التأهيل التداخلي ، لم تفتح الباقة مع المصبوغ الستيرويد.

عثر المفتشون الصحيون على الفطريات في قارورة مختومة واحدة على الأقل من الستيرويد في منشأة الشركة هذا الأسبوع ، واستدعت الصيدلية قنينات 17,676 أحادية الجرعة من الستيرويد ، خلات الميثيل بريدنيزولون. ذهبت الشحنات إلى العيادات في ولايات 23 ، مع وجود ثماني منها في فلوريدا. اعتبارا من يوم الجمعة ، كانت هناك حالات 47 في سبع ولايات مرتبطة بالدواء. اثنان من هذه الحالات كانت في فلوريدا ، وقال مسؤولون.

قال الدكتور جون لانزا ، مدير إدارة صحة مقاطعة إسكامبيا ، إن ما يقدر بـ 200 لمرضى 300 في Pain Consultants في غرب فلوريدا لديهم الدواء الملوث الذي تم حقنه في العمود الفقري أو المفاصل المختلفة. لم يظهر أي من هؤلاء المرضى أي أعراض لالتهاب السحايا. وقال لانزا: "نتابع ، من خلال أقسام الطوارئ أو الأطباء ، أي حالات تناسب أعراض التهاب السحايا ، والتي لم نعثر عليها بعد".

اتصلت يوم الجمعة ، وقالت امرأة في Pain Consultants في غرب فلوريدا ، "ليس لدينا ما نقوله ، لكن شكرًا جزيلاً لك." وقال لانزا إن القسم ربما يكون لديه عدد محدد من الذين تلقوا الستيرويد بحلول يوم الاثنين. وقال لانزا إنه إذا اعتقد أي شخص أنه تلقى الدواء ، فعليه الاتصال بطبيبه على الفور.

وقال المتحدث باسم مؤسسة القلب المقدس مايك بورك ، إن مركز إعادة التأهيل التداخلي ، المملوك جزئياً لمستشفى القلب المقدس ، تلقى بعض الدفعة الملوثة ولكنه لم يخرجها من عبواتها. ارتفع تفشي التهاب السحايا القاتل إلى حالات 47 في سبع ولايات ، حيث سارعت العيادات لإبلاغ المرضى في جميع أنحاء البلاد بأن الطلقات التي أصيبوا بها من أجل آلام الظهر ربما تكون ملوثة بالفطر.

ظلت حصيلة الوفيات الناجمة عن التهاب السحايا الفطري النادر عند الخامسة. ولكن تم إضافة ولاية سابعة ، ميشيغان ، إلى القائمة مع أربع حالات ، حسبما ذكرت مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها اليوم. حالات تينيسي الآن مجموع 29. فرجينيا ، ستة ؛ إنديانا ، 3 ؛ اثنان في كل من ولاية ماريلاند وفلوريدا وواحدة في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية.

للبحث عن مصدر للفاشية ، ركز المحققون على الستيرويد حسب الطلب من صيدلية متخصصة ، مركز نيو إنجلاند المركب في فرامنغهام ، ماساتشوستس ، عثر مفتشو الصحة على الفطريات في قارورة مختومة واحدة على الأقل من الستيرويد في منشأة الشركة هذا الأسبوع .

استدعت صيدلية 17,676 قارورة جرعة واحدة من الستيرويد ، خلات الميثيل بريدنيزولون. ذهبت الشحنات إلى العيادات في ولايات 23.

كإجراء وقائي ، حثت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأطباء على عدم استخدام أي من منتجات الشركة ، وأصدرت يوم الجمعة قائمة منهم. تم تشخيص أول حالة معروفة في اندلاع التهاب السحايا منذ حوالي أسبوعين في ولاية تينيسي. ثلاثة من الوفيات الخمسة في ولاية تينيسي. الآخرين في ولاية فرجينيا وميريلاند.

التهاب السحايا هو التهاب في بطانة الدماغ والنخاع الشوكي. وتشمل الأعراض صداع شديد والغثيان والدوار والحمى.

نوع التهاب السحايا الفطري المعدي ليس معديًا مثل الأشكال الأكثر شيوعًا. إنه ناتج عن الفطريات الواسعة الانتشار ونادراً ما تسبب المرض. يتم علاجها بأدوية مضادة للفطريات عالية الجرعة ، وعادة ما يتم إعطاؤها عن طريق الوريد في المستشفى.

Steroid Meningitis Lawsuit | Levin Papantonio - Personal Injury Lawyers

Steroid Injections Recalled

As many as 13,000 people received steroid shots suspected in a national meningitis outbreak. But it’s not clear how many are in danger. Officials don’t know how many of the shots may have been contaminated with meningitis-causing fungus. And the figure includes not only those who got them in the back for pain — who are most at risk — but also those who got the shots in other places, such as knees and shoulders. There was no breakdown on the number of back injections, said Curtis Allen, a spokesman for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Those injected in joints are not believed to be at risk for meningitis, he said.

The number of people sickened in the outbreak reached 105 on Monday. Deaths rose to eight, with another fatality in Tennessee, the CDC said. Tennessee has the most cases, followed by Michigan, Virginia, Indiana, Florida, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina and Ohio. Investigators suspect a steroid medication made by a specialty pharmacy may be to blame. About 17,700 single-dose vials of the steroid were sent to 23 states. Inspectors found at least one sealed vial contaminated with fungus, and tests were being done on other vials.

The first known case of the rarely seen fungal meningitis was diagnosed last month in Tennessee. The steroid maker, New England Compounding Center of Framingham, Mass., recalled the drug, and over the weekend recalled everything else it makes.

Two Pensacola clinics are among eight facilities in the state that received contaminated pain medicine from a Massachusetts specialty pharmacy that has been linked to a nationwide meningitis outbreak. But no local cases of meningitis have been linked to the steroid, local officials said.

Pain Consultants of West Florida on North Davis Highway is one of two clinics in Pensacola that received the custom-made steroid from New England Compounding Center in Framingham, Mass. The other clinic in Pensacola, Interventional Rehabilitation Center, never opened the package with the tainted steroid.

Health inspectors found fungus in at least one sealed vial of the steroid at the company’s facility this week, and the pharmacy recalled 17,676 single-dose vials of the steroid, methylprednisolone acetate. Shipments went to clinics in 23 states in total, with eight of those clinics being in Florida. As of Friday, there had been 47 cases in seven states linked to the medicine. Two of those cases were in Florida, officials said.

Dr. John Lanza, Escambia County Health Department’s director, said an estimated 200 to 300 patients at Pain Consultants of West Florida had the tainted medication injected into their spines or various joints. None of those patients have shown any symptoms of meningitis. “We are following up, through emergency departments or physicians, any cases that would fit symptoms of meningitis, which we haven’t found yet,” Lanza said.

Contacted Friday, a woman at Pain Consultants of West Florida said, “We have nothing to say, but thank you very much.” She hung up before giving her full name. Lanza said the department may have an exact number of those who received the steroid by Monday. If anyone believes they received the medication, they should contact their physician immediately, Lanza said.

Interventional Rehabilitation Center, which is partly owned by Sacred Heart Hospital, received some of the tainted batch but never removed it from its packaging, said Sacred Heart spokesman Mike Burke. The deadly meningitis outbreak rose to 47 cases in seven states, as clinics scrambled to notify patients throughout the country that the shots they got for back pain may have been contaminated with a fungus.

The tally of deaths from the rare fungal meningitis remained at five. But a seventh state, Michigan, was added to the list with four cases, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said today. Tennessee's cases now total 29; Virginia, six; Indiana, 3; two each in Maryland and Florida and one in North Carolina.

Looking for a source of the outbreak, investigators have focused on a steroid custom-made by a specialty pharmacy, New England Compounding Center in Framingham, Mass. Health inspectors found fungus in at least one sealed vial of the steroid at the company's facility this week.

The pharmacy recalled 17,676 single-dose vials of the steroid, methylprednisolone acetate. Shipments went to clinics in 23 states.

As a precaution, the Food and Drug Administration urged physicians not to use any of the company's products, and on Friday released a list of them. The first known case in the meningitis outbreak was diagnosed about two weeks ago in Tennessee. Three of the five deaths are in Tennessee; the others in Virginia and Maryland.

Meningitis is an inflammation of the lining of the brain and spinal cord. Symptoms include severe headache, nausea, dizziness and fever.

The type of fungal meningitis involved is not contagious like the more common forms. It is caused by a fungus that's widespread but very rarely causes illness. It is treated with high-dose antifungal medications, usually given intravenously in a hospital.