ReNu Recall - إصابات باوش ولومب العين | ليفين بابانتونيو رافيرتي - محامو الإصابات الشخصية

يبدو أن مشكلة ReNu MoistureLoc في Bausch و Lomb قد ولدت الكثير من الدعاوى القضائية أكثر مما تم الكشف عنه سابقًا. وقد استدعت الشركة المنتج - وهو واحد من أكبر بائعيها - في العام الماضي بعد أن بدأ الناس في النزول مع فطر العين نادر ولكنه شديد. وسرعان ما تبعت الدعاوى القضائية بعض علامات الاستسلام ؛ كشفت Bausch و Lomb عن 344 دعاوى المسؤولية القانونية عن المنتجات الناشئة عن MoistureLoc. حوالي نصف هذه الدعاوى قُدمت في محكمة فدرالية مع النصف الآخر في محاكم الولاية المختلفة.

وفقا لبوش ولومب ، "تشمل هذه الحالات والمطالبات أسئلة قانونية وواقعية معقدة تتعلق بالسببية ، والأدلة العلمية ، والأضرار الفعلية وغيرها من الأمور. كما أن التقاضي من هذا النوع لا يمكن التنبؤ به بطبيعته ، لا سيما وأن هذه المسائل في مرحلة مبكرة ، فهناك العديد من أصحاب المطالبات ويطلب العديد من أصحاب المطالبات تعويضات غير محددة ".

كما قال Bausch and Lomb أن أرباحها في العام الماضي انخفضت بنسبة 22 بالمائة ، ويرجع ذلك في الغالب إلى سحب ReNu بحل العدسات اللاصقة MoistureLoc. بلغت الأرباح في 2006 $ 14.9 مليون ، أو 27 سنتًا للسهم ، أقل من $ 19.2 million ، أو 35 cents a share ، في 2005. انخفضت الأرباح إلى 2.29 مليار دولار من 2.35 مليار دولار. ووفقًا للمحللين الماليين ، فقد تلقت الشركة ضربة مالية كبيرة من استدعاء ReNu مع MoistureLoc في مايو الماضي. خفضت الرسوم المرتبطة بطلب الاسترداد صافي الدخل بمقدار $ 20 مليون.

ما تحتاج إلى معرفته

يجب على الأشخاص الذين استخدموا ReNu مع MoistureLoc أن يفهموا أن التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم قد يؤدي إلى فقدان جزئي في البصر أو عمى كلي إذا لم يتم التعامل معه في الوقت المناسب. قد تشمل الأعراض الألم ، الاحمرار ، الرؤية الباهتة ، التفريغ ، التورم ، التمزق أو الحساسية للضوء. يمكن أن يشمل علاج التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم الأدوية المضادة للفطريات الموضعية والفموية. ومع ذلك ، قد يضطر بعض المرضى الذين لا يستجيبون لهذه الأدوية إلى الخضوع لعملية جراحية ، بما في ذلك إمكانية زرع القرنية لإنقاذ رؤيتهم. لقد تطلب الكثير من الناس زراعة القرنية كنتيجة لفاشية التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم.

ReNu مع MoistureLoc مرتبط بإصابة العين المسببة للعمى

في أبريل 2006 ، علقت شركة العناية بالعيون Bausch & Lomb مبيعاتها من محلول العدسات اللاصقة ReNu with MoistureLoc بعد أن ربط مسؤولو الصحة المنتج بعدوى فطرية خطيرة في العين - التهاب القرنية الفيوزاريوم. وفقًا لإدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية والمراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها ، يراجع المحققون تقارير 109 حالات يشتبه في إصابتهم بالتهاب القرنية الفطري لدى أشخاص في 17 ولاية منذ يونيو 2005. على الرغم من إجراء مقابلات مع 30 فقط من هؤلاء المرضى ، أبلغ الـ 26 الذين كانوا يرتدون العدسات اللاصقة اللينة عن استخدام منتجات ماركة ReNu. ثمانية مرضى اضطروا إلى إجراء عمليات زرع القرنية.

في فبراير 2006 ، أوقف Bausch & Lomb بيع ReNu في هونغ كونغ وسنغافورة بسبب زيادة العدوى الفطرية. أكثر من 30 مليون أمريكي يرتدون العدسات اللاصقة اللينة.

في مايو 2006 ، أعلن Bausch & Lomb أنه تم الإبلاغ عن حالات التهاب القرنية الفطري من قبل مستخدمي ReNu في أوروبا ، وهي المرة الأولى التي تعترف فيها الشركة بوجود حالات أوروبية منذ ظهور أخبار الفطر. ذكرت مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها أيضًا أن أكثر من عشرة أشخاص تم تشخيص إصابتهم بالفطر قد استخدموا منتج ReNu مختلف ، ReNu Multiplus ، والذي لا تزال الشركة تبيعه. في ست حالات منفصلة على الأقل ، وفقًا لمركز السيطرة على الأمراض ، استخدم الأشخاص حلولًا من شركتين أخريين.

في مايو 15th ، 2006 ، أعلن Bausch & Lomb أنهما سوف يسحبان ReNu بشكل دائم مع MoistureLoc المنظفة الجديدة العدسات اللاصقة التي ينظر إليها على أنها "السبب الجذري المحتمل" لتفشي عدوى العين الفطرية المعروفة التي تسبب العمى. أفادت إدارة الغذاء والدواء بأن شركة العناية بالعين تعتقد أن ReNu مع وكلاء التعطير الفريد من نوع MoistureLoc "في ظروف معينة غير عادية يمكن أن تزيد من خطر" تطور التهاب القرنية Fusarium.

في عمق المعلومات: ReNu مع MoistureLoc أذكر

قالت مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها في مايو 9 ، 2006 أنها أكدت حالات 106 للعدوى الخطيرة بالعين التي قد تكون مرتبطة باستخدام العدسات اللاصقة. وقد نما عدد حالات التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم المؤكدة بأربع حالات منذ يوم الجمعة ، عندما أبلغت المراكز الأخيرة عن وجود بيانات.

قال مركز السيطرة على الأمراض (CDC) أنه خلال التحقيق ، ظلت نسبة المرضى الذين أبلغوا عن استخدام ReNu من Bausch & Lomb Inc. مع MoistureLoc متسقة نسبيًا ، في حوالي 50 ٪ إلى 60 ٪ من الحالات المؤكدة. من بين 98 حالة مؤكدة لديها بيانات كاملة لمراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها ، أبلغ 66 ٪ عن استخدام ReNu مع MoistureLoc ، بينما قال 21 ٪ إنهم استخدموا منتج ReNu MultiPlus من Bausch & Lomb.

أوقف صانع منتجات العناية بالعيون Bausch & Lomb Inc. مبيعات الولايات المتحدة من محلول ReNu with MoistureLoc في 10 أبريل عندما كشفت مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها أنها كانت تحقق في موجة من التهابات القرنية بالفوزاريوم لدى الأمريكيين الذين يستخدمون المنتج.

وقال مركز السيطرة على الأمراض إن نسبة المرضى الذين قالوا إنهم استخدموا مويستوريلوك ظلت ثابتة منذ ذلك الحين حول نسبة 50 إلى 60 في المئة من حالات 102 التي تم تأكيدها حتى الآن. وأفاد مرضى آخرون باستخدام ماركات أخرى من رينو ، وقال ستة منهم إنهم استخدموا منظفات من شركة ألكون وشركة أدفانسد ميديكال أوبتيكس.

وقالت الوكالة التي تتخذ من أتلانتا مقرا لها في بيان "في هذه المرحلة من السابق لاوانه التحقيق لمعرفة ما اذا كان منتج معين أو حل معين قد يكون مسؤولا عن تفشي المرض."

تلقت الوكالة ما مجموعه 195 تقارير عن التهابات العين الناجمة عن التهاب القرنية Fusarium منها 12 هي "حالات محتملة" و 81 لا تزال قيد التحقيق. يوم الثلاثاء ، قال مركز السيطرة على الأمراض إنه تلقى تقارير 191 ، بما في ذلك الحالات المؤكدة من 86.

شملت 56 حالة من الحالات المؤكدة مرتدي العدسات اللاصقة ، حيث ذكر 32 منهم أنهم استخدموا MoistureLoc ، 15 يقولون أنهم استخدموا ReNu MultiPlus وسبعة منتج ReNu غير محدد. في بعض الحالات ، الإبلاغ عن المرضى باستخدام أكثر من نوع واحد من منظف العدسات.

لم يكشف التفتيش الفيدرالي لمصنع Bausch & Lomb في جرينفيل ، ساوث كارولينا ، حيث تم تصنيع MoistureLoc ، عن دليل على وجود تلوث ، لكن الاختبارات الميكروبيولوجية المكثفة قد تستغرق أسابيع لتحليلها.

وبدون علاج قطرة العين ، يمكن للعدوى أن تخدش القرنية وتعمى ضحاياها. ما لا يقل عن ثمانية مرضى تتطلب زرع القرنية. لأنه ليس مرضًا يجب على الأطباء الإبلاغ عنه ، فمن غير الواضح عدد الحالات التي تحدث سنويًا.

من بين أكثر من 30 مليون أمريكي يرتدون العدسات اللاصقة ، حوالي 2.3 مليون منهم يستخدمون MoistureLoc وتقريبا 11 مليون استخدام MultiPlus.

MoistureLoc لأول مرة ضرب رفوف تخزين في أواخر 2004 ويحتوي على وكلاء الترطيب وتكييف الجيل الجديد. لقد ولدت $ 45 مليون دولار في مبيعات الولايات المتحدة في العام الماضي.

ReNu استدعاء أسئلة وأجوبة

ما هي عدوى فيوزاريوم؟

فيوزاريوم هو فطر موجود بشكل شائع في بيئتنا اليومية ، بما في ذلك على جلدنا. تزدهر بشكل خاص في المناخات الاستوائية. يدخل فيوزاريوم العين عادة من خلال نوع من الصدمة أو إصابة القرنية ، مما يؤدي إلى تفاعل التهابي. وتعالج الحالة بشكل عام بشكل مكثف مع مجموعات من الأدوية المضادة للفطريات والمضادة للالتهابات. في وقت سابق بدأ العلاج ، كلما كانت النتائج أفضل.

ما هي أعراض التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم؟

تشمل الأعراض عدم وضوح الرؤية ، العين الحمراء والمؤلمة التي لا تتحسن عند إزالة العدسات اللاصقة ، زيادة الحساسية للضوء ، والتمزيق المفرط أو التفريغ. إذا كنت تعاني من أي من هذه الأعراض ، يجب عليك العودة إلى طبيب العيون على الفور.

كيف يمكنك الحصول على التهاب القرنية الفطري؟

تشمل عوامل خطر الإصابة بالتهاب القرنية الفطري الصدمة (عادة عندما تدخل المواد النباتية إلى العين) ، أو المرض المزمن أو المستمر على سطح العين ، أو أجهزة المناعة الضعيفة ، ونادراً ، استخدام العدسات اللاصقة. لا ينتقل التهاب القرنية من شخص لآخر.

منذ شهر يونيو 2005 ، كان هناك زيادة ملحوظة في عدوى التهاب القرنية Fusarium ، في المقام الأول بين مرتدي العدسات اللاصقة. وتحقق إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) والمراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) في الأسباب المحتملة لهذه العدوى المتزايدة.

كيف يتم علاج التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم؟

يتم التعامل مع التهاب القرنية فيوزاريوم باستخدام الأدوية المضادة للفطريات الموضعية والفموية. المرضى الذين لا يستجيبون للعلاج الطبي قد يحتاجون إلى جراحة العيون ، بما في ذلك الحاجة المحتملة لزراعة القرنية.

ما الذي يمكنني فعله لمنع حدوث عدوى فيوزاريوم؟

توصي المراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) بما يلي:

يجب على مستخدمي العدسات اللاصقة غسل أيديهم بالصابون والماء وتجفيفها قبل التعامل مع العدسات ، وارتداء العدسات وفقًا للجدول الذي يحدده ممارسو العناية بالعيون ومصنعو الحلول ، واتباع الإرشادات الخاصة بتنظيف وتخزين العدسات التي يوفرها ممارسو العناية بالعيون ومصنعو الحلول. يجب على مستخدمي العدسات اللاصقة الذين لديهم أسئلة حول الحلول الأفضل لهم أن يستشيروا أخصائيي العناية بالعيون وأن يزنوا بدقة المخاطر والفوائد.

هل يجب على المستهلكين الاستمرار في استخدام ReNu مع MoistureLoc؟

يجب أن يتبع المستهلكون بدقة نصائح أطباء العيون والتوجيهات الخاصة بمنتجات العناية بالعدسات التي يختارونها. يعد الالتزام بممارسات ارتداء العدسات الجيدة والعناية أمرًا أساسيًا لارتداء العدسات اللاصقة الصحية.

هل يجب على مستخدمي ReNu مع مستخدمي MoistureLoc التحول إلى منتج آخر؟

يجب أن يتبع المستهلكون بدقة نصائح أطباء العيون والتوجيهات الخاصة بمنتجات العناية بالعدسات التي يختارونها. يعد الالتزام بممارسات ارتداء العدسات الجيدة والعناية أمرًا أساسيًا لارتداء العدسات اللاصقة الصحية.

ما الذي يفعله Bausch & Lomb للتحقيق في الحالات المبلغ عنها لفطر Fusarium المرتبط بـ ReNu مع MoistureLoc؟

تعمل Bausch & Lomb مع مركز السيطرة على الأمراض ، وإدارة الغذاء والدواء ، ومراكز رعاية العيون الرئيسية والسلطات الصحية لتحديد الوقوع الفعلي والسبب الجذري للعدوى. لقد أوقفوا مؤقتًا شحنات الولايات المتحدة من ReNu باستخدام MoistureLoc لأن التحليل العددي لعدد صغير من الحالات يشير إلى أن معظم المرضى استخدموا هذا المنتج. في هذا الوقت ، لا يؤثر التعليق على المنتجات الأخرى أو الأسواق الأخرى.

ماذا يجب أن أفعل إذا كنت أعتقد أن لدي إصابة بالعين من استخدام منتج Baush و Lomb؟

إذا كنت تعتقد أنك قد تكون مصابًا بالتهاب في العين أو لديك مخاوف أخرى حول عينيك ، فيجب أن ترى طبيب العيون (طبيب العيون) على الفور. إذا كنت تعاني من إصابة في العين أثناء استخدام منتجات Baush و Lomb ، فقد يكون لديك مطالبة. اتصل بأحد محامي ReNu Recall Attorney من أجل تقييم الحالة لتحديد حقوقك.

ReNu Recall - Bausch & Lomb Eye Injuries | Levin Papantonio - Personal Injury Lawyers

Bausch and Lomb's ReNu MoistureLoc problem seems to have generated a lot more lawsuits than previously disclosed. The company recalled the product - one of its top sellers - last year after people started coming down with a rare but severe eye fungus. The lawsuits quickly followed with few signs of letting up; Bausch and Lomb has disclosed 344 product liability lawsuits stemming from MoistureLoc. About half of those lawsuits have been filed in federal court with the other half in various state courts.

According to Bausch and Lomb, “These cases and claims involve complex legal and factual questions relating to causation, scientific evidence, actual damages and other matters. Litigation of this type is also inherently unpredictable, particularly given that these matters are at an early stage, there are many claimants and many of the claimants seek unspecified damages.”

Bausch and Lomb has also said that its profit last year fell 22 percent, mostly because of the recall of its ReNu with MoistureLoc contact lens solution. Earnings in 2006 were $14.9 million, or 27 cents a share, down from $19.2 million, or 35 cents a share, in 2005. Revenue dropped to $2.29 billion from $2.35 billion. According to financial analysts, the company took a big financial hit from last May's recall of ReNu with MoistureLoc. Charges associated with the recall reduced net income by $20 million.

What you need to know

People who have used ReNu with MoistureLoc should understand that Fusarium keratitis may lead to partial vision loss or total blindness if not treated in a timely manner. The symptoms may include pain, redness, blurry vision, discharge, swelling, tearing or sensitivity to light. Treatment for Fusarium keratitis can involve topical and oral antifungal medications. Some patients who do not respond to such medications, however, may be forced to undergo surgery, including the possibility of corneal transplants to save their vision. Many people have required corneal transplants as a result of this outbreak of Fusarium keratitis.

ReNu with MoistureLoc linked to potentially blinding eye infection Fusarium Keratitis

In April 2006, eye care company Bausch & Lomb suspended sales of its ReNu with MoistureLoc contact lens solution after health officials linked the product to a serious fungal infection of the eye - fusarium keratitis. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, investigators are reviewing reports of 109 cases of suspected Fusarium keratitis in people in 17 states since June 2005. Although only 30 of those patients have been interviewed, 26 of the 28 who wore soft contact lenses reported using ReNu brand products. Eight patients had to undergo corneal transplants.

In February 2006, Bausch & Lomb stopped sale of ReNu in Hong Kong and Singapore because of an increase in the fungal infection. Over 30 million Americans wear soft contact lenses.

In May 2006, Bausch & Lomb announced that cases of Fusarium keratitis had been reported by ReNu users in Europe, the first time the company acknowledged European cases since the news of the fungus went public. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention also stated that over a dozen people diagnosed with the fungus had used a different ReNu product, ReNu Multiplus, which the company is still selling. In at least six separate cases, according to the CDC, people used solutions from two other companies.

On May 15th, 2006, Bausch & Lomb announced that they would permanently withdraw ReNu with MoistureLoc , the new-formula contact-lens cleaner viewed as the "potential root cause" of a far-flung outbreak of fungal eye infections known to cause blindness. The Food and Drug Administration has reported that the eye-care company thinks ReNu with MoistureLoc's unique disinfecting and moisturizing agents "in certain unusual circumstances can increase the risk" of developing Fusarium keratitis.

In Depth Information: ReNu with MoistureLoc Recall

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on May 9, 2006 said it has confirmed 106 cases of serious eye infection that may be linked to contact lens use. The number of confirmed Fusarium keratitis cases has grown by four since Friday, when the CDC last reported data.

The CDC said that throughout the investigation, the proportion of patients who reported using Bausch & Lomb Inc.'s ReNu with MoistureLoc has remained relatively consistent, at around 50% to 60% of confirmed cases. Of the 98 confirmed cases of which the CDC has complete data, 66% reported using ReNu with MoistureLoc, while 21% said they used Bausch & Lomb's ReNu MultiPlus product.

Eye-care products maker Bausch & Lomb Inc. halted U.S. sales of its ReNu with MoistureLoc solution on April 10 when the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention revealed it was investigating a flurry of Fusarium keratitis infections in Americans using the product.

The proportion of patients who said they used MoistureLoc has since held steady at around 50 percent to 60 percent of the 102 cases confirmed so far, the CDC said. Other patients have reported using other ReNu brands and six said they used cleaners made by Alcon Inc. and Advanced Medical Optics Inc., it said.

"At this point, it is too early in the investigation to say whether a particular product or solution may be responsible for the outbreak," the Atlanta-based agency said in a statement.

The agency has received a total of 195 reports of eye infections caused by Fusarium keratitis of which 12 are "possible cases" and 81 were still under investigation. On Tuesday, the CDC said it had received 191 reports, including 86 confirmed cases.

Fifty-six of the confirmed cases involved contact-lens wearers, with 32 of them saying they used MoistureLoc, 15 saying they used ReNu MultiPlus and seven an unspecified ReNu product. In some cases, patients reporting using more than one type of lens cleaner.

A federal inspection of a Bausch & Lomb factory in Greenville, S.C., where MoistureLoc is made has not turned up evidence of contamination, but extensive microbiological tests could take weeks to analyze.

Without eye-drop treatment, the infection can scar the cornea and blind its victims. At least eight patients have required cornea transplants. Because it's not a disease that doctors must report, it is unclear how many cases occur annually.

Of the more than 30 million Americans who wear contact lenses, about 2.3 million of them use MoistureLoc and nearly 11 million use MultiPlus.

MoistureLoc first hit store shelves in late 2004 and contains new-generation moisturizing and conditioning agents. It generated $45 million in U.S. sales last year.

ReNu Recall Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Fusarium infection?

Fusarium is a fungus commonly found throughout our everyday environment, including on our skin. It especially thrives in tropical climates. Fusarium typically enters the eye through some sort of trauma or injury to the cornea, resulting in an inflammatory reaction. The situation is generally aggressively treated with combinations of anti-fungal and anti-inflammatory medications. The earlier the treatment is commenced, the better the results will be.

What are the symptoms of Fusarium Keratitis?

Symptoms include blurred vision, a red and painful eye that does not improve when the contact lens is removed, increased sensitivity to light, and excessive tearing or discharge. If you experience any of these symptoms, you should return to your optometrist immediately.

How can you get fungal keratitis?

Risk factors for fungal keratitis include trauma (usually where plant material gets into the eye), chronic or ongoing disease of the surface of the eye, compromised immune systems, and rarely, contact lens use. Keratitis is not transmitted from person to person.

Since June 2005, there has been a marked increase in Fusarium keratitis infections, primarily among contact lens wearers. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) are investigating possible causes for these increased infections.

How is Fusarium keratitis treated?

Fusarium keratitis is treated using topical and oral antifungal medications. Patients who do not respond to medical treatment may require eye surgery, including possible need for corneal transplant.

What can I do to prevent getting a Fusarium infection?

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends the following:

Contact lens users should wash their hands with soap and water and dry them before handling lenses, wear lenses according to the schedule prescribed by eye care practitioners and solution manufacturers and follow guidelines for cleaning and storing lenses provided by eye care practitioners and solution manufacturers. Contact lens users with questions about which solutions are best for them should consult their eye care professionals and carefully weigh risks and benefits.

Should consumers continue to use ReNu with MoistureLoc?

Consumers should strictly follow the advice of their eye doctors and the directions on the lens care products of their choice. Compliance with good lens wear and care practices is key to healthy contact lens wear.

Should ReNu with MoistureLoc users switch to another product?

Consumers should strictly follow the advice of their eye doctors and the directions on the lens care products of their choice. Compliance with good lens wear and care practices is key to healthy contact lens wear.

What is Bausch & Lomb doing to investigate the reported cases of the Fusarium fungus linked to ReNu with MoistureLoc?

Bausch & Lomb is working with the CDC, the FDA, major eye care centers and health authorities to determine the actual incidence and root cause of the infections. They have temporarily suspended U.S. shipments of ReNu with MoistureLoc because the numerical analysis of a small number of cases indicates most patients used that product. At this time the suspension does not affect other products or other markets.

What should I do if I think I have an eye infection from using a Baush and Lomb product?

If you believe you may have an eye infection or have other concerns about your eyes, you should see an ophthalmologist (Eye M.D.) immediately. If you have suffered an eye injury while using the Baush and Lomb products, you may have a claim. Contact an experienced ReNu Recall Attorney for a case evaluation to determine your rights.