تدعي الدعوى القضائية Power Morcellator أن الجهاز الطبي يزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان غير مشخّص أثناء العمليات الجراحية لإزالة الورم الليفي بالمنظار.

يُقصد بالتبلور تغيير في مرحلة سرطان الشخص من مرحلة أقل (أقل انتشارًا) إلى مرحلة أعلى (أكثر شمولًا).

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى السلطة المستشارة؟

السلطة المغلق بانر

تُستخدم القواطع الكهربائية في العمليات الجراحية للرحم بالمنظار ، بما في ذلك استئصال الرحم والأورام العضلية. الصانع الرئيسي لمورسل الطاقة هو Ethicon ، وهي شركة تابعة لـ Johnson & Johnson.

إذا كانت النساء اللائي يخضعن لهذه العمليات الجراحية مصابات بسرطان الرحم دون تشخيص ، فإن استخدام هذا الجهاز يمكن أن يصيب هذا السرطان بالصدمة ، مما يقلل بشكل كبير من فرص البقاء على قيد الحياة.

قدرت ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير أن 1 في النساء 350 يخضعون لإجراءات جراحية حيث يتم استخدام مصلدات الطاقة لديهم ساركوما رحم غير مشخصة. يُعرف نوع السرطان الأكثر شيوعًا عند استخدام هذا الجهاز باسم ساركومة العضلة الضعيفة.

المحامي نيد ماكويليامز يناقش قضايا مستشار السلطة

السلطة Morcellator Lawsuit الأخبار

يوافق DOJ على التحقيق في السلطة و Morcellator وصلة محتملة للسرطان

وقد تم تصميم المراسلات ، التي استخدمت منذ ما يقرب من ربع قرن ، لتبسيط عمليات استئصال الرحم عن طريق تمزيق أنسجة الرحم إلى أجزاء صغيرة من أجل إزالتها باستخدام منظار البطن (وهذا ما يُعرف أحيانًا باسم "جراحة ثقب المفتاح"). كان يوصف كإجراء الحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي من شأنه أن يقلل من وقت الانتعاش استئصال الرحم من خمسة أيام إلى اثنين. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أخبار السلامة المخدرات

طبيب مع السرطان يثير التنبيه حول الجهاز الطبي

هل تقوم إدارة الغذاء والدواء بما يكفي لحماية المرضى من الأجهزة الطبية الخطيرة؟ يقول اثنان من منطقة فيلادلفيا الأطباء لا. انهم يقاتلون لمنع المزيد من المآسي ، بينما يعيشون من خلال كابوسهم الطبي الخاص. وتقاتل الدكتورة آمي ريد وزملاؤها الدكتور هومان نورشاشم من عمر 42 معركتهما منذ تشخيص إصابة ريد بالسرطان في 2013. تابعت شركة CBS Philly's Stephanie Stahl قصتها لمدة عام. تم العثور على سرطان ريد بعد عملية لإزالة الأورام الليفية الرحمية. استخدم الجراحون جهازًا يدعى موشور الطاقة لإختزال النسيج الليفي حتى يمكن إزالته بسهولة من خلال شق صغير. لكن التمزيق انتهي إلى انتشار السرطان عن غير قصد ولم يتم اكتشافه. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق سي بي اس نيوز

اثنين من الدراسات الجديدة إضافة إلى تدقيق أداة أمراض النساء

يضيف بحث جديد إلى التدقيق في أداة جراحية تدعى مستخلص الطاقة بالمنظار الذي حذرت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية من استخدامه في أغلبية الحالات بسبب احتمال انتشار السرطان الخفي في إجراءات أمراض النساء الشائعة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مجلة وول ستريت

إقرأ المزيد
أداة جراحية تحصل على أقوى تحذير: يمكن أن يستخدم المريسلات المستخدم في استئصال الرحم السرطان غير المكتشف ، تقول إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية FDA

حذرت أكبر هيئة تنظيمية صحية في الولايات المتحدة يوم الاثنين من أنه لا ينبغي استخدام أداة جراحية مشتركة لمعظم النساء خلال عملية استئصال الرحم ، وهو القرار الذي يغطي ما يقرب من عام من النقاش ومن المتوقع أن يحد بشكل حاد من إجراء قالت الوكالة إنه يمكن أن ينشر السرطان الخفي. واستخدمت إدارة الغذاء والدواء سلطتها في الدعوة لتحذير "الصندوق الأسود" الفوري لمرور الطاقة بالمناظير ، وهو أقوى تحذير تتحدث عنه الوكالة. عادة ، مثل هذه التحذيرات على العلامات المنتج تخضع لفترة تعليق طويلة قبل أن يتم الانتهاء ، قال محامون لصانعي الأجهزة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مجلة وول ستريت

للحصول على قصص إخبارية إضافية ، انقر Levin Law Morcellator News

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق بموارد الطاقة

براعة البحث FDA Morcellator

وثيقة التوجيه في تأثير مباشرة: وصف المنتج لمرحلات الطاقة بالمنظار

نظرًا لزيادة عدد الإجراءات الجراحية التنظيرية والحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي مع إدخال تقنيات وتقنيات جراحية جديدة ، أصبحت معلومات السلامة الإضافية متوفرة فيما يتعلق باستخدام LPMs. وقد أدت المناقشات الأخيرة داخل المريض والمجتمعات السريرية ، فضلا عن الأدبيات الطبية المراجعة من قبل الأقران ، إلى زيادة الوعي بخطر انتشار الأنسجة السرطانية غير المتوقعة خارج الرحم عندما يتم استخدام الـ LPM خلال الجراحات النسائية التي تهدف إلى علاج الأورام الليفية الحميدة. وقد تم نشر العديد من تقارير الحالات وسلسلة الحالات التي تصف نشر علاجي المنشأ ، وزرع ، والنمو اللاحق للأنسجة الورمية غير المتوقَّع داخل التجويف البريتوني بعد التشريح بالمنظار للأنسجة الرحمية التي يُعتقد أنها تحتوي على أورام ليفية تعتمد على تشخيص ما قبل الجراحة. اقترح تحليل FDA الأخير للمعلومات المتوفرة أن خطر حدوث ساركومة رحمية غامضة في امرأة تمر بالتدخل الجراحي للأورام الليفية المفترضة أعلى بكثير مما كان يفترض أو تم الإبلاغ عنه سابقًا. اقترح تحليل FDA أيضا أن نتائج المرضى ، بما في ذلك البقاء على قيد الحياة ، قد تتأثر سلبا بشكل كبير من هذه الطفح من المرض. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق توجيهات للعاملين في الصناعة والغذاء والدواء

تحذر ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير من استخدام مستنقعات الطاقة بالمنظار لعلاج الأورام الليفية الرحمية

تتخذ إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية خطوات فورية للمساعدة في الحد من خطر انتشار السرطان غير المعروف لدى النساء اللواتي يعالجن من الأورام الليفية الرحمية. في اتصال أمان محدث ، صدر أصلاً في أبريل 2014 ، تحذر إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية من استخدام مستنقعات الطاقة بالمنظار في إزالة الرحم (استئصال الرحم) أو الأورام الليفية (استئصال الورم العضلي) في الغالبية العظمى من النساء. في التوجيه مباشرة في التأثير (IIE) ، توصي إدارة الأغذية والأدوية (FDA) أيضًا بأن صانعي مُلَقِلات الطاقة بالمناظير يدرجون في منتجاتهم علامات سلامة محددة في شكل تحذير مُحَذَّر وموانعَين. تسمح توجيهات IIE لإدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA بإصدار توصياتها على وجه السرعة للمساعدة في معالجة مشكلة صحية عامة مهمة.

Power Morcellator Lawsuit Lawyer - Upstaging Uterine Cancer
Power Morcellator Lawsuit Header

The lawsuit involving the Power Morcellator concerns the increased risk of significantly upstaging undiagnosed cancer during laparoscopic uterine fibroid removal surgeries. Upstaging means a change in the stage of a person's cancer from a lower stage (less extensive) to a higher stage (more extensive).

By upstaging an undiagnosed cancer, a patient’s chances for survival are dramatically decreased. Unfortunately, the manufacturers of these products failed to adequately warn of this risk, resulting in injuries to many women.

increased risk of dying from uterine cancer

The main manufacturer of the power morcellator is Ethicon, a subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson.

 

What is the Purpose and Risks of the Power Morcellator

Power Morcellator Banner

Power morcellators are used in laparoscopic uterine surgeries, including hysterectomies and myomectomies.

If women undergoing these surgical procedures have undiagnosed uterine cancer, the use of this device can upstage that cancer, which can dramatically decrease the chances for survival. In fact, the FDA recently estimated that 1 in 350 women undergoing surgical procedures where power morcellators are used have undiagnosed uterine sarcoma. The type of cancer most frequently seen with the use of this device is known as leiomyosarcoma.

1 in 350 women undergoing morcellator procedures have undiagnosed uterine cancer
 

Morcellator Lawsuit Videos

 
Power Morcellator News Banner

Power Morcellator Lawsuit News

DOJ Agrees to Investigate the Power Morcellator and Potential Link to Cancer

Morcellators, which have been in use for almost a quarter of a century, were designed to simplify hysterectomies by tearing uterine tissues into small bits in order to remove them with a laparoscope (this is sometimes known as “keyhole surgery”). It was touted as a minimally invasive procedure that would reduce hysterectomy recovery time from five days to two. To read more, click Drug Safety News

Doctor with cancer raises alarm about medical device

Is the FDA doing enough to protect patients from potentially dangerous medical devices? Two Philadelphia area doctors say no. They're fighting to prevent more tragedies, while living through their own medical nightmare. 42-year-old Dr. Amy Reed and her husband, Dr. Hooman Noorchashm, have been fighting their battle since Reed was diagnosed with cancer in 2013. CBS Philly's Stephanie Stahl has been following their story for a year. Reed's cancer was found after an operation to remove uterine fibroid tumors. Surgeons used a device called a power morcellator to shred the fibroid tissue so it could be easily removed through a small incision. But the shredding ended up inadvertently spreading cancer that hadn't been detected. To read more, click CBS News

Two New Studies Add to Scrutiny of Gynecology Tool

New research is adding to scrutiny of a surgical tool called the laparoscopic power morcellator that the Food and Drug Administration has warned against using in a vast majority of cases because of its potential to spread hidden cancer in common gynecological procedures. To read more, click Wall Street Journal

Read More
Surgical Tool Gets Strongest Warning: Morcellator Used in Hysterectomies Can Spread Undetected Cancer, FDA Says

The top U.S. health regulator warned Monday that a common surgical tool shouldn’t be used on most women during hysterectomies, a decision that caps nearly a year of debate and is expected to sharply curtail a procedure that the agency said can spread hidden cancer. The Food and Drug Administration used its authority to call for an immediate “black box” warning for laparoscopic power morcellators, the strongest caution the agency issues. Typically, such warnings on product labels undergo a lengthy comment period before being completed, lawyers for device makers said. To read more, click Wall Street Journal

For additional news stories, click Levin Law Morcellator News

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding the Power Morcellator

Morcellator FDA Research Banner

Immediately in Effect Guidance Document: Product Labeling for Laparoscopic Power Morcellators

As the number of laparoscopic and minimally invasive procedures has increased with the introduction of new surgical technologies and techniques, additional safety information has become available regarding the use of LPMs. Recent discussions within the patient and clinical communities, as well as the peer-reviewed medical literature, have raised awareness of the risk of spreading unsuspected cancerous tissue beyond the uterus when LPMs are used during gynecologic surgeries intended to treat benign fibroids. Numerous case reports and case series have been published that describe the iatrogenic dissemination, implantation, and subsequent growth of unsuspected neoplastic tissue within the peritoneal cavity following laparoscopic morcellation of uterine tissue believed to contain fibroids based on preoperative diagnosis. FDA’s recent analysis of available information suggested that the risk of an occult uterine sarcoma in a woman undergoing surgical intervention for presumed fibroids is substantially higher than had previously been assumed or reported. FDA’sanalysis also suggested that patient outcomes, including survival, may be significantly adversely impacted from this upstaging of disease. To read more, click Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff

FDA warns against using laparoscopic power morcellators to treat uterine fibroids

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is taking immediate steps to help reduce the risk of spreading unsuspected cancer in women being treated for uterine fibroids. In an updated safety communication, originally issued in April 2014, the FDA warns against using laparoscopic power morcellators in the removal of the uterus (hysterectomy) or fibroids (myomectomy) in the vast majority of women. In an Immediately in Effect (IIE) guidance, the FDA is also recommending that manufacturers of laparoscopic power morcellators include in their product labeling specific safety statements in the form of a boxed warning and two contraindications. The IIE guidance allows the FDA to issue its recommendations expeditiously to help address a significant public health issue.