دعوى القسطرة Penumbra - التسويات والاستدعاء والمساعدة

تدعي دعوى Penumbra Catheter أن قثاطير Penumbra Jet 7 مصممة بشكل معيب وتفشل بمعدل مرتفع للغاية ، مما يؤدي إلى إصابة شديدة أو الوفاة.

مكتبنا القانوني لم يعد يقبل هذه القضايا.

 

ما نعرفه عن الدعاوى القضائية للقسطرة Penumbra Jet 7

أسباب التقاضي Penumbra

قسطرة Penumbra Jet 7 هي جهاز طبي يستخدم أثناء الجراحة لإزالة جلطات الدم ، عن طريق الشفط ، من الأوعية داخل دماغ مرضى السكتة الدماغية. يتم استخدام هذا الجهاز عندما لا يكون المريض مؤهلاً للحصول على الأدوية أو استئصال الخثرة لاسترجاع الدعامات ، أو في الحالات التي لم تنجح فيها هذه التدخلات الأولية.

لسوء الحظ ، يمكن أن يتمدد الطرف البعيد لقسطرة Penumbra Jet 7 Xtra Flex أو ينكسر أثناء إجراء استئصال الخثرة. يمكن أن يسبب هذا مضاعفات تؤدي إلى إصابة المريض الخطيرة و / أو الوفاة. أبلغ العديد من مقدمي الخدمات الطبية عن تمزق قسطرة Jet 7 داخل وعاء دموي ، مما تسبب في نزيف كارثي وموت.

في 15 ديسمبر 2020 ، أصدرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) ملف رسالة تحذير بخصوص الاستدعاء العاجل لأجهزة تكوين Jet7 Xtra Flex و Jet 7 MAX ، بسبب مئات الحالات المسجلة لهذه الأجهزة التي فشلت أو تسببت في إصابة. يسلط إشعار إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية الضوء على مخاطر "الانتفاخ ، والتمدد ، والتمزق ، والكسر أو الانفصال الكامل ، والتعرض لملفات الدعم الداخلية بالقرب من منطقة الطرف البعيد لقسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex."

القضية القانونية الرئيسية

قدمت Penumbra القسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex في يوليو 2019 ، ولكن لم يكن الأمر كذلك حتى يوليو 2020 حيث حذرت الشركة المصنعة مقدمي الرعاية الصحية من عيب الطرف البعيد وخطر تلف السفينة والإصابات الأخرى والوفاة.

ينطبق تحذير إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير على أجهزة Penumbra التالية:

  1. قسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex، و
  2. تكوين Jet 7MAX، والذي يتضمن قسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex وجهاز توصيل MAX.

في خطاب التحذير ، حثت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية مقدمي الرعاية الصحية على التوقف عن استخدام هذه الأجهزة ، مما أدى إلى حدوث ما لا يقل عن 200 حلقة من الإصابة أو الوفاة أو الأعطال أو غيرها من الأحداث الضائرة.

 

إصابات القسطرة Penumbra Jet 7 والآثار الجانبية

تلقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) أكثر من 200 تقرير للأجهزة الطبية (MDRs) مرتبطة بقسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex ، بما في ذلك الوفيات والإصابات الخطيرة والأعطال. يصف عشرون من التقارير 14 حالة وفاة فريدة بين المرضى. تفصل تقارير طبية أخرى أشكال مختلفة من الإصابات الخطيرة للمريض ، بما في ذلك:

  1. تلف السفينة
  2. نزف
  3. احتشاء دماغي
  4. الموت
 

مبالغ تسوية دعوى Penumbra Jet 7 القسطرة

مستوطنات Penumbra Jet 7 القسطرة

اعتبارًا من مارس 2021 ، لم يكن هناك عدد كبير مستوطنات الأضرار الجماعية تشمل القسطرة Penumbra Jet 7 وعلاقة الإصابات والوفاة. بشكل عام ، ومع ذلك ، فإن مثل هذه الدعاوى القضائية تستغرق سنوات عديدة لحلها ، حيث تنفق فرق من المحامين ملايين الدولارات في محاولة لتحديد ما حدث بالضبط ، وكيف كان من الممكن منعه.

لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من التسويات عمومًا حتى يتم محاكمة عدد قليل من القضايا أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة المصنعة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أكثر شمولاً. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية عادةً في تجميع مجموعات كبيرة من القضايا في المحكمة الفيدرالية لأغراض الاكتشاف. تُعرف هذه العملية باسم التقاضي متعدد المناطق (المعروف باسم MDL).

 

المحاميان مايك بابانتونيو وبيكا تيمونز يناقشان الدعاوى القضائية لقسطرة Penumbra

 

التسلسل الزمني للأحداث ذات الصلة بقضايا Penumbra Jet 7 القسطرة

  1. يونيو 16، 2019: وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على استخدام قسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex للاستخدام الطبي.
  2. 27 فبراير، 2020: قامت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير (FDA) بمسح تكوين Jet 7MAX ، والذي يتضمن قسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex وجهاز توصيل MAX.
  3. يوليو 27، 2020: حثت إدارة الغذاء والدواء Penumbra على إصدار إخطار لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية مع تخفيف فوري للملصقات يتضمن تحذيرات واحتياطات وتعليمات إضافية للتخفيف من المخاطر المرتبطة باستخدام الجهاز.
  4. أغسطس شنومكس، شنومكس: أجازت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية الاستخدام الإضافي للجهاز الطبي مع وضع العلامات المحدثة ، والتي تضمنت تحذيرًا من حقن التباين من خلال الجهاز.
  5. 31 أغسطس 2020 حتى الآن: تستمر إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية في تلقي تقارير طبية جديدة توضح بالتفصيل حالات فشل القسطرة Jet 7. في بعض الحالات ، فشل مقدمو الرعاية الصحية في اتباع التعليمات المحدثة. لحماية المرضى ، طلبت إدارة الغذاء والدواء من Penumbra إزالة Jet 7 Xtra Flex طواعية من السوق.
  6. ديسمبر شنومكس، شنومكس: استدعت Penumbra جهاز القسطرة Jet 7 Xtra Flex.
 

كيف ينطبق قانون المسؤولية على الشركات المصنعة للأجهزة الطبية

بموجب معظم قوانين الولاية ، يمكن للمريض المصاب من خلال استخدام جهاز طبي معيب أن يرفع دعوى قضائية بناءً على النظريات القانونية التالية:

  1. عيب التصميم: عندما يتم تصنيع جهاز طبي وفقًا لمواصفات التصميم ، ولكن التصميم نفسه يجعل الجهاز غير فعال أو غير آمن ؛
  2. عيب التصنيع: عندما يكون الجهاز الطبي مصممًا بشكل آمن ، ولكنه يحتفظ ببعض العيوب خلال عملية التصنيع ، مما يجعله خطيرًا أو غير آمن ؛ و / أو
  3. عدم التحذير: عندما تفشل الشركة المصنعة للجهاز الطبي في تحذير الجمهور من المخاطر أو تقديم إرشادات كافية حول استخدام الجهاز ، مما يجعله غير آمن أو خطير.

تفرض الولاية التي تقيم فيها قانون التقادم الذي يقيد مقدار الوقت الذي يتعين عليك رفع دعوى قضائية ضد الشركة المصنعة للأجهزة الطبية فيه. يمكن لأي عضو في فريقنا القانوني إبلاغك بقوانين ولايتك.

 

Penumbra Jet 7 القسطرة الدعوى أخبار

Penumbra News Banner

إدارة الغذاء والدواء: تم استدعاء Penumbra JET 7 Clot Retrievers بعد الوفيات والإصابات

تستدعي Penumbra على وجه السرعة قسطرة ضخه JET 7 بتقنية Xtra Flex Technology ، المستخدمة في شفط الجلطة في حالة السكتة الدماغية الحادة ، نظرًا لقابليتها للتلف في الطرف البعيد أثناء الاستخدام. يأتي الاستدعاء بعد سلسلة من الوفيات والإصابات الخطيرة بسبب عطل الجهاز. ذكرت في TCTMD

يذكر Penumbra قسطرة Jet 7 بتقنية Xtra Flex

أعلنت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) عن سحب طوعي عاجل لقسطرة Penumbra JET 7 بتقنية Xtra Flex (JET 7 Xtra Flex) بسبب زيادة خطر الوفاة والإصابة الخطيرة. بدأ Penumbra عملية السحب في 15 ديسمبر 2020. ورد في نيورو نيوز

 

FDA والدراسات العلمية المتعلقة بالقسطرة Penumbra Jet 7

Penumbra و `` Killer Catheter '': قصة جشع الشركات وتجاهل صارخ على ما يبدو لحياة المرضى

في 10 نوفمبر 2020 ، نشرت Quintessential Capital Management تقريرًا بحثيًا يشير فيه المؤلفون إلى أن Penumbra ربما يكون قد ضلل الأطباء والمستثمرين في جوانب مهمة من التواصل. ذكرت في عرض بوربوينت Quintessential Capital Management

هل البحث العلمي الأساسي لـ Penumbra مؤلف من قبل شخص مزيف؟: القصة المذهلة لـ Penumbra Dr. Antik Bose

في 8 كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2020 ، نشرت شركة Quintessential Capital Management تقريرًا بحثيًا للمتابعة يزعم فيه المؤلفون أن بعض الأبحاث العلمية التي قام بها Penumbra يبدو أنها قد نُسبت بشكل غير صحيح أو ربما كتبها شخص مزيف. ذكرت في موقع Quintessential Capital Management

Penumbra Catheter Lawsuit – Settlements, Recalls & Help

The Penumbra Catheter lawsuit claims the Penumbra Jet 7 catheters are defectively designed and fail at an extremely high rate, resulting in severe injury or death.

Our law firm is no longer accepting these cases.

 

What We Know About the Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter Lawsuits

Reasons for Penumbra Litigation

The Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter is a medical device used during surgery to remove blood clots, via suction, from vessels inside the brain of stroke patients. This device is used when the patient does not qualify for medication or stent retrieval thrombectomy, or in cases where these first-in-line interventions have not succeeded.

Unfortunately, the distal tip of the Penumbra Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter can expand or fracture during the thrombectomy procedure. This can cause complications that result in serious patient injury and/or death. Numerous medical providers have reported a Jet 7 Catheter rupturing inside a blood vessel, causing catastrophic bleeds and death.

On December 15, 2020, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a warning letter regarding the urgent recall of the Jet7 Xtra Flex and Jet 7 MAX configuration devices, due to hundreds of recorded instances of these devices failing or causing injury. The FDA’s notice highlights the risk of “ballooning, expansion, rupture, breakage or complete separation, and exposure of internal support coils near the distal tip region of the Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter.”

The Key Legal Issue

Penumbra introduced the Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter in July 2019, but it was not until July 2020 that the manufacturer warned healthcare providers about the distal tip defect and the risk of vessel damage, other injuries, and death.

The FDA’s warning applies to the following Penumbra devices:

  1. Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter; and
  2. Jet 7MAX configuration, which includes the Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter and MAX Delivery Device.

In its warning letter, the FDA urged healthcare providers to stop using these devices, which had resulted in a minimum of 200 episodes of injury, death, malfunction, or other adverse events.

 

Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter Injuries & Side Effects

The FDA has received over 200 medical device reports (MDRs) connected with the Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter, including deaths, serious injuries, and malfunctions. Twenty of the reports describe 14 unique patient deaths. Other medical reports detail various forms of serious patient injury, including:

  1. Vessel damage
  2. Hemorrhage
  3. Cerebral infarction
  4. Death
 

Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

 Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter settlements

As of March 2021, there have been no large mass torts settlements involving Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter and the link to injuries and death. Generally, however, litigation like this takes many years to resolve, with teams of lawyers spending millions of dollars trying to determine exactly what occurred, and how it could have been prevented.

Large groups of settlements do not generally occur until such time as a few cases are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk. The first step in this process is usually having large groups of cases combined in federal court for discovery purposes. This process is known as Multi-District Litigation (known as an MDL).

 

Attorneys Mike Papantonio & Becca Timmons Discuss the Penumbra Catheter Lawsuits

 

Timeline of Events Pertinent to Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter Lawsuits

  1. June 16, 2019: The FDA cleared The Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter for medical use.
  2. February 27, 2020: The FDA cleared the Jet 7MAX configuration, which includes the Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter and MAX Delivery Device.
  3. July 27, 2020: The FDA prompted Penumbra to issue a notification to Healthcare Providers with immediate labeling mitigations that included additional warnings, precautions, and instructions to mitigate risks associated with the use of the device.
  4. August 31, 2020: The FDA cleared further use of the medical device with updated labeling, which included a warning against contrast injection through the device.
  5. August 31, 2020-present: The FDA continues to receive new medical reports detailing Jet 7 Catheter’s failures. In some instances, healthcare providers failed to follow the updated instructions. To protect patients, the FDA asked Penumbra to voluntarily remove the Jet 7 Xtra Flex from the market.
  6. December 15, 2020: Penumbra recalled its Jet 7 Xtra Flex catheter device.
 

How Liability Law Applies to Medical Device Manufacturers

Under most state laws, a patient injured through the use of a defective medical device can bring a lawsuit based on the following legal theories:

  1. Design Defect: When a medical device is manufactured per design specifications, but the design itself renders the device ineffective or unsafe;
  2. Manufacturing Defect: When a medical device is safely designed, but retained some defect through the manufacturing process, rendering it dangerous or unsafe; and/or
  3. Failure to Warn: When the medical device manufacturer fails to warn the public of risks or to provide adequate instructions about use of the device, thereby rendering it unsafe or dangerous.

The state in which you reside enforces a statute of limitations that restricts the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit against a medical device manufacturer. A member of our legal team can inform you of your state’s laws.

 

Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter Lawsuit News

Penumbra News Banner

FDA: Penumbra JET 7 Clot Retrievers Recalled Following Deaths, Injuries

Penumbra is urgently recalling its JET 7 reperfusion catheter with Xtra Flex Technology, used for thrombus aspiration in the setting of acute ischemic stroke, because of its susceptibility to distal tip damage during use. The recall follows a series of deaths and serious injuries due to device malfunction. Reported in TCTMD

Penumbra recalls Jet 7 catheters with Xtra Flex technology

The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) announced the urgent voluntary recall of Penumbra’s JET 7 catheters with Xtra Flex technology (JET 7 Xtra Flex) due to increased risk of mortality and serious injury. Penumbra initiated the recall on 15 December 2020. Reported in NeuroNews

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Penumbra Jet 7 Catheter

Penumbra and its ‘Killer Catheter’: A tale of corporate greed and seemingly blatant disregard for patients’ lives

On November 10, 2020, Quintessential Capital Management published a research report in which authors suggest that Penumbra may have misled doctors and investors in critical aspects of communication. Reported in Quintessential Capital Management PowerPoint Presentation

Is Penumbra’s core scientific research authored by a fake person?: The incredible story of Penumbra’s Dr. Antik Bose

On December 8, 2020, Quintessential Capital Management published a follow-up research report in which the authors allege that some of Penumbra’s scientific research appears to have been incorrectly credited or perhaps written by a fake individual. Reported in Quintessential Capital Management Website