لقد تم التعامل مع مطالبات القوارب الحوادث في جميع أنحاء البلاد منذ 1955 ، واكتسبت سمعة باعتبارها واحدة من أنجح شركات قانون الإصابة الشخصية في البلاد ، وفاز أكثر من $ 4 مليار دولار في الأحكام والمحلفين في هيئات المحلفين.

يقع مكتبنا القانوني في وسط مدينة بينساكولا ، ويعيش محامونا الخمسة والثلاثون في مجتمع بينساكولا.

الأنواع الشائعة من مطالبات الحوادث القوارب

كم من الوقت لإحضار القضية

قوانين الولاية والقوانين الفيدرالية المتعلقة بإصابات القوارب البحرية والمتعة معقدة وتعتمد على ظروف مختلفة ، مثل نوع السفينة. كيف تم استخدام السفينة حيث كانت تعمل ؛ ما إذا كانت الإصابة أو الوفاة قد حدثت ؛ وما إذا كان الشخص المصاب يعمل على القارب.

بعض الأنواع الأكثر شيوعًا من المطالبات التي تشمل الإصابة الشخصية على الماء ، تشمل:

  1. الحوادث الخاصة القوارب متعة
  2. إصابات سفينة الرحلات البحرية
  3. الموت في أعالي البحار
  4. مطالبات غير صالحة للإبحار
  5. قانون جونز بحار

الأسئلة المتكررة

هل قانون الإمبراطورية الاتحادية والقانون البحري ينطبق على تشغيل قارب المتعة

بشكل عام ، سوف يغطي قانون البحرية والبحرية حوادث قوارب المتعة التي تحدث في المياه الصالحة للملاحة ، والمحيطات ، والبحار ، والأنهار ، والبحيرات العظمى ، الخ. ومع ذلك ، سينطبق قانون الولاية على أي حوادث تقع على بحيرة غير ساحلية بالكامل داخل ولاية واحدة ، أو الممر المائي الذي يتضمن عوائق تمنع الملاحة.

هل قانون الإمبراطورية الاتحادية والقانون البحري ينطبق على تشغيل سفينة مائية شخصية

نعم ، سيتم تطبيق القانون العام البحري والبحرية على البحر-دووس ، الزلاجات المائية ، الزوارق المائيه وغيرها من الزوارق الشخصية التي تعمل على الممرات المائية الصالحة للملاحة.

ماذا أفعل إذا كنت متورطا في حادث ركوب القوارب

تتطلب معظم حوادث ركوب القوارب تقريرا إلى وكالة الدولة التي تنظم القوارب أو لخفر السواحل الأمريكي ، أو كليهما. إذا كان أحد المشغلين متورطًا في اصطدام مع قارب آخر أو بـ "allision" (وهو ما يعني إصابة جسم ثابت أو سفينة غير متحركة) ، فعليه الاتصال بالوكالة الحكومية التي تنظم القوارب للتأكد من نوع التقرير المطلوب. ، لو اي.

عادة ما يتم تشغيل متطلبات الإبلاغ إذا كان حادث القوارب ينطوي على إصابة شخصية تتطلب علاجًا طبيًا يتجاوز الإسعافات الأولية الفورية أو تلفًا لأي سفينة أو عقار آخر فوق مبلغ معين معين ، وكثيرًا ما يكون 500 دولارًا.

عدم البقاء في مكان الحادث ، وتقديم المساعدات ، والإبلاغ عن حادث القوارب في الوقت المناسب إلى وكالة إنفاذ القانون المناسب هو جريمة. أبلغ الحادث إلى شركة التأمين الخاصة بك لتكون آمنة وإذا تم تقديم تقرير الولاية أو الاتحادية. إلى أقصى حد ممكن ، يجب عليك تصوير أو توثيق المشهد والأوعية المعنية.

ما هو قانون حدود المسؤولية

يدعم قانون تحديد المسؤولية فكرة أن مالك السفينة يحق له أن يحد من مسؤوليته بعد حادث بحري إلى قيمة ما بعد وقوع الخسائر للسفينة والشحن المعلق. يمكن للقيود المفروضة على المسئولية أن تترك الشخص المصاب بدون مقابل. هناك ظروف يمكن فيها للمدعى عليه أن يفقد الحق في الحد من المسؤولية ، ويمكن للشخص المتضرر أن يتابع مدى أضراره بالكامل.

ما هي مطالبة الطرف الثالث

غالباً ما تنطوي حوادث ركوب القوارب على مسؤولية نيابة عن أشخاص آخرين غير المشغل أو مالك القارب. على سبيل المثال ، قد تكون هناك مطالبات بمسؤولية المنتج عن سوء تصميم السفينة أو المحركات المصممة بشكل غير جيد والمقاعد ، وما إلى ذلك. من المهم أن تكون جميع المطالبات المحتملة موثقة بشكل جيد والتحقيق فيها قبل إطلاق السفينة.

ماذا يعني أن تكون السفينة "غير صالحة للإبحار"

عقيدة عدم الجدارة بالابحار هي سمة من سمات القانون البحري العام. مالك السفينة مدينون بالبحارة بواجب صارم ومطلق لتوفير سفينة صالحة للإبحار. سفينة صالحة للإبحار هي واحدة مناسبة بشكل معقول للاستخدام المقصود.

إن المدعى عليه غير المدعوم للإبحار هو مالك السفينة أو المشغل إذا كان المشغل يمتلك "حيازة كاملة وسيطرة" على السفينة. على عكس دعوى قانون جونز التي تعارض صاحب العمل البحري ، يتم تقديم ادعاء بعدم الإبحار ضد مالك السفينة. في كثير من الحالات ، سيكون هذان الأمران متشابهين.

وغالبا ما يتم الجمع بين مطالبة بعدم الإبحار ضد مالك السفينة وبين مطالبة جونز بشأن ضد صاحب العمل البحري. يجب تقديم كل من المطالبات خلال سنوات 3 للإصابة. إذا كانت مطالبة بعدم الجدارة بالإتحاد مرتبطة بإدعاء من قانون جونز ، قد يطلب المدعي محاكمة أمام هيئة محلفين بشأن دعوى عدم الجدارة بالإبحار بالإضافة إلى دعوى قانون جونز.

إن واجب توفير سفينة آمنة بشكل معقول يمتد إلى جميع أجزاء السفينة وإلى جميع جوانب عملها تقريباً. حقيقة أن حالة غير صالحة للإبحار وقعت بعد سفينة اليسار ميناء غير مادي. لا يوجد عذر بأن مالك السفينة لم يكن لديه إشعار أو فرصة لتصحيح الشرط الذي تسبب في الإصابة ؛ المسؤولية لا تزال موجودة. الضمان من صلاحيّة الإبحار مطلقة ، مستمرّة ، وغير قابل للتفويض. وتمتد إلى جميع أجزاء السفينة ، بما في ذلك البدن ، والأجهزة ، والملاحق ، والعتاد والمعدات ، وحتى القوة البشرية للسفينة. على سبيل المثال ، قد يشكل غير صالح لأعضاء الطاقم أو عدد غير كاف من أعضاء الطاقم على السفينة حالة غير صالحة للإبحار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، توفر الظروف المؤقتة مثل النفط أو الماء أو الثلج على سطح السفينة ، والمعروفة باسم عدم الجدارة عبر النقل العابر ، أساسًا للتعافي.

يمكن إنشاء حالة غير صالحة للإبحار من قبل موظفي المالك أو حتى مقاولين مستقلين. إن ضمان صلاحية السفينة للإبحار الذي يفرضه تشغيل القانون على مالك أو مشغل السفينة هو أداة قوية لحماية حقوق البحارة.

ما هو الموت في قانون أعالي البحار؟

صدر قانون الموت في أعالي البحار من قبل الكونغرس في 1920 ، ووفر الشفاء لمقتل أي شخص "بسبب فعل غير مشروع أو إهمال أو تقصير يحدث في أعالي البحار خارج دوري البحرية من شاطئ أي ولاية." الدوري البحري يتكون من ثلاثة أميال من شاطئ أي ولاية. وتغطي الوفيات في أعالي البحار الوفيات التي تحدث من الشاطئ أكثر من ثلاثة أميال.

DOHSA لا ينطبق على منصات الحفر البحرية. وينظم ذلك قانون الجرف القاري الخارجي ويكمله قانون الدولة المتاخمة.

يمكن تأسيس دعوى بموجب DOHSA على عدم الجدارة بالإبحار ويتم إحضارها ضد السفينة أو مالك السفينة. في المقابل ، يغطي قانون جونز أي بحار يعاني من إصابة شخصية أو يموت نتيجة للإصابات التي لحقت به أثناء العمل. سبب العمل ضد صاحب العمل البحري.

عقيدة عدم الجدارة بالابحار هي سمة من سمات القانون البحري العام. مالك السفينة مدينون بالبحارة بواجب صارم ومطلق لتوفير سفينة صالحة للإبحار. سفينة صالحة للإبحار هي واحدة مناسبة بشكل معقول للاستخدام المقصود.

إن المدعى عليه غير المدعوم للإبحار هو مالك السفينة أو المشغل إذا كان المشغل يمتلك "حيازة كاملة وسيطرة" على السفينة. على عكس دعوى قانون جونز التي تعارض صاحب العمل البحري ، يتم تقديم ادعاء بعدم الإبحار ضد مالك السفينة. في كثير من الحالات ، سيكون هذان الأمران متشابهين.

يجوز الجمع بين مطالبة بعدم الإبحار ضد مالك السفينة وبين مطالبة شركة جونز ضد صاحب العمل البحري. يجب تقديم كل من المطالبات خلال سنوات 3 للإصابة. إذا كانت مطالبة بعدم الجدارة بالإتحاد مرتبطة بإدعاء من قانون جونز ، قد يطلب المدعي محاكمة أمام هيئة محلفين بشأن دعوى عدم الجدارة بالإبحار بالإضافة إلى دعوى قانون جونز.

إن واجب توفير سفينة آمنة بشكل معقول يمتد إلى جميع أجزاء السفينة وإلى جميع جوانب عملها تقريباً. حقيقة أن حالة غير صالحة للإبحار وقعت بعد سفينة اليسار ميناء غير مادي. لا يوجد عذر بأن مالك السفينة لم يكن لديه إشعار أو فرصة لتصحيح الشرط الذي تسبب في الإصابة ؛ المسؤولية لا تزال موجودة. الضمان من صلاحيّة الإبحار مطلقة ، مستمرّة ، وغير قابل للتفويض. وتمتد إلى جميع أجزاء السفينة ، بما في ذلك البدن ، والأجهزة ، والملاحق ، والعتاد والمعدات ، وحتى القوة البشرية للسفينة. يشكل أفراد الطاقم غير المؤهلين حالة غير صالحة للإبحار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، توفر الظروف المؤقتة مثل النفط أو الماء أو الثلج على سطح السفينة ، والمعروفة باسم عدم الجدارة عبر النقل العابر ، أساسًا للتعافي.

يمكن إنشاء حالة غير صالحة للإبحار من قبل موظفي المالك أو حتى مقاولين مستقلين. إن ضمان صلاحية السفينة للإبحار الذي يفرضه تشغيل القانون على مالك أو مشغل السفينة هو أداة قوية لحماية حقوق البحارة. يجب الإبقاء على مستشار بحري متمرس في هذه الحالات.

لماذا تختار بينساكولا محاماة

تأسست شركة المحاماة لدينا في بنساكولا أكثر من 60 منذ سنوات ، وتعتبر رائدة وطنية في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا بشكل جيد أكثر من 150 الأحكام الصادرة عن هيئات المحلفين في جميع أنحاء البلاد بمبلغ $ 1 مليون أو أكثر ، وحققت أحكامًا ومستوطنات تزيد عن مليار دولار 4. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن.

بدأ في بنساكولا في 1955 - $ 4 مليار في الأحكام والمستوطنات - مدرجة في أفضل المحامين في أمريكا ، SuperLawyers ومحاكمة قاعة المحامين المشاهير

ما يكلف

نحن نقدم استشارات سرية مجانية تمامًا ، وإذا كنا محظوظين بما يكفي لتوظيفنا ، فإننا لن نفرض عليك أية رسوم أو تكاليف إلا إذا تعافيت أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪ اعتمادًا على مقدار ما نسترده لك ، وهذا صحيح سواء كانت قضيتك في بنساكولا أو في مدينة أو ولاية أخرى.

يجب أن تكون رسومنا متطابقة أو أقل إلى ما يتقاضاه المحامون الآخرون ، خاصة في فلوريدا ، حيث يتم التحكم في المبلغ من قبل The Florida Bar. هذا صحيح ما إذا كان محاميك لم يتعامل مطلقا مع قضية بحرية أو ما إذا كان قد تم التركيز عليها في ممارسة أكثر من سنوات 60 ، كما هو الحال مع مكتب المحاماة لدينا. للحصول على مناقشة مفصلة حول الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

معلومات الإتصال

في الاتصال بنا للحصول على سرية مجانا التشاور، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (850) 435-7000 (بنساكولا) أو (800) 277-1193 (المجاني). يمكنك أيضا أن تطلب إجراء مشاورات سرية عن طريق النقر مجانا وسري استشارة، وسيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج فورًا بواسطة أحد محاميينا الذين يتعاملون مع التقاضي البحري.

Will Levin Papantonio Accept My Claim

قبول حالتي

تقوم شركة المحاماة لدينا بمراجعة وقبول حالات القوارب من كل الأحجام ، سواء في منطقة بنساكولا أو في جميع أنحاء البلاد. لا توجد حالة كبيرة جدًا أو صغيرة جدًا.

الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكننا أن نؤكده هو أننا سنأخذ مكالمتك ونقدم لك استشارة مجانية ، ونناقش معك حقائق وقضايا قضيتك ، ونخبرك ما إذا كان بوسعنا مساعدتك. إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فسوف نحاول الوصول إلى شخص يستطيع ذلك.

نحن نقبل حالات القوارب من كل حجم ونوع - لا يوجد حالة كبيرة جدا أو صغيرة جدا.

مقارنة شركات المحاماة

عند التعاقد مع شركة محاماة ، من المهم أن تأخذ وقتك وتجري البحث. قم بمراجعة موقع ويب كل مكتب محاماة للحصول على أوراق اعتماده وخبرته وموارده ونجاحه ورسومه. يجتمع مع الشركات. اطرح الكثير من الأسئلة ، وحدد من تشعر بالراحة أكثر. تذكر ، يمكن لأي شركة محاماة الإعلان أنها يمكن التعامل بنجاح مع قضية إصابة شخصية. تأكد من أن هذا هو الحال حقا.

Pensacola Boating & Maritime Accident Lawyers - Levin Papantonio - Since 1955
Boating Accident Lawyer Header

We have been handling boating accident claims throughout the country since 1955, and have earned a reputation as one of the most successful personal injury law firms in the nation, winning more than $4 billion dollars in jury verdicts and settlements.

Our law office is located in downtown Pensacola, and our thirty-five attorneys live in the Pensacola community.

 

Common Types of Boating Accident Claims

How Long to Bring a Case

State and federal laws regarding maritime and pleasure boating injuries are complex and depend upon various circumstances, such as the type of vessel; how the vessel was being used; where it was being operated; whether injury or death occurred; and whether the injured person was employed on the boat.

Some of the most common types of claims involving personal injury on the water, include:

  1. Private Pleasure Boating Accidents
  2. Cruise Ship Injuries
  3. Death on the High Seas
  4. Unseaworthiness Claims
  5. Jones Act Seaman

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Boating Accidents

Does federal admiralty and maritime law apply to the operation of a pleasure boat

Generally, admiralty and maritime law will cover pleasure boat incidents occurring on navigable waters, oceans, seas, rivers, Great Lakes, etc. However, state law will apply to any incidents occurring on a land-locked lake wholly within one state, or a waterway which includes obstructions which prevent navigation.

 

Does federal admiralty and maritime law apply to the operation of a personal water craft

Yes, general admiralty and maritime law will apply to sea-doos, jet skis, houseboats and other personal watercraft operating on navigable waterways.

 

What should I do if I am involved in a boating accident

Most boating accidents require a report to either the state agency regulating boats or to the United States Coast Guard, or both. If an operator is involved in a collision with another boat or an 'allision' (which means striking a fixed object or a non-moving vessel), he or she should immediately contact the state agency regulating boats to ascertain what type of report is required, if any.

A reporting requirement is generally triggered if the boating accident involves personal injury requiring medical treatment beyond immediate first aid or damage to any vessel or other property above a certain specified amount, frequently $500.

Failure to remain on the scene, render aid, and timely report the boating accident to an appropriate law enforcement agency is a crime. Report the incident to your insurance company to be safe and if a state or federal report was made. To the extent possible, you should photograph or document the scene and the vessels involved.

 

What is the Limitation of Liability Act

The Limitation of Liability Act supports the idea that a vessel owner is entitled to limit its liability after a maritime accident to the post-casualty value of the vessel and the pending freight. Limitations on liability can leave the injured person with next to nothing for recovery. There are circumstances in which a defendant can lose the right to limit liability, and the injured person can pursue the full extent of his/her damages.

 

What is a third-party claim

Often boating accidents involve liability on behalf of persons other than the operator or owner of the boat. For instance, there may be product liability claims for poor design of the vessel or inadequately manufactured motors, seats, etc. It is important that all potential claims be well documented and investigated before releasing the vessel.

 

What does it mean for a vessel to be "unseaworthy"

The doctrine of unseaworthiness is a feature of the general maritime law. A vessel owner owes seamen a strict and absolute duty to provide a seaworthy vessel. A seaworthy vessel is one that is reasonably fit for its intended use.

The unseaworthiness defendant is the vessel owner or the operator if the operator has "full possession and control" over the vessel. Unlike the Jones Act claim which is against the seaman's employer, an unseaworthiness claim is made against the vessel's owner. In many cases, those two will be the same.

An unseaworthiness claim against the vessel owner is often combined with a Jones Act claim against the seaman's employer. Both claims must be filed within 3 years of the injury. If an unseaworthiness claim is joined with a Jones Act claim, the plaintiff may ask for a jury trial on the unseaworthiness claim as well as the Jones Act claim.

The duty to provide a vessel that is reasonably safe extends to all parts of the vessel and to almost all facets of its operation. The fact that the unseaworthy condition occurred after the vessel left port is immaterial. It is no excuse that the vessel owner had no notice of or opportunity to correct the condition that caused the injury; liability still will exist. The warranty of seaworthiness is absolute, continuing, and non-delegable. It extends to all parts of the vessel, including the hull, appliances, appurtenances, gear and equipment, even the vessel's manpower. For example, unfit crew members or an insufficient number of crew members on the vessel may constitute an unseaworthy condition. In addition, temporary conditions such as oil, water, or ice on the deck, known as transitory unseaworthiness, provides a basis for a recovery.

An unseaworthy condition can be created by employees of the owner or even independent contractors. The warranty of seaworthiness imposed by the operation of law on a vessel owner or operator is a powerful tool to protect the rights of seamen.

 

What is the Death on the High Seas Act

The Death on the High Seas Act was enacted by Congress in 1920, and provided recovery for the death of any person "caused by wrongful act, neglect or default occurring on the high seas beyond a marine league from the shore of any state." A marine league consists of three miles from the shore of any state. Deaths occurring further from shore than three miles are covered under the Death on the High Seas Act.

DOHSA does not apply to offshore drilling rigs. These are governed by the Outer Continental Shelf Act and supplemented by the law of the adjacent state.

A claim under DOHSA can be founded on unseaworthiness and is brought against the vessel or the vessel owner. In contrast, the Jones Act covers any seaman who suffers personal injury or dies as a result of injuries sustained in the course of employment. The cause of action is against the seaman's employer.

The doctrine of unseaworthiness is a feature of the general maritime law. A vessel owner owes seamen a strict and absolute duty to provide a seaworthy vessel. A seaworthy vessel is one that is reasonably fit for its intended use.

The unseaworthiness defendant is the vessel owner or the operator if the operator has "full possession and control" over the vessel. Unlike the Jones Act claim which is against the seaman's employer, an unseaworthiness claim is made against the vessel's owner. In many cases, those two will be the same.

An unseaworthiness claim against the vessel owner may be combined with a Jones Act claim against the seaman's employer. Both claims must be filed within 3 years of the injury. If an unseaworthiness claim is joined with a Jones Act claim, the plaintiff may ask for a jury trial on the unseaworthiness claim as well as the Jones Act claim.

The duty to provide a vessel that is reasonably safe extends to all parts of the vessel and to almost all facets of its operation. The fact that the unseaworthy condition occurred after the vessel left port is immaterial. It is no excuse that the vessel owner had no notice of or opportunity to correct the condition that caused the injury; liability still will exist. The warranty of seaworthiness is absolute, continuing, and non-delegable. It extends to all parts of the vessel, including the hull, appliances, appurtenances, gear and equipment, even the vessel's manpower. Unfit crew members constitute an unseaworthy condition. In addition, temporary conditions such as oil, water, or ice on the deck, known as transitory unseaworthiness, provides a basis for a recovery.

An unseaworthy condition can be created by employees of the owner or even independent contractors. The warranty of seaworthiness imposed by the operation of law on a vessel owner or operator is a powerful tool to protect the rights of seamen. Experienced maritime counsel should be retained in these cases.

 
Why Choose Our Pensacola Law Firm

Our law firm was founded in Pensacola more than 60 years ago, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion. For more information, please visit our About Us.

started in Pensacola in 1955 - $4 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame

What Does It Cost

We provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40% depending upon how much we recover for you, and this is true whether your case is in Pensacola or in another city or state.

Our fee should be identical or less to what other lawyers are charging, especially in Florida, as the amount is controlled by The Florida Bar. This is true whether your lawyer has never handled a maritime case or whether it has been a focus of their practice for more than 60 years, as with our law firm. For a detailed discussion on fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (850) 435-7000 (Pensacola) or (800) 277-1193 (toll free). You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling maritime litigation.

 

Will Levin Papantonio Accept My Claim

Accepting My Case

Our law firm reviews and accepts boating cases of every size, whether in the Pensacola area or nationwide. No case is too big or too small.

The one thing we can assure you is that we will take your call, provide you an absolutely free consult, discuss with you the facts and issues of your case, and tell you whether we can help you. If not, we will try to get you to someone who can.

We accept boating cases of every size and type - no case is too big or too small.
 

Comparing Law Firms

When hiring a law firm, it's important to take your time and perform research. Review each law firm's website for its credentials, experience, resources, success and fees. Meet with the firms. Ask a lot of questions, and determine who you feel most comfortable trusting. Remember, any law firm can advertise it can successfully handle a personal injury case. Make sure that really is the case.