تزعم دعوى Olympus Colonoscope أن الجهاز معيب في أنه من الصعب تنظيفه بشكل صحيح بعد كل استخدام ، مما يؤدي إلى انتشار العدوى البكتيرية من مريض لآخر.

ما نعرفه عن الدعاوى Olympus Colonoscope

أوليمبوس كولوسكوب التقاضي

في يونيو / حزيران 2012 ، تلقت شركة أوليمبوس تقارير تفيد بأن تصميم منتجها منظار القولون يحتوي على عيب ، مما يسمح للدم والأنسجة من المريض بالوقوع ، ثم نشر العدوى البكتيرية إلى المرضى الآخرين.

اكتشف أحد فنيي الشركة أن هناك ختمًا مطاطيًا مصممًا لمنع البكتيريا من دخول الصك تم تشققه وارتداؤه. وأوصى محقق مستقل استأجره أوليمبوس ، ومستشفى في هولندا ، بإجراء مزيد من التحقيقات - وأن يتم استدعاء جميع الوحدات المعيبة إذا كانت المشاكل واضحة في مكان آخر.

على الرغم من هذه المعلومات ، واصلت أوليمبوس بيع منتجاتها في الولايات المتحدة دون أي تحذيرات ، حتى مع وفاة المرضى من الإصابات الناتجة. في يناير 2013 ، أصدرت أوليمبوس "مشورة سلامة مهمة" في أوروبا لأحد منتجاتها ، TJF-Q180V الاثني عشر. ومع ذلك ، لم تصدر مثل هذه التحذيرات في الولايات المتحدة

مع سلالات اليوم من البكتيريا المقاومة للمضادات الحيوية التي تشكل تهديدات خطيرة في المستشفيات حول العالم ، فإن الإهمال المتعمد لشركة أوليمبوس في هذه المسألة واضح بشكل واضح. في غضون ذلك ، أصدرت ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير مبادئ توجيهية جديدة في ديسمبر 2016 حول كيفية التقليل من خطر التلوث المتبادل وانتشار العدوى من نظم المنظار الداخلي.

في يونيو 2017 ، قرر قاضي المحكمة العليا في ماساتشوستس أن أ دعوى قضائية المقدمة من قبل المرضى الذين يعانون من إصابات بسبب منظار القولون أوليمبوس يمكن المضي قدما. الشكوى ، التي رفعتها 25 المدعين الذين خضعوا للتنظير القولون بين يونيو 2012 و أبريل 2013 ، أسماء شركة أوليمبوس و مستشفى Baystate Noble كمدعى عليهم

ما هو الغرض من الأجهزة بالمنظار

أوليمبوس القولون الغرض

التنظير الداخلي هو الإجراء الذي يقوم به الأطباء بفحص الجزء الداخلي لجسم المريض دون الحاجة إلى اللجوء إلى العمليات الجراحية الغازية. بينما ال الإجراء نفسه يعود إلى 1806، اخترع أول المنظار الذاتي مضاءة في 1894 من قبل الدكتور جون ماكنتاير من المستوصف الملكي في اسكتلندا ، وهو واحد من أوائل المرافق الطبية في العالم التي يتم توصيلها بالكهرباء.

كان ماكنتاير ، وهو فني كهربائي مدرب ، رائدا في مجال الأشعة. تم استخدام اختراعه لأول مرة لفحص حنجرة المريض. في العقود التي تلت ذلك ، تطور مجال التنظير الداخلي وتوسع ، ويمكن استخدامه اليوم لفحص أي جزء من جسم المريض. كما يستخدم التنظير جنبا إلى جنب مع أدوات القطع من أجل إجراء العمليات الجراحية الحساسة والصعبة (المعروفة باسم جراحة "ثقب المفتاح").

يتكون المنظار الداخلي الحديث عادة من أنبوب مرن مع بعض أنواع نظام الإضاءة الذي يتم توفيره عن طريق الألياف البصرية ، والعدسة ، ونظام الترحيل الذي ينقل الصور إلى المشاهد. في الأصل ، تم تصميم المناظير الداخلية باستخدام العدسات المدمجة. ومع ذلك ، فإن تكنولوجيا التصوير الحديثة للكمبيوتر تسمح الآن بعرض الصور على شاشة الفيديو. يمكن لهذه التقنية أيضًا السماح للجراح بإجراء العمليات عن بُعد ، كما تم في 2001 عندما نجح فريق جراحي في مدينة نيويورك في استئصال المرارة من مريض في ستراسبورج بفرنسا.

اليوم ، هناك العديد من الأنواع المتخصصة من المناظير الداخلية ، والتي يختلف تصميمها تبعاً لأي جزء من جسم المريض يجري فحصه. كما يوحي اسمها ، يتم استخدام منظار القولون لفحص القولون وكذلك الأمعاء الغليظة.

عوامل الخطر المشاركة في التنظير

إصابات أوليمبوس كولوسكوب

في حين أن العدوى هي دائما خطر على المرضى الذين يخضعون لإجراء التنظير الداخلي ، إلا أن عوامل الخطر الأخرى تشمل:

  1. الإفراط في التخدير
  2. ثقب الجهاز
  3. تمزق في بطانة المعدة أو المريء
  4. نزيف داخلي
  5. تفاعل الأدوية
  6. التهاب في موقع الحقن المهدئ
  7. المضاعفات الناجمة عن الاعتلالات المشتركة للمريض

معظم هذه الآثار الجانبية المحتملة غير شائعة إلى حد ما ، لا سيما النزيف والانثقاب. معظم النزيفات طفيفة ويمكن إيقافها بالكي إذا لم تتوقف بمفردها. يُنصح المرضى بإبلاغ أطبائهم عن أي حالات طبية لديهم أو أي أدوية قد يتناولونها ، خاصةً إذا خضعوا للتخدير.

بعد الاستخدام ، يجب تطهير جميع المناظير بشكل كامل. لسوء الحظ ، في حين أن المناظير الصلبة يمكن تطهيرها في الأوتوكلاف مثل الأدوات الجراحية والأدوات ، هناك حاجة إلى أساليب خاصة للنوع الأكثر مرونة.

كيف يعمل Olympus Video Colonoscope

عملية أوليمبوس كولوسكوب

جميع أوليمبوس إيفيس Exera II فيديو منظار القولون هو جهاز طبي يستخدمه أخصائيو الجهاز الهضمي لإجراء فحوصات القولون والمستقيم. هذا هو عادة إجراء روتيني ، لا سيما بالنسبة للمرضى أكثر من خمسين.

تعتبر شركة أوليمبوس ميديكال سيستمز كوربوريشن التي يقع مقرها في طوكيو أكبر مصنع وموزع لمنظار القولون في الولايات المتحدة ، وتسيطر على ما يقرب من 85٪ من السوق. حصل نموذج Exera II الأول على موافقة FDA في سبتمبر ، 2006. منذ ذلك الوقت ، تمت الموافقة على النماذج اللاحقة من خلال 510 (k) التخليص المسبق على السوق عملية ، والتي تسمح للشركة المصنعة لجهاز طبي لتجاوز إجراءات اختبار السلامة العادية عندما يمكن إثبات أن المنتج الجديد "مماثل إلى حد كبير" إلى منتج معتمد حاليًا للسوق.

على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، تورط جهاز Olympus Exera II وما شابهه في مئات الحالات التي أصيب فيها المرضى بعدوى مقاومة للمضادات الحيوية ، بعضها كان مميتًا.

ووفقا ل تقرير من إدارة الغذاء والدواء ، تعرض ما يقرب من المرضى 450 في المستشفيات 30 في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة إلى المناظير الملوثة البكتيرية بين يناير 2010 و أكتوبر 2015 - أكثر من 400 الذين أصيبوا إصابات خطيرة.

في يوليو 2016، و لوس أنجلوس تايمز وأفادت أن شركة أوليمبوس أرسلت رسائل إلكترونية إلى مديريها التنفيذيين في الولايات المتحدة ، وتطلب منهم عدم إصدار تحذيرات إلى المستشفيات بشأن هذه الإصابات المميتة المحتملة بعد أن تم الإبلاغ عن عشرين حالة في أوروبا في 2013. ونتيجة لذلك ، حدث تفشي المرض في عدة مستشفيات في المدن الأمريكية الكبرى ، مما أدى إلى وفاة عدد من المرضى على الأقل في 35.

تمتلك شركة أوليمبوس سجلًا واضحًا في العمل من أجل تحقيق أقصى قدر من الأرباح. حتى أثناء التحقيق في دورها في تفشي عدوى المرضى ، وافقت الشركة على دفع مبلغ 646 مليون دولار في 2016 إلى تسوية الادعاءات الجنائية والمدنية من الرشاوى غير القانونية والرشاوى للأطباء ومؤسسات الرعاية الصحية.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان أوليمبوس أمر دفع مبلغ 6.6 مليون دولار إلى مركز فيرجينيا ماسون الطبي في سياتل ، واشنطن ، بالإضافة إلى مبلغ 1 مليون دولار إضافي إلى أرملة مريض توفي في 2013 ، كنتيجة لإجراء تم إجراؤه مع الشركة TJF-Q180V الاثني عشرمنتج آخر تمت الموافقة عليه بموجب 510 (k) قبل التخليص الجمركي.

على الرغم من أن هيئة المحلفين وجدت أن الجهاز نفسه لم يكن سبب وفاة المريض ، فقد وجد أن شركة Olympus فشلت في تقديم تحذيرات كافية حول الجهاز ولم تصدر تعليمات مناسبة حول التنظيف والصيانة.

Olympus Colonoscope Lawsuit Lawyer - Settlements & Recalls
Olympus Colonoscope Lawsuit Header

The Olympus Colonoscope lawsuits claim the device is defective in that it’s difficult to properly clean it after each use, which results in the device spreading a bacterial infection from one patient to another.

Our law firm is accepting clients who underwent a medical procedure in which the Olympus video colonoscope was utilized and the patient then suffered an infection because of it.

We have been handling claims against medical device manufacturers since 1955, and we are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

Why are Olympus Colonoscope Lawsuits Being Filed

Olympus Colonoscope Litigation

In June 2012, Olympus Corporation received reports that the design of its colonoscope product contained a flaw, allowing blood and tissue from a patient to become trapped, and then spreading a bacterial infection to others patients.

A company technician discovered that a rubber seal designed to prevent bacteria from entering the instrument was cracked and worn. An independent investigator hired by Olympus, and a hospital in the Netherlands, recommended that further investigations be carried out – and that all defective units be recalled if the problems were apparent elsewhere.

Despite this information, Olympus continued to sell its products in the U.S. without any warnings, even as patients died from resultant infections. In January 2013, Olympus issued “important safety advice” in Europe for one of its products, the TJF-Q180V duodenoscope. However, no such warnings were issued in the U.S.

With today's virulent strains of antibiotic-resistant bacteria posing serious threats in hospitals around the world, Olympus Corporation's willful negligence in this matter is patently clear. In the meantime, the FDA issued new guidelines in December 2016 on how to minimize the risk of cross-contamination and the spread of infections from endoscope systems.

In June 2017, a Superior Court judge in Massachusetts determined that a lawsuit filed by patients who sustained injuries due to the Olympus colonoscope could proceed. The complaint, filed by 25 plaintiffs who underwent colonoscopies between June 2012 and April 2013, names Olympus Corporation and Baystate Noble Hospital as defendants.

 

What is the Purpose of Endoscopic Devices

Olympus Colonoscope Purpose

Endoscopy is the procedure by which physicians examine the inside of a patient's body without having to resort to invasive surgical procedures. While the procedure itself dates back to 1806, the first self-illuminated endoscope was invented in 1894 by Dr. John MacIntyre of Scotland's Royal Infirmary, one of the first medical facilities in the world to be wired for electricity.

A trained electrician, MacIntyre was also a pioneer in the field of radiology. His invention was first used to examine a patient's larynx. In the decades that followed, the field of endoscopy evolved and expanded and can be used today to examine virtually any part of a patient's body. Endoscopy is also used in conjunction with cutting tools in order to perform delicate, otherwise difficult surgical procedures (known as “keyhole” surgery).

The modern endoscope typically consists of a flexible tube with some type of illumination system delivered by way of fiber optics, a lens, and a relay system that transmits the images to a viewer. Originally, endoscopes were designed with integrated eyepieces. However, modern computer imaging technology now allows images to be displayed on a video screen. This technology can also allow a surgeon to perform operations remotely, as was done in 2001 when a surgical team in New York City successfully removed a gallbladder from a patient in Strasbourg, France.

Today, there are many specialized types of endoscopes, the design of which varies depending upon what part of a patient's body is being examined. As its name suggests, the colonoscope is used for examination of the colon as well as the large intestine.

 

Risk Factors Involved in Endoscopy

Olympus Colonoscope Injuries

While infection is always a risk for patients undergoing an endoscopic procedure, other risk factors include:

  1. over-sedation
  2. organ perforation
  3. tear in the lining of the stomach or esophagus
  4. internal bleeding
  5. drug interactions
  6. inflammation at the sedative injection site
  7. complications due to patient co-morbidities

Most of these potential side effects are fairly uncommon, particularly bleeding and perforation. The majority of bleeds are minor and can be stopped with cauterization if they do not stop on their own. Patients are advised to inform their doctors of any medical conditions they have or any medications they may be taking, particularly if undergoing sedation.

After use, all endoscopes must be thoroughly disinfected. Unfortunately, while rigid endoscopes can be disinfected in an autoclave like surgical instruments and tools, special methods are required for the more common flexible type.

 
 
Why Choose Us

We have been in existence more than 60 years, and considered a national leader in these types of lawsuits. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against pharmaceutical and medical device companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in business since 1955 - $4 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
What Does It Cost to Hire Us

We provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Olympus Colonoscope litigation.

 

How Does the Olympus Video Colonoscope Work

Olympus Colonoscope Operation

The Olympus Evis Exera II Video Colonoscope is a medical device used by gastroenterologists to perform colorectal screenings. This is normally a routine procedure, particularly for patients over fifty.

The Tokyo-based Olympus Medical Systems Corporation is the largest manufacturer and distributor of colonoscopes in the U.S., commanding approximately 85% of the market. The first Exera II model received FDA approval in September, 2006. Since that time, subsequent models have been approved through the 510(k) Pre-Market Clearance process, which allows the manufacturer of a medical device to bypass normal safety testing procedures when it can be demonstrated that the new product is “substantially similar” to one currently approved for the market.

Over the past few years, the Olympus Exera II and similar devices have been implicated in hundreds of cases in which patients have contracted antibiotic-resistant infections, some of which have been fatal.

According to a report from the Food and Drug Administration, nearly 450 patients at 30 hospitals across the U.S. were exposed to bacteria-tainted endoscopes between January 2010 and October 2015 – over 400 of whom contracted serious infections.

In July 2016, the Los Angeles Times reported that the Olympus Corporation sent emails to its executives in the U.S., instructing them not to issue warnings to hospitals about these potentially fatal infections after two dozen cases were reported in Europe in 2013. As a result, outbreaks occurred at several hospitals in major U.S. cities, resulting in at least 35 patient deaths.

Olympus has a demonstrated record of acting in its own interests in order to maximize profits. Even while under investigation for its role in patient infection outbreaks, the company agreed to pay $646 million in 2016 to settle criminal and civil allegations of illegal kickbacks and bribes to physicians and health care institutions.

Recently, Olympus was ordered to pay $6.6 million to the Virginia Mason Medical Center in Seattle, Washington, and an additional $1 million to the widow of a patient who died in 2013, as the result of a procedure carried out with the company's TJF-Q180V duodenoscope, another product that was approved under 510(k) Pre-market Clearance.

Although the jury found the device itself was not the cause of the patient's death, it found that Olympus failed to provide adequate warnings about the device and did not issue proper instructions on cleaning and maintenance.