تزعم دعاوى شبكة الفتق أن الأجهزة الطبية مصممة بشكل معيب ، وفشل المصنعون في تحذير مقدمي الخدمات الطبية بشكل صحيح من المضاعفات الخطيرة وفشل الجهاز.

يقبل مكتب المحاماة العملاء الذين تلقوا شبكة فتق ولديهم عمليات جراحية إضافية ، والالتهابات ، وانسداد الأمعاء ، وتلف الأعضاء ، و / أو الألم المزمن. لقد تم التعامل مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد شركات الأجهزة الطبية منذ 1955. نحن مدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير المحاكمات.

ماذا نعرف عن فتائل شبكة الفتق

مزاعم فتق شبكة

يجادل محامو الشاكية بأن العديد من منتجات فتق الشباك قد تم تصميمها بشكل خاطئ وتسببت في إصلاحات وإصابات لا داعي لها لم تكن لتحدث إذا تم استخدام منتج شبكي بديل أو خيوط جراحية بديلة.

القضية القانونية الرئيسية

تستخدم العديد من أجهزة فتق الشبكة مواد تقلص أو تقلص أو تصلب أو تهاجر أو تتسبب في تلف الأعصاب وتلف الأمعاء وتسبب الحاجة إلى مزيد من الجراحة.

وتظهر وثائق المحكمة أن الشركات المصنعة لأجهزة شبكات الفتق تقوم بتسويق وترويج المنتجات للاستخدام غير الضروري ، مثل إصلاح الفتق الأصغر الذي يمكن علاجه من خلال الجراحة بالمنظار والغرز.

فتق شبكة إصابات وآثار جانبية

فتق جدار البطن غالبا ما يتطلب تصحيح جراحي. يمكن للجراح عادة إصلاح الفتق دون استخدام منتج شبكي و / أو يمكن للجراح استخدام مادة ، مثل الشبكة البيولوجية ، التي تشكل مخاطر أقل من العديد من المنتجات الاصطناعية الموجودة حاليًا في السوق.

تم نقل العديد من منتجات شبكة الفتق الاصطناعية التي يتم تسويقها منذ عام 2005 إلى الوقت الحالي إلى السوق باستخدام ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير في 510k عملية التخليص وتم تصنيعها وتسويقها مع دراسات قليلة أو معدومة فيما يتعلق بسلامة الجهاز. تم سحب العديد من هذه الأجهزة بصمت من السوق أو تم سحبها بطريقة أخرى.

تحتوي هذه الأجهزة المشبكة للفتق المشكَّلة على عيوب في التصميم ومخاطر غير معلنة أو مكشوف عنها مثل: (1) استخدام "الطلاء" على منتج الشبكة الذي يسبب ردود فعل وإلتهابات معاكسة ؛ (2) شبكة المفرطة وتقلص الأنسجة. (3) ميل الشبكة للهجرة أو التقلص أو التحول إلى كرة أو كتلة صلبة ؛ و (4) رد فعل الجسم الغريب الزائد ورفض الشبكة في الجسم.

الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعًا عند المرضى هي الالتهابات ، أو الانسداد المعوي أو الالتصاقات ، وتلف الأعصاب الدائم الذي ينتج عنه الألم وتكرار الفتق وجراحة المراجعة لتصحيح المضاعفات وإزالة أو مراجعة الشبكة.

فتق شبكة مقابل الغرز

أحد الاختلافات الكبيرة بين استخدام منتج شبكي واستخدام الخيوط الجراحية هو أن الشبكة يمكن أن تتحرك أو تتقلص ، ثم تتسبب في ثقوب الأمعاء ، وأضرار الجهاز ، والعوائق ، والعمليات الجراحية الإضافية. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص إذا كان المنتج الشبكي معيبًا أو يحتوي على طلاء بولي بروبلين. إذا حدث انثقاب ، يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى عدوى خطيرة تعرف باسم الإنتان.

إذا كنت قد تلقيت فتقًا ، فإن بعض الأعراض التي يجب مراقبتها تشمل الإمساك والإرهاق والحمى والأمعاء المتهيجة والألم الشديد والمسالك البولية. إذا واجهت هذه الأعراض ، يجب عليك إبلاغ الطبيب المعالج على الفور. لسوء الحظ ، يمكن أن تحدث مضاعفات شبكة الفتق في غضون أيام إلى سنوات بعد زرع فتق الشبكة.

من المهم بالنسبة لمزود الرعاية الصحية الاحتفاظ بشبكة الفتق والأنسجة بعد إزالتها من جسمك. هذا دليل مهم في قضيتك. يمكن لمزود الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك معرفة كيفية القيام بذلك عن طريق الاتصال بمكتبنا وطلب المحامي كيم آدمز.

التعويض في دعوى فتق شبكة

إذا كنت تعاني من إصابات بسبب شبكة الفتق ، فسوف نبحث عن التعويضات التالية لك:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية الناتجة عن أي إصابات ناجمة عن شبكة الفتق ، مثل تكاليف جراحة المراجعة ؛ علاج الالتهابات ، والثقوب ، والعوائق ؛ ورعاية الألم المزمن.
  2. الألم والمعاناة الماضي والمستقبلي الناجم عن الإصابات ، وعملية العلاج والانتعاش.
  3. خسارة الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل ، إن وجدت.
  4. ضياع الماضي والمستقبل من القدرة على كسب المال.
  5. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة في التعامل مع حالات الإصابة الشخصية في 1955. اليوم ، نحن معترف بهم كقائد وطني في الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي على إصابات الجهاز الطبي. تلقينا أحكامًا من 150 على هيئة محلفين بمبلغ $ 1 مليون أو أكثر ، وفازنا بأحكام ومستحقات المحلفين بما يزيد عن مليار دولار 4.

لقد تم تعييننا كمستشار رئيسي معًا من قبل القاضي الذي يشرف على الدعاوى الفيدرالية المتعلقة بمنتجات شبكة فتق البولي بروبلين من CR Bard. وهذا يعني أننا نشارك مباشرة في التحقيق والاكتشاف الوطني الذي يؤمل أن يؤدي إلى نتيجة إيجابية للأفراد المصابين بهذا الجهاز الطبي.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا هو مؤتمر وطني يحضره محامو 1,500 كل عام حيث نعلم كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد الشركات المصنعة للأجهزة الطبية. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

تقييم حالة مجاني

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر نموذج سريري مجاني للشبكة. سيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد المحامين الذين يتعاملون مع دعوى Hernia Mesh.

إقرأ المزيد

هل سيتم التعامل مع حالة فتق شبكي كعمل جماعي؟

الدعوى الجماعية هي دعوى قضائية حيث يمثل عدد قليل من الأفراد مصلحة العديد من الأفراد. أحكام المحكمة ملزمة لجميع الأشخاص الذين هم جزء من العمل الطبقي. يجب على جميع أعضاء الفصل قبول التسوية ، حتى لو كان الفرد سيحصل على تعويض قليل أو بدون تعويض.

لن يتابع محامو فتق لدينا شبكة الإجراءات لعملائنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نمثل كل عميل وفقًا لحقائقه المحددة ، ونقيم أضرار كل عميل وفقًا لحقائقه المحددة. كل واحد من عملائنا لديه خيار تسوية أو عدم تسوية حالته.

للحصول على مناقشة تفصيلية حول الإجراءات الجماعية والأضرار الجماعية والتقاضي متعدد المجالات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا فئة العمل الجماعي صفحة للأضرار.

حكم فتق شبكة التسوية المبالغ

فتق شبكة التعويض

اعتبارا من هذا الوقت ، لم يكن هناك كبير التسويات الجماعية تنطوي على الفشل أو الإصابات الناجمة عن منتجات شبكة Physiomesh ، C-QUR ، أو Ventralex. بشكل عام ، ومع ذلك ، لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من المستوطنات حتى يحين الوقت الذي تتم فيه محاكمة عدد قليل من الدعاوى أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أشمل.

في 2011 ، قام CR Bard بتسوية حالات 3,000 عبر Kugel Mesh مقابل $ 184 مليون. كان هذا الجهاز ذكر من قِبل إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير في 2005 و 2006 و 2007. ومع ذلك ، استمر رفع دعاوى قضائية ضد شركة Bard وشركة DaVol التابعة لعدة سنوات. في يونيو / حزيران 2017 ، رفض قاض فدرالي في ولاية فرجينيا الغربية العديد من القضايا ، حكمًا بأن جميع الدعاوى المرفوعة ضد Bard قد تمت تسويتها مقابل مبلغ لم يكشف عنه.

على غرار دعاوى فتق شبكة ، وقدمت عدة آلاف من المطالبات ضد الشركات التي تصنع جهاز طبي شبكة المهبل. كان الهدف من هذا المنتج هو علاج النساء اللواتي يعانين من سلس البول. بمرور الوقت ، بدأ الجهاز في التآكل داخل جسم المريض ، مما تسبب في الألم المزمن ، وتلف الأعضاء ، والعمليات الجراحية المتكررة. تم تقديم أكثر من دعاوى 100,000 ضد الشركات المصنعة للشبكة عبر المهبل ، مما أسفر عن $ 3 مليار في المستوطنات.

المحاميان مايك بابانتونيو وروبرت برايس يناقشان قضية زرع الفتق للشبكة

مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

فتق فتحات

من 2005-2007 ، أصدر CR Bard عدة عمليات سحب تتضمن منتج Kugel Mesh الخاص به نتيجة لمشكلة مرتبطة بدموع الأمعاء المحتملة.

في 2012 ، أرسلت FDA Atrium a تحذير بسبب فشلها في الاستجابة ومعالجة العديد من الشكاوى من العدوى بسبب C-QUR. في 2015 ، أصدر قاض اتحادي أمرًا قضائيًا ، يمنع الأتريوم من تصنيع وتوزيع المنتج.

في مايو 2016 ، قام Ethicon بسحب شبكة Physiomesh المرنة بشكل طوعي بعد أن أثبتت الدراسات أن الجهاز الطبي كان من المرجح أن يؤدي إلى إصلاح فتق فاشل بالمقارنة مع منتجات مشابهة أخرى.

إيثيكون بالبريد إشعار السلامة الميدانية العاجلة إلى المستشفيات والأطباء لإخبارهم على الفور بإعادة أي منتجات غير مستخدمة ، والتوقف عن استخدام المنتج. واعترف Ethicon أن تصميم فتق شبكة لها كان واحدا من أسباب الفشل. في الوقت الذي أصدر فيه الإيثيون التحذير ، تلقت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير ما يقرب من عشرة تقارير عن الوفيات المرتبطة بـ Ethicon Physiomesh.

لماذا يتم استخدام فتق شبكة؟

في كل عام يتم إجراء ما يقرب من مليون عملية فتق في الولايات المتحدة. وكجزء من عملية الإصلاح ، فإن أحد الأجهزة التي يتم استخدامها غالبًا هو شبكة الفتق ، والتي يمكن تصنيعها من مواد صناعية أو أنسجة حيوانية. يهدف هذا المنتج إلى تعزيز المنطقة التي يوجد فيها الفتق بارز من أجل منع تكرار الفتق.

يحدث الفتق بسبب الضغط البطني والفتحة أو الضعف في العضلات أو النسيج الضام. يمكن أن يفرض الضغط البطني عضوًا (مثل الأمعاء أو المثانة أو الأمعاء) أو الأنسجة الدهنية للتنقل عبر منطقة الفتحة أو المنطقة الضعيفة.

يمكن أن ينتج الضغط البطني من أنشطة مختلفة ، مثل رفع الأشياء الثقيلة والإسهال والإمساك والسعال المزمن والحمل. السمنة تجعل حدوثها أكثر احتمالا. ضعف العضلات يمكن أن ينتج عن سوء التغذية ، والتدخين ، والإجهاد ، أو الجراحة السابقة.

تشمل أعراض الفتق آلامًا في البطن وانتفاخًا في الجلد والغثيان والقيء.

إقرأ المزيد

إذا كان الفتق لا يسبب أعراضًا أو مضاعفات ، فسيقوم الأطباء عمومًا بمراقبته لمعرفة ما إذا كان يتحسن أم لا. الجراحة هي الخيار الوحيد لحل دائم. إذا تم إجراء الجراحة ، فغالباً ما يتم استخدام جهاز فتق شبكي كجزء من عملية الإصلاح.

هناك عدة أنواع من الفتق: البطني (جدار البطن) ، الأربية (الفخذ الداخلي) ، الفخذ (أعلى الفخذ أو الفخذ الخارجي) ، الحجاب الحاجز (الجزء العلوي من المعدة) ، الشق الجراحي (من قطع جراحي) ، والسرة (السرة).

يحدث الفتق الجراحي عندما يحدث تمزق في عضلات جدار البطن ، مثل الموقع الذي تم فيه إجراء عملية قطع خلال عملية سابقة ، على سبيل المثال قسم C.

يمكن إجراء جراحات الفتق من خلال إصلاح مفتوح أو منظار البطن. مع إصلاح مفتوح ، يقوم الجراح بعمل شق كبير بالقرب من الفتق. باستخدام المنظار ، تكون الشقوق صغيرة الحجم.

يمكن أن تكون منتجات فتق الشبكة مصنوعة من مواد قابلة للامتصاص أو غير قابلة للامتصاص. إذا كان قابلاً للامتصاص ، فإن الشبكة تهدف إلى الانهيار بمرور الوقت ، بعد تشكل الأنسجة الطبيعية لمنع تكرار الفتق. إذا تم استخدام مادة غير قابلة للامتصاص ، فإن الشبكة مصممة للبقاء في الجسم بشكل دائم.

أحد المخاوف الرئيسية من الفتق هو الخنق. هذا هو المكان الذي يتم فيه منع تدفق الدم إلى العضو لأن العضو يندفع عبر جدار البطن أو الأنسجة.

وتشمل الشركات المصنعة لمنتجات فتق الشبكات: (i) Ethicon، Inc. ، وهي شركة تابعة لشركة Johnson & Johnson ، والتي تنتج Physiomesh ، Proceed ، و Prolene ؛ (2) Atrium Medical Corporation ، وهي فرع من شركة MAQUET للأنظمة الطبية ، التي تنتج C-QUR ؛ (ج) CR Bard (Davol) ، التي تنتج Composix و Ventralex و Kugel Patch و PerFix و Sepramesh ؛ و (iv) Covidien (مدترونيك) ، والتي تنتج Parietex.

فتق شبكة دعوى قضائية أخبار

فتق شبكة أخبار بانر

سر للمرضى الذين يخضعون لإصلاح الفتق

يمكن أن تحدث مضاعفات خطيرة إذا كسرت الشبكة الجراحية أو غيرها من الأجهزة أو تصبح ملتوية أو مزالة. تم استدعاء منتج شبكي شائع الاستخدام في 2006 من قبل الشركة المصنعة له بسبب احتمالية حدوث كسر داخل المرضى ، وقد تم تقديم عدد من الدعاوى الجماعية من قبل المرضى الذين عانوا من مضاعفات مثل ثقب الأمعاء والعدوى. ذكرت في وول ستريت جورنال - إصلاح فتق أسرار

J & J's Ethicon تتذكّر Physiomesh شبكة فتق مرنة مرنة

ذكرت شركة جونسون آند جونسون التابعة لشركة "إيكونيكون" واحدة من منتجاتها الشبكية الجراحية بعد أن أظهرت الدراسات معدلات مراجعة أعلى بعد نوع من إصلاح فتق طفيف باستخدام شبكة فيزيومك المركبة المرنة. ذكرت في MassDevice - استدعي Physiomech

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق فتق شبكة

فتق شبكة جراحي يزرع

الفتوق لديها نسبة عالية من تكرار ، والجراحون في كثير من الأحيان استخدام شبكة جراحية لتعزيز إصلاح فتق وتقليل المخاطر. على الرغم من هذه الميزة ، هناك حالات قد لا يوصى فيها باستخدام الشبكة الجراحية لإصلاح الفتق. ذكرت في ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير - يزرع شبكة

مقارنة بين اثنين من شبكة / مفاهيم التثبيت لإصلاح الفتق البطني بالمنظار والشق الجراحي

كانت هذه تجربة معشاة ذات شواهد تقارن بين نظامين للشبكة والتثبيت من أجل إصلاح الفتق البطني بالمنظار والفتق. تم إنهاء الدراسة في وقت مبكر لأن الباحثين كانوا يلاحظون نسبة تكرار عالية. ذكرت في التجارب السريرية - إصلاح بالمنظار

مقارنة بين نتائج إصلاح شبكة الاصطناعية مقابل خياطة من herniorrhaphy البطنية الابتدائية الانتخابية

إصلاح شبكة لديه انخفاض صغير في معدلات تكرار مقارنة مع خياطة الجروح الفتق البطني الأساسي ، ولكن زيادة خطر الإصابة بالعدوى المصلية والموقع الجراحية. ذكرت في مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية - الاصطناعية شبكة مقابل خياطة

إقرأ المزيد

تكرار على المدى الطويل والمضاعفات المرتبطة بإصلاح الفتق الجراحي الاختياري

بين المرضى الذين يخضعون لإصلاح الضربات ، ارتبط إصلاح خياطة مع زيادة خطر إعادة التشغيل لتكرار خلال السنوات 5 مقارنة مع شبكة مفتوحة وإصلاح شبكة بالمنظار. مع المتابعة على المدى الطويل ، فإن المنافع العائدة للشبكة تقابلها جزئياً المضاعفات المتعلقة بالشبكة. ذكرت في مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية - مضاعفات الفتق شبكة

إصلاح الفتق البطني مع شبكة تركيبية ومركبة وبيولوجية: الخصائص والمؤشرات ومظهر العدوى

"تتوفر ثلاثة أنواع رئيسية من الشبكة الاصطناعية. تتميز الشباك الاصطناعية ، مثل البولي بروبلين (PP) أو البوليستر ، بقوة الشد العالية والنسيج النشيط القوي .... إن الشبكة المركبة أو المغلفة بالحاجز هي عبارة عن طرف اصطناعي مزدوج الأطراف. وجود جانب جداري اصطناعي لتعزيز عملية إصلاح قوية وسطح حشوي يصد نمو الأنسجة ويقلل من تشكيل الالتصاق ، فالشبكة البيولوجية عبارة عن سدادة بشرية أو خنازير بقرية أو خنازير بقرية الكولاجين التي يمكن غرسها في وضع خارج البريتوني أو داخل البريتوني. ". ذكرت في العدوى الجراحية - إصلاح الفتق البطني

دراسة مستقبلية لمقاربة مصممة لإصلاح الفتق البطني الإبزيائي الشرياني

يتم إصلاح الفتق البطني الرئيسي ، مثل الفتق السري وداء شرسوفي ، أفضل إصلاح مع تعزيز جدار البطن عن طريق زرع شبكة. تم تطوير الأجهزة الشبكية باستخدام تقنية الشبكة المزدوجة الجوانب للإشارة المحددة للفتوق البطنية الصغيرة. هدفت هذه الدراسة إلى تحديد أفضل فتحات الشبكية المستخدمة في حالات مختلفة ، لكن الدراسة اضطرت لإنهائها لأن الباحثين لاحظوا نسبة عالية جدًا من العدوى. نشرت في التجارب السريرية - الفتق السري

مضاعفات الأجهزة الشبكية لإصلاح فتق السرة البريتوني: كلمة تحذير

"لقد رأينا العديد من المرضى الذين يعانون من مضاعفات خطيرة في وقت متأخر من هذه الشبكات وضعت داخل الصفاق. بعض هؤلاء المرضى يحتاجون إلى استئصال الأمعاء الدقيقة وإزالة شبكة. آخرون طوروا تكرارا بسبب نشر غير لائق للشبكة في موقف داخل البريتون". نشرت في المجلة العالمية للفتاق وجدار جدار البطن

الجوائز
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
الجوائز
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
شهادات الاعتزاز
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

شهادات الاعتزاز
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

Hernia Mesh Lawsuit – Settlement & Recall - Infection & Organ Damage

The hernia mesh lawsuits claim the medical devices are defectively designed and the manufacturers have failed to properly warn medical providers of the serious adverse complications and device failures.

Our law firm is accepting clients who received a hernia mesh and have experienced additional surgeries, infections, bowel obstruction, organ damage, and/or chronic pain. We have been handling lawsuits against medical device companies since 1955. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About the Hernia Mesh Lawsuits

hernia mesh allegations

Plaintiff attorneys argue that several of the hernia mesh products have been defectively designed and are causing unnecessary repairs and injuries that would not have occurred if a substitute mesh product or sutures had been utilized.

The Key Legal Issue

Many hernia mesh devices use materials that shrink, contract, harden, migrate, or fail - causing nerve damage, bowel damage, and cause the need for further surgery.

Court documents show the manufacturers of hernia mesh devices have been marketing and promoting the products for unnecessary use, such as the repair of smaller hernias that can be treated through laparoscopic surgery and stitches.

 

Hernia Mesh Injuries & Side Effects

Abdominal wall hernias often require surgical correction. A surgeon can typically repair a hernia without the use of a mesh product and/or the surgeon can use a material, such as a biologic mesh, that poses less risks than many synthetic products that are currently on the market.

Many of the synthetic hernia mesh products marketed since the year 2005 to the present were rushed to the market using the FDA’s 510k clearance process and were manufactured and marketed with little to no studies as to the safety of the device. Many of these devices have been silently withdrawn from the market or otherwise have been recalled.

These problematic hernia mesh devices contain design defects and undisclosed or under-disclosed risks such as: (1) use of “coatings” on the mesh product that cause adverse reactions and infections; (2) excessive mesh and tissue contraction; (3) tendency of the mesh to migrate, shrink, or turn into a hardened ball or mass; and (4) excess foreign body reaction and rejection of the mesh in the body.

The most common side effects in patients are infections, intestinal obstructions or adhesions, permanent nerve damage resulting in pain, hernia recurrence, and revision surgery to correct complications and remove or revise the mesh.

Hernia Mesh vs. Stitches

One of the big differences between using a mesh product and using sutures is that a mesh can move or shrink, and then cause bowel perforations, organ damage, obstructions, and additional surgeries. This especially is true if the mesh product is faulty or contains a polypropylene coating. If a perforation occurs, this can result in a serious infection known as sepsis.

If you have received a hernia mesh, some of the symptoms to watch for include constipation, fatigue, fever, irritable bowel, severe pain, and urinary issues. If you experience these symptoms, you should immediately report them to your treating physician. Unfortunately, hernia mesh complications can occur within days to years after the hernia mesh is implanted.

It's important for your healthcare provider to keep the hernia mesh and tissue after removing it from your body. This is an important piece of evidence in your case. Your healthcare provider can find out how to do this by contacting our office and asking for attorney Kim Adams.

 

Compensation in a Hernia Mesh Lawsuit

If you have sustained injuries because of a hernia mesh, we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical expenses that result from any injuries caused by the hernia mesh, such as the costs of the revision surgery; treatment of infections, perforations, and obstructions; and care for chronic pain.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss, if any.
  4. Past and future loss of capacity to earn money.
  5. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving medical device injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We have been appointed as co-lead counsel by the judge overseeing the federal lawsuits involving C.R. Bard's polypropylene hernia mesh products. This means that we are directly involved in the national investigation and discovery that will hopefully result in a positive outcome for the individuals injured by this medical device.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against medical device manufacturers. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Evaluation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Hernia Mesh Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Hernia Mesh litigation.

Read More

Will My Hernia Mesh Case be Handled as a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are a part of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement, even if an individual is going to receive little or no compensation.

Our Hernia Mesh attorneys will not be pursuing class actions for our clients. Instead, we represent each client on his/her specific facts, and we evaluate each client's damages on his/her specific facts. Each of our clients has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Hernia Mesh Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

hernia mesh compensation

As of this time, there have been no large mass tort settlements involving failures or injuries caused by the Physiomesh, C-QUR, or Ventralex mesh products. Generally, however, large groups of settlements do not occur until such time as a few lawsuits are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk.

In 2011, C.R. Bard settled 3,000 cases over its Kugel Mesh for $184 million. That device had been recalled by the FDA in 2005, 2006 and 2007. However, lawsuits against Bard and subsidiary DaVol continued to be filed for several years. In June 2017, a federal judge in West Virginia dismissed several of the cases, ruling that all claims against Bard had been settled for an undisclosed amount.

Similar to the hernia mesh lawsuits, many thousands of claims were filed against companies who manufactured a vaginal mesh medical device. This product was intended to treat women who were experiencing incontinence. Over time, the device began to erode inside the patient’s body, causing chronic pain, organ damage, and repeat surgeries. More than 100,000 lawsuits were filed against the transvaginal mesh manufacturers, resulting in $3 billion in settlements.

 

Attorneys Mike Papantonio and Robert Price Discuss the Hernia Mesh Implant Lawsuits

 
Watch More Videos
 

Hernia Mesh Recalls

From 2005-2007, C.R. Bard issued several recalls involving its Kugel Mesh product as a result of a problem associated with potential bowel tears.

In 2012, the FDA sent Atrium a warning over its failure to respond and address numerous complaints of infections due to the C-QUR. In 2015, a federal judge issued an injunction, prohibiting Atrium from manufacturing and distributing the product.

In May 2016, Ethicon voluntarily withdrew the Physiomesh Flexible Composite Mesh after studies determined the medical device was more likely to result in a failed hernia repair when compared to other similar products.

Ethicon mailed an urgent field safety notice to hospitals and doctors telling them to immediately return any unused products, and to stop using the product. Ethicon admitted that the design of its hernia mesh was one of the causes of the failures. At the time Ethicon issued the warning, the FDA had received approximately ten reports of fatalities associated with the Ethicon Physiomesh.

 

Why is a Hernia Mesh Utilized?

Each year approximately one million hernia surgeries are performed in the United States. As part of the repair, one of the devices often used is a hernia mesh, which can be made from synthetic material or animal tissue. This product is meant to reinforce the area where the hernia is protruding in order to prevent reoccurring hernias.

Hernias are caused by abdominal pressure and an opening or weakness in a muscle or connective tissue. The abdominal pressure can force an organ (such as the bowel, bladder or intestine) or fatty tissue to move through the opening or weak area.

The abdominal pressure can result from various activities, such as lifting heavy objects, diarrhea, constipation, chronic coughing and pregnancy. Obesity makes the occurrence more likely. Muscle weakness can result from poor nutrition, smoking, overexertion, or a prior surgery.

Symptoms of a hernia include abdominal pain, bulging of the skin, nausea, and vomiting.

Read More

If a hernia is not causing symptoms or complications, doctors generally will monitor it to see if it improves. Surgery is the only option for a permanent fix. If surgery is performed, a hernia mesh device often is utilized as part of the repair process.

There are several types of hernias: ventral (abdominal wall), inguinal (inner groin), femoral (upper thigh or outer groin), hiatal (upper stomach), incisional (from a surgical cut), and umbilical (navel).

The incisional hernia occurs when there is a tear in the muscles of the abdominal wall, such as the site where a cut was made during a previous operation, for example a C-section.

Hernia surgeries can be performed through open repair or laparoscopically. With open repair, the surgeon makes a large incision close to the hernia. With laparoscopic, the incisions are minimal in size.

Hernia mesh products can be made of absorbable or non-absorbable material. If absorbable, the mesh is meant to breakdown over time, after natural tissue has formed to prevent the hernia from recurring. If non-absorbable material is used, the mesh is intended to remain in the body permanently.

A key concern with hernias is strangulation. This is where the blood supply to an organ is being blocked because the organ is pushing through the abdominal wall or tissue.

Manufacturers of hernia mesh products include: (i) Ethicon, Inc., a subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson, which produces the Physiomesh, Proceed, and Prolene; (ii) Atrium Medical Corporation, a division of MAQUET Medical Systems, which produces the C-QUR; (iii) C.R. Bard (Davol), which produces the Composix, Ventralex, Kugel Patch, PerFix, and Sepramesh; and (iv) Covidien (Medtronic), which produces the Parietex.

 

Hernia Mesh Lawsuit News

Hernia Mesh News Banner

A Secret for Patients Undergoing Hernia Repair

Serious complications can occur if the surgical mesh or other devices break or become twisted or dislodged; a commonly used mesh product was recalled in 2006 by its manufacturer because of the potential for breakage inside patients, and a number of class-action suits have been brought by patients who experienced complications like bowel perforation and infection. Reported in Wall Street Journal - Hernia Repair Secrets

J&J’s Ethicon recalls Physiomesh flexible composite hernia mesh

Johnson & Johnson subsidiary Ethicon recalled one of its surgical mesh products after studies showed higher revision rates after a type of minimally invasive hernia repair using its Physiomesh flexible composite mesh. Reported in MassDevice - Physiomech Recall

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Hernia Mesh

Hernia Surgical Mesh Implants

Hernias have a high rate of recurrence, and surgeons often use surgical mesh to strengthen the hernia repair and reduce the risk. Despite this benefit, there are situations where the use of surgical mesh for hernia repair may not be recommended. Reported in FDA - Mesh Implants

Comparison of Two Mesh/Fixation Concepts for Laparoscopic Ventral and Incisional Hernia Repair

This was a randomized controlled trial comparing two systems of mesh and fixation for laparoscopic ventral and incisional hernia repair. The study was terminated early because the researchers were noticing a high recurrence rate. Reported in Clinical Trials - Laparoscopic Repairs

Comparison of outcomes of synthetic mesh vs suture repair of elective primary ventral herniorrhaphy

Mesh repair has a small reduction in recurrence rates compared with suture repairs for primary ventral hernias, but an increased risk of seroma and surgical site infections. Reported in Journal of American Medical Association - Synthetic Mesh Versus Sutures

Read More

Long-term Recurrence and Complications Associated With Elective Incisional Hernia Repair

Among patients undergoing incisional repair, sutured repair was associated with a higher risk of reoperation for recurrence over 5 years compared with open mesh and laparoscopic mesh repair. With long-term follow-up, the benefits attributable to mesh are offset in part by mesh-related complications. Reported in Journal of American Medical Association - Hernia Mesh Complications

Ventral hernia repair with synthetic, composite, and biologic mesh: characteristics, indications, and infection profile

"Three main types of prosthetic mesh are available. Synthetic mesh, such as polypropylene (PP) or polyester, is characterized by high tensile strength and vigorous tissue ingrowth . . . . Composite, or barrier-coated, mesh is a dual-sided prosthetic having a synthetic parietal side to promote a strong repair and a visceral surface that repels tissue ingrowth and decreases adhesion formation. Biologic mesh is a collagen-based human, porcine, or bovine scaffold that may be implanted in the extra- or intra-peritoneal position." Reported in Surgical Infection - Ventral Hernia Repairs

Prospective Study Of A Size Tailored Approach To Repair Umbilical And Epigastric Primary Ventral Hernias

Primary ventral hernias, such as umbilical and epigastric hernias, are best repaired with abdominal wall reinforcement by mesh implantation. Mesh-devices using a dual-sided mesh technology have been developed for the specific indication of small ventral hernias. This study was to determine the best size hernia meshes to use in different situations, but the study had to be terminated because the researchers perceived an abnormally high rate of infections. Published in Clinical Trials - Umbilical Hernias

Complications of mesh devices for intraperitoneal umbilical hernia repair: a word of caution

"We have seen several patients with serious late complications of these meshes placed intraperitoneally. Some of these patients needed small bowel resection and mesh removal. Others developed a recurrence because of improper deployment of the mesh in the intraperitoneal position." Published in The World Journal of Hernia and Abdominal Wall Surgery

 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
 
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

 
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.