فريدريك ج. ليفين

الملف الشخصي للمحامي

فريد ليفين

فريدريك ج. ليفين

ولد فريد ليفين عام 1937 في بينساكولا بولاية فلوريدا. نشأ في منزل يهودي محافظ ، مع والدته (روز) ووالده (آبي) وإخوته (ديفيد وهيرمان وستانلي ومارتن وألين). 

التحق فريد بمدرسة بينساكولا الثانوية ، ثم في جامعة فلوريدا ، حيث التقى بزوجته المستقبلية ، مارلين. كان الاثنان متزوجين لمدة 51 عامًا بعد وفاة مارلين في 6 فبراير 2011.

في عام 1958 ، التحق فريد بكلية الحقوق بجامعة فلوريدا. في الأسابيع القليلة الأولى من كلية الحقوق ، تلقى أخبارًا تفيد بأن شقيقه مارتن لم يكن لديه وقت طويل ليعيشه ، واستسلم للمراحل النهائية من سرطان الدم. اقترب فريد من عميد كلية الحقوق ، وطلب قضاء بضعة أيام بعيدًا عن المدرسة لحضور جنازة أخيه. نظر العميد إلى سجل فريد في المرحلة الجامعية الأولى ، وأخبره أن بإمكانه أخذ إجازة وأنه لا يحتاج إلى العودة لأنه لن يتمكن من الالتحاق بكلية الحقوق.

سافر فريد من جينسفيل إلى بينساكولا لحضور جنازة أخيه. متجاهلاً نصيحة العميد ، عاد فريد إلى كلية الحقوق حيث ازدهر ، واحتل المركز الثالث في فصله.

مهنة قانونية

في عام 1961 ، بدأ فريد العمل في مكتب المحاماة Levin & Askew (المعروف الآن باسم Levin Papantonio Rafferty ، Proctor ، Buchanan ، O'Brien ، Barr & Mougey) في بينساكولا. تأسست الشركة من قبل شقيق فريد ديفيد وروبين أسكيو ، الذي سيصبح في النهاية حاكم ولاية فلوريدا لفترتين ومرشحًا لمنصب رئيس الولايات المتحدة.

بدأ فريد مسيرته القانونية في قانون الأسرة ، ولكن بمجرد أن أوضح له أحد العملاء أن زوجها قال إنه سيقتل محامي طلاقها ، اختار التحول إلى القانون المدني العام. الحالة الأولى التي لفتت انتباه فريد الوطني كانت Thorshov ضد L&N. كان الدكتور جون ثورشوف ، وهو طبيب يبلغ من العمر ثمانية وثلاثين عامًا ، وزوجته وابنته البالغة من العمر أربع سنوات وابنه البالغ من العمر عامًا واحدًا في منزلهم في بينساكولا عندما خرج قطار شحن ضخم تديره شركة L&N عن مساره بالقرب من منزلهم في 9 نوفمبر 1977 ، وأطلقوا الأمونيا اللامائية. حاولت الأسرة الهروب من منزلها ، لكن الأبخرة تغلبت عليها. وتوفي الدكتور والسيدة ثورشوف ، وأصيب الطفلان بإصابات جسدية خطيرة. في عام 1980 ، تلقى فريد حكماً من هيئة المحلفين للعائلة بمبلغ 18 مليون دولار ، والذي تضمن أعلى جائزة تعويضية عن الإصابة الشخصية في أمريكا في ذلك الوقت.

بعد قضية ثورشوف ، ازداد الطلب على فريد كمحامي محاكمة - حيث قام بتأليف كتاب ، وإلقاء محاضرات في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، وتمثيل السياسيين ، وإصدار العديد من أحكام هيئة المحلفين بملايين الدولارات. بحلول وقت وفاته ، كان فريد قد تلقى أكثر من ثلاثين حكمًا من هيئة المحلفين بما يزيد عن 1,000,000،10,000,000،XNUMX دولار (ستة ما يزيد عن XNUMX،XNUMX،XNUMX دولار). تم إدراجه في كل طبعة من أفضل المحامين في أمريكا؛ كان عضوا في الدائرة الداخلية للمحامين ؛ وتم إدراجه في قاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة.

دعاوى التبغ

جاءت أعظم سمعة لفريد نتيجة لإعادة كتابة قانون استرداد الطرف الثالث لبرنامج Medicaid في فلوريدا ، والذي سمح لولاية فلوريدا بمقاضاة صناعة التبغ لتكاليف Medicaid في علاج الأمراض المرتبطة بالتدخين. بعد طرح الفكرة ثم كتابة التشريع ، اقترب فريد من صديق جيد كان عميد مجلس الشيوخ في فلوريدا. ثم ذهب الاثنان إلى حاكم فلوريدا ، الذي أحب الفكرة. وتمكن عميد مجلس الاعيان من اقرار القانون في اليوم الاخير من الجلسة خلال الدقائق الاخيرة من الجلسة.

بعد إقرار قانون فريد ، قال جون فرينش ، أحد أعضاء جماعة الضغط في شركة فيليب موريس يو إس إيه ، "من المحتمل أن تكون هذه أكبر مشكلة تم التعامل معها على الإطلاق في جوف الليل". كتب Gannett News Service: "ما صمموه كان فاتورة هي الأولى من نوعها مما يسهل على الدولة استرداد الأموال التي تنفقها لعلاج مرضى السرطان وغيرهم ممن يعانون من أمراض مرتبطة بالتدخين. . . . لقد خلق مثل هذه الضجة في تالاهاسي حيث تعهدت شركات التبغ بملايين الدولارات لمحاربة مشروع القانون إما عن طريق استخدام حق النقض أو استخدام الجلسة الخاصة القادمة بشأن الرعاية الصحية لتغييره أو إلغائه ".

قال جون بانهاف ، المدير التنفيذي لمنظمة العمل بشأن التدخين والصحة: ​​"يمكنني القول ، بدون مبالغة ، إن الحياة المالية لصناعة التبغ تعتمد على [حق النقض على مشروع القانون]". قال البروفيسور ريتشارد داينارد من جامعة نورث إيسترن: "إذا تم التوقيع على (مشروع القانون) ، فسيكون ذلك أكبر ضربة منفردة ضد صناعة التبغ وللصحة العامة التي تم القيام بها في الولايات المتحدة."

أدت الطعون في قانون فريد إلى الوصول إلى المحكمة العليا للولايات المتحدة ، ولكن تم تأييد قانون فريد. مباشرة بعد اختيار هيئة المحلفين ، استقرت صناعة التبغ مع ولاية فلوريدا مقابل مبلغ قياسي بلغ 13 مليار دولار. بعد ذلك بوقت قصير ، ظهر فريد في برنامج "20/20" على قناة ABC وهو يتحدث إلى المراسل جون ستوسيل. أثناء إجراء مقابلة معه من أجل القطعة ، أشعل فريد سيجارة ، والتي أبرزتها ABC في المقطع. بعد ذلك ، ظهر على صفحتين كاملتين من مجلة جورج ، واقفًا على ملابسه الخضراء في بدلة توكسيدو ، وشرب ويسكي كراون رويال ، ودخن سيجارة. ثم تم تسليط الضوء عليه في مقال مجلة تايم بعنوان: "هل المحامون يديرون أمريكا؟"

مهنة إدارة الملاكمة

في عام 1989 ، بدأ فريد في إدارة مهنة الملاكمة مع روي جونز جونيور ، الذي عاد لتوه من سيول ، كوريا ، بعد أن حصل على الميدالية الفضية في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية لعام 1988. لم يكن فريد يعرف شيئًا عن الملاكمة في الوقت الذي بدأ فيه تمثيل روي ، لكنه حارب المروجين المعروفين مثل دون كينج ودان دوفا وبوب أروم للحصول على روي في بطولة الوزن المتوسط ​​ضد جيمس توني. ربح روي المعركة ، وحصل على عقد طويل الأجل بملايين الدولارات مع HBO. حصل فريد على جائزة Al Buck لعام 1995 من اتحاد كتاب الملاكمة الأمريكية كمدير ملاكمة لهذا العام ؛ وحصل على جائزة رئيس مؤسسة Rocky Marciano في عام 2001.

أدار فريد مسيرة روي في الملاكمة من عام 1989 حتى عام 2003. وكانت آخر معركة لفريد مع روي ذروة كل من مسيرتي الملاكمة. رتب فريد لروى لمحاربة جون رويز في 1 مارس 2003 ، في لاس فيجاس لبطولة العالم للوزن الثقيل. فاز رويز مؤخرًا على إيفاندر هوليفيلد من أجل البطولة. كان وزن جونز رسميًا عند 193 رطلاً مقابل 226 رطلاً لـ Ruiz. بشكل لا يصدق ، انتهى الأمر بجونز بالفوز بقرار بالإجماع ، ليصبح أول حامل لقب وزن متوسط ​​سابق يفوز بلقب الوزن الثقيل في 106 سنوات. أصبح جونز أيضًا أول مقاتل في التاريخ يبدأ مسيرته المهنية كوزن متوسط ​​صغير ويصبح بطلاً للوزن الثقيل.

محاربة الظلم العنصري

كان فريد مناضلاً من أجل المساواة العرقية بدءًا من حركة الحقوق المدنية. عندما التحق فريد بكلية الحقوق بجامعة فلوريدا في عام 1958 ، التحق جورج ستارك ، وهو أول طالب أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يدخل مؤسسة عامة في ولاية فلوريدا ، مع فصل فريد. وصف فريد اليوم الأول على النحو التالي: "لقد وضعونا جميعًا في جانب واحد من القاعة وكان جورج وحده وحده ، باستثناء جميع أفراد الخدمة السرية. حتى تلك اللحظة ، لم أفكر كثيرًا في القضايا العرقية. نظر إليه وخرج قلبي إليه. كان هناك 350 طالب قانون أبيض وهذا الرجل الأسود. كان يرتدي بدلة ، والبقية منا يرتدون زي المتشردين. بدأوا في خلطه ، وهو ما يفرك قدميك معًا على الأرض كما يفعلون في السجن ... كنت أدرس دائمًا في المكتبة ، وكنت أنظر عبر جورج لأنه كان عليه دائمًا الجلوس على طاولة بمفرده وكان الجميع يجرون أقدامهم. لقد مزقتني. كنت أرغب في الذهاب والجلوس معه ، لكن لم تكن لدي الشجاعة ".

بعد الفصل الدراسي الأول من كلية الحقوق ، تم تصنيف فريد على رأس فصله. عندها وجد فريد الشجاعة للاقتراب من جورج ليصبح شريكه في الدراسة. ذات يوم كان فريد يدرس في المكتبة. دخل جورج ، وبدأ الجميع في خلطه. نهض فريد وتوجه إلى جورج ، وسأل عما إذا كان يريد أن يكون شريكه في الدراسة ، فقال جورج نعم. ظل الاثنان شريكين في الدراسة لمدة عامين. عندما تمت إعادة تسمية كلية الحقوق إلى كلية فريدريك جي ليفين للقانون في عام 1999 ، حضر جورج وتحدث لدعم فريد.

بعد وقت قصير من أن أصبح محامياً في بينساكولا في عام 1961 ، رشح فريد ناثانيال ديدموند ليكون أول أمريكي من أصل أفريقي كعضو في نقابة المحامين في مقاطعات إسكامبيا-سانتا روزا. لقد شعرت الجمعية بالإهانة من الترشيح لدرجة أن العديد من الزوجات يدعون مارلين ، زوجة فريد. سألوها كيف تود أن تجلس بجانب زوجة ناثانيال ديدموند في اجتماع البار. كانوا يأملون في الحصول على مارلين للذهاب إلى فريد وجعله يسقط الترشيح. بدلاً من ذلك ، أجابت مارلين: "أوه ، نعم ، سيكون ذلك رائعًا." علق فريد بأنه لم يكن أبدًا فخوراً بمارلين. عندما تم طرح الترشيح للتصويت أخيرًا ، صوّت الاتحاد سريعًا ضد ترشيح فريد.

واصل فريد جهوده نيابة عن المجتمع الأسود ، وفي عام 1999 ، حصل على تقدير من خلال تعيينه رئيسًا لبلد غانا ، وتلقي اقتباس من التجمع الأسود في الكونجرس الأمريكي ؛ والتي تنص جزئيًا على ما يلي: "نحن من أعضاء كتلة الكونجرس السود نرغب في الانضمام إلى مواطني العالم المميزين وغيرهم من القادة في تهنئتكم على تعيينكم كرئيس غاني. ولكن بشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، نود أن نكرم مساهماتكم مدى الحياة لتحسين حياة شعب غانا وشعب أمريكا. قبل فترة طويلة من إدراكنا لمساهماتك البارزة في إفريقيا ، علمنا بعملك كمحامي يقاتل إلى جانب المحرومين في أمريكا نشكرك على هذا الإرث الغني. نحن فخورون بأن المجتمع العالمي بدأ الآن في التعرف على خدمتك القيمة له أيضًا ".

العمل الخيري

في أوائل التسعينيات ، أعطى فريد الأستاذية الأولى في جامعة ويست فلوريدا ، تكريما لوالده. 

في عام 1998 ، قدم فريد لكلية الحقوق بجامعة فلوريدا ثاني أكبر تبرع نقدي على الإطلاق لكلية الحقوق العامة ، اعتبارًا من ذلك الوقت. في عام 1999 ، تم تغيير اسم كلية الحقوق رسميًا إلى كلية فريدريك ج. ليفين للقانون بجامعة فلوريدا.

في عام 1998 ، ساهم فريد بمبلغ 2 مليون دولار لمؤسسة عائلة ليفين وبابانتونيو. تعمل هذه المؤسسة غير الربحية على تعزيز الأفراد والمنظمات التي تهتم بالأطفال وتساعدهم في تلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية للحياة - الغذاء والمأوى والملبس وبيئة منزلية آمنة والتعليم.

في عام 2006 ، منح فريد كلية الحقوق بجامعة فلوريدا مبلغًا إضافيًا قدره 2 مليون دولار للمساعدة في تمويل مركز مارتن إتش ليفين للدعوة ، الذي أصبح أحد أكبر مراكز المناصرة في أمريكا.

في عام 2013 ، قدم فريد مليون دولار تخليداً لذكرى زوجته إلى مركز الطلاب والمجتمع في Lubavitch-Chabad في جامعة فلوريدا.

في عام 2015 ، منح فريد (مع أخت زوجته تيري ليفين) مليون دولار لجمعية الشبان المسيحيين في شمال غرب فلوريدا لدعم بناء منشأتها الجديدة في وسط مدينة بينساكولا.

في عام 2016 ، قدم فريد مليون دولار إلى معهد فلوريدا للإدراك البشري والآلي للمساعدة في تمويل مرفق أبحاث المعهد الذي تبلغ مساحته 1 ألف قدم مربع في مجالات الذكاء الاصطناعي والروبوتات والحوسبة التي تركز على الإنسان والحوسبة المرنة والموزعة والعديد من المجالات ذات الصلة.

في عام 2017 ، قدم فريد 550,000 ألف دولار أمريكي لجامعة غرب فلوريدا لإنشاء معهد روبين أسكو للدراسات متعددة التخصصات.

في عام 2017 ، قدم فريد 2 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى مستشفى بريجهام والنساء لإنشاء كرسي فريدريك جي ليفين المتميز في جراحة الصدر وأبحاث سرطان الرئة. تم تقديم الهدية تكريما للدكتور رافائيل بوينو لإنقاذ حياة فريد بعد تشخيص إصابته بسرطان الرئة في المرحلة الرابعة.

في عام 2018 ، قدم فريد منزلًا بقيمة 8 ملايين دولار ، بما في ذلك ممتلكاته الشخصية ، إلى جامعة ويست فلوريدا. تكريما للهدية ، قامت المدرسة بتسمية قسمها الحكومي باسم Reubin Askew Department of Government.

في عام 2019 ، أعطى فريد 300,000 سهم من أسهم شارلوت ويب هولدنجز ، LLC إلى كلية الحقوق بجامعة فلوريدا ليفين. في وقت الإعلان عن التبرع ، بلغت قيمة السهم 6 ملايين دولار.

في عام 2019 ، تبرع فريد بمليوني دولار لمعهد دانا فاربر للسرطان لتأسيس مؤسسة فريدريك جي ليفين في أبحاث السرطان متعدية.

الموت

توفي فريد في 12 يناير 2021 ، من COVID ؛ بعد أن نجا من المرحلة الرابعة من سرطان الرئة والدماغ. كان بدون أعراض لمدة 4 أيام وتوفي في غضون 10 أيام من ظهور أي أعراض ، على الرغم من تلقيه العلاج الأكثر تقدمًا وأفضل المتاح في الولايات المتحدة.

مصادر إضافية

فريد ليفين كليب

فريد ليفين ويكيبيديا

والتخلي عن شوبيز؟ (سيرة فريد ليفين)

Fredric G. Levin

Attorney Profile

Fred Levin

Fredric G. Levin

Fred Levin was born in 1937 in Pensacola, Florida. He grew up in a conservative Jewish household, with his mother (Rose), father (Abe), and brothers (David, Herman, Stanley, Martin, and Allen). 

Fred attended Pensacola High School, and then the University of Florida, where he met his future wife, Marilyn. The two had been married for 51 years upon Marilyn’s passing on February 6, 2011.

In 1958 Fred entered the University of Florida College of Law. In the first few weeks of law school, he received news that his brother Martin didn’t have long to live, succumbing to the end-stages of leukemia. Fred approached the dean of the law school, and asked for a few days away from school to attend his brother’s funeral. The dean looked at Fred’s poor undergraduate record, and told him that he could take the time off and that he didn’t need to return as he never would make it through law school.

Fred drove from Gainesville to Pensacola to attend his brother’s funeral. Ignoring the advice of the dean, Fred returned to law school where he thrived, finishing third in his class.

Legal Career

In 1961, Fred began practicing in the law firm of Levin & Askew (now known as Levin Papantonio Rafferty, Proctor, Buchanan, O’Brien, Barr & Mougey) in Pensacola. The firm was founded by Fred’s brother David and Reubin Askew, who eventually would go on to become a two-term governor of Florida and candidate for President of the United States.

Fred began his legal career in family law, but once a client explained to him that her husband said he would kill her divorce lawyer, he chose to switch to general civil law. The first case that brought Fred national attention was Thorshov v. L&N. Dr. Jon Thorshov, a thirty-eight-year-old physician, his wife, his four-year-old daughter, and his one-year-old son were at their home in Pensacola when a massive freight train operated by L&N derailed near their home on November 9, 1977, and released anhydrous ammonia. The family attempted to escape their home, but were overcome by the fumes. Dr. and Ms. Thorshov died, and both children sustained serious physical injuries. In 1980, Fred received a jury verdict for the family in the amount of $18 million, which included the highest personal injury compensatory award in America at the time.

After the Thorshov case, Fred became in high demand as a trial lawyer—writing a book, lecturing throughout the country, representing politicians, and racking up multiple million-dollar jury verdicts. By the time of his death, Fred had received more than thirty jury verdicts in excess of $1,000,000 (six in excess of $10,000,000). He was listed in every edition of Best Lawyers in America; was a member of the Inner Circle of Advocates; and was inducted into The Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

Tobacco Litigation

Fred’s greatest notoriety came as a result of rewriting Florida’s Medicaid Third-Party Recovery Act, permitting the state of Florida to sue the tobacco industry for Medicaid costs in treating smoking related illnesses. After coming up with the idea and then writing the legislation, Fred approached a good friend who was the dean of the Florida Senate. The two then went to the Governor of Florida, who loved the idea. The dean of the Senate was able to get the law passed on the last day of session, during the last minutes of the session.

After the passage of Fred’s law, John French, a lobbyist for Philip Morris USA, railed, “This is probably the single biggest issue to ever have been run through in the dead of the night.” Gannett News Service wrote: “What they engineered was a first-of-its-kind bill making it much easier for the state to recoup money it spends for treating cancer patients and others with smoking-related diseases. . . . Its created such an uproar in Tallahassee that tobacco companies have pledged millions of dollars to fight the bill either by getting it vetoed or using the upcoming special session on health care to change or eliminate it.”

John Banahaf, executive director of Action on Smoking and Health, said: “I could say, I think without exaggerating, that the financial life of the tobacco industry is riding on [the veto of the bill].” Professor Richard Daynard of Northeastern University said, "If [the bill] gets signed, it will be the single biggest blow against the tobacco industry and for the public health that's ever been done in the United states.”

Challenges to Fred’s law made it all the way to the United States Supreme Court, but Fred’s law was upheld. Immediately after jury selection, the tobacco industry settled with the State of Florida for a record $13 billion. Soon thereafter, Fred appeared on ABC's "20/20" talking to reporter John Stossel. While interviewing him for the piece, Fred lit up a cigarette, which ABC highlighted in the segment. Next, he appeared on two full pages of George Magazine, standing on his putting green in a tuxedo, drinking Crown Royal whiskey and smoking a cigarette. He was then highlighted in a Time Magazine article entitled: "Are Lawyers Running America?"

Boxing Management Career

In 1989, Fred began managing the boxing career of Roy Jones, Jr., who had just returned from Seoul, Korea, having earned a silver medal in the 1988 Olympic Games. Fred knew nothing about boxing at the time he began representing Roy, but he battled against the established promoters such as Don King, Dan Duva, and Bob Arum to get Roy a middleweight championship fight against James Toney. Roy won the fight, and earned a multimillion-dollar long-term contract with HBO. Fred received the 1995 Al Buck Award from the Boxing Writers Association of America as boxing manager of the year; and received the Rocky Marciano Foundation President's Award in 2001.

Fred managed Roy’s boxing career from 1989 – 2003. Fred’s last fight with Roy was the pinnacle of both of their boxing careers. Fred arranged for Roy to fight John Ruiz on March 1, 2003, in Las Vegas for the heavyweight championship of the world. Ruiz had recently defeated Evander Holyfield for the championship. Jones officially weighed in at 193 pounds to Ruiz’s 226 pounds. Incredibly, Jones ended up winning a unanimous decision, becoming the first former middleweight title holder to win a heavyweight title in 106 years. Jones also became the first fighter in history to start his career as a junior middleweight and become a heavyweight champion.

Fighting Racial Injustice

Fred was a fighter for racial equality beginning with the Civil Rights Movement. When Fred entered the University of Florida College of Law in 1958, George Starke, the first African American student to enter a public institution in the state of Florida, entered with Fred's class. Fred described the first day as follows: "They had all of us on one side of the auditorium and George was all by himself, except for all the Secret Service people. Up to that point, I had not thought much about racial issues. I looked over and my heart went out to him. Here were 350 white law students and this one black guy. He was dressed in a suit, and the rest of us were dressed like bums. They started shuffling him, which is rubbing your feet together on the floor like they do in prison. . . . I always studied in the library, and I would look across at George because he always had to sit at a table by himself and everybody would shuffle their feet. It just tore me up. I wanted to go over and sit with him, but I didn't have the guts."

After the first semester of law school, Fred was ranked at the top of his class. It was then that Fred found the courage to approach George to become his study partner. One day Fred was studying in the library. George walked in, and everyone started shuffling him. Fred got up and walked over to George, and asked if he wanted to be his study partner, and George said yes. The two remained study partners for the next two years. When the law school was renamed to the Fredric G. Levin College of Law in 1999, George attended and spoke in support of Fred.

Shortly after becoming a lawyer in Pensacola in 1961, Fred nominated Nathaniel Dedmond to be the first African American as a member of the Escambia-Santa Rosa Counties Bar Association. The Association was so offended by the nomination that they had several of the wives call Marilyn, Fred's wife. They asked her how she would like to be sitting next to Nathaniel Dedmond's wife at a bar meeting. They were hoping to get Marilyn to go to Fred and have him drop the nomination. Instead, Marilyn replied: "Oh, yes, that would be great." Fred commented that he had never been more proud of Marilyn. When the nomination finally came up for vote, the Association quickly voted against Fred’s nomination.

Fred continued his efforts on behalf of the black community, and in 1999, he received recognition by being named a Chief of the country of Ghana, and receiving a citation from the U.S. Congressional Black Caucus; which provides in part: “We of the Congressional Black Caucus wish to join with the distinguished world citizens and other leaders in congratulating you on your designation as a Ghanaian Chief. But more specifically, we wish to honor your lifelong contributions to bettering the lives of the people of Ghana and the people of America. Long before we became aware of your outstanding contributions in Africa, we knew of your work as a lawyer fighting on the side of underprivileged people in America. We thank you for that rich legacy. We are proud that the world community is now beginning to recognize your valuable service to it as well.”

Charitable work

In the early 1990s, Fred gave the first professorship at the University of West Florida, in honor of his father. 

In 1998, Fred gave the University of Florida law school the second largest cash donation ever given to a public law school, as of that time. In 1999, the law school name was officially changed to the University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law.

In 1998, Fred contributed $2 million to the Levin & Papantonio Family Foundation. This non-profit foundation promotes individuals and organizations that care for and assist children with the basic needs of life – food, shelter, clothing, a safe home environment, and education.

In 2006, Fred gave the University of Florida law school an additional $2 million to help fund the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center, which has become one of the top advocacy centers in America.

In 2013, Fred gave $1 million in memory of his wife to the Lubavitch-Chabad Student and Community Center at the University of Florida.

In 2015, Fred (along with his sister-in-law Teri Levin) gave $1 million to the YMCA of Northwest Florida to support the construction of its new facility in downtown Pensacola.

In 2016, Fred gave $1 million to the Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition to help fund the institute's 30,000 square foot research facility in artificial intelligence, robotics, human-centered computing, agile and distributed computing, and many related areas.

In 2017, Fred gave $550,000 to the University of West Florida to establish the Reubin Askew Institute for Multidisciplinary Studies.

In 2017, Fred gave $2 million to the Brigham & Women's Hospital to establish the Fredric G. Levin Distinguished Chair in Thoracic Surgery and Lung Cancer Research. The gift was given in honor of Dr. Raphael Bueno for saving Fred’s life after he was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer.

In 2018, Fred gave an $8 million home, including its personal belongings, to the University of West Florida. In honor of the gift, the school named its government department the Reubin Askew Department of Government.

In 2019, Fred gave 300,000 shares of Charlotte's Web Holdings, LLC stock to the University of Florida Levin College of Law. At the time of the announcement of the donation, the stock was valued at $6 million.

In 2019, Fred donated $2 million to Dana-Farber Cancer Institute to establish the Fredric G. Levin Endowment in Translational Cancer Research.

Death

Fred died on January 12, 2021, of COVID; after having survived stage 4 lung and brain cancer. He was asymptomatic for 10 days and died within 5 days of experiencing any symptoms, despite receiving the most advanced and best treatment available in the United States.

Additional Resources

Fred Levin Videos

Fred Levin Wikipedia

And Give Up Showbiz? (Fred Levin Biography)