Essure Lawsuit Lawyer - Settlement & Recal - Organ Organs Damage & ألم

تدعي الدعاوى القضائية في Essure أن جهاز تحديد النسل قد تم تصميمه بشكل معيب بحيث يمكنه التكسير والتحرك داخل جسم المرأة. يمكن أن يؤدي هذا الفشل إلى ثقب رحم المرأة وقناتي فالوب.

 

ماذا نعرف عن الدعاوى Essure

جوهر الدعوى

تم تقديم أكثر من دعاوى 16,000 ضد شركة Bayer and Conceptus Inc (مصنعي Essure) من قبل النساء اللواتي عانين من ضرر شديد في البطن عندما يتحرك جهاز تحديد النسل ويثقب الرحم وقناتي فالوب.

ويذكر المحامون أنه إذا كان الأطباء والمرضى قد عرفوا المخاطر ، لكانت النساء قد اختارن نوعًا مختلفًا من وسائل تحديد النسل ، مثل استئصال الرحم ، واستئصال البوق ، وربط الأنبوبة ، والتصلب الأنبوبي ، أو تطبيق المقاطع.

القضية القانونية الرئيسية

تم تصميم جهاز تحديد النسل Essure بإهمال بحيث يمكن أن يتفكك ويتسبب في ضرر رحم المرأة وقناتي فالوب.

 

اصابات جوهرية والآثار الجانبية

وفقا لإدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) ، فإن المخاطر قصيرة الأجل من Essure تشمل الألم الخفيف إلى المتوسط ​​، والتشنج ، والنزيف المهبلي ، والحوض أو عدم الراحة في الظهر.

مخاطر طويلة الأجل
الحمل غير المقصود ، بما في ذلك الحمل خارج الرحم (الحمل الذي يحدث خارج الرحم)
ألم الحوض
الهجرة (الحركة) من Essure من خلال قناتي فالوب إلى أسفل البطن والحوض
• السمنة .
تثقيب (ثقب) الرحم أو قناتي فالوب
رد فعل تحسسي لجهاز Essure ، خاصة عند النساء اللواتي لديهن حساسية تجاه ألياف البوليستر والنيكل والتيتانيوم والفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ والبلاتين والقصدير الفضي.
آلام المفاصل ، والتعب ، وغيرها من أعراض أمراض المناعة الذاتية.

إذا انفصلت غرسة Essure ، وكسرها و / أو حركتها ، فغالباً ما تتطلب محاولة الإزالة عمليات جراحية متعددة ، تتطلب أحيانًا إزالة الرحم بالكامل (استئصال الرحم).

تلقت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير أكثر من تقارير 26,000 عن المشاكل المتعلقة بـ Essure للفترة من 2002 حتى الوقت الحاضر. كانت معظم التقارير الواردة منذ 2013 تقارير طوعية ، معظمها من النساء اللواتي تلقين غرسات Essure.

كانت المشاكل الأكثر شيوعًا هي الألم ، والحيض الثقيل / عدم انتظام الدورة الشهرية ، والصداع ، والتعب ، وتقلبات الوزن ، وحركة الجهاز ، والجهاز الذي يعمل بشكل مختلف عن المتوقع ، وكسر الجهاز.

ارتبط FDA باستخدام Essure مع ثمانية عشر حالة إجهاض على الأقل. ومع ذلك ، تضع شركة استشارات خاصة الرقم أقرب إلى 300.

 

التحذيرات Essure & Recalls

في سبتمبر 2015 ، عقدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية FDA اجتماعًا مع لجنة أمراض النساء والتوليد التابعة للجنة الاستشارية للأجهزة الطبية للاستماع إلى الآراء العلمية والسريرية وكذلك تجارب المرضى مع نظام Essure. نتيجة لاجتماعات اللجنة والتعليقات العامة ، أمرت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير باير لبدء إجراء دراسة مراقبة ما بعد السوق بخصوص فوائد ومخاطر Essure.

في تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 2016 ، طلبت ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير من شركة باير لوضع تحذير الصندوق الاسود على عبوات Essure تحذيرية من مخاطر الانثقاب وآلام البطن والحساسية ، من بين المضاعفات المحتملة الأخرى.

في أبريل 2018 ، و ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير المقيدة المبيعات من Essure إلى مقدمي الخدمات الطبية الذين وافقوا على الذهاب من خلال قائمة مرجعية من القضايا المحتملة مع المرضى قبل الموافقة على زرع Essure.

في يوليو 2018 ، كشفت باير أنها لن تبيع Essure في الولايات المتحدة بحلول نهاية 2018.

أصدرت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA عدة تحذيرات ومتطلبات فيما يتعلق ببيع Essure. وافق باير على التوقف عن بيع جهاز تحديد النسل في نهاية 2018.
 

ما هو الغرض من Essure

ايسوري بانر

Essure جهاز منع الحمل الدائم غير القابل للرجوع وغير الجراحي للنساء وضعته شركة Conceptus Inc ، وهي شركة مملوكة لشركة Bayer. تمت الموافقة على Essure للاستخدام في الولايات المتحدة في 2002 كجزء من موافقة FDA قبل السوق معالجة. لا يتطلب إدخال Essure شقًا (قطعًا) أو تخديرًا عامًا ، وهو أيضًا غير هرموني. تم زرع أكثر من أجهزة 750,000 في النساء في جميع أنحاء العالم.

خلال العملية ، والتي تستغرق عادة 10 دقائق ويمكن إجراؤها في مكتب الطبيب ، يتم إدخال ملفات معدنية مرنة (بما في ذلك النيكل والتيتانيوم) من خلال المهبل وعنق الرحم وفي قناة فالوب. وبمجرد وصوله إلى مكانه ، ينمو النسيج داخل الجهاز وحوله طوال فترة ثلاثة أشهر ويشكل انسدادًا في قناتي فالوب. يخلق تراكم الأنسجة حاجزًا يمنع الحيوانات المنوية من الوصول إلى البيض ، وبالتالي منع الحمل.

بعد ثلاثة أشهر من وضع الجهاز في الجسم ، يقوم أخصائي الأشعة بإجراء اختبار للتأكد من سد قناتي فالوب تمامًا ، ويمكن للمريض الاعتماد على نظام تحديد النسل من Essure لمنع الحمل. يتم حقن عامل تباين (صبغة) من خلال عنق الرحم ، ويتم أخذ الأشعة السينية لفائف Essure للتأكد من عدم تسرب الصبغة بعد الجهاز الطبي. يُشار إلى هذا الاختبار باسم اختبار تأكيد Essure.

حصلت Essure على موافقة مسبقة من السوق من قبل FDA في 2002. اعتمدت هذه الموافقة على كونسبتوس الذي أجرى دراستين مستقبليتين ، فشلت كونسيبتيوس في القيام به. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تلقت Conceptus أكثر من تقارير 30,000 عن مشاكل مع Essure خلال فترة العشر سنوات الأولى. ومع ذلك ، فشلت Conceptus في إصدار تحذير للجمهور حول هذه المشاكل ، وفشلت في إخطار إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير بها.

إقرأ المزيد

ووفقًا لما أوردته الجهة المصنعة ، فإن جهاز Essure الطبي هو 99.83٪ فعال في منع الحمل. ومع ذلك ، فإن دراسة نشرت في المجلة منع الحمل التي درست فعالية Essure في ظروف العالم الحقيقي قدمت أدلة مقنعة أن هذه النسبة مرتفعة للغاية.

وضع غير مثالي للجهاز ، وكذلك انسداد غير مكتمل لقناتي فالوب ، هي بعض الحالات التي قد تزيد من خطر حدوث حمل غير متوقع. كذلك ، لم يقم باحثو Conceptus بدراسة النساء الأصغر من 21 أو أقدم من 45 ، ولم يتابعوا مع المرضى بعد فترة خمس سنوات.

حصدت بيانات العالم الحقيقي أن النساء 96 من 1,000 (9.6٪) سيحملن خلال عشر سنوات. وبالتالي ، فإن الفعالية الفعلية لجهاز Essure تكون محتملة بين 91٪ إلى 99٪.

 

Essure Lawsuit أخبار

إيسور أخبار بانر

ستدفع باير 1.6 مليار دولار لإنهاء الدعاوى الأمريكية المتعلقة بمنع الحمل:

وافقت شركة Bayer AG على دفع 1.6 مليار دولار لتسوية معظم الدعاوى القضائية الأمريكية بشأن جهاز منع الحمل Essure الذي تم سحبه الآن ، والذي قالت بعض النساء إنه تسبب في نزيف مفرط وألم في الحوض أو فشل في منع الحمل. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق بلومبرج نيوز - تسوية إسور

إرتفعت باير إيسور لاسوزيات مع إقدام إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) على تحذيرات أقوى:

ارتفع عدد الدعاوى من إيسور على مدى العامين الماضيين بعد أن أجبر المنظمون الأمريكيون مسئولي باير على تعزيز التحذيرات بشأن مخاطر الجهاز - بما في ذلك النزيف والألم وتلف الأعضاء - ووضع قيود على المبيعات على المنتج. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق بلومبرغ نيوز - Essure Lawsuits صاروخ

باير لوقف بيع جهاز التحكم في ولادته المثير للجدل الذي أثار الآلاف من الدعاوى:

Essure ، جهاز التعقيم غير الجراحي الذي يتم إدخاله في قناتي فالوب ويمنع الحمل عن طريق إنتاج الأنسجة الندبية التي تمنع الحيوانات المنوية من إخصاب البويضات ، لن يعود متوفرًا في الولايات المتحدة بعد ديسمبر 31 ، 2018. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مجلة تايم

تفرض إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA تحذيرات جديدة وبيانات جديدة لجهاز Essure لمنع الحمل:

وقالت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية إنها ستتطلب علامة جديدة من "التحذير من الصندوق الأسود" من أجل مادة "إيسور" ، وهي وسيلة منع حمل دائمة قابلة للزرع. تم وضع تحذير في الصندوق الأسود في وضع العلامات على المنتجات "مصممًا للفت الانتباه إلى المخاطر الخطيرة أو التي تهدد الحياة" ، وفقًا لموقع إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير. ويأتي إعلان يوم الاثنين بعد أن قدمت أكثر من النساء 5,000 شكوى مع إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير بين نوفمبر 2002 و مايو 2015 ، يشكو من حالات الحمل غير المقصودة ، الإجهاض ، حالات الإملاص وألم شديد ونزيف بعد زرع Essure. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أخبار سي إن إن - تحذير ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير

إقرأ المزيد

تحدد إدارة الغذاء والدواء هدف فبراير للعمل على غرسات منع الحمل

ويهدف المسؤولون الصحيون الفيدراليون إلى نشر النتائج التي توصلوا إليها بشأن زراعة وسائل منع الحمل المثيرة للجدل بنهاية شهر فبراير. نشرت إدارة الغذاء والدواء بيانًا موجزًا ​​على الإنترنت حول مراجعتها للجهاز المعدني "إيسور" ، والذي خضع لآلاف الشكاوى من قبل النساء اللاتي يبلغن عن الألم المزمن والنزيف والصداع. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقرير العالمي

جهاز تعقيم Essure يسبب "القلق على السلامة الجادة": دراسة:

يبدو أن دراسة جديدة تؤكد ما قالته بعض النساء عن جهاز دائم لتحديد النسل يدعى Essure. ووجد الباحثون أن النساء اللواتي استخدمن الجهاز كان لديهن 10 عددًا من العمليات لإصلاح المشاكل كنساء أجريت لهن جراحة بدلاً من ذلك. تقوم إدارة الغذاء والدواء بإلقاء نظرة على الشكاوى المتعلقة بالجهاز - زوج من الملفات المعدنية يتم إدخالها في قناتي فالوب. وتقول آلاف النساء إنهن عانين من مشاكل بعد تركيبها ، من الحساسية إلى المعدن المستخدم لألم شديد في البطن. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أخبار NBC

يشكك الخبراء في سلامة زرع حبوب منع الحمل المرتبطة بالألم:

خضعت عملية زرع حبوب منع الحمل (13-year-old) لتدقيق جديد يوم الخميس حيث ناقش خبراء الصحة الفيدرالية مجموعة من المشاكل التي أبلغت عنها نساء مزروعتين بجهاز معدني ، بما في ذلك الألم المزمن والنزيف والتعب. وغالبًا ما يتم زرع غرسة Essure من الشركة المصنعة الألمانية Bayer للنساء كخيار غير جراحي وحيد لتحديد النسل بشكل دائم. ولكن منذ 2013 ، تلقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء آلاف الشكاوى حول الجهاز من النساء والأطباء. وعقدت الوكالة اجتماعاً يوم الخميس ليقوم خبراءها الخارجيون بمراجعة سلامة وفعالية Essure. توصيات الفريق ليست ملزمة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق سي بي اس نيوز

 

ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق بجهاز تحديد النسل Essure

تفرض إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية قيودًا على بيع وتوزيع Essure لحماية النساء وتطلب أن يتلقى المرضى معلومات عن المخاطر

"لقد قمنا بتقييم معلومات جديدة عن استخدام Essure عن كثب ، وبناءً على استعراضنا لمجموعة متنامية من الأدلة ، نعتقد أن هذا المنتج يتطلب ضمانات إضافية وفعالة لضمان قدرة النساء على اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة بشأن المخاطر عند النظر في هذا الأمر. الخيار ، "وقال مفوض ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير سكوت غوتليب ، MD لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق FDA Essure News Release

تتخذ إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية إجراءات إضافية لفهم سلامة Essure بشكل أفضل ، وإبلاغ المرضى بالمخاطر المحتملة

على مدى السنوات الماضية 14 ، قامت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA بمراجعة كمية كبيرة من المعلومات المتعلقة باستخدام Essure. في حين تعتقد إدارة الأغذية والأدوية أن Essure تظل خيارًا مناسبًا لغالبية النساء اللواتي يسعين للحصول على شكل دائم من وسائل تحديد النسل ، قد تكون بعض النساء عرضة للمضاعفات الخطيرة. قد تشمل هذه الألم المستمر ، ثقب في الرحم أو قناة فالوب من هجرة الجهاز ، نزيف غير طبيعي والحساسية أو تفاعلات فرط الحساسية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق إعلان سلامة ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير

Essure دائم التحكم في الولادة

عقدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) اجتماعاً للجنة استشارية لأمراض النساء والولادة التابعة للجنة الاستشارية للأجهزة الطبية في سبتمبر 24 ، 2015 ، للاستماع إلى آراء الخبراء العلمية والسريرية وكذلك تجارب المرضى فيما يتعلق بفوائد نظام Essure ومخاطره. إضافة إلى ذلك ، ظل جدول عام يستدعي التعليقات على الجهاز مفتوحًا اعتبارًا من شهر يوليو 22 و 2015 حتى أكتوبر 24 و 2015. تلقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء أكثر من تعليقات 2,800 في هذا الجدول وتقوم بمراجعة كل تعليق والآراء والمنظورات المعبر عنها. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق منتجات FDA والأجهزة الطبية

إقرأ المزيد

سلامة وفعالية التعقيم hysteroscopic مقارنة مع التعقيم بالمنظار: دراسة الأتراب الرصد

المرضى الذين يخضعون لتعقيم تنظير الرحم لديهم مخاطر مماثلة من الحمل غير المقصود ولكن أكثر من 10-fold خطر أعلى من إعادة التشغيل مقارنة مع المرضى الذين يخضعون للتعقيم بالمنظار. يجب مناقشة فوائد ومخاطر كلا الإجراءين مع المرضى لاتخاذ القرارات المستنيرة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق المجلة الطبية البريطانية

التقييم الإشعاعي لوضع جهاز تحديد النسل الدائم المسمى Hure

المضاعفات الأكثر شيوعا هي الانثقاب والهجرة (نحو تجويف الرحم أو البريتوني) ، وفشل الانسداد. في تصوير الرحم ، يعد التداخل الوعائي هو السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لخطأ التشخيص. يحتاج أخصائي الأشعة إلى معرفة كيفية التعرف على الجهاز على تقنيات تصوير مختلفة ، وكيفية التحقق من وضعه وتشغيله بشكل صحيح ، وكيفية تشخيص المضاعفات. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق طب إشعاعي

 
جوائز وتكريم
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
 
جوائز وتكريم
الجوائز
  • أفضل مكاتب المحاماة: US أخبار اند وورلد ريبورت
  • أفضل المحامين في أمريكا
  • الوطنية قاعة محاكمة المحامين للمشاهير
  • فريق محاكمة العدالة العامة لهذا العام
  • النائب مارتنديل-هابل البارز المرأة
  • قانون ناشونال جورنال النخبة المحامين محاكمة
  • SuperLawyers
 
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
لجنة التحكيم الأحكام القضائية
أحكام لجنة التحكيم
  • 1 مليار $ في معيبة حالة المنتج
  • $ شنومك مليون في تحطم طائرة
  • 380 مليون $ في حالة التلوث البيئي
  • 150 مليون $ في حالة عيب المخدرات
  • 42 مليون $ في حالة الغش
  • 31 مليون $ في حالة الأخطاء الطبية
  • $ شنومك مليون في حادث السيارة
  • $ شنومك مليون في القطار ديرايلمنت
التوصيات
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

 
التوصيات
بيانات العميل

فيما يلي بعض الملاحظات التي أرسلها العملاء إلينا:

أنت أنقذت حياتي.
أود أن أعرب عن عميق تقديري.
تقصد الكثير لعائلتنا.
أنا ممتن جدا.

لقراءة تعليقات عملائنا ، قم بزيارة موقعنا صفحة التزكية.

Essure Lawsuit Lawyer - Settlement, Recall & 2018 Updates
Essure Lawsuit Header

The Essure lawsuit claims the birth control device is defectively designed so that it can fracture and move within a woman’s body. This failure can cause a woman's uterus and fallopian tubes to become punctured.

Our law firm is accepting clients who received the Essure Birth Control device and suffered injuries such as organ damage, revision surgery, and chronic pain.

We have been handling lawsuits against medical device manufacturers since 1955. Each year we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

Why Are Essure Lawsuits Being Filed?

Essure Litigation

More than 16,000 lawsuits have been filed against Bayer and Conceptus Inc. (the manufacturers of Essure) by women who have suffered severe abdominal damage when the birth control device moves and punctures the uterus and fallopian tubes.

Attorneys state that if doctors and patients had known the risks, then women would have chosen a different form of birth control, such as a hysterectomy, salpingectomy, tubal ligation, tubal fulguration, or application of clips.

The Key Legal Issue

The Essure birth control device was negligently designed so that it can break apart and cause harm to a woman's uterus and fallopian tubes.

 

Essure Injuries & Side Effects

According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the short-term risks from Essure include mild to moderate pain, cramping, vaginal bleeding, and pelvic or back discomfort.

Long-Term Risks
Unintended pregnancy, including ectopic pregnancy (pregnancy occurring outside of the uterus)
Pelvic pain
Migration (movement) of Essure through the fallopian tubes into the lower abdomen and pelvis
Obesity
Perforation (puncturing) of the uterus or fallopian tubes
Allergic reaction to the Essure device, especially in women who have a sensitivity to polyester fibers, nickel, titanium, stainless steel, platinum, and silver-tin.
Joint pain, fatigue, and other autoimmune disease symptoms.

If the Essure implant separates, breaks and/or moves, attempted removal often requires multiple surgeries, sometimes requiring removal of the uterus entirely (a hysterectomy).

The FDA has received more than 26,000 reports of problems related to Essure for the period 2002 through the present. The majority of the reports received since 2013 have been voluntary reports, mostly from women who received Essure implants.

The most frequent problems have been pain, heavier menses/menstrual irregularities, headache, fatigue, weight fluctuations, movement of the device, device operating differently than expected, and device breakage.

The FDA has associated the use of Essure with at least eighteen miscarriages. However, a private consulting firm places the number closer to 300.

 

Compensation in an Essure Lawsuit

If your Essure birth control device has caused you injuries, we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical expenses to treat your injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering that results from the defective device, both from a physical and mental standpoint.
  3. Wage loss, if any.
  4. Other economic losses experienced because of your injuries.
  5. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 
 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving medical device injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against medical device manufacturers. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Evaluation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Essure Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Essure litigation.

Read More

Will My Essure Case be Handled as a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are a part of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement, even if an individual is going to receive little or no compensation.

Our Essure attorneys will not be pursuing class actions for our clients. Instead, we represent each client on his/her specific facts, and we evaluate each client's damages on his/her specific facts. Each of our clients has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Essure Lawsuit Settlement Amounts

 Essure compensation

As of this time, there have been no large group settlements involving Essure. Litigation likes this takes many years to resolve, with teams of lawyers spending millions of dollars trying to determine exactly what occurred, and how it could have been prevented. Generally, large groups of settlements do not occur until such time as a few cases are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk.

 

Attorney Mike Papantonio Discusses the Essure Lawsuits

 
Watch More Videos
 

Essure Warnings & Recalls

In September 2015, the FDA held a meeting with the Obstetrics and Gynecology Devices Panel of the Medical Devices Advisory Committee to hear scientific and clinical opinions as well as patient experiences with the Essure system. As a result of the committee meetings and public comments, the FDA ordered Bayer to begin conducting a post-market surveillance study regarding Essure’s benefits and risks.

In November 2016, the FDA required Bayer to place a black box warning on Essure packages warning of the risks of perforation, abdominal pain, and allergy, among other potential complications.

In April 2018, the FDA restricted sales of Essure to medical providers who agreed to go through a checklist of potential issues with patients before agreeing to implant Essure.

In July 2018, Bayer revealed that it would not sale Essure in the United States by the end of 2018.

The FDA has issued numerous warnings and requirements regarding the sale of Essure. Bayer has agreed to stop selling the birth control device as of the end of 2018.
 

What is the Purpose of Essure

Essure Banner

Essure is a permanent, irreversible, non-surgical birth control device for women developed by Conceptus Inc., a company owned by Bayer. Essure was approved for use in the United States in 2002 as part of the FDA pre-market approval process. The insertion of Essure does not require an incision (cut) or general anesthesia, and is also non-hormonal. More than 750,000 devices have been implanted in women worldwide.

During the procedure, which generally takes ten minutes and can be performed in a physician's office, flexible metal coils (including nickel and titanium) are inserted through the vagina and cervix and into the fallopian tubes. Once in place, tissue grows in and around the device over a period of three months and forms a blockage in the fallopian tubes. The build-up of tissue creates a barrier that keeps sperm from reaching the eggs, thus preventing conception.

Three months after the device is placed in the body, a radiologist performs testing to make sure that the fallopian tubes are completely blocked and that the patient can rely on the Essure birth control system to prevent pregnancy. A contrast agent (dye) is injected through the cervix, and an x-ray is taken of the Essure coils to make sure no dye leaks past the medical device. This test is referred to as The Essure Confirmation Test. For more information, visit Essure Wikipedia.

Essure received pre-market approval by the FDA in 2002. This approval was based on Conceptus conducting two future studies, which Conceptus failed to do. Additionally, Conceptus received more than 30,000 reports of problems with Essure over its first ten year period. Yet, Conceptus failed to issue a warning to the public about these problems, and failed to notify the FDA of them.

Read More

According to the manufacturer, the Essure medical device is 99.83% effective at preventing pregnancy. However, a study published in the journal Contraception that examined the effectiveness of Essure in real-world conditions provided convincing evidence that this percentage is highly inflated.

Non-perfect placement of the device, as well as an incomplete blockage of the fallopian tubes, are some of the conditions that may increase the risk of an unexpected pregnancy. Also, Conceptus’ researchers did not examine women younger than 21 nor older than 45, neither did they follow up with patients after a five-year period.

Real-world data has incidated that up to 96 women out of 1,000 (9.6%) will get pregnant within ten years. Thus, the actual effectiveness of the Essure device is likely between 91% to 99%.

 

Essure Lawsuit News

Essure News Banner

Bayer Essure Lawsuits Skyrocketed as FDA Pushed Stronger Warnings:

The number of Essure suits has skyrocketed over the last two years after U.S. regulators forced Bayer officials to beef up warnings about the device’s risks -- including bleeding, pain and organ damage -- and put sales restrictions on the product. To read more, click Bloomberg News - Essure Lawsuits Skyrocket

Bayer paid doctors millions for questionable birth control device:

A CNN analysis of federal data, shows that from August 2013 through December 2017, Bayer paid 11,850 doctors $2.5 million related to Essure for consulting fees and similar services. To read more, click CNN News - Physician Payment

Bayer to Stop Selling Controversial Birth Control Device That Sparked Thousands of Lawsuits:

Essure, a non-surgical sterilization device that is inserted into the fallopian tubes and prevents pregnancy by producing scar tissue that blocks sperm from fertilizing eggs, will no longer be available in the U.S. after December 31, 2018. To read more, click Time Magazine

FDA mandates new warnings, new data for Essure contraceptive device:

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration said it will require a new "black box warning" label for Essure, an implantable permanent contraceptive device. A black box warning in the labeling of products is "designed to call attention to serious or life-threatening risks," according to the FDA website. Monday's announcement comes after more than 5,000 women filed grievances with the FDA between November 2002 and May 2015, complaining of unintended pregnancies, miscarriages, stillbirths and severe pain and bleeding after an Essure implantation. To read more, click CNN News - FDA Warning

Read More

FDA sets February target for action on much-debated contraceptive implant:

Federal health officials aim to release their findings on a much-debated contraceptive implant by the end of February. The Food and Drug Administration posted a brief statement online about its review of the metallic device, Essure, which has been subject to thousands of complaints by women reporting chronic pain, bleeding and headaches. To read more, click U.S. News and World Report

Essure Sterilization Device Causes 'Serious Safety Concern': Study:

A new study appears to confirm what some women have said about a permanent birth control device called Essure. Researchers found that women who used the device had 10 times as many operations to fix problems as women who had surgery instead. The Food and Drug Administration is taking a look at the complaints about the device — a pair of metal coils inserted into the fallopian tubes. Thousands of women say they've had problems after being fitted with it, from allergies to the metal used to severe abdominal pain. To read more, click NBC News

Contraceptive implant alarm: Safety fear over popular NHS sterilisation device after women who use it are ten times more likely to need an operation later:

Safety fears are raised today about a popular and convenient contraceptive implant provided on the NHS to 1,500 women every year. The Essure device offers permanent sterilization for those who no longer want to have children and takes only ten minutes to insert without needing surgery or general anesthetic. But research published today suggests there is a significant risk the implant can cause health problems. To read more, click The Daily Mail

Experts question safety of birth control implant linked to pain:

A 13-year-old birth control implant came under new scrutiny Thursday as federal health experts discussed a host of problems reported by women implanted with the metallic device, including chronic pain, bleeding and fatigue. The Essure implant from German manufacturer Bayer is frequently pitched to women as the only non-surgical option for permanent birth control. But since 2013, the Food and Drug Administration has received thousands of complaints about the device from women and doctors. The agency convened a meeting Thursday to have its outside experts review Essure's safety and effectiveness. The panel's recommendations are not binding. To read more, click CBS News

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding the Essure Birth Control Device

FDA restricts sale and distribution of Essure to protect women and to require that patients receive risk information

"We’ve been closely evaluating new information on the use of Essure, and based on our review of a growing body of evidence, we believe this product requires additional, meaningful safeguards to ensure women are able to make informed decisions about risk when considering this option,” said FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb, M.D. To read more, click FDA Essure News Release

FDA takes additional action to better understand safety of Essure, inform patients of potential risks

Over the past 14 years, FDA has reviewed a significant amount of information related to the use of Essure. While the FDA believes Essure remains an appropriate option for the majority of women seeking a permanent form of birth control, some women may be at risk for serious complications. These may include persistent pain, perforation of the uterus or fallopian tubes from device migration, abnormal bleeding and allergy or hypersensitivity reactions. To read more, click FDA Safety Announcement

Essure Permanent Birth Control

The FDA convened a meeting of the Obstetrics and Gynecology Devices Panel of the Medical Devices Advisory Committee on September 24, 2015, to hear expert scientific and clinical opinions as well as patients’ experiences regarding the benefits and risks of the Essure System. In addition, a public docket soliciting comments on the device remained open from July 22, 2015 until October 24, 2015. FDA received more than 2,800 comments in this docket and is reviewing each comment and the views and perspectives expressed. To read more, click FDA Products and Medical Devices

Read More

Safety and efficacy of hysteroscopic sterilization compared with laparoscopic sterilization: an observational cohort study

Patients undergoing hysteroscopic sterilization have a similar risk of unintended pregnancy but a more than 10-fold higher risk of undergoing reoperation compared with patients undergoing laparoscopic sterilization. Benefits and risks of both procedures should be discussed with patients for informed decisions making. To read more, click British Medical Journal

Radiological assessment of placement of the hysteroscopically inserted Essure permanent birth control device

The most common complications are perforation, migration (toward the uterine or peritoneal cavity), and occlusion failure. In hysterosalpingography, vascular intravasation is the most common cause of diagnostic error. Radiologists need to know how to recognize the device on different imaging techniques, how to check that it is correctly placed and functioning, and how to diagnose complications. To read more, click Radiologia

 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Awards
AWARDS
  • Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Report
  • Best Lawyers in America
  • National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
  • Public Justice Trial Team of the Year
  • Martindale-Hubbell Preeminent Woman Attorney
  • National Law Journal Elite Trial Lawyers
  • SuperLawyers
For a list of our awards, click here.
 
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Jury Verdicts
JURY VERDICTS
  • $1 Billion in Defective Product Case
  • $480 Million in Airplane Crash
  • $380 Million in Environmental Pollution Case
  • $150 Million in Defective Drug Case
  • $42 Million in Fraud Case
  • $31 Million in Medical Malpractice Case
  • $25 Million in Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $18 Million in Train Derailment
For a list of our verdicts, click here.
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.
 
Testimonials
CLIENT STATEMENTS

Here are some of the notes clients have sent us:

You saved my life.
I want to express my deepest appreciation.
You mean so much to our family.
I am so appreciative.

To read our client reviews, visit our Testimonial page.

The Florida Bar disclaimer regarding posting testimonials is available here.