في 2016 ، اكتشف فريق من الباحثين الجامعيين مادة جينكس الكيميائية في نهر كيب فير في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية. الخوف الآن هو أن مئات الآلاف من الناس يحتمل أن يتعرضوا لمادة كيميائية سامة في مياه الشرب التي يمكن أن تسبب أنواع مختلفة من السرطان وأمراض الأعضاء.

ما هو جينكس

المادة الكيميائية

GenX هي مادة كيميائية اخترعها DuPont لتحل محل مادة C8 الكيميائية شديدة السمية ، والتي كانت تستخدم في منتجات مثل Teflon. توقف دوبونت عن إنتاج C8 بعد أن تم اكتشاف أن الشركة قد أخرجت المادة الكيميائية من مصنعها في باركرسبورغ ، غرب فيرجينيا ، في الهواء والمجرى المائي على طول نهر أوهايو.

أدى تفريغ دوبونت غير القانوني لـ 2.5 مليون باوند من C8 إلى تلوث مياه الشرب في ست مناطق مائية في ويست فيرجينيا وأوهايو. ثم تم استهلاك هذه المادة الكيميائية دون علم من قبل السكان على أساس يومي لسنوات عديدة.

بعد أكثر من خمسة عشر عاماً من التقاضي الواسع النطاق ، وصلت ست مكاتب محاماة (منها نحن واحدة) إلى تسوية بمبلغ 10 مليون دولار مع دوبونت لتعويض ما يقرب من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إصابات مثل سرطان الكلى وسرطان الخصية والتهاب القولون التقرحي.

إقرأ المزيد

الغرض من GenX ، مثل C8 ، هو توفير سطح زلق في منتجات مثل Teflon ، أغلفة الأطعمة السريعة ، الملابس المقاومة للماء ، علب البيتزا ، أكياس الفشار المايكرويف ، السجاد ، خيط تنظيف الأسنان ، مستحضرات التجميل ، ومئات المنتجات الأخرى.

في يوليو 2015 ، نقلت شركة دوبونت إنتاجها من GenX إلى شركة Chemours.

ماذا نعرف عن الدعاوى القضائية

محكمة لجينكس المحاكمات

منذ أن قامت شركة 2009 و DuPont و Chemours بإنتاج GenX في 2,000-acre Fayetteville Works ، تقع على طول نهر Cape Fear في مقاطعات Cumberland و Bladen ، ولاية كارولينا الشمالية. يقع المصنع على بعد 100 من المنبع من ويلمنجتون.

في 2016 ، تم العثور على GenX في مياه الشرب التي تم توفيرها لمرافق مقاطعة برونزويك العامة (BCPU) ، سلطة المرافق العامة في كيب فيرف (CFPUA) ، وشركة Pender County Utilities ، التي ضمت خدمة 250,000 في مقاطعات برونزويك ، نيو هانوفر و بندر. لسوء الحظ ، لا توجد عملية معروفة لتصفية المادة الكيميائية من الماء.

لا يتم تنظيم GenX من قبل الحكومات الفيدرالية أو الولائية. ليس من المعروف ما هو المستوى الآمن ، إن وجد ، الذي يمكن أن يستهلكه البشر أو الحيوانات. ما هو معروف هو أن GenX في نفس عائلة C8 الكيميائية السابقة لـ DuPont.

كما أن المستوى الآمن لـ C8 غير معروف ، ولكن وكالة حماية البيئة وضعت الرقم في أجزاء 0.07 لكل مليار. ويعتقد علماء آخرون أن التركيزات منخفضة مثل أجزاء 0.0003 لكل مليار يمكن أن تهدد الحياة. ومع ذلك ، فقد تم العثور على GenX في مياه الشرب CFPUA بمتوسط ​​قطع 631 لكل مليار ، وهو ما لا يقل عن تسعة أضعاف المستوى الاستشاري لـ C8 ، وبقدر ما يكون 2,000 أضعاف المستوى الموصى به.

إقرأ المزيد

وجدت لجنة علمية تم تعيينها بشكل مستقل أن استهلاك C8 مرتبط بسرطان الكلى ، وسرطان الخصية ، والتهاب القولون التقرحي ، وارتفاع ضغط الدم الناجم عن الحمل (بما في ذلك تسمم الحمل) ، وأمراض الغدة الدرقية ، وارتفاع الكوليسترول. للحصول على معلومات مفصلة حول C8 ، قم بزيارة إصابات C8 والمخاطر

في ما يتعلق بـ GenX ، قامت DuPont بتقديم ستة عشر تقريرًا بين 2006 و 2013 مع وكالة حماية البيئة وفقًا لقانون مراقبة المواد السامة فيما يتعلق "بالمخاطرة الكبيرة للإصابة بالصحة أو البيئة" المرتبطة بـ GenX. تشير هذه التقارير إلى مشاكل صحية مع الحيوانات التي تم اختبارها مع جينكس ، بما في ذلك الأورام في الكبد والبنكرياس والخصيتين ، وكذلك أمراض الكلى ومشاكل الكبد والاورام الحميدة الرحمية.

ردا على تقارير دوبونت ، أخبرت وكالة حماية البيئة دوبونت أن لديها مخاوف من أن GenX "سوف تستمر في البيئة ، ويمكن أن تتراكم أحيائياً ، وأن تكون سامة للناس ، والثدييات البرية ، والطيور. . . . [هناك] قلق كبير بشأن الآثار البيئية المحتملة على المدى الطويل. . . [و] وكالة حماية البيئة لديها مخاوف على صحة الإنسان ".

فيديو: أحدث تلوث لدوبونت سامة: جينكس

مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

GenX دعوى قضائية

أخبار بانر

جديد تفلون توكسين يسبب السرطان في حيوانات المختبر

في تجربة واحدة ، وضعت الفئران التي أعطيت كميات مختلفة من جينكس على مدى عامين الأورام السرطانية في الكبد والبنكرياس والخصيتين ، وفقا لتقرير قدمته شركة دوبونت في يناير 2013. وبالإضافة إلى السرطانات ، فإن بعض الجرذان التي تعرضت لها جينكس في تلك التجربة طورت أيضًا أوراماً حميدة ، وكذلك أمراض الكلى وتنكس الكبد والورمات الرحمية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق الإعتراض

الشركات تتفاعل لدراسة تشير إلى وجود السم غير المنظم في إمدادات المياه

تتفاعل شركات المياه والمسؤولون المحليون مع دراسة نشرت في مجلة ويلمنغتون ستارنيوز هذا الأسبوع تشير إلى وجود مادة كيميائية غير منظمة معروفة في سوق التجارة باسم GenX في إمدادات المياه الخام التي تغذي العديد من الناس في جنوب شرق ولاية كارولينا الشمالية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق WECT

مسؤولو هانوفر الجدد ، ويلمنجتون يجتمعون مع Chemours فوق GenX

في 2013-14 ، وجد فريق من الباحثين والعلماء معدل GenX لأجزاء 631 لكل تريليون ، أو تسعة أضعاف المستوى الاستشاري لـ C8 ، في مدخول المياه في CFPUA على النهر. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق ستار نيوز

إقرأ المزيد

تمت دراسة المواد الكيميائية البديلة لـ C8 وسط مخاوف صحية مماثلة

قال ألان دوكاتمان ، أستاذ علوم الصحة المهنية والبيئية بجامعة ويست فرجينيا ، عن GenX في بريد إلكتروني: "آمل أن يكون ذلك أفضل". "أنا متفائل أنه ليس سيئًا. ولكن هل أعتقد أنه موافق؟ لا. من حيث ما قرأته أو أذكره ، فقد قدمت DuPont كمية صغيرة من البيانات التي تبدو مقلقة. "لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق كولومبوس ديسباتش

وكالة حماية البيئة والدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق GenX

GenX FDA Research Banner

إرث وانبعاثات البارفلوروالكيل الملوثة هامة ملوثات مياه الشرب في منطقة Cape Fear River Watershed في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية

كما توضح بيانات الإمتزاز لدينا أن PFPrOPrA ("GenX") أقل قابلية للامتصاص من PFOA ، والذي يتم استبداله. وهكذا ، PFPrOPrA يقدم تحديا أكبر لمعالجة مياه الشرب من PFOA يفعل. إن اكتشاف المستويات العالية المحتملة من PFECA ، واستمرار وجود مستويات عالية من PFAS القديمة ، وصعوبة إزالة PFASs و PFASA القديمة بشكل فعال مع العديد من عمليات معالجة المياه تشير إلى الحاجة إلى مراقبة التصريف على نطاق أوسع ورصد الملوثات. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق جامعة كارولينا الشمالية

DuPont-Chemours تقارير إلى وكالة حماية البيئة حول مخاطر GenX

لقراءة الرسائل المرسلة من DuPont-Chemours إلى وكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) لإعلام الحكومة بالأخطار الصحية المحتملة المرتبطة بـ GenX ، انقر فوق دوبونت تشيمورس الدراسات المستقلة

DuPont-Chemours GenX Lawsuit – Settlements & Recalls - Cancer & Ulcerative Colitis
GenX Lawsuit Header

In 2016, a team of university researchers discovered the chemical GenX in the Cape Fear River in North Carolina. The fear now is that hundreds of thousands of people have potentially been exposed to a toxic chemical in their drinking water that can cause various types of cancer and organ disease.

 

What is GenX

The chemical GenX

GenX is a chemical invented by DuPont to replace its highly toxic chemical C8, which was being used in products such as Teflon. DuPont stopped producing C8 after it was discovered that the company had discharged the chemical from its plant in Parkersburg, West Virginia, into the air and waterway along the Ohio River.

DuPont’s unlawful discharge of 2.5 million pounds of C8 polluted the drinking water in six water districts in West Virginia and Ohio. The chemical was then unknowingly consumed by residents on a daily basis for many years.

After more than fifteen years of extensive litigation, six law firms (of which we are one) reached a $670 million settlement with DuPont to compensate approximately 3,500 people who suffered injuries such as kidney cancer, testicular cancer and ulcerative colitis.

Read More

The purpose of GenX, like C8, is to provide a slippery surface in products such as Teflon, fast food wrappers, waterproof clothing, pizza boxes, microwave popcorn bags, carpet, dental floss, cosmetics, and hundreds of other products.

In July 2015, DuPont transferred its production of GenX to The Chemours Company.

 

Why are GenX Lawsuits Being Filed

Courthouse for GenX Trials

Since 2009, DuPont and Chemours have been producing GenX at their 2,000-acre Fayetteville Works plant, situated along the Cape Fear River in Cumberland and Bladen Counties, North Carolina. The plant is located 100 miles upstream from Wilmington.

In 2016, GenX was found in the drinking water being supplied to the Brunswick County Public Utilities (BCPU), Cape Fear Public Utility Authority (CFPUA), and Pender County Utilities, which combined serve 250,000 people in the counties of Brunswick, New Hanover and Pender. Unfortunately, there is no known process for filtering the chemical out of the water.

GenX is not regulated by federal or state governments. It is not known what the safe level, if any, is that can be consumed by humans or animals. What is known is that GenX is in the same family as DuPont’s previous chemical C8.

The safe level of C8 also is not known, but the EPA has put the figure at 0.07 parts per billion. Other scientists believe concentrations as low as 0.0003 parts per billion can be life threatening. Yet, GenX has been found in the CFPUA drinking water at an average of .631 parts per billion, which is at least nine times the advisory level for C8, and as much as 2,000 times the recommended level.

Read More

An independently appointed scientific panel found that C8 consumption is linked to kidney cancer, testicular cancer, ulcerative colitis, pregnancy-induced hypertension (including preeclampsia), thyroid disease, and high cholesterol. For detailed information on C8, visit C8 Injuries and Dangers

In regard to GenX, DuPont filed sixteen reports between 2006 and 2013 with the EPA pursuant to the Toxic Substances Control Act regarding a “substantial risk of injury to health or the environment” related to GenX. These reports cite health issues with animals tested with GenX, including tumors in the liver, pancreas and testicles, as well as kidney disease, liver issues and uterine polyps.

In response to DuPont's reports, the EPA informed DuPont that it had concerns that GenX “will persist in the environment, could bioaccumulate, and be toxic to people, wild mammals, and birds. . . . [There] is high concern for possible environmental effects over the long-term . . . [and the] EPA has human health concerns.”

 

Video: DuPont's Newest Toxic Contamination: GenX

Watch More Videos
 
 

GenX Lawsuit News

News Banner
New Teflon Toxin Causes Cancer in Lab Animals

In one experiment, rats given various amounts of GenX over two years developed cancerous tumors in the liver, pancreas, and testicles, according to a report DuPont submitted in January 2013. In addition to the cancers, some of the GenX-exposed rats in that experiment also developed benign tumors, as well as well as kidney disease, liver degeneration, and uterine polyps. To read more, click The Intercept

Companies react to study indicating presence of unregulated toxin in water supply

Water companies and local officials are reacting to a study published in the Wilmington StarNews this week indicating the presence of an unregulated chemical known in the trade market as GenX in the raw water supply feeding many people in southeastern North Carolina. To read more, click WECT

New Hanover, Wilmington officials to meet with Chemours over GenX

In 2013-14, a team of researchers and scientists found a GenX average of 631 parts per trillion, or nine times the advisory level for C8, at CFPUA’s water intake on the river. To read more, click Star News

Read More
Replacement chemical for C8 being studied amid similar health concerns

“I’m hopeful that it’s better,” Alan Ducatman, professor of occupational and environmental health sciences at West Virginia University, said of GenX in an email. “I’m hopeful that it’s not as bad. But do I think it’s OK? No. In terms of what I have read or recall, DuPont has provided a small amount of data that appears worrisome.” To read more, click The Columbus Dispatch

 

EPA and Scientific Studies Regarding GenX

GenX FDA Research Banner

Legacy and Emerging Perfluoroalkyl Substances Are Important Drinking Water Contaminants in the Cape Fear River Watershed of North Carolina

Our adsorption data further show that PFPrOPrA (“GenX”) is less adsorbable than PFOA, which it is replacing. Thus, PFPrOPrA presents a greater drinking water treatment challenge than PFOA does. The detection of potentially high levels of PFECAs, the continued presence of high levels of legacy PFASs, and the difficulty of effectively removing legacy PFASs and PFECAs with many water treatment processes suggest the need for broader discharge control and contaminant monitoring. To read more, click University of North Carolina

DuPont-Chemours Reports to the EPA on the Dangers of GenX

To read the letters that DuPont-Chemours sent to the EPA notifying the government of the potential health dangers associated with GenX, click DuPont-Chemours Independent Studies