بدءاً من 2016 ، بدأ مبيد الأعشاب dicamba يتسبب في تلف محاصيل خطيرة في المزارع حيث لا يتم حتى رش المنتج. كانت المحاصيل تموت لأن dicamba كان يهب أو يغسل على ممتلكات المزارع القريبة.

تستخدم Dicamba من قبل مهندسي المناظر الطبيعية المهنية والبستانيين المنزليين لأكثر من سبعين عامًا ، وفي الغالب كعنصر في منتجات مبيدات أخرى. في الآونة الأخيرة ، أعيد تقديم dicamba من قبل عملاق الصناعات الزراعية العملاقة مونسانتو كعنصر في مبيدات الأعشاب "الجيل القادم" ، المصممة ل "تقرير اخبارى جاهزة 2 Xtend" فول الصويا.

ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا المنتج ينجرف إلى حقول أخرى - حتى عبر خطوط الولاية - ويسبب أضرارًا جسيمة لمحاصيل أخرى. نتيجة لذلك ، فإن السلطات الزراعية في الولاية إما المحظورة المادة ، أو تدرس مثل هذا الحظر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ديكامبا يؤدي إلى زيادة عدد الدعاوى القضائية من المزارعين التجاريين الذين عانوا من خسائر مالية نتيجة انحراف dicamba.

ما هو ديكامبا

Dicamba يستخدم

تم تطوير ديكامبا لأول مرة في إنجلترا خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، وهو عبارة عن مبيد أعشاب واسع النطاق تم اكتشافه في العديد من العلامات التجارية لقاتل الحشائش التجارية ، بما في ذلك أورثو وييد بي غون ، وآس لاون وايد كيلر ، و روندوب ماكس.

كيميائيا ، انها جزء من مجموعة تعرف باسم عائلة الكلوروفينوكسي. وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، إنه عبارة عن كلوريد عضوي ، مركب مركب على الكربون ، تحتوي جزيئاته على ذرات عنصر الكلور. وهو مشتق من حمض البنزويك ، وهي مادة تحدث بشكل طبيعي في العديد من الأنواع النباتية وتشيع استخدامها كحافظة غذائية.

كيف يعمل ديكامبا

Dicamba يقلد هرمون النبات الطبيعي ، المعروف باسم أوكسين. ينتج الدور الرئيسي للأكسين في طرف الجذع ، وهو العمل مع السيتوكينين ، وهو الهرمون المتورط في انقسام الخلايا والتكاثر.

يتسبب Auxin في إطالة الخلايا في أجزاء من النبات غير المعرضة لأشعة الشمس ؛ في الأساس ، هو ما يسبب نمو النبات. عندما يتم تطبيق dicamba ، فإنه يعمل مثل auxin ، ورفع استقلاب النبات وزيادة معدل نموه. في نهاية المطاف ينمو النبات بسرعة كبيرة بالنسبة لكمية العناصر الغذائية المتاحة له ، مما يجعله يتضور جوعًا حتى الموت.

ما هو Dicamba المستخدمة أساسا ل

استخدم البستانيون المنزليون ديكامبا منذ وقت طويل للتحكم في الأعشاب السنوية والدائمة على حد سواء ، لا سيما تلك التي تحتوي على مجموعة متنوعة من الأوراق العريضة ، بالإضافة إلى النباتات الخشبية. في مجال الزراعة ، استخدمت ديكامبا لمكافحة الحشائش في حقول الحبوب مثل القمح والذرة والمراعي وأراضي الحيوانات. في الأماكن غير الزراعية ، يتم تطبيق dicamba على المروج والحدائق المنزلية وكذلك ملاعب الغولف.

يتم تطبيق Dicamba أيضا على طول الطرق ، وممرات السكك الحديدية ، والأسوار. يستخدم كمركب في أكثر من منتجات 1,100 ، يتوفر dicamba كمركز وكالمنتج مستقل.

يتم حزم Dicamba في شكل سائل وكذلك مسحوق أو ملح محبب.

Dicamba التعرض والإصابات الشخصية

إصابات ديكامبا

Dicamba يمكن أن تتلامس مع الجلد ، أو الاستنشاق ، أو ابتلاعها عن طريق الخطأ. من المهم بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يتعاملون مع dicamba ، إما في شكل جاف أو سائل ، أن يغسلوا جيداً قبل الأكل أو الشرب أو التدخين. كما يوجد غبار Dicamba في المزارع والآبار. على الرغم من أن هذه التركيزات في مستويات منخفضة ، هناك أسئلة خطيرة حول الآثار على صحة الإنسان.

لا يمتص Dicamba بسهولة من خلال الجلد ، ومع ذلك يمكن أن يسبب تهيجًا جلديًا خطيرًا. في معظم الأحيان ، يدخل الجسم من خلال العينين والأنف و / أو الفم. يمكن أن يؤدي التعرض للعيون إلى تلف دائم ، لذلك من الضروري شطفها لمدة دقيقة 15 على الأقل في حالة اتصال dicamba.

تشمل أعراض التعرض للديكامبا الدوخة وتهيج الأغشية المخاطية. عند تناوله ، يمكن أن يسبب التقيؤ ، وفقدان الشهية ، وتشنجات العضلات ، وصعوبات في التنفس ، وفي الحالات القصوى ، ألم شديد في البطن.

لحسن الحظ ، يتم التخلص من الديكامبا سريعًا من الجسم عبر البول ، عادةً خلال 48 إلى 72 ساعة. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال الكثير غير معروف عن الآثار الطويلة الأجل للديكامبا على صحة الإنسان والحيوان.

هناك أدلة قوية على أن التعرض المستمر للديكامبا يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الإصابة بليمفوما اللاهودجكين وغيرها من الأمراض بين المزارعين والعاملين الزراعيين. البحث مستمر في هذه القضايا.

Dicamba الانجراف الفيديو

مشاهدة المزيد من الفيديو

ما هو Dicamba الانجراف

في يونيو من 2017 ، مجلس ولاية أركنساس النبات أصدرت حظرا على استخدام ديكامبا ردا على العديد من الشكاوى من المزارعين حول الانجراف dicamba من حقول فول الصويا ، مما أدى إلى ضرر لمحاصيل أخرى.

عدة تقارير وردت أيضا من قبل جامعة ميسوري. كيفن برادلي من قسم علوم النباتات بالجامعة تلقى العديد من التقارير من المزارعين. في مقابلة مع دلتا مزرعة الصحافةقال برادلي: "هناك الكثير من الناس يشتبهون في انجراف ديكامبا في الولاية [و] تحدث الكثير من الإصابات. معظمها من فول الصويا ، ولكن الشكاوى من الضرر التي سمعت عنها هي أيضا على محاصيل متنوعة مع بعض الخضروات والبازلاء والبطيخ وأشياء أخرى.

منذ ذلك الوقت ، كان المسؤولون في كلتا الدولتين المحظورة كل استخدام dicamba. في الوقت نفسه ، كان هناك عدد متزايد من تقارير الانحدار dicamba في تينيسي الغربية. في نهاية شهر يونيو / حزيران 2017 ، قدم المزارعون التجاريون من 27 في جميع أنحاء الجزء الغربي من الولاية شكاوى إلى وزارة الزراعة في ولاية تينيسي.

ويخشى العلماء أن العدد سيزداد سوءًا. حتى الآن ، ظهرت أضرار ديكامبا في عشر ولايات من ولاية مينيسوتا إلى ولاية كارولينا الشمالية. بالإضافة إلى المحاصيل المذكورة أعلاه ، فقد تسببت ديكامبا في إلحاق أضرار بالطماطم والخوخ والأرز والقطن ، وكذلك الفصفصة وفول الصويا.

كم هو استخدام Dicamba في الولايات المتحدة

على الرغم من أن استخدام ديكامبا شائع الاستخدام في المروج المنزلية وخضر الجولف وشوارع الطرق منذ عقود ، إلا أنه لم يتم اعتماده قانونًا للاستخدام على المحاصيل الغذائية حتى وقت قريب بسبب مشكلة الانجراف. السبب الرئيسي في أن المزارعين الذين يزرعون المحاصيل المعدلة وراثيا قد تحولوا إلى dicamba هو بسبب الاستخدام المكثف للمبيد glyphosate الذي يحتوي على Roundup.

على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية ، أدى هذا إلى تطور "superweed" المقاوم الغليفوسات ، والتي انتشرت الآن إلى 61 مليون فدان من الأراضي الزراعية في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، ما يقرب من الضعف في غضون ست سنوات فقط.

واستجابة لهذه المشكلة ، طورت شركة مونسانتو سلالات جديدة من الكائنات المعدلة وراثيا التي كانت مقاومة لكل من الجلايوفوسات والديكامبا. طرحت الشركة هذه المحاصيل الجديدة لموسم زراعة 2016 - قبل عدة أشهر من موافقة وكالة حماية البيئة على dicamba لاستخدامها في المحاصيل الغذائية في نوفمبر من ذلك العام.

ومن أجل كسب هذه الموافقة ، كان من المتوقع أن تأتي الصناعة بصيغة جديدة من ديكامبا تجعلها أقل تقلبًا وتخضع للانحراف. تمت الموافقة على اثنين من الصيغ - XtendiMax ، وهو منتج مونسانتو ، و Engenia ، التي وضعتها BASF ، من قبل وكالة حماية البيئة في خريف 2016.

حتى الآن ، مونسانتو لديها استثمرت أكثر من $ 1 مليار في تطوير مبيدات الأعشاب التي أساسها dicamba. في حين تقوم الشركة بمبيعات متزايدة كمساحة المساحات المزروعة بمحاصيل فول الصويا المعدلة وراثيًا ثلاثية بين 2017 و 2019 ، دراسة ويشير قسم الزراعة في جامعة أركنساس إلى أن الحشائش الضارة قد تطور مقاومة للديكامبا بسرعة أكبر من أن تصبح مقاومة للجلايوفوسات - ربما في أقل من ثلاثة أجيال.

Dicamba أضرار المحاصيل

اضرار المحاصيل Dicamba

إذا كان استخدام dicamba ممنوعًا قبل تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2016 وتم تصميم الصيغ الجديدة لمنع الانجراف ، فلماذا هناك تقارير كثيرة عن تلف المحاصيل؟ هناك تفسيران محتملان: (1) المزارعون الذين كانوا يستخدمون ديكامبا بشكل غير قانوني كانوا يستخدمون أو يستخدمون تركيبات قديمة ، مثل ديابلو ، وفانكويش ، وبانفيل (التي لم يتم اعتمادها للاستخدام على المحاصيل الغذائية). أو (2) فشلت الصيغ "الجديدة" في الوفاء بالوعود التي قطعتها الشركات المصنعة.

وفي الحالة الأولى ، أُصدر بعض المزارعين الذين كانوا يشاركون في الاستخدام غير المصرح به للديكامبا الاستشهادات والغرامات المالية المقررة. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه العقوبات عادة ما تكون أكثر قليلا من صفعة على المعصم. لا تتجاوز الغرامات دولار 1,000 ، وفي كثير من الحالات ، يكون المخالفون عرضة للتحذيرات.

في هذه الأثناء، المزارع الحديث تقارير تفيد بأن المزارع التي تعاني من أضرار المحاصيل المرتبطة بالديكامبا قد تفقد ما يصل إلى 30 في المئة من إنتاجها هذا الموسم. وفقا ل تقرير من مكتب الإرشاد في جامعة بوردو ، يمكن أن يتضرر تلف المحاصيل بسبب dicamba من خلال عدد من الطرق. وتشمل هذه الأوراق المشوهة الملتوية أو الضيقة أو الكأس إلى الأسفل وكذلك تعرض الجذور للأرض.

Dicamba فئة دعوى قضائية

Dicamba الطبقة العمل

ونظراً لأن العقوبات خفيفة نسبياً ، فمن غير المحتمل أن يغيروا السلوك بين أولئك الذين يشاركون في الاستخدام غير القانوني للديكامبا. وفي الوقت نفسه ، من المرجح ألا تواجه شركتا Monsanto و BASF اتهامات جنائية ، حيث إنهما لا ينتهكان أي قوانين من الناحية الفنية.

ومع ذلك ، تزعم دعوى قضائية صادرة مؤخراً ضد مونسانتو و BASF في يونيو / حزيران 2017 أن تلك الشركات تتحمل المسؤولية المدنية لأنها فشلت في الحصول على مبيدات أعشاب آمنة معتمدة من وكالة حماية البيئة في الوقت الذي تطلق فيه بذورها المعدلة وراثيًا.

وفقا لتقرير نشر في Hoosier حج اليوم"باعت شركتي Monsanto و BASF نظام محصول dicamba في الوقت الذي تعرف فيه أنه يمكنه القضاء على المحاصيل والثمار والأشجار التي لا تتسامح مع dicamba. لا يترك المزارعون الذين لا يزرعون محاصيل متحملة للديكامبا أي حماية من مبيدات الأعشاب. "

الأهلية للمشاركة في دعوى عمل فئة Dicamba

من أجل التأهل كمدعٍ في الدعوى الجماعية لدايكامبا ، يجب أن يكون المرشح مزارعًا تجاريًا قادرًا على إثبات خسائر المحاصيل التي تكبدها خلال موسم زراعة 2017.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه في حين أن بعض أضرار مبيدات الأعشاب واضحة في غضون أيام ، في كثير من الأحيان لا تظهر حتى أسابيع بعد التعرض الأولي. تساعد سجلات الطقس ، وخاصة سرعة الرياح واتجاهها والرطوبة ، في بناء حالة.

ينبغي أن يكون لدى المدعين المستقبليين اختبار لكل من التربة والأنسجة النباتية. تتوفر خدمات الاختبار هذه في معظم المختبرات التجارية المحلية ، ويتم تشغيلها بين $ 65 و $ 100 لكل عينة. من المهم استبعاد العوامل المحتملة الأخرى ، مثل ضرر الآفات والأمراض وجذر الإجهاد ودرجة الحموضة في التربة والجفاف والملوثات الأخرى المحتملة.

Dicamba Drift Lawsuit Lawyer – Crop Damage Compensation
Dicamba Drift Lawsuit Header

Beginning in 2016, the herbicide dicamba began causing serious crop damage on farms where the product was not even being sprayed. Crops were dying because dicamba was blowing or washing onto the property of nearby farms.

Dicamba has been in use by professional landscape engineers and home gardeners for over seventy years, most often as an ingredient in other herbicidal products. Recently, dicamba was reintroduced by agribusiness giant Monsanto as an ingredient in a “next-generation” herbicide, designed for its “Roundup Ready 2 Xtend” soybeans.

However, this product is drifting onto other fields – even across state lines – and causing serious damage to other crops. As a result, state agriculture authorities have either banned the substance, or are considering such bans.

Additionally, dicamba is giving rise to an increasing number of lawsuits from commercial farmers who have suffered financial losses as a result of dicamba drift.

 

What is Dicamba

Dicamba Uses

First developed in England during the Second World War, dicamba is a broad-spectrum herbicide found in several brands of commercial weed killer, including Ortho Weed B Gon, Ace Lawn Weed Killer and Roundup Max.

Chemically, it’s part of a group known as the chlorophenoxy family. More specifically, it is an organochloride, a carbon-based compound, the molecules of which contain atoms of the element chlorine. It is derived from benzoic acid, a substance occurring naturally in several plant species and commonly used as a food preservative.

 

How Does Dicamba Work

Dicamba imitates a natural plant hormone, known as auxin. Produced in the stem tip, the primary role of auxin is to work in combination with cytokinin, the hormone involved in cell division and reproduction.

Auxin causes cells to elongate in parts of the plant that are not exposed to sunlight; essentially, it’s what causes the plant to grow. When dicamba is applied, it acts like auxin, raising the plant's metabolism and increasing its growth rate. Ultimately the plant grows too quickly for the amount of nutrients available to it, causing it to literally starve to death.

 

What is Dicamba Primarily Used For

Home gardeners have long used dicamba for controlling both annual and perennial weeds, particularly those of the broadleaf variety, as well as woody plants. In agriculture, dicamba has been used for weed control in grain fields such as wheat and maize, pastures, and livestock range land. In non-agriculture settings, dicamba is applied to home lawns and gardens as well as golf courses.

Dicamba is also applied along roadways, railroad tracks, and fences. Used as an ingredient in more than 1,100 products, dicamba is available as both a concentrate and as a standalone product.

Dicamba is packaged in liquid form as well as a powder or granulated salt.

 

Dicamba Exposure & Personal Injuries

Dicamba Injuries

Dicamba can come into contact with skin, inhaled, or accidentally ingested. It is important for those who come into contact with dicamba, either in dry or liquid form, to wash thoroughly before eating, drinking, or smoking. Dicamba dust is also found in farmhouses and wells. Although these concentrations are at low levels, there are serious questions about the effects on human health.

Dicamba is not easily absorbed through the skin, yet it can cause serious dermal irritation. Most often, it enters the body through the eyes, nose and/or mouth. Exposure to the eyes can result in permanent damage, so it is crucial to rinse them for at least 15 minutes in case of dicamba contact.

Symptoms of dicamba exposure include dizziness and irritation of the mucous membranes. When ingested, it can cause vomiting, loss of appetite, muscle spasms, breathing difficulties, and in extreme cases, severe abdominal pain.

Fortunately, dicamba is rapidly eliminated from the body through the urine, usually within 48 to 72 hours. However, much remains unknown about dicamba's long-term effects on human and animal health.

There is strong evidence that ongoing dicamba exposure can increase the risk of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and other diseases among farmers and agricultural workers. Research is continuing into these issues.

 

Dicamba Drift Videos

Watch More Videos
 

What is Dicamba Drift

In June of 2017, the Arkansas State Plant Board issued a ban on the use of dicamba in response to numerous complaints from farmers about dicamba drift from soybean fields, which has been resulting in damage to other crops.

Several reports have also been received by the University of Missouri. Kevin Bradley of the University's plant sciences department has received numerous reports from growers. In an interview with the Delta Farm Press, Bradley said “There’s a lot of suspected dicamba drift in the state [and] a lot of injury happening. Most of it is soybeans, but the damage complaints I’ve heard is also on diverse crops with some vegetables, peas, melons and other things.”

Since that time, officials in both states have banned all use of dicamba. At the same time, there has been a growing number of dicamba drift reports in western Tennessee. As of the end of June 2017, 27 commercial farmers throughout the western part of the state had filed complaints with the Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Scientists fear that number will only get worse. So far, dicamba damage has shown up in ten states from Minnesota to North Carolina. In addition to the crops mentioned above, dicamba has been causing damage to tomatoes, peaches, rice, and cotton, as well as alfalfa and soy.

 

How Much is Dicamba being Utilized in the United States

Although commonly used on home lawns, golf greens, and roadsides for decades, dicamba was not legally approved for use on food crops until recently because of the drift problem. The primary reason that farmers raising genetically-modified crops have been turning to dicamba is because of the extensive use of the glyphosate containing herbicide Roundup.

Over the past few decades, this has resulted in the evolution of glyphosate-resistant “superweed,” which have now spread to 61 million acres of farmland across the U.S., nearly doubling in just six years.

In response to this problem, Monsanto developed new GMO strains that were resistant to both glyphosate and dicamba. The company introduced these new crops for the 2016 growing season – several months prior to the EPA's approval of dicamba for use on food crops in November of that year.

In order to win that approval, the industry was expected to come up with a new dicamba formulation that would make it less volatile and subject to drift. Two formulations – XtendiMax, a Monsanto product, and Engenia, developed by BASF, were approved by the EPA in the fall of 2016.

So far, Monsanto has invested over $1 billion in the development of its new dicamba-based herbicide. While the company projects growing sales as the amount of acreage planted with its GMO soy crops triple between 2017 and 2019, a study from the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture suggests that noxious weeds may develop dicamba resistance even more quickly than have become resistant to glyphosate – possibly in as little as three generations.

 

Dicamba Crop Damage

Dicamba crop damage

If the use of dicamba was prohibited before November 2016 and the new formulations are designed to prevent drift, why are there so many reports of crop damage? There are two possible explanations: (1) farmers who have been using dicamba illegally were or are using older formulations, such as Diablo, Vanquish and Banvel (which have never been approved for use on food crops); or (2) the “new” formulations have failed to live up to the promises made by the manufacturers.

In the former case, some farmers who have been engaging in the unauthorized use of dicamba have been issued citations and assessed monetary fines. However, these penalties typically amount to little more than a slap on the wrist. Fines do not exceed $1,000, and in many cases, violators are simply subject to warnings.

Meanwhile, Modern Farmer reports that farms suffering dicamba-related crop damage may lose up to 30 percent of their yield this season. According to a report from the Purdue University Extension Office, crop damage due to dicamba can manifest itself in a number of ways. These include deformed leaves that are twisted, narrow or cup downward as well as roots exposure about the ground.

 

Dicamba Class Action Lawsuit

Dicamba class action

Because penalties are relatively light, they are unlikely to change behavior among those engaged in the illegal use of dicamba. At the same time, Monsanto and BASF will likely not face criminal charges, since technically, they have not violated any laws.

However, a recent class-action lawsuit filed against Monsanto and BASF in June 2017 alleges that those companies bear civil liability because they failed to have a safe, EPA-approved herbicide available at the time they released their GMO seeds.

According to a report published in Hoosier Ag Today, “Monsanto and BASF sold the dicamba crop system while knowing it could wipe out crops, fruits, and trees that are not dicamba tolerant. The farmers...who do not plant dicamba tolerant crops are left with no protection from the herbicide.”

 

Eligibility to Participate in the Dicamba Class Action Lawsuit

In order to qualify as a plaintiff in the dicamba class action lawsuit, the candidate must be a commercial farmer who is able to demonstrate crop losses incurred during the 2017 growing season.

It should be noted that while some herbicide damage is apparent within days, often it does not appear until weeks following initial exposure. Weather records, particularly wind speed and direction, and humidity, are helpful in building a case.

Prospective plaintiffs should have testing done of both the soil and the plant tissues. Such testing services are available at most local commercial labs, and run between $65 and $100 per sample. It’s important to rule out other possible factors, such as pest damage, disease, root stress, soil pH, drought and other possible contaminants.