COVID-19 دعاوى التأمين ضد انقطاع الأعمال

أظهرت دراسة أجرتها أكثر من 51 في المائة من الشركات الصغيرة التي ردت على تقرير استقصائي أنها عانت من أثر سلبي خطير من COVID-19. مكتب الإحصاء الأميركي. ويقول أكثر من 30 بالمائة من المستجيبين أنهم يتوقعون أن تشعر أعمالهم بآثار الفيروس لأكثر من ستة أشهر.

وبصرف النظر عن عمليات الإغلاق المؤقتة التي تحملتها العديد من الشركات ، فضلاً عن انخفاض الأعمال بسبب الابتعاد الاجتماعي وطلبات البقاء في المنزل ، فإن ما يقرب من 45 بالمائة من الشركات قد تعرضت لاضطرابات في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بها.

منذ استيلاد COVID-19 على البلاد ، تتعامل الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم مع قضايا غير مسبوقة في طبيعتها وتأثيرها. يجد العديد من أصحاب الأعمال أنفسهم يراجعون كتبهم بشكل عصبي ، ويعدلون النفقات والموارد ، ويغلق بعضهم أبوابهم بشكل دائم استجابةً للاضطرابات المتعلقة بالفيروسات.

في حاجة ماسة إلى الإغاثة المالية ، يلجأ العديد من الملاك إلى سياسات التأمين ضد انقطاع أعمالهم. لقد دفعوا ، بعد كل شيء ، أقساط شهرية على هذه السياسات كإجراء مسؤول عن كارثة غير متوقعة مثل ما يواجهونه حاليًا. ولكن صدم معظم حاملي الوثائق الذين يعانون من صعوبات عندما اكتشفوا أن مزودي التأمين لديهم يرفضون تغطية مطالبات COVID-19.

بوالص التأمين ضد انقطاع الأعمال

الغرض من تغطية انقطاع الأعمال هو مساعدة الشركة على استرداد الإيرادات المفقودة والنفقات غير الضرورية التي يتم تكبدها عند إغلاق العمل بسبب خسارة مغطاة. مع COVID-19 ، ومع ذلك ، فإن شركات التأمين تنفي التغطية بحجة أن الوباء ليس خسارة مغطاة أو مستبعدة على وجه التحديد بموجب شروط البوليصة.

تقدم دعاوى توقف العمل COVID-19 مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا القانونية لتغطية التأمين وتحليل الاستبعاد. تغطي بعض السياسات "جميع المخاطر" ، مما يعني أنه يتم تغطية جميع الخسائر ما لم يكن هناك استثناء محدد. يقع العبء على شركة التأمين لإثبات أن التغطية لا تنطبق على الوضع.

تقيد بعض سياسات انقطاع الأعمال الخسائر المغطاة بـ "الخسارة أو الضرر المادي المباشر" الذي يؤدي إلى تعليق العمليات التجارية. تشمل الأمثلة الواضحة الأضرار الناجمة عن الحريق والرياح والمياه التي تجعل الأعمال (أو جزءًا منها) غير قابلة للاستخدام. السؤال القانوني مع COVID-19 هو ما إذا كان الفيروس "خسارة مادية مباشرة" ، خاصة إذا كان النشاط التجاري نفسه موضوعًا لتفشي COVID-19 أو تم إجباره على الإغلاق من قبل سلطة مدنية.

إذا كان COVID-19 يستوفي شرط "الخسارة المادية المباشرة" للسياسة ، فإن المشكلة القانونية الثانية هي ما إذا كان COVID-19 مستبعدًا كخسارة مغطاة. في عام 2006 ، أدخل مكتب خدمات التأمين (ISO) استثناء بوليصة التأمين للخسائر الناجمة عن الفيروسات أو البكتيريا. تستبعد لغة السياسة هذه تغطية الخسارة أو الضرر الناتج عن "أي فيروس أو كائن دقيق يسبب ضائقة جسدية أو مرض أو مرض". السؤال القانوني هو ما إذا كان هذا الاستبعاد يمنع استرداد COVID-19. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لم تقدم العديد من شركات التأمين هذا الاستبعاد المحدد في سياسات انقطاع الأعمال ، مما يشير إلى أن الشركة كانت تدرج الأوبئة كجزء من التغطية.

يقوم مكتب المحاماة لدينا برفع دعاوى قضائية نيابة عن الشركات التي أُجبرت على الإغلاق (مؤقتًا أو دائمًا) بسبب COVID-19 ولديها تغطية تأمينية ضد انقطاع الأعمال.

لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة لدينا التعامل مع نزاعات التأمين في عام 1955. اليوم ، نحن معترف بنا كرائد وطني في الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي على هذه الأنواع من القضايا. لقد تلقينا أكثر من 150 حكمًا لهيئة المحلفين مقابل مليون دولار أو أكثر ، وفازنا بأحكام هيئة المحلفين وتسويات تتجاوز 1 مليارات دولار.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا مؤتمر وطني يحضره 1,500 محامٍ كل عام حيث نعلم كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد أكبر شركات التأمين في العالم. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر استمارة التقييم المجانية والسرية. ستتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذي يتعامل مع دعاوى توقف الأعمال.

COVID-19 Business Interruption Insurance Lawsuits

COVID-19 Business Interruption Insurance Lawsuits

More than 51 percent of small businesses who responded to a survey report they have suffered serious negative impact from COVID-19, according to a study conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. More than 30 percent of respondents say they expect their businesses will feel the effects of the virus for more than six months.

Aside from the temporary closures that many businesses have endured, as well as decreased business from social distancing and stay-at-home orders, nearly 45 percent of businesses have experienced disruptions in their supply chains.

Since COVID-19 took hold of the country, businesses worldwide are dealing with issues that are unprecedented in their nature and their impact. Many business owners find themselves nervously reviewing their books, adjusting expenses and resources, and some of them permanently closing their doors in response to virus-related disruptions.

In desperate need for financial relief, many owners are turning to their business interruption insurance policies. They have, after all, paid monthly premiums on these policies as a responsible measure for an unforeseen disaster like what they currently face. But most struggling policyholders have been shocked to discover that their insurance providers are denying coverage for COVID-19 claims.

 

Business Interruption Insurance Policies

The purpose of business interruption coverage is to help a business recover lost revenue and unnecessary expenses incurred when a business is shut down due to a covered loss. With COVID-19, however, insurance companies are denying coverage arguing that a pandemic is not a covered loss or is specifically excluded under the terms of the policy.

The COVID-19 business interruption lawsuits present a variety of legal issues for insurance coverage and exclusion analysis. Some policies cover “all-risks”, meaning all losses are covered unless there is a specific exclusion. The burden is on the insurance company to prove coverage doesn't apply to the situation.

Some business interruption policies restrict covered losses to “direct physical loss or damage” that results in business operations being suspended. Obvious examples include fire, wind, and water damage that makes a business (or a portion thereof) non-useable. The legal question with COVID-19 is whether a virus is a “direct physical loss”, especially if the business itself was the subject of a COVID-19 outbreak or was forced to shut down by a civil authority.

If COVID-19 does satisfy the “direct physical loss” requirement of the policy, the second legal issue is whether COVID-19 is excluded as a covered loss. In 2006, the Insurance Services Office (ISO) introduced an insurance policy exclusion for loss due to viruses or bacteria. This policy language excludes coverage for loss or damage resulting from “any virus or microorganism that induces physical distress, illness, or disease.” The legal question is whether this exclusion prevents recovery for COVID-19. Additionally, many insurance companies did not provide this specific exclusion in their business interruption policies, suggesting the company was including pandemics as part of the coverage.

Our law firm is filing lawsuits on behalf of businesses who were forced to close (temporarily or permanently) because of COVID-19 and who possess business interruption insurance coverage.

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling insurance disputes in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving these types of cases. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against the largest insurance companies in the world. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 65 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the business interruption lawsuits.