تدعي دعوى 3M Military Earplug أن سدادات الأذن التي بيعها 3M للجيش بين 2003 و 2015 لم تكن فعالة لأنها لن تكون محكمة الإغلاق داخل آذان المستخدم.

تقوم شركة المحاماة لدينا بتقييم الحالات والتماس التعويض للأفراد الذين عانوا من فقدان السمع بشكل خطير بعد استخدام 3M Combat Arms Earplugs Version 2 (CAEv2) أثناء النشر أو التدريب وتم تفريغهم قبل يناير 2015.

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى سدادة الأذن العسكرية 3M

في يوليو 2018 ، أعلنت وزارة العدل الأمريكية أن 3M Corp. وافقت على دفع مبلغ 9.1 مليون دولار لتسوية دعوى فساد مطالبات قانون دعوى كاذبة تتهم 3M من بيع سدادات أذن معيبة عن عمد إلى الجيش الأمريكي.

كانت التسوية ، المرفوعة أمام المحكمة الفيدرالية في ساوث كارولينا ، مدفوعة بمزاعم بأن شركة 3M وسلفها Aearo Technologies Inc. باعتا Combat Arms Earplugs ، الإصدار 2 (CAEv2) إلى وكالة لوجستيات الدفاع مع العلم أنها كانت قصيرة جدًا بحيث لا يمكن إدراجها بشكل صحيح في آذان المستخدم.

سدادات الأذن المعيبة ثنائية النهاية ويمكن استخدامها إما كسدادات سدادات تقليدية أو يمكن قلبها في وضع "مفتوح" لتخفيف أصوات الانفجارات مع الاستمرار في سماع أصوات أكثر هدوءًا. ستزول المقابس تدريجيًا بعد إدخالها في الأذنين وستفشل في تقليل الضوضاء العالية بشكل صحيح.

زعمت وزارة العدل الأمريكية أن موظفي Aearo Technologies ، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين انضموا إلى 3M بعد أن اكتسبوا Aearo في 2008 ، كانوا على علم بمشاكل التصميم في أقرب وقت 2000 عندما أكملت اختبار سدادات الأذن.

لم يقتصر الأمر على قيام 3M / Aero ببيع هذه السدادات المعيبة للرجال والنساء بالزي الرسمي ، بل إنها منعت الشركات الأخرى من بيع منتجات منافسة أكثر فاعلية. أطلقت 3M دعوى التقاضي بشأن انتهاك براءات الاختراع في 2012 والتي تستهدف BattlePlugs من Moldex-Metric ، والتي يتم شراؤها الآن من قبل الجيش. انتهت الدعوى بحكم لصالح Moldex.

كانت سدادات الأذن CAEv3 من 2M من المعدات القياسية لبعض فروع الجيش بين 2003 و 2015 ، والخيار الوحيد المتاح للأفراد العسكريين لسدادات سدادات التوهين بين 2003 و 2012.

إصابات السمع العسكرية

يبلغ 60٪ تقريبًا من جميع الأفراد العسكريين عن فقدان السمع بعد مغادرة الجيش. اعتبارًا من 2014 ، كان أكثر من قدامى المحاربين في 933,000 يتلقون تعويضًا عن العجز بسبب فقدان السمع ، وكان 1.3 مليونًا يتلقون تعويضًا عن طنين الأذن (رنين في الأذنين).

السمع وفقدان الطنين هي إلى حد بعيد الإعاقة الأكثر انتشارا المرتبطة بالخدمة بين قدامى المحاربين الأمريكيين وفقا ل إدارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى.

يمكن أن يكون سبب فقدان السمع وطنين الأذن هو التعرض الحاد (الفردي) لنبض صوتي شديد (مثل انفجار) أو التعرض المستمر على المدى الطويل (مثل إطلاق النار المتكرر أو التمركز في غرف المحرك أو أسطح حاملات الطائرات) .

لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة في التعامل مع حالات الإصابة الشخصية في 1955. اليوم ، نحن معترف بهم كقائد وطني في الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي على إصابات المخدرات. تلقينا أحكامًا من 150 على هيئة محلفين بمبلغ $ 1 مليون أو أكثر ، وفازنا بأحكام ومستحقات المحلفين بما يزيد عن مليار دولار 4.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا هو مؤتمر وطني يحضره محامو 1,500 كل عام حيث نعلم كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد أكبر الشركات في العالم. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا عن مزايا والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 63 * $ 4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر استمارة التقييم المجانية والسرية. سيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد المحامين الذين يتعاملون مع الدعاوى القضائية لـ 3M Combat Arms Earplug.

المحامي بيكا تيمونز يناقش 3M العسكرية سدادات سدادات

أخبار 3M العسكرية سدادات الدعوى

شركة 3M توافق على دفع مبلغ 9.1 مليون دولار لحل الادعاءات بأنها زودت الولايات المتحدة بسدادات سدادات الأسلحة النارية المعيبة المزدوجة الأطراف

أعلنت وزارة العدل أن شركة 3M (3M) ، ومقرها في سانت بول ، بولاية مينيسوتا ، قد وافقت على دفع مبلغ 10 مليون دولار أمريكي لحل الادعاءات بأنها باعت على سبيل المثال سفينتي مكافحة الأسلحة المزدوجتين ، الإصدار 9.1 (CAEv2) إلى الولايات المتحدة. الدول العسكرية دون الكشف عن العيوب التي أعاقت فعالية جهاز حماية السمع. ذكرت في قسم العدل

تدفع الشركة مبلغًا قدره 9 مليون دولار بعد أن زُعم أنها تبيع سدادات عابرة قتالية إلى الجيش الأمريكي:

وافقت شركة متعاقدة على دفع مبلغ 9.1 مليون دولار لحل ادعاءات بأنها باعت عمدا سدادات عيب عسكرية أمريكية. ويزعم أن شركة 3M التي يوجد مقرها في ولاية مينيسوتا ، قد باعت سداسي أذرع Combat Arms المزدوج ، الإصدار 2 ، إلى وكالة الدفاع اللوجيستية دون الكشف عن عيوب أدت إلى انخفاض الفعالية الفعلية لحماية السمع التي يوفرها الجهاز. ذكرت في أوقات العسكرية

الدراسات العلمية فيما يتعلق بخسارة السمع المخضرم

إجراء بحث ميداني حول حماية السمع وتعزيز السمع في جهاز واحد: بالنسبة للجنود الذين تعتمد آذانهم وأرواحهم عليها

أجري البحث الميداني الموصوف في هذه الورقة لدراسة تأثيرات الأداء التشغيلي لثلاثة أنظمة مختلفة لحماية السمع (HEPS) تهدف إلى توفير الحماية والمراقبة. استخدمت التجربة إجراءات محددة من الناحية العملية في سيناريوهات قتالية واسعة النطاق ومحاكاة مع جنود ROTC Cadet Soldiers كموضوعات. ذكرت في الضوضاء والصحة

فقدان السمع على نطاق واسع بين قدامى المحاربين بعد 9 / 11

بين محاربي ما بعد 9 / 11 ، عادت 414,000 إلى المنزل مع فقدان السمع وطنين الأذن ، أو رنين في الأذنين. وكانت الإصابات الأكثر انتشارًا للمحاربين القدامى هي السمع وغيره من المضاعفات السمعية ، وفقًا لمقابلات وبيانات الفوائد. ذكرت في مركز النزاهة العامة

تأثير الضوضاء على السمع في الجيش

يتعرض الأفراد العسكريون باستمرار لمستويات عالية من الضوضاء وليس من المستغرب أن يظل فقدان السمع الناجم عن الضوضاء وطنين الأذن ثاني أكثر حالات الإعاقة المرتبطة بالخدمة انتشارًا. لسوء الحظ ، على عكس الموظفين المدنيين ، لا يوجد خيار أمام الأفراد العسكريين سوى البقاء في بيئات صاخبة من أجل إكمال مهام ومهام محددة. ذكرت في البحوث الطبية العسكرية

3M Military Earplug Lawsuit – Hearing Loss Claims & Compensation

The 3M Military Earplug lawsuit claims the earplugs that 3M sold to the military between 2003 and 2015 were ineffective because they would not hold tight within a user's ears.

Our law firm is evaluating cases and seeking compensation for individuals who have experienced serious hearing loss after using the 3M Combat Arms Earplugs Version 2 (CAEv2) during deployment or training and were discharged before January 2015.

 

What Do We Know About the 3M Military Earplug Lawsuits

In July 2018, the U.S. Department of Justice announced that 3M Corp. agreed to pay $9.1 million to settle a whistleblower False Claims Act suit accusing 3M of knowingly selling defective earplugs to the U.S. military.

The settlement, filed in South Carolina federal court, was driven by allegations that 3M and its predecessor Aearo Technologies Inc. sold its Combat Arms Earplugs, Version 2 (CAEv2) to the Defense Logistics Agency knowing they were too short to be properly inserted into a user's ears.

The defective earplugs are dual-ended and can be used either as traditional earplugs or can be flipped into an "open" position to attenuate explosion sounds while still letting through quieter noises. The plugs would gradually loosen after being inserted in the ears and would fail to properly reduce loud noises.

The U.S. Department of Justice alleged that Aearo Technologies employees, including those who joined 3M after it acquired Aearo in 2008, knew about the design problems as early as 2000 when it completed testing of the earplugs.

Not only did 3M/Aero knowingly sell these defective earplugs to men and women in uniform, it also prevented other companies from selling more effective competing products. 3M launched patent infringement litigation in 2012 aimed at Moldex-Metric's BattlePlugs, which are now being purchased by the military. The lawsuit ended with a ruling in favor of Moldex.

3M’s CAEv2 earplugs were standard equipment for certain branches of the military between 2003 and 2015, and the only available option to military personnel for attenuation earplugs between 2003 and 2012.

 

Military Hearing Injuries

Approximately 60% of all military personnel report hearing loss after leaving the military. As of 2014, more than 933,000 veterans were receiving disability compensation for hearing loss and 1.3 million were receiving compensation for tinnitus (ringing in the ears).

Hearing loss and tinnitus are by far the most prevalent service-connected disability among American Veterans according to the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Hearing loss and tinnitus can be caused by an acute (single) exposure to an intense impulse of sound (such as an explosion) or by a continuous long-term exposure (such as repeated gunfire or being stationed in engine rooms or aircraft carrier decks).

 
Why Choose Our Lawyers

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against the largest corporations in the world. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 63 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the 3M Combat Arms Earplugs lawsuits.

 

3M Military Earplugs Lawsuit News

3M Company Agrees to Pay $9.1 Million to Resolve Allegations That it Supplied the United States With Defective Dual-Ended Combat Arms Earplugs

The Department of Justice announced that 3M Company (3M), headquartered in St. Paul, Minnesota, has agreed to pay $9.1 million to resolve allegations that it knowingly sold the dual-ended Combat Arms Earplugs, Version 2 (CAEv2) to the United States military without disclosing defects that hampered the effectiveness of the hearing protection device. Reported in Justice Department

Company to pay $9 million after allegedly selling defective combat earplugs to US military:

A contracting company agreed to pay $9.1 million to resolve allegations that it knowingly sold the U.S. military defective earplugs. The Minnesota-based 3M Company allegedly sold its dual-ended Combat Arms Earplugs, Version 2, to the Defense Logistics Agency without disclosing defects that decreased the actual effectiveness of the hearing protection the device offered. Reported in Military Times

 

Scientific Studies Regarding Veteran Hearing Loss

A field investigation of hearing protection and hearing enhancement in one device: For soldiers whose ears and lives depend upon it

The in-field research described in this paper was conducted to examine operational performance effects of three different hearing enhancement protection systems (HEPS) that are intended to provide both protection and audibility. The experiment utilized operationally-defined measures in full-scale, simulated combat scenarios with Army ROTC Cadet Soldiers as subjects. Reported in Noise & Health

Hearing Loss Widespread Among Post-9/11 Veterans

Among post-9/11 veterans, 414,000 have come home with hearing loss and tinnitus, or ringing in the ears. The most-widespread injury for veterans has been hearing loss and other auditory complications, according to interviews and benefits data. Reported in Center for Public Integrity

Impact of noise on hearing in the military

Military personnel are constantly exposed to high levels of noise and it is not surprising that noise induced hearing loss and tinnitus remain the second most prevalent service-connected disabilities. Unfortunately, unlike civilian personnel, military personnel have little option but to remain in noisy environments in order to complete specific tasks and missions. Reported in Military Medical Research