المحامية كاريسا فيلبس | ليفين بابانتونيو

الملف الشخصي للمحامي

المحامية كاريسا فيلبس

كاريسا فيلبس

ليفين Papantonio

316 South Baylen St.

بينساكولا، FL 32502

 

رائدة في حركة مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر لأكثر من عقد من الزمان ، كاريسا فيلبس محامية مع JD من كلية الحقوق بجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس ، وماجستير في إدارة الأعمال من كلية أندرسون للإدارة في جامعة كاليفورنيا.

من خلال الاستفادة من تعليمها وتجاربها في الحياة والتحديات ، نجحت في بناء وإطلاق منصة للناجين من جميع أشكال الاتجار بالبشر لوضع سياسات وتثقيف صانعي السياسات وأول المستجيبين حول آثار الاتجار بالبشر. يعتبر فيلبس متحدثًا مرغوبًا وحليفًا للمجتمعات المحلية والوكالات غير الربحية والأفراد. لقد ساعدت في لفت الانتباه الوطني والمحلي الاتجار بالبشر وكان جزءًا من التغييرات المهمة في التشريعات والسياسات والإجراءات ذات الصلة.

فيلبس هو موضوع وثائقي حائز على جائزة عن حياتها ، CARISSA ، الذي عرض لأول مرة في عام 2008. الفيلم ، جنبا إلى جنب مع مذكراتها 2012 Runaway Girl: Escaping Life on the Streets One Helping at a Time (Viking) ، يتم استخدامها عبر البلد كأدوات تعليمية للعاملين في رعاية الطفل ، والناجين من الاتجار بالبشر ، والمدافعين عن إصلاح العدالة.

ما بدأ كرحلة لسرد قصة واحدة حفز على حركة الضحايا والناجين الذين تم تجاهلهم و / أو إلقاء اللوم عليهم لإيذائهم. أسست فيلبس Runaway Girl ، FPC ، وهي شركة الغرض الاجتماعي الأولى من نوعها ، لمساعدة المجتمعات على الاستجابة للاتجار بالبشر وإلهام الأفراد الذين نجوا من الاتجار بالبشر لاعتناق الحرية وتحقيق أحلامهم.

مدافع شرس عن حقوق الضحايا وتوفير خدمات مؤثرة ومتغيرة للحياة للناجين ، ومرشدي فيلبس الناجين القادة. كما تعمل مع مقدمي الخدمات لزيادة الوصول إلى الخدمات الحيوية لضحايا الاتجار بالبشر في المجتمعات المحلية.

بالإضافة إلى شهادة القانون والماجستير في إدارة الأعمال ، حصلت فيلبس على بكالوريوس في الرياضيات ، بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف ، من جامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا ، فريسنو. كما حصلت على العديد من الأوسمة والجوائز ، بما في ذلك أفضل 100 خريج ملهم من جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجليس أندرسون (2010) وجائزة خريجي جامعة ولاية فريسنو المتميزة (2013).

السنة انضمت إلى الشركة

  • 2019 (المستشار)

مجالات الممارسة

قبول المحامين

  • كاليفورنيا

تعليم

  • دكتوراة في القانون ، كلية الحقوق بجامعة كاليفورنيا
  • ماجستير إدارة الأعمال ، جامعة كاليفورنيا في أندرسون
    مرتبة الشرف: من بين الأوائل الذين شاركوا في منظمة NET IMPACT التي يقودها الطلاب
    زميل تويجو في المالية
  • ليسانس في الرياضيات ، جامعة ولاية فريسنو
    يكرم: بامتياز Summa
    4.0 GPA و Downing Scholar

تكريم وتقدير ملحوظ

  • أفضل 100 خريج ملهم من جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس (2010)
  • جائزة خريجي جامعة فريسنو المعلقة (2013)
  • جائزة "بطل الأطفال" (ICAN) المجلس المشترك بين الوكالات حول إساءة معاملة الأطفال وإهمالهم (2011)
  • التقدير والشرف ، إدارة مراقبة مقاطعة لوس أنجلوس ، الأمل الملهم من خلال قيادة الناجين (2012)
  • شهادة اعتراف خاص من الكونغرس ، من قبل الكونجرس الأمريكي (2013)

ظهور وسائل الإعلام

  • ظهرت في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية بما في ذلك CNN و BBC News و ABC / Good Morning America و USA Today و Dallas Morning News والمزيد

تحدث المظاهر

  • تطبيق القانون وتدريبات المستجيب الأول (2015 إلى الوقت الحاضر)
  • مؤتمر عن العنف وإساءة استخدام المؤتمرات (2013 ، 2019)
  • سلسلة حفلات ومحادثات في المؤتمرات والمدارس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة (2007 إلى الوقت الحاضر)

خدمة المجلس

  • تمكين شبكة لها (2019 إلى الوقت الحاضر)
  • عضو مجلس إدارة ، كاليفورنيا ضد الرق (CAS) (2014-2017)

Attorney Carissa Phelps | Levin Papantonio

Attorney Profile

Attorney Carissa Phelps

Carissa Phelps

Levin Papantonio

316 South Baylen St.

Pensacola, FL 32502

 

A leader in the anti-human trafficking movement for over a decade, Carissa Phelps is an attorney with a J.D. from UCLA School of Law, and an M.B.A. from UCLA’s Anderson School of Management.

Leveraging her education, life experiences, and challenges she successfully built and launched a platform for survivors of all forms of human trafficking to create policies and educate policymakers and first responders about the impacts of human trafficking. Phelps is a sought-after speaker and ally to local communities, non-profit agencies and individuals. She has helped to bring national and local attention to human trafficking and has been part of significant changes in related legislation, policies, and procedures.

Phelps is the subject an award-winning documentary about her life, CARISSA, which premiered in 2008. The film, along with her 2012 memoir Runaway Girl: Escaping Life on the Streets One Helping Hand at a Time (Viking), are used across the country as teaching tools for child welfare professionals, human trafficking survivors, and advocates of justice reform.

What began as a journey to tell one story spurred on a movement for victims and survivors who were being ignored and/or being blamed for their victimization. Phelps founded Runaway Girl, FPC, a first-of-its-kind social purpose corporation, to help communities respond to human trafficking and inspire individuals who have survived human trafficking to embrace freedom and pursue their dreams.

A fierce advocate for victims’ rights and the provision of impactful and life-changing services for survivors, Phelps mentors survivor leaders. She also works with service providers to increase access to vital services for victims of human trafficking in local communities.

In addition to her law degree and Masters of Business Administration, Phelps earned a Bachelor of Arts in mathematics, summa cum laude, from California State University, Fresno. She has also received several honors and awards, including UCLA Anderson’s Top 100 Inspirational Alumni (2010) and Fresno State University’s Outstanding Alumni Award (2013).

Year Joined the Firm

  • 2019 (Of-Counsel)

Areas of Practice

Bar Admissions

  • California

Education

  • Juris Doctorate, UCLA School of Law
  • Masters of Business Administration, UCLA Anderson
    Honors: Among first to participate in NET IMPACT student-led organization
    Toigo Fellow in Finance
  • Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics, Fresno State University
    Honors: Summa Cum Laude
    4.0 GPA and Downing Scholar

Notable Honors and Recognition

  • UCLA Anderson’s Top 100 Inspirational Alumni (2010)
  • Fresno State University’s Outstanding Alumni Award (2013)
  • Award, Champion for Children, (ICAN) Inter-Agency Council on Child Abuse and Neglect (2011)
  • Recognition and Honor, Los Angeles County Probation Department, Inspiring Hope Through Survivor Leadership (2012)
  • Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition, by U.S. Congress (2013)

Media Appearances

  • Featured in major media outlets including, CNN, BBC News, ABC/Good Morning America, USA Today, Dallas Morning News, and more

Speaking Appearances

  • Law Enforcement and First Responder Trainings (2015-Present)
  • Institute on Violence Abuse & Trauma Conferences (2013, 2019)
  • Galas and Speaking Series at Conferences and Schools throughout the United States (2007-present)

Board Service

  • Empower Her Network (2019 – Present)
  • Board Member, California Against Slavery (CAS) (2014 – 2017)