Belviq Lawsuit - Settlements & Recalls – Cancer Injury Law Firm

تدعي دعوى Belviq أن استخدام Belviq يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان ، وخاصة سرطان القولون والمستقيم والبنكرياس وسرطان الرئة.

يمثل مكتب المحاماة التابع لنا الأفراد الذين أخذوا Belviq وعانوا من أي شكل من أشكال السرطان.

نحن نتعامل مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد شركات الأدوية منذ عام 1955. كل عام نعلم 1,500 محامٍ كيف يتعاملون مع هذه القضايا بنجاح. نحن مدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة الوطنية.

 

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى بلفيك؟

دعوى Belviq

تم تطوير Belviq (lorcaserin hydrochloride) في الأصل بواسطة شركة Arena Pharmaceuticals ، ومقرها سان دييغو. هذا الدواء عبارة عن ناهض لمستقبلات السيروتونين 2C لإدارة الوزن يتم تسويقه كدواء للبالغين الذين يعانون من السمنة ويعانون من حالة مرتبطة بالوزن ، مثل النوع 2 مرض السكري أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو ارتفاع الكوليسترول.

في 13 فبراير 2020 ، أعلنت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) أنها طلبت استدعاء بيلفيك وبلفيك XR من السوق. حذرت إدارة سلامة الأدوية من إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية من زيادة حدوث السرطان في تجربة سريرية طويلة الأمد للأدوية. بناءً على هذه الدراسات ، خلصت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية إلى أن مخاطر Belviq تفوق فوائدها.

This announcement came approximately one month after the FDA had issued an alert about the possible carcinogenic nature of the medication, also known as lorcaserin.

 

إصابات بلفيك والآثار الجانبية

في عام 2012 ، وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على Belviq بشرط أن تقوم الشركة المصنعة للأدوية Eisai بإجراء تجارب سريرية حول مخاطر مشاكل القلب والأوعية الدموية المرتبطة بأدوية إنقاص الوزن. على مدار خمس سنوات ، شارك 12,000 مريض يعانون من السمنة ولديهم عوامل خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية في تجربة إكلينيكية عشوائية مزدوجة التعمية خاضعة للتحكم الوهمي.

تم نشر التحليل الذي أعقب التجارب في عام 2018. وأشار لا يوجد فرق ذو مغزى في سلامة القلب والأوعية الدموية بين المجموعات التي استخدمت Belviq وأولئك الذين استخدموا الدواء الوهمي في التجربة. ومع ذلك ، كشف التحليل عن وجود علاقة محتملة بين Belviq والسرطان. أشار التحليل إلى حالات السرطان في مجموعتي التجربة ، حيث أبلغ عن 215 حالة في مجموعة Belviq و 210 حالة في مجموعة الدواء الوهمي.

في فترة 18 شهرًا بعد إصدار تحليل 2018 ، قررت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية أن المشاركين في التجارب السريرية استمروا في تجربة زيادة في تشخيصات السرطان - 247 مريضًا في مجموعة Belviq و 213 مريضًا في مجموعة الدواء الوهمي.

من بين المشاركين في التجربة الذين تناولوا دواء إنقاص الوزن ، تم تشخيص إصابة 462 (7.7 بالمائة) بالسرطان ، مقارنة بـ 520 (423 بالمائة) من مرضى العلاج الوهمي الذين تم تشخيص إصابتهم بـ 7.1 سرطانًا. ظهر سرطان إضافي لكل 470 مريضاً عولجوا ب بلفيك لمدة عام واحد. لم يزداد عدد السرطانات فحسب ، بل زاد أيضًا أنواع من السرطانات التي تم إرفاقها بـ Belviq - مع ارتفاع حالات الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم والبنكرياس والرئة بين مستخدمي الدواء.

بناءً على هذه البيانات ، ومع ملاحظة أن هذه الاختلالات في تشخيصات السرطان تزداد مع مقدار الوقت الذي كان المرضى يأخذون فيه Belviq ، دقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية ناقوس الخطر.

 

ما هو التعويض الذي يمكن استرداده في دعوى Belviq؟

نحن نمثل الأفراد الذين أصيبوا بالسرطان نتيجة استخدام Belviq. إذا كنت أنت أو أحد أفراد أسرتك مصابًا بالسرطان ، فسوف نسعى للحصول على الأضرار التالية لك ، سواء من خلال حكم هيئة المحلفين أو التسوية:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية الناتجة عن إصاباتك.
  2. آلام ومعاناة الماضي والمستقبل (الجسدية والعقلية) الناجمة عن الإصابات ، وعملية العلاج والانتعاش.
  3. خسارة الأجور في الماضي والمستقبل.
  4. خسارة الماضي والمستقبل من القدرة على الكسب.
  5. فقدان الماضي والمستقبل من التمتع بالحياة.
  6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.
 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة في التعامل مع حالات الإصابة الشخصية في 1955. اليوم ، نحن معترف بهم كقائد وطني في الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي على إصابات المخدرات. تلقينا أحكامًا من 150 على هيئة محلفين بمبلغ $ 1 مليون أو أكثر ، وفازنا بأحكام ومستحقات المحلفين بما يزيد عن مليار دولار 8.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا هو المؤتمر الوطني الذي يحضره محامو 1,500 كل عام حيث نعلم كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع دعاوى قضائية ضد شركات الأدوية. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 8 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
 
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر نموذج تقييم Belviq مجاني وسري. ستتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعاوى Belviq.

 

مستوطنات Belviq Lawsuit

مستوطنات بلفيق

اعتبارًا من هذا الوقت ، لم تكن هناك مجموعات كبيرة من مستوطنات الأضرار الجماعية يشمل Belviq وصلته بالسرطان. ومع ذلك ، فإن التقاضي مثل هذا يستغرق عمومًا سنوات عديدة لحلها ، حيث تنفق فرق من المحامين ملايين الدولارات في محاولة لتحديد ما حدث بالضبط ، وكيف كان من الممكن منعه.

لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من التسويات عمومًا حتى يتم محاكمة عدد قليل من القضايا أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة المصنعة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أكثر شمولاً. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية عادةً في تجميع مجموعات كبيرة من القضايا في المحكمة الفيدرالية لأغراض الاكتشاف. تُعرف هذه العملية باسم التقاضي متعدد المناطق (المعروف باسم MDL).

 

المحاميان مايك بابانتونيو وستيف لونغو يناقشان الدعاوى القضائية لبلفيك

 

استدعاءات وتحذيرات Belviq

في عام 2010 ، نفت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية تطبيق الدواء الجديد الأصلي (NDA) لبيلفيك ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى بعض العلامات الحمراء المبكرة حول مخاطر السرطان المحتملة التي لوحظت في دراسات الفئران قبل السريرية. An أكتوبر 2010 خطاب استجابة كامل تفصيل مخاوف إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA حول بعض الحالات التي لوحظت في الفئران التي تم إعطاؤها لوركاسيرين: عدد كبير من الوفيات المرتبطة بأورام الثدي والكتل السرطانية التي انتشرت إلى رئتي الفئران ؛ وزيادة في حدوث نوع معين من أورام الدماغ في ذكور الجرذان.

وعلقت رسالة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية أيضًا على سوء التوثيق والأخطاء المرضية وحجب بيانات دراسة الفئران ، والتي تمت الإشارة إليها جميعًا باسم "السلوك المشكوك فيه" نيابة عن Arena.

قامت Arena في نهاية المطاف بحل هذه المشكلات وأعطت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية (FDA) ضمانات كافية فيما يتعلق بهوامش أمان Belviq المتعلقة بالسرطان المرصود. ال وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على بيلفيك في يونيو 2012، ثم وافق على صيغة الإفراج الموسعة ، Belviq XR، في يوليو 2016. لم توافق إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على أي تركيبات عامة من هيدروكلوريد اللوركاسيرين.

في فبراير 2020 ، طلبت إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA سحب Belviq و Belviq XR من السوق نتيجة لارتباطها المحتمل بالسرطان.

 

أنواع سرطانات بلفيك

اعتبارًا من 16 مارس 2020 ، قدم ثمانية مرضى فقط تقارير سلبية إلى نظام الإبلاغ عن الأحداث الضائرة (FAERS) الخاص بإدارة الغذاء والدواء ، وهي قاعدة بيانات تحتوي على معلومات حول أخطاء الدواء والأحداث الضائرة.

أبلغ هؤلاء المرضى عن 15 نوعًا من السرطان:

  1. سرطانة غدية البنكرياس
  2. سرطان الخلايا القاعدية
  3. سرطان الثدي
  4. القولون الغدي
  5. سرطانة غدية بطانة الرحم
  6. سرطان الغدة الدرقية الجريبي
  7. ورم أرومي دبقي الأشكال
  8. مرض هودجكين
  9. ورم الثدي الحليمي داخل القحف
  10. الورم الميلانيني الخبيث
  11. سرطان البنكرياس النقيلي
  12. سرطان البنكرياس
  13. أورام البلعوم حميدة
  14. سرطان البروستات
  15. سرطان الجلد
  16. سرطان الغدة الدرقية
 

How Liability Law Applies to the Belviq Cases

بموجب معظم قوانين الولاية ، يمكن للمريض المصاب من خلال استخدام دواء معيب أن يرفع دعوى قضائية بناءً على النظريات القانونية التالية:

  1. عيب التصميم: عندما يتم تصنيع دواء حسب مواصفات التصميم ، ولكن التصميم نفسه يجعل الدواء غير فعال أو غير آمن ؛
  2. عيب التصنيع: عندما يتم تصميم دواء بأمان ، ولكن به عيب خلال عملية التصنيع ، مما يجعله خطيرًا أو غير آمن ؛ و / أو
  3. عدم التحذير: عندما تفشل الشركة المصنعة للدواء في تحذير الجمهور من المخاطر أو تقديم التعليمات المناسبة حول استخدام الدواء ، مما يجعلها غير آمنة أو خطرة.

تفرض جميع الولايات قانون التقادم الذي يحد من مقدار الوقت الذي يتعين عليك رفع دعوى قضائية ضد الشركة المصنعة للأدوية. يمكن لأي عضو في فريقنا القانوني إبلاغك بقوانين ولايتك.

 

Belviq وصف الأدوية والسرطان

وصف المنتج لشركة Belviq يتضمن تحذيرات بشأن انخفاض أكبر في تعداد خلايا الدم البيضاء والحمراء (يشار إليه بالتغيرات الدموية) عند مقارنة مجموعات اختبار اللوركاسيرين مقابل مجموعات الدواء الوهمي. يشير الملصق أيضًا إلى ارتفاع البرولاكتين ، وهو بروتين مرتبط بتمكين إنتاج الحليب.

على الرغم من أن ملصق الدواء يقدم بعض البيانات من دراسات سرطان الفئران ، فإن ملصق المنتج يقدم ليس تعرض أي تحذيرات بشأن زيادة خطر الإصابة بالسرطان.

 

ماذا تفعل مع حبوب بلفيك غير المستخدمة؟

تحث ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير المرضى على التوقف عن تناول Belviq / lorcaserin والتخلص من الأجزاء غير المستخدمة عن طريق المخدرات استعادة الموقع. إذا لم يكن هذا الموقع متاحًا ، يمكن للمرضى التخلص من الدواء في سلة المهملات عن طريق مزجه مع فضلات القطط أو الأوساخ أو القهوة المستخدمة أو بعض "المواد غير الجذابة" الأخرى. يجب غلق الخليط في كيس بلاستيكي ، ثم رميه في سلة المهملات بالمنزل. لا توصي الوكالة بفحص خاص للأفراد الذين تناولوا هذا الدواء ، لكنهم يقترحون التحدث مع أخصائي رعاية صحية حول أي أسئلة أو مخاوف.

 

Belviq Lawsuit News

Weight-loss drug to be pulled from market after FDA expresses concerns on cancer risk:

The Japanese drug maker Eisai on Thursday said it would withdraw the weight-loss drug Belviq from the U.S. market after the Food and Drug Administration expressed concerns about an increased occurrence of cancer reported in people who used the product. The agency recommended that people using Belviq to lose weight should stop taking the medicine immediately, although the FDA is not recommending special cancer screening for people who have used the drug. Reported in STAT

Weight-loss drug Belviq pulled off U.S. market because of cancer concerns:

Belviq is thought to trigger chemical signals that make people want to eat less. But early studies, done in rats, gave hints that it might also cause cancer. Since Belviq was approved, researchers have been conducting a five-year-long study to look at the drug’s safety profile. The FDA said Thursday that those higher risks were significant enough for the agency to take the rare step of calling for the drug’s removal. About 7.7 percent of Belviq patients had cancer diagnoses, compared with 7.1 percent of patients who got a placebo.Reported in واشنطن بوست

Weight loss drug Belviq tied to 'possible increased risk of cancer,' FDA says:

The FDA said in its announcement that, when approving Belviq, the agency required the drug manufacturer, Eisai Inc., to conduct a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial to evaluate the risk of heart-related problems. In the trial, conducted in about 12,000 participants over five years, more patients taking Belviq were diagnosed with cancer compared to patients taking a placebo. Reported in سي ان ان

Belviq Lawsuit - Settlements & Recall - Cancer Injuries

The Belviq lawsuit claims that the use of Belviq can increase the risk of cancer, especially colorectal, pancreatic, and lung cancer.

Our law firm is representing individuals who took Belviq and have suffered any form of cancer. We have been handling lawsuits against drug companies since 1955. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About the Belviq Lawsuits?

Belviq (lorcaserin hydrochloride) was originally developed by San Diego-based Arena Pharmaceuticals, Inc.  The drug is a serotonin 2C receptor agonist for weight management marketed as a medication for adults who are obese and suffer from a weight-related condition, like type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, or high cholesterol.

On February 13, 2020, the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) announced that it had requested the voluntary recall of Belviq and Belviq XR from the market. The FDA’s Drug Safety Communication warned of an increased occurrence of cancer in a long-running clinical trial of the drugs. Based on these studies, the FDA concluded that the risks of Belviq outweigh its benefits.

This announcement came approximately one month after the FDA had issued an alert about the possible carcinogenic nature of the medication, also known as lorcaserin.

 

Belviq Clinical Trials & Injuries

In 2012, the FDA approved lorcaserin with the requirement that drug manufacturer Eisai conduct clinical trials about the risk of cardiovascular problems associated with its weight-loss medication. Over the course of five years, 12,000 obese patients with various cardiovascular disease risk factors participated in a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial.

The analysis that followed the trials was published in 2018. It indicated no meaningful difference in cardiovascular safety between groups who used lorcaserin and those who used the trial’s placebo. However, the analysis revealed a potential connection between lorcaserin and cancer. The analysis mentioned cancer cases in the two trial groups, reporting 215 cases in the lorcaserin group and 210 cases in the placebo group.

 

Cancer Concerns After Belviq Clinical Trials

In the 18-month period after the 2018 analysis was released, the FDA determined that the clinical trial participants continued to experience an increase in cancer diagnoses—247 patients in the lorcaserin group and 213 patients in the placebo group.

Of the trial participants who took the weight-loss medication, 462 (7.7 percent) were diagnosed with 520 cancers, as compared with 423 (7.1 percent) placebo patients being diagnosed with 470 cancers. One additional cancer manifested for every 470 patients treated with lorcaserin for one year. Not only did the number of cancers increase, so did the types of cancers that were attached to lorcaserin — with higher incidents of colorectal, pancreatic, and lung cancer diagnoses among the medication’s users.

Prompted by this data and noting that these imbalances of cancer diagnoses increased with the amount of time that patients were taking lorcaserin, the FDA sounded its alarm.

 

Compensation in Belviq Lawsuits

We are representing individuals who have suffered cancer as a result of using Belviq. If you or a loved one has experienced cancer, then we will be seeking the following damages for you, whether by jury verdict or settlement:

  1. Past and future medical expenses that result from your injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss.
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.
 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against drug companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 65 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Belviq Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Belviq lawsuits.

 

Warnings and Recalls Regarding Belviq and Cancer

In 2010, the FDA denied the original New Drug Application (NDA) for Belviq, in part because of some early red flags about potential cancer risks noted in preclinical rat studies. An October 2010 Complete Response Letter detailed the FDA’s concerns about a few observed conditions in rats that were administered lorcaserin: a large number of mammary tumor-related deaths and cancerous masses that metastasized to the lungs of female rats; and an increase in the incidence of a certain type of brain tumor in male rats.

The FDA’s letter also commented on poor documentation, pathology errors, and withholding of rat study data, all of which was referred to as “questionable conduct” on behalf of Arena.

Arena eventually resolved these issues and gave adequate assurance to the FDA regarding Belviq’s safety margins related to the observed cancers. The FDA approved Belviq in June 2012, then approved an extended release formulation, Belviq XR, in July 2016. The FDA has not approved any generic formulations of lorcaserin hydrochloride.

In February 2020, the FDA requested the recall of Belviq and Belviq XR from the market as a result of its potential cancer link.

 

Types of Cancer Reported to the FDA

As of March 16, 2020, only eight patients had submitted adverse reports to the FDA’s Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS), a database containing information about medication errors and adverse events.

These patients reported 15 types of cancer:

  1. Adenocarcinoma Pancreas
  2. Basal Cell Carcinoma
  3. Breast Cancer
  4. Colon Adenoma
  5. Endometrial Adenocarcinoma
  6. Follicular Thyroid Cancer
  7. Glioblastoma Multiforme
  8. Hodgkin's Disease
  9. Intraductal Papillary Breast Neoplasm
  10. Malignant Melanoma
  11. Pancreatic Carcinoma Metastatic
  12. Pancreatic Carcinoma
  13. Pharyngeal Neoplasm Benign
  14. Prostate Cancer
  15. Skin Cancer
  16. Thyroid Cancer
 

Belviq Drug Labeling and Cancer

Product labeling for Belviq includes warnings about greater decreases in white and red blood cell counts (referred to as hematological changes) when comparing lorcaserin vs. placebo test groups. The label also refers to elevation in prolactin, a protein connected with enabling the production of milk.

Although the medication’s label does present some data from the rat cancer studies, the product label does not feature any warnings about the heightened risk of cancer.

 

What to Do With Your Belviq/Lorcaserin

The FDA urges patients to stop taking Belviq/lorcaserin and dispose of unused portions via a drug take back location. If such a location is not accessible, patients can dispose of the medication in their trash by mixing it with cat litter, dirt, used coffee grounds or some other “unappealing substance.” The mixture should be sealed in a plastic bag, then thrown away in the patient’s home trash. The agency is not recommending special screening for individuals who have taken this medication, but they do suggest speaking with a healthcare professional about any questions or concerns.