دعوى أغذية الأطفال - التسويات والاستدعاء - شركة محاماة الإصابات العصبية

تدعي دعوى أغذية الأطفال أن العديد من منتجات أغذية الأطفال تحتوي على معادن ثقيلة سامة يمكن أن تسبب إصابات خطيرة للرضع.

تقبل شركة المحاماة لدينا العملاء الذين اشتروا منتجات أغذية الأطفال التي تحتوي على معادن ثقيلة والذين عانى طفلهم من فقدان معدل الذكاء أو نقص الانتباه أو مشكلات التعلم والسلوك.

نحن نتعامل مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد مصنعي المنتجات منذ عام 1955. كل عام نعلم 1,500 محامٍ كيفية التعامل مع هذه القضايا بنجاح. نحن مدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة الوطنية.

 

ما نعرفه عن دعاوى أغذية الأطفال السامة

دعوى أغذية الأطفال

في عام 2019 ، المنظمة غير الربحية مستقبل مشرق للأطفال الأصحاء نشرت تقريرها "ماذا يوجد في طعام طفلي؟" استنادًا إلى تحقيق وطني حول العلامات التجارية لأغذية الأطفال. وجدت الدراسة أن 95٪ من منتجات أغذية الأطفال المختبرة تحتوي على مواد كيميائية سامة ، بما في ذلك الزرنيخ والرصاص والكادميوم والزئبق. وقد ثبت أن هذه المعادن ، وفقًا للتقرير ، تخفض معدل ذكاء الأطفال ، فضلاً عن تعزيز الآثار الخطيرة الأخرى.

في 2 مارس 2021 ، تم تقديم شكوى من قبل العديد من المدعين الذين اشتروا ماركات مختلفة من أغذية الأطفال التي وجدت أنها تحتوي على معادن ثقيلة سامة وتم تشخيص أطفالهم بالتوحد. تشمل قائمة المدعى عليهم الواردة أسماؤهم في الشكوى شركة Beech-Nut Nutrition Company Inc. و Hain Celestial Group Inc. ("Earth's Best Organic") و Gerber Products Co.، Inc. و Nurture (أغذية الأطفال "Happy Baby").

يؤكد المدعون أن المدعى عليهم يعرفون أن منتجات أغذية أطفالهم تحتوي على معادن ثقيلة سامة وأخفوا هذه المعلومات عن المستهلكين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تزعم الدعوى أن المدعى عليهم فشلوا في تحذير الجمهور من المعادن الثقيلة والنتائج الصحية السلبية المحتملة.

وتشمل الدعاوى القانونية ضد المتهمين مزاعم بعدم التحذير ؛ خرق الضمان الضمني للتسويق ؛ إهمال (منتج مغشوش) ؛ وانتهاك قانون الممارسات التجارية الخادعة.

 

إصابات أغذية الأطفال السامة والآثار الجانبية

في 2020، و مجلس النواب بالولايات المتحدة أجرى تحقيقًا في أغذية الأطفال. طلبت لجنة التحقيق نتائج الاختبار والوثائق الداخلية من سبع من أكبر مصنعي أغذية الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة ، تعاونت أربع شركات منها ، وظهرت نتائجها في تقرير اللجنة المنشور بتاريخ 4 فبراير 2021 ، بعنوان "أغذية الأطفال ملوثة بمستويات خطرة من الزرنيخ والرصاص والكادميوم والزئبق. " رفضت ثلاث شركات - Walmart و Campbell Soup و Sprout Organic Foods - التعاون مع التحقيق.

ووقع النائب رجا كريشنامورثي ، رئيس اللجنة ، على التقرير الذي خلص إلى أن أغذية الأطفال الملوثة بمستويات خطيرة من المعادن الثقيلة السامة تهدد النمو العصبي للرضع ووظائف المخ على المدى الطويل ، بما في ذلك ما يلي:

  1. فقدان معدل الذكاء
  2. نقص الانتباه
  3. التعلم والتأثيرات السلوكية

وفقًا للتقرير ، فإن التعرض اليومي المنخفض يخلق "انخفاضات سريرية في وظائف الدماغ" التي "تقلل من جودة الحياة ، وتقلل من التحصيل الدراسي ، وتزعج السلوك ، مع عواقب وخيمة على رفاهية وإنتاجية مجتمعات بأكملها".

يشرح التقرير أيضًا الآثار الجانبية لكل من المعادن الثقيلة الموجودة في أغذية الأطفال.

  1. الزرنيخ: سرطان المثانة والرئة والجلد. يضر الدماغ النامية والجهاز العصبي. عجز في معدل الذكاء عيوب معرفية مشاكل عصبية
  2. قيادة: تلف في الدماغ؛ عجز في معدل الذكاء نقص الانتباه مشاكل سلوكية
  3. الكادميوم: السمية العصبية. سرطان؛ تلف الكلى والعظام والقلب. صعوبات التعلم؛ و
  4. الزئبق: أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. ضعف الرؤية؛ عجز في معدل الذكاء ضعف الذاكرة.
 

التعويض في دعوى قضائية بشأن أغذية الأطفال

إذا أصيب طفلك من خلال تناول أغذية الأطفال السامة ، فسنطلب التعويض التالي لطفلك:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة والمستقبلية لعلاج إصابات طفلك.
  2. الألم والمعاناة التي يعاني منها طفلك في الماضي والمستقبل ، سواء من الناحية الجسدية أو العقلية.
  3. خسارة الأجور في المستقبل ، إن وجدت.
  4. تكبدت خسائر اقتصادية أخرى بسبب إصابات طفلك.
  5. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.
 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة الخاصة بنا في التعامل مع قضايا الإصابات الشخصية في عام 1955. واليوم ، نحن معروفون كشركة وطنية رائدة في الدعاوى القضائية التي تشمل أكبر الشركات في العالم. لقد تلقينا أكثر من 150 حكماً من هيئة المحلفين بمبلغ مليون دولار أو أكثر ، وفزنا بأحكام وتسويات من هيئة المحلفين تتجاوز 1 مليارات دولار.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا مؤتمر وطني يحضره 1,500 محام كل عام حيث نقوم بتدريس كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع هذه الأنواع من الدعاوى القضائية. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 65 * $ 8 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
 
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر استمارة مجانية وسرية لتقييم أغذية الأطفال. سيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد المحامين الذين يتعاملون مع قضايا أغذية الأطفال.

إقرأ المزيد

هل سيتم التعامل مع حافظة طعام طفلي كإجراء جماعي؟

الدعوى الجماعية هي دعوى قضائية حيث يمثل عدد قليل من الأفراد مصلحة العديد من الأفراد. أحكام المحكمة ملزمة لجميع الأشخاص الذين هم جزء من العمل الطبقي. يجب على جميع أعضاء الفصل قبول التسوية ، حتى لو كان الفرد سيحصل على تعويض قليل أو بدون تعويض.

لن يتابع محامو أغذية الأطفال لدينا إجراءات جماعية لعملائنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نحن نمثل كل عميل بناءً على حقائقه المحددة ، ونقوم بتقييم الأضرار التي تلحق بكل عميل بناءً على الحقائق المحددة الخاصة به. لكل من عملائنا خيار تسوية أو عدم تسوية قضيته.

للحصول على مناقشة تفصيلية حول الإجراءات الجماعية والأضرار الجماعية والتقاضي متعدد المجالات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا فئة العمل الجماعي صفحة للأضرار.

 

مستوطنات دعوى أغذية الأطفال

اعتبارًا من هذا الوقت ، لم تكن هناك مجموعات كبيرة من التسويات الجماعية تشمل أغذية الأطفال السامة والصلة بإصابات الأطفال العصبية ومع ذلك ، فإن التقاضي مثل هذا يستغرق عمومًا سنوات عديدة لحلها ، حيث تنفق فرق من المحامين ملايين الدولارات في محاولة لتحديد ما حدث بالضبط ، وكيف كان من الممكن منعه.

لا تحدث مجموعات كبيرة من التسويات عمومًا حتى يتم محاكمة عدد قليل من القضايا أمام هيئة محلفين ، وتكون الشركة المصنعة قادرة على فهم مخاطرها المالية بشكل أكثر شمولاً. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية عادةً في تجميع مجموعات كبيرة من القضايا في المحكمة الفيدرالية لأغراض الاكتشاف. تُعرف هذه العملية باسم التقاضي متعدد المناطق (المعروف باسم MDL).

 

يناقش المحامون مايك بابانتونيو ومادلين بندلي قضايا أغذية الأطفال السامة

 

الجدول الزمني للأحداث المهمة لقضايا أغذية الأطفال السامة

أكتوبر 2019: نشرت مجموعة هيلثي بيبيز برايت فيوتشرز غير الربحية تقريرها ، "ماذا يوجد في طعام طفلي؟" تسليط الضوء على البيانات من تحقيق وطني لأكبر العلامات التجارية لأغذية الأطفال وكشف أن 95٪ من المنتجات المختبرة تحتوي على مواد كيميائية سامة تقلل من معدل الذكاء لدى الأطفال.

4 فبراير، 2021: نشرت اللجنة الفرعية التابعة لمجلس النواب الأمريكي والمعنية بلجنة السياسات الاقتصادية والاستهلاكية المعنية بالرقابة والإصلاح تقرير فريق العمل ، "أغذية الأطفال ملوثة بمستويات خطيرة من الزرنيخ والرصاص والكادميوم والزئبق" كتحقيق متابعة حول منظمة Healthy Babies Bright تقرير العقود الآجلة.

18 فبراير، 2021: تم رفع دعوى قضائية جماعية في ولاية نيويورك ضد Beech-Nut بعد أن ادعت امرأة أنها اشترت أغذية أطفال تحتوي على مستويات ضارة من المعادن الثقيلة في متجر بقالة في رامزي ، نيو جيرسي.

مسيرة 2، 2021: تم رفع دعوى قضائية في ولاية نيفادا ضد العديد من مصنعي أغذية الأطفال المتهمين بصنع وبيع منتجات ذات مستويات غير آمنة من المعادن الثقيلة السامة.

مسيرة 25، 2021: مقدمة من "قانون سلامة أغذية الأطفال بالولايات المتحدة لعام 2021

8 أبريل، 2021: إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) تعلن عن خطة عملها "أقرب إلى الصفر" للحد من العناصر السامة في أغذية الأطفال.

 

أخبار دعوى أغذية الأطفال السامة

مشروع قانون جديد يهدف إلى إزالة المستويات الخطيرة من المعادن الثقيلة في أغذية الأطفال 

قدمت مجموعة من المشرعين الديمقراطيين تشريعات جديدة تهدف إلى الحد من المستويات الخطيرة من المعادن الثقيلة التي تم اكتشافها في منتجات أغذية الأطفال الشعبية. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق SILive.com

تواجه شركات أغذية الأطفال الآن ما لا يقل عن 43 دعوى قضائية بشأن معادن ثقيلة

تواجه شركات أغذية الأطفال المذكورة في تقرير حديث للجنة الفرعية للكونغرس 43 دعوى قضائية على الأقل حول المعادن الثقيلة في بضاعتها ، وفقًا لمدعين يسعون إلى دمج جميع القضايا في نيويورك. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق ملاح الغذاء

نيويورك أمي ، تشعر بالقلق إزاء المعادن الثقيلة السامة ، ملفات دعوى قضائية ضد شركات أغذية الأطفال 

بعد صدور تقرير عن السموم في أغذية الأطفال صادر عن اللجنة الفرعية المعنية بالسياسة الاقتصادية والاستهلاكية بمجلس النواب الأمريكي ، رفعت امرأة من نيويورك دعوى قضائية جماعية جديدة بشأن أغذية الأطفال ضد شركة Beech-Nut Nutrition Company ، The Hain Celestial Group ، Inc. و Nurture Inc. و Gerber Products Company و Plum PBC. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أخبار قانون الإصابات في نيويورك

آباء نيفادا يقاضون مصنعي أغذية الأطفال 

رفعت مجموعة من الآباء المحليين دعوى قضائية على أربع شركات وطنية لأغذية الأطفال بعد أن وجد تقرير للكونجرس صدر الشهر الماضي أن منتجاتهم الشعبية ملوثة بمستويات عالية من المعادن السامة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق لاس فيغاس استعراض جورنال

موجة من الدعاوى القضائية الجديدة ضد مصنعي أغذية الأطفال 

تم رفع دعوى جماعية ضد شركة Gerber Products Co. و Hain Celestial Group (Hain) في المنطقة الشمالية من إلينوي بدعوى حذف وإخفاء وجود مستويات خطيرة من المعادن الثقيلة في منتجات أغذية الأطفال التي يبيعونها. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مراجعة القانون الوطني

 

إدارة الغذاء والدواء والدراسات العلمية المتعلقة بأغذية الأطفال السامة

آثار الزرنيخ غير العضوي في حبوب أرز الرضع على النمو العصبي للأطفال

تشير نتائجنا إلى أن خسائر معدل الذكاء المرتبطة باستهلاك الزرنيخ في حبوب أرز الأطفال ليست ضئيلة ، وأن نسبة كبيرة من سكان الولايات المتحدة قد تأثرت. تظهر نتائجنا أيضًا أنه حتى الخسائر الصغيرة نسبيًا في معدل الذكاء لكل طفل لها آثار اقتصادية كبيرة عند النظر إليها على نطاق وطني. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق أبت أسوشيتس

وثيقة داعمة لمستوى العمل للزرنيخ غير العضوي في حبوب الأرز للرضع

استنادًا إلى تقييم المخاطر على الزرنيخ في الأرز ومنتجات الأرز ، بالإضافة إلى الاعتبارات بما في ذلك البيانات المتعلقة بمستويات الزرنيخ غير العضوي في حبوب أرز الأطفال وإمكانية تحقيق الشركة المصنعة ، تحدد إدارة الغذاء والدواء مستوى عمل للزرنيخ غير العضوي في حبوب أرز الأطفال يبلغ 100 ميكروغرام / كجم أو 100 جزء في البليون. تنطبق هذه الإرشادات على جميع أنواع حبوب الأرز للأطفال (على سبيل المثال ، الأرز الأبيض ، والأرز البني ، والمزروعة عضوياً ، والمزروعة بشكل تقليدي). لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية

تعرض الإنسان للزرنيخ الغذائي غير العضوي وأنواع الزرنيخ الأخرى: حالة المعرفة والفجوات وأوجه عدم اليقين

الزرنيخ غير العضوي (iAs) موجود في كل مكان في البيئة مثل الزرنيخ (AsIII) ومركبات الزرنيخ (AsV) والتحول الأحيائي لهذه المواد الكيميائية السامة يؤدي إلى التنوع غير العادي للأنواع العضوية الموجودة في الطبيعة. على الرغم من تصنيفها على أنها مادة مسرطنة للإنسان استنادًا إلى بيانات من السكان المعرضين لمياه الشرب الملوثة ، إلا أنه لم يتم التعرف إلا مؤخرًا على الحاجة إلى قيود تنظيمية على الذكاء الاصطناعي في الغذاء. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق علوم البيئة الكلية.

بالنسبة لأغذية الأطفال ، تتطلب المعادن الثقيلة مزيدًا من الاهتمام ومعايير أفضل

في يونيو 2017 ، تم إصدار EDF الرصاص في الغذاء: تهديد صحي خفي. فحص التقرير بيانات عقد من إدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) ووجد الرصاص المكتشف في 20٪ من عينات أغذية الأطفال مقارنة بـ 14٪ للأطعمة الأخرى. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق صندوق الدفاع عن البيئة.

التعرض الغذائي للزرنيخ غير العضوي في سكان أوروبا

بالنسبة لجميع الفئات العمرية باستثناء الرضع والأطفال الصغار ، كان المساهم الرئيسي في التعرض الغذائي لـ iAs هو المجموعة الغذائية "المنتجات المصنعة المعتمدة على الحبوب (غير المعتمدة على الأرز)" ، ولا سيما خبز القمح ولفائف الخبز. كانت المجموعات الغذائية الأخرى التي كانت من المساهمين المهمين في التعرض لـ iAs هي الأرز والحليب ومنتجات الألبان (المساهم الرئيسي في الرضع والأطفال الصغار) ومياه الشرب. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق هيئة سلامة الأغذية الأوروبية.

تقرير تقييم مخاطر الزرنيخ في الأرز ومنتجاته

تشير الأدبيات أيضًا إلى أن التعرض للزرنيخ غير العضوي أثناء الرضاعة والطفولة المبكرة يمكن أن يكون له تأثيرات سمية عصبية ، على الرغم من عدم وضوح ما إذا كانت هذه التأثيرات دائمة أم لا. في هذا الوقت ، لم يتم إجراء تقييم كمي للتأثيرات الصحية غير السرطانية المرتبطة بالتعرض للزرنيخ في الرحم (من خلال تناول الأمهات) وأثناء الرضاعة والطفولة المبكرة. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق الادارة الامريكية للطعام والمخدرات.

الزرنيخ في 9 أنواع من حبوب الرضع. مسح وطني للتلوث بالزرنيخ في 105 حبوب من العلامات التجارية الرائدة

اختبرنا حبوب الأطفال المصنوعة من قبل Gerber و Earth's Best و BeechNut و Nestlé وخمس علامات تجارية أخرى. جميع الـ 42 حاوية من حبوب أرز الأطفال التي اختبرناها ، باستثناء حاوية واحدة ، تحتوي على زرنيخ أكثر من أي من الحبوب الـ 63 الأخرى المدرجة في دراستنا. لقراءة المزيد ، انقر فوق مستقبل مشرق للأطفال الأصحاء.

Baby Food Lawsuit – Settlements & Recall - Neurological Injury Law Firm

The Baby Food lawsuit claims that numerous baby food products contain toxic heavy metals that can cause serious injuries to infants.

Our law firm is accepting clients who purchased baby food products with heavy metals and whose child has suffered IQ loss, attention deficits, or learning and behavioral issues.

We have been handling lawsuits against product manufacturers since 1955. Each year we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What We Know About the Toxic Baby Food Lawsuits

Baby Food Lawsuit

In 2019, the nonprofit organization Healthy Babies Bright Futures published its report “What’s in My Baby’s Food?” based on a national investigation of baby food brands. The study found that 95% of tested baby food products contain toxic chemicals, including arsenic, lead, cadmium, and mercury. These metals, according to the report, have been shown to lower babies’ IQ, as well as promote other serious effects.

On March 2, 2021, a complaint was filed by multiple plaintiffs who had purchased various brands of baby food found to contain toxic heavy metals and whose children were diagnosed with autism. The list of defendants named in the complaint includes Beech-Nut Nutrition Company Inc., Hain Celestial Group Inc. (“Earth’s Best Organic”), Gerber Products Co., Inc., and Nurture (“Happy Baby” baby food).

The plaintiffs assert the defendants knew their baby food products contained toxic heavy metals and hid this information from consumers. Additionally, the lawsuit alleges the defendants failed to warn the public about the heavy metals and the potential negative health outcome.

The legal claims against the defendants include allegations of failure to warn; breach of implied warranty of merchantability; negligence (adulterated product); and violation of the Deceptive Trade Practices Act.

 

Toxic Baby Food Injuries & Side Effects

In 2020, the United States House of Representatives conducted an investigation of baby foods. The investigating committee requested test results and internal documents from seven of the largest baby food manufacturers in the U.S. Four of the companies cooperated, and their findings appear in the committee’s published report dated February 4, 2021, titled “Baby Foods Are Tainted With Dangerous Levels of Arsenic, lead, Cadmium, and Mercury.” Three companies—Walmart, Campbell Soup Company, and Sprout Organic Foods—refused to cooperate with the investigation.

Representative Raja Krishnamoorthi, chairman of the committee, signed the report finding that baby foods tainted with dangerous levels of toxic heavy metals endanger infant neurological development and long-term brain function, including the following:

  1. IQ loss
  2. Attention deficits
  3. Learning and behavioral impacts

According to the report, low, daily exposures creates “subclinical decrements in brain function” that “diminish quality of life, reduce academic achievement, and disturb behavior, with profound consequences for the welfare and productivity of entire societies.”

The report further breaks down the side effects of each of the heavy metals found in baby foods.

  1. Arsenic: Bladder, lung, and skin cancer; damages the developing brain and nervous system; IQ deficits; cognitive defects; neurological problems;
  2. Lead: Brain damage; IQ deficits; attention deficits; behavior problems;
  3. Cadmium: Neurotoxicity; cancer; kidney, bone, and heart damage; learning disabilities; and
  4. Mercury: Cardiovascular disease; vision impairment; IQ deficits; memory impairment.
 

Compensation in a Baby Food Lawsuit

If your child has been injured through the consumption of toxic baby food, then we will be seeking the following compensation for your child:

  1. Past and future medical expenses to treat your child’s injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering suffered by your child, both from a physical and mental standpoint.
  3. Future wage loss, if any.
  4. Other economic losses experienced because of your child’s injuries.
  5. Punitive damages, if appropriate.
 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving the largest companies in the world. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $8 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle these types of lawsuits. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 65 years * $8 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Baby Food Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the baby food lawsuits.

Read More

Will My Baby Food Case be Handled as a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit where a few individuals represent the interest of many individuals. The court rulings are binding on all persons who are a part of the class action. All class members are required to accept the settlement, even if an individual is going to receive little or no compensation.

Our baby food attorneys will not be pursuing class actions for our clients. Instead, we represent each client on his/her specific facts, and we evaluate each client's damages on his/her specific facts. Each of our clients has the option of settling or not settling his/her case.

For a detailed discussion on class actions, mass torts, and multidistrict litigation, please visit our Class Action Mass Torts Page.

 

Baby Food Lawsuit Settlements

As of this time, there have been no large groups of mass tort settlements involving toxic baby food and the link to childhood neurological injuries. However, litigation likes this generally takes many years to resolve, with teams of lawyers spending millions of dollars trying to determine exactly what occurred, and how it could have been prevented.

Large groups of settlements do not generally occur until such time as a few cases are tried before a jury, and the manufacturer is able to more thoroughly understand its financial risk. The first step in this process is usually having large groups of cases combined in federal court for discovery purposes. This process is known as Multi-District Litigation (known as an MDL).

 

Attorneys Mike Papantonio and Madeline Pendley Discuss the Toxic Baby Food Lawsuits

 

Timeline of Events Important to the Toxic Baby Food Lawsuits

October 2019: Nonprofit group Healthy Babies Bright Futures published its report, “What’s in My Baby’s Food?” highlighting data from a national investigation of the largest baby food brands and revealing that 95% of the tested products contain toxic chemicals that diminish babies’ IQ.

February 4, 2021: U.S. House of Representatives’ Subcommittee on Economic and Consumer Policy Committee on Oversight and Reform published its staff report, “Baby Foods Are Tainted with Dangerous Levels of Arsenic, Lead, Cadmium, and Mercury” as a follow-up investigation of the Healthy Babies Bright Futures report.

February 18, 2021: A class-action lawsuit was filed in New York state against Beech-Nut after a woman claims she purchased baby food containing harmful levels of heavy metals at a grocery store in Ramsey, New Jersey.

March 2, 2021: A lawsuit is filed in Nevada against several baby food manufacturers accused of making and selling products with unsafe levels of toxic, heavy metals.

March 25, 2021: Introduction of the “United States Baby Food Safety Act of 2021

April 8, 2021: The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) announces its “Closer to Zero” action plan for reducing the toxic elements in baby foods.

 

Toxic Baby Food Lawsuit News

New bill aims to remove dangerous levels of heavy metals in baby food 

A group of Democratic lawmakers has introduced new legislation aimed at curbing dangerous levels of heavy metals that have been detected in popular baby food products. To read more, click SILive.com

Baby food companies now facing at least 43 lawsuits over heavy metals

Baby food companies named in a recent Congressional Subcommittee report are now facing at least 43 lawsuits about heavy metals in their wares, according to plaintiffs seeking to consolidate all of the cases in New York. To read more, click Food Navigator

NY Mom, Concerned About Toxic Heavy Metals, Files Class-Action Lawsuit Against Baby Food Companies 

Following a report on toxins in baby food released by the U.S. House of Representatives Subcommittee on Economic and Consumer Policy, a New York woman has filed a new class-action baby food lawsuit against Beech-Nut Nutrition Company, The Hain Celestial Group, Inc., Nurture Inc., Gerber Products Company, and Plum PBC. To read more, click New York Injury Law News

Nevada parents sue baby food manufacturers 

A group of local parents is suing four national baby food manufacturers after a congressional report released last month found their popular products are tainted with high levels of toxic metals. To read more, click Las Vegas Review-Journal

Wave of New Class-Action Lawsuits Against Baby Food Manufacturers 

A class action was filed against Gerber Products Co. and Hain Celestial Group (Hain) in the North District of Illinois for allegedly omitting and concealing the presence of dangerous levels of heavy metal in the baby food products they sell. To read more, click The National Law Review

 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Toxic Baby Food

Effects of Inorganic Arsenic in Infant Rice Cereal on Children’s Neurodevelopment

Our results suggest that the IQ losses associated with consumption of arsenic in infant rice cereal are not negligible, and a large portion of the U.S. population is impacted. Our results also show that even relatively small IQ losses per child have significant economic impacts when considered on a national scale. To read more, click Abt Associates

Supporting Document for Action Level for Inorganic Arsenic in Rice Cereals for Infants

Based on a risk assessment on arsenic in rice and rice products, as well as considerations including data on inorganic arsenic levels in infant rice cereals and manufacturer achievability, FDA is establishing an action level for inorganic arsenic in infant rice cereals of 100 μg/kg or 100 ppb. This guidance applies to all types of infant rice cereals (e.g., white-rice, brown-rice, organically grown, and conventionally grown). To read more, click U.S. Food & Drug Administration

Human exposure to dietary inorganic arsenic and other arsenic species: State of knowledge, gaps and uncertainties

Inorganic arsenic (iAs) is ubiquitous in the environment as arsenite (AsIII) and arsenate (AsV) compounds and biotransformation of these toxic chemicals leads to the extraordinary variety of organoarsenic species found in nature. Despite classification as a human carcinogen based on data from populations exposed through contaminated drinking water, only recently has a need for regulatory limits on iAs in food been recognized. To read more, click Sci Total Environ.

For children’s food, heavy metals require more attention and better standards

In June 2017, EDF released Lead in Food: A Hidden Health Threat. The report examined a decade’s worth of data from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and found lead detected in 20% of baby food samples compared to 14% for other foods. To read more, click Environmental Defense Fund.

Dietary exposure to inorganic arsenic in the European population

For all the age classes except infants and toddlers, the main contributor to dietary exposure to iAs was the food group ‘Grain-based processed products (non-rice-based)’, in particular, wheat bread and rolls. Other food groups that were important contributors to iAs exposure were rice, milk and dairy products (main contributor in infants and toddlers), and drinking water. To read more, click European Food Safety Authority.

Arsenic in Rice and Rice Products Risk Assessment Report

The literature also suggests that exposure to inorganic arsenic during infancy and early childhood can have neurotoxic effects, although whether these effects are lasting is unclear. At this time, a quantitative assessment of non-cancer health effects associated with arsenic exposure in utero (through maternal intake) and during infancy and early childhood has not yet been conducted. To read more, click U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Arsenic in 9 Brands of Infant Cereal. A national survey of arsenic contamination in 105 cereals from leading brands

We tested infant cereal made by Gerber, Earth’s Best, BeechNut, Nestlé, and five other brands. All but one of the 42 containers of infant rice cereal we tested had more arsenic than any of the 63 other cereals included in our study. To read more, click Healthy Babies Bright Futures.