ليفيرتس إل مابي الابن | ليفين بابانتونيو رافيرتي - مكتب محاماة ضد الإصابات الشخصية

الملف الشخصي للمحامي

المحامي ليفيرتس مابي

Lefferts L. Mabie، Jr.

 

وُلد Lefferts L. Mabie، Jr. (المعروف بالأصدقاء والزملاء باسم "Leff") في Bronxville، New York إلى Lefferts L. Mabie Sr. و Margarete Cronjaeger Mabie في 1925. انتقلت الأسرة إلى ليكلاند بولاية فلوريدا ، حيث تخرج Leff من المدرسة الثانوية في 1941 في سن 15.

أمضى العامين التاليين في جامعة فلوريدا (UF) ، حيث كان يشق طريقه من خلال الكلية كلاعب البلياردو شبه المهنية وقاد فريق UF Billiards للفوز برابطة 1943 للبطولة العالمية للاتحادات.

في وقت لاحق من ذلك العام ، انضم Leff إلى سلاح الجو الأمريكي ، حيث تأهل كطيار ، وغرس في داخله حماس مدى الحياة للطيران. خلال فترة خدمته ، ذهب Leff ليحلق رحلات 25 مع "Mighty Eighth" على قلعة أوروبا. بعد عودته إلى المنزل ، تزوج من ماريان مونسون سميث ، التي كان عندها طفلان (ابنة مارجريت وابن ليفيرتس مابي ، الثالث). أعاد التسجيل في جامعة UF ، وحصل على شهادة في القانون من 1948.

في 1950 ، تعاقد Leff مع شلل الأطفال ، تاركاً إعاقته جزئياً. آثار المرض لم تهدئه. على الرغم من أنه لم يعد قادرًا على المشاركة في أنواع أكثر نشاطًا من الترفيه ، إلا أنه تمكن من مواصلة الطيران مع الحفاظ على ممارسة قانونية منفردة مزدهرة. اكتسبت خبرته في القانون وسمعته في الإنصاف مركزًا كقاضي مقاطعة لمحافظة هاردي - وهي مهمة احتفظ بها حتى تنحى في 1965 للانضمام إلى شركة Lawacola Law of Lawin & Askew ، والتي أصبحت تعرف في النهاية باسم Levin Middlebrooks Mabie Thomas Mayes & Mitchell، as of the time of Leff's death.

كانت مهنة ليف كمحامية رائعة ، حيث كان إرثه يعتبر بمثابة والد التقاضي ضد سوء نية التأمين في ولاية فلوريدا. حصل على عدة ملايين من قرارات هيئة المحلفين ، في وقت كانت مثل هذه الأحكام نادرة. شغل منصب رئيس أكاديمية فلوريدا للمحامين ، التي تسمى الآن رابطة العدل في فلوريدا (FJA). حصل على جائزة Perry Nichols ، أعلى تكريم من FJA ، وأدرج في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا.

بصفته محاميًا تجريبيًا ، كان ليفي مستعدًا للتعامل مع القضايا التي لا يريدها أي شخص آخر ، خاصة عندما اعتبر موكله المستضعف. لم يكن خائفاً من الدخول في معركة قانونية كانت فيها الصعاب ضده. كما أن تجاربه أثناء الحرب والشفاء من شلل الأطفال قد أعطته تفهماً شديداً في هشاشة النفس البشرية ، الأمر الذي جعله مدافعاً قوياً للغاية أمام هيئات المحلفين.

كان ليف أيضا كريما مع وقته في التوجيه وتقديم المشورة للزملاء الأصغر سنا ، وأقل خبرة. قال لويس ك. روزنبلوم ، المحامي الذي أمضى عقدين من الزمن في الشركة ، ذات مرة: "بصفته محاميًا ، كان لييف شخصية جذابة ورائعة ومبتكرة ... كشخص ، كان طيب القلب وسخيفًا ، وكان دائمًا مستعدًا لمشاركته نظرة ثاقبة على ممارسة القانون والحياة بشكل عام ".

توفي Lefferts L. Mabie Jr. في مارس 1996 في سن 70.

Lefferts L. Mabie, Jr. | Levin Papantonio - Personal Injury Lawyers

Attorney Profile

Attorney Lefferts Mabie

Lefferts L. Mabie, Jr.

 

Lefferts L. Mabie, Jr. (known to friends and colleagues as “Leff”) was born in Bronxville, New York to Lefferts L. Mabie Sr. and Margarete Cronjaeger Mabie in 1925. The family relocated to Lakeland, Florida, where Leff graduated from high school in 1941 at the age of 15.

He spent the next two years at the University of Florida (UF), where he worked his way through college as a semi-professional billiards player and led the UF Billiards Team to win the 1943 Association of College Unions International Championship.

Later that year, Leff joined the U.S. Army Air Corps, where he qualified as a pilot, instilling within him a lifelong enthusiasm for aviation. During his time in the service, Leff went on to fly 25 missions with the “Mighty Eighth” over Fortress Europe. After returning home, he married Marianne Munson Smith, with whom he had two children (a daughter Margarete and a son Lefferts L. Mabie, III). He re-enrolled at UF, earning his law degree in 1948.

In 1950, Leff contracted polio, leaving him partially disabled. The aftermath of the disease did not slow him down. Although he was no longer able to participate in more active types of recreation, he managed to continue flying while maintaining a thriving solo legal practice. His expertise in the law and his reputation for fairness earned him a position as County Judge for Hardee County – a job he retained until stepping down in 1965 to join the Pensacola law firm of Levin & Askew, which eventually became known as Levin Middlebrooks Mabie Thomas Mayes & Mitchell, as of the time of Leff's death.

Leff's career as a lawyer was remarkable, where his legacy includes being considered the father of bad faith insurance litigation in the state of Florida. He received multiple million-dollar jury verdicts, during a time when such verdicts were rare. He served as the president of the Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers, now called Florida Justice Association (FJA). He received the Perry Nichols Award, the highest honor bestowed by the FJA, and was listed in the publication Best Lawyers in America.

As a trial lawyer, Leff was willing to take on the cases nobody else wanted, particularly when his client was considered the underdog. He was not afraid of engaging in a legal battle in which the odds were against him. His experiences during the war and recovering from polio also gave him a keen understanding into the frailty of the human psyche, which made him a very powerful advocate before juries.

Leff was also generous with his time mentoring and advising younger, less experienced colleagues. Louis K. Rosenbloum, an attorney who spent two decades at the firm, once stated, “As a lawyer, Leff was charismatic, brilliant and imaginative...as a person, he was warm-hearted and generous, always willing to share his insights into the practice of law and life in general.”

Lefferts L. Mabie Jr. passed away in March 1996 at the age of 70.