المحامي لورا دانينج ليفين بابانتونيو

الملف الشخصي للمحامي

المحامية لورا دانينج

لورا دانينج

ليفين Papantonio

316 South Baylen St.

بينساكولا، FL 32502

ldunningatlevinlaw.com

 

Laura Sherling Dunning هي المحامية المحامية في مجموعة ممارسات التقاضي والأعمال في ليفين بابانتونيو. منذ 2010 ، تم الاعتراف بالسيدة Dunning مراراً وتكراراً على أنها النجمة البارزة في ولاية ألاباما و Midsouth Super Lawyer Rising في التقاضي في الأوراق المالية. وقد مثلت السيدة دانينغ أكثر من 500 ضحايا الاحتيال في الأوراق المالية في تحكيم هيئة تنظيم الصناعة المالية (FINRA) وفي محكمة الولاية والمحكمة الفيدرالية ، واسترداد الملايين من الخسائر للعملاء بما في ذلك المستثمرين المتطورة والمؤسسية .. كما أنها تمثل المئات من الهيئات الحكومية في التقاضي الاتحادي المتعلقة بأزمة المواد الأفيونية.

تتحدث الآنسة دانينج بشكل متكرر حول القضايا التي تواجه صناعة الأوراق المالية ، بما في ذلك إجراءات تحكيم FINRA ، واختيار المحكم ، والاكتشاف الإلكتروني ، وكيفية إخلاء جوائز التحكيم ، وقد عملت كمحاضر ضيف في كلية القانون في جامعة ألاباما. وهي أيضاً عضو في نقابة المحامين العامين للتحكيم (PIABA) ، وهي منظمة دولية للمحامين مكرسة للنهوض بحقوق المستثمرين في صناعة الأوراق المالية. تم الترخيص للسيدة دوننغ للممارسة في ألاباما وتم قبولها في محاكم الولايات المتحدة في المقاطعات الشمالية والوسطى والجنوبية في ألاباما.

تخرجت السيدة دانينج بامتياز من كلية رودس مع بكالوريوس في الآداب في الأدب الإنجليزي. استقبلت طبيبها القانوني من كلية الحقوق في جامعة ألاباما في 2005 ، حيث عملت كمحرر رئيسي في مراجعة قانون ولاية ألاباما وكعضو منافس على المستوى الوطني في مجلس محكمة كامبل للموت. كانت السيدة دانينغ عضوًا في جمعية الشرف وبار النقابة القانونية وعملت كمشرفة خارجية لأونرابل شارون لوفلاس بلاكبيرن من محكمة مقاطعة الولايات المتحدة لمنطقة شمال ألاباما.

بالإضافة إلى ممارستها ، تنشط السيدة دانينج في مجتمعها ، وتعمل في اللجنة التنفيذية لجمعية الشابات المسيحيات في مجلس شباب ألاباما المركزي ، كمدربة محامية في مشروع محكمة التمدن المدنية ، وفي أدوار قيادية في معهد كانتربري يونايتد الميثودي كنيسة.

انضمت السنة محاماة

  • 2013 (المحامي)

المنصب الحالي مع شركة محاماة

  • من المحامي

مجالات الممارسة

تعمل السيدة دانينج في مجموعة الأوراق المالية والأعمال التجارية لفين بابانتونيو ، وتركز في المقام الأول على تمثيل الأفراد والكيانات الذين يسعون إلى استرداد الأموال لخسائر من الاحتيال الأمني ​​فضلاً عن الكيانات الحكومية التي تحارب أزمة المواد الأفيونية. وتشمل عملائها صناديق المعاشات التقاعدية الحكومية والبلدية ، والمستثمرين المؤسسيين والمتطورين ، ومئات الولايات والمقاطعات والمدن في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

تشمل ممارسة السيدة داننغ أيضًا الدعاوى التجارية المعقدة ، والإبلاغ عن المخالفات ، والعمل الطبقي ، والتقاضي ضد الاحتكار.

قبول المحامين

  • 2005

تعليم

  • كلية الحقوق بجامعة ألابامادكتوراة ، 2005

    بتقدير امتياز: محرر رئيسي في مراجعة قانون ألاباما
    بتقدير امتياز: عضو ، مجلس محكمة كامبل موت
    بتقدير امتياز: عضو ، جمعية الشرف القانونية والمحامين
    بتقدير امتياز: جائزة عميد خدمة المجتمع
    بتقدير امتياز: قدّم إلى الأونرابل شارون لوفليس بلاكبيرن من محكمة الولايات المتحدة المحلية للمنطقة الشمالية من ألاباما

  • كلية رودس ، ليسانس الآداب في الأدب الإنجليزي ، 2002
    بامتياز

الأوسمة والجوائز

  • The National Trial Lawyers: Top 40 Under 40

الجمعيات المهنية والعضويات

  • المحاكم الولائية للولايات المتحدة لمناطق شمال ووسط وجنوب ولاية ألاباما ، عضو
  • رابطة المحامين العامين للتحكيم ، عضو
  • كلية الحقوق في جامعة ألاباما ، محاضر ضيف

الدروس / الحلقات الدراسية التي يتم تدريسها

  • Mass Torts Made Perfect، “Hot Topics from the Headlines and how They Impact Your Practice،” April 2013
  • رابطة العدل في فلوريدا ، "مطالبات الأوراق المالية في مجتمعك: كيفية تحديد مطالبة قوية - ما هو عظيم حول التحكيم؟ كيف نمثل ضحايا البورصة ، والغش في الاستثمار ، والاحتيال المالي الآخر ، "فبراير 2014

حالات تمثيلية

  • تمثل المستشفيات 32 في إجراء الأوراق المالية المتعلقة بحسابات الأسهم المشترك ، مما أدى إلى تسوية $ 43.7M.
  • يمثل صندوق معاشات على مستوى الولاية في إجراء الأوراق المالية المتعلقة باستثمار أموال السندات ، مما أدى إلى تسوية $ 25M.
  • مثلت صناديق المعاشات التقاعدية البلدية 24 Florida في محاكم الولايات والمحاكم الفيدرالية في إجراءات الأوراق المالية ذات الصلة ضد تاجر الوسيط الرئيسي فيما يتعلق بتضارب المصالح في الاستشارات التقاعدية ، مما أدى إلى تسوية $ 21M.
  • تمثيل رجل أعمال متطور في تحكيم FINRA ضد شركة الخدمات المالية العالمية ، والذي نتج عنه مكافأة قدرها 19 مليون دولار.
  • تمثيل المستثمر الفرد في تحكيم FINRA ضد الرئيس التنفيذي السابق لشركة الخدمات المالية العالمية التي تزعم حدوث عمليات احتيال وتحريف ، مما أدى إلى تسوية $ 10M.
  • مثلت مستثمرًا متطورًا في تحكيم FINRA ضد شركة Morgan Keegan المتعلقة باستثمار في الأوراق المالية لسندات الصرف الصحي في مقاطعة جيفرسون ، والتي أدت إلى الحصول على جائزة 1.95M FINRA.
  • مثَّل مستثمرًا فرديًا في تحكيم FINRA زاعمًا عدم تنفيذ الأمر التجاري ، مما أدى إلى تسوية $ 1.35M.
  • أطلقت وإدارة شركة دعم التقاضي ومراجعة المستندات مقرها في شيناي ، الهند.

العمالة السابقة

قبل انضمامها إلى ليفين بابانتونيو ، مارست السيدة دانينغ مع Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker في برمنغهام ، ألاباما ، حيث ركزت ممارسة التقاضي المدني على مستوى البلاد على مسائل الأوراق المالية في محاكم الولاية والمحاكم الفيدرالية بالإضافة إلى التحكيم AAA و FINRA.

Laura Dunning | Securities Investment Fraud Attorney Attorney | Levin Papantonio

Attorney Profile

  • Attorney Laura Dunning
  • Laura Dunning

  • Of-Counsel
  • Levin Papantonio
  • (205) 396-5014
  • ldunning [at] levinlaw.com

Laura Sherling Dunning is an of counsel attorney in the Securities and Business Litigation practice group of Levin Papantonio.  Ms. Dunning has twice been recognized as an Alabama Super Lawyer Rising Star in Securities Litigation. Ms. Dunning has represented more than 300 victims of securities fraud in the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) arbitration and in state and federal court.  She recently obtained a $1.95 million award in FINRA arbitration for a sophisticated investor who sustained losses in auction rate securities. 

Ms. Dunning is a frequent speaker on issues confronting the securities industry, including FINRA arbitration procedures, arbitrator selection, electronic discovery and how to vacate arbitration awards, and has served as a guest lecturer at the University of Alabama School of Law.  She is also a member of Public Investors Arbitration Bar Association (PIABA), an international organization of attorneys dedicated to the advancement of investors’ rights in the securities industry.  Ms. Dunning is licensed to practice in Alabama and has been admitted to the United States District Courts for the Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Alabama.

Ms. Dunning graduated cum laude from Rhodes College with a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature.  She received her juris doctor from the University of Alabama School of Law in 2005, where she served as a senior editor on the Alabama Law Review and as a nationally competing member of the Campbell Moot Court Board.  Ms. Dunning was a member of the Bench and Bar Legal Honor Society and served as an extern to the Honorable Sharon Lovelace Blackburn of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama.

In addition to her practice, Ms. Dunning is active in her community, serving on the Executive Committee of the YWCA of Central Alabama’s Junior Board and as an attorney coach in the Civic Education Teen Court Project.

Year Joined Law Firm

  • 2013

Present Position with Law Firm

  • Of-counsel

Areas of Practice

Ms. Dunning serves in the Securities and Business Litigation group of Levin Papantonio and focuses primarily on representing individuals and entities seeking financial recovery for losses from security fraud. Her clients include state and municipal pension funds, as well as institutional and sophisticated investors.

Ms. Dunning’s practice also includes complex business litigation, whistleblower, class action, and antitrust litigation.

Bar Admissions

  • 2005

Education

  • University of Alabama School of Law
Juris Doctor, 2005
    Honors: Senior Editor on the Alabama Law Review

    Honors: Member, Campbell Moot Court Board

    Honors: Member, Bench and Bar Legal Honor Society

    Honors: Dean’s Community Service Award

    Honors: Extern to the Honorable Sharon Lovelace Blackburn of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama

  • Rhodes College, Bachelor of Arts in English Literature, 2002
    cum laude

Professional Associations and Memberships

  • United States District Courts for Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Alabama, member
  • Public Investors Arbitration Bar Association, member
  • University of Alabama School of Law, guest lecturer

Classes/Seminars Taught

  • Mass Torts Made Perfect, “Hot Topics from the Headlines and how They Impact Your Practice,” April 2013
  • Florida Justice Association, “Securities Claims in Your Community: How to Identify a Strong Claim- What’s so Great About Arbitration? How We Represent Victims of Stockbroker, Investment Fraud, and Other Financial Fraud,” February 2014

Representative Cases

  • Represented 32 hospitals in a securities action relating to subscriber equity accounts, which resulted in a $43.7M settlement.
  • Represented a statewide pension fund in a securities action relating to a bond fund investment, which resulted in a $25M settlement.
  • Represented 24 Florida municipal pension funds in state and federal courts in related securities actions against major broker dealer concerning conflicts of interest in pension consulting, which resulted in a $21M settlement.
  • Represented individual investor in FINRA arbitration against former CEO of global financial services firm alleging fraud and misrepresentation, which resulted in a $10M settlement.
  • Represented a sophisticated investor in FINRA arbitration against Morgan Keegan relating to an investment in Jefferson County Sewer Bond Auction Rate Securities, which resulted in a $1.95M FINRA award.
  • Represented an individual investor in FINRA arbitration alleging failure to execute trade order, which resulted in a $1.35M settlement.
  • Launched and managed a litigation support and document review company based in Chennai, India.

Prior Employment

Prior to joining Levin Papantonio, Ms. Dunning practiced with Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker in Birmingham, Alabama, where her nationwide civil litigation practice concentrated on securities matters in state and federal courts as well as AAA and FINRA arbitration.