Aduhelm Lawsuit - تعويض ARIA-E والمساعدة القانونية والتسويات

تزعم دعاوى Aduhelm القضائية أن مرضى الزهايمر الذين تناولوا Aduhelm كانوا عرضة لتأثير جانبي معروف للدواء (الوذمة الشاذة المرتبطة بالتصوير النشواني (ARIA-E) أو تورم الدماغ) الذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الوفاة.

تحقق شركة المحاماة الخاصة بنا في الحالات التي تناول فيها الأفراد Aduhelm لأعراض مرض الزهايمر (AD) ، وتعرضوا لـ ARIA-E ، ثم توفي بعد ذلك من هذه الحالة.

نحن نتعامل مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد شركات الأدوية منذ عام 1955. وفي كل عام ، نقوم بتعليم 1,500 محامٍ كيفية التعامل مع هذه القضايا بنجاح. نحن مُدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة الوطنية.

 

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى Aduhelm ARIA-E؟

دعوى Aduhelm

توفيت امرأة كندية تبلغ من العمر 75 عامًا بعد تناول دواء Aduhelm لعلاج مرض الزهايمر ، وفقًا للوحة المعلومات الفصلية للإبلاغ عن الأحداث الضائرة التابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA). عندما دخلت المرأة المستشفى ، تم تشخيصها بأنها مصابة بتورم في الدماغ ، أو وذمة غير طبيعية مرتبطة بالتصوير النشواني (ARIA-E) ، وهو أحد الآثار الجانبية المعروفة لـ Aduhelm. يعتقد أن ARIA-E هو سبب وفاتها ، وفقًا لـ التل

كشف نظام الإبلاغ عن الأحداث الضائرة (FAERS) التابع لإدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) أيضًا عن حالات أخرى من ARIA-E في مرضى الزهايمر الذين تناولوا Aduhelm. يتضمن أحد الأحداث تقرير حالة تجربة سريرية لمريضة تبلغ من العمر 79 عامًا كانت قد التحقت بالدراسة وعانت من نوبات ، ARIA-E ، ونزيف غير طبيعي في التصوير المرتبط بالأميلويد (ARIA-H). تم نقل المرأة إلى غرفة الطوارئ بعد إصابتها بدوار وعدم القدرة على الكلام. قام المحقق الذي راجع التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للمريضة بربط حالة المرأة بتلقيها خمس جرعات من Aduhelm.

Aduhelm يذهب أيضا باسم aducanumab. وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) على موافقة Aduhelm على علاج مرض الزهايمر في يونيو 2021 وسط انتقادات من النقاد الذين اعتبروا الموافقة متسرعة للغاية. لاحظ خبير الزهايمر وطبيب الأعصاب ديفيد كنوبمان من Mayo Clinic أن "الأدلة تظهر أن [aducanumab] لن يقدم أي تحسن ، وسيؤذي بعض الأشخاص المعرضين له ، وسيستهلك موارد هائلة."

لم يكن كنوبمان وحده في مخاوفه بشأن العقار. صوّت عشرة أعضاء من 11 عضوًا من لجنة استشارية تابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء ضد الموافقة على الدواء. وصف آرون كيسيلهايم من كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد الموافقة بأنها "ربما تكون أسوأ قرار للموافقة على الأدوية في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة الحديث". استقال هو وكنوبمان بعد أن وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء على Aduhelm.

القضايا القانونية الرئيسية التي تنطوي على Aduhelm

القضية القانونية الأساسية هي ما إذا كانت شركة Biogen ، الشركة المصنعة لـ Aduhelm ، قد فشلت في تحذير الأطباء والمرضى بشكل كافٍ من زيادة خطر تورم الدماغ القاتل (ARIA-E) الناجم عن Aduhelm (aducanumab).

ومما زاد الطين بلة ، أنه تم تسعير العقار بـ 56,000 دولار في السنة ، على الرغم من الحسابات التي أجراها معهد المراجعة السريرية والاقتصادية التي كشفت أن السعر المناسب للدواء سيكون بين 3,000 دولار و 8,400 دولار في السنة.

مع التسعير المفرط المزعوم ونقص الأدلة التي تدعم فعالية الدواء ، نمت المخاوف بشأن الآثار المترتبة على الرعاية الطبية ونظام الرعاية الصحية بشكل عام.

في نوفمبر 15 ، 2021 ، و لوس انجليس تايمز ذكرت أن زيادة أقساط التأمين لعام 2022 التي تم الإعلان عنها مؤخرًا من Medicare نتجت عن جزء كبير من التكلفة المتوقعة لـ Aduhelm.

أفادت مؤسسة Kaiser Family Foundation غير الحزبية أنه من خلال تقدير متحفظ يبلغ 500,000 من أعضاء Medicare يتم وضعهم في Aduhelm ، فإن إجمالي الإنفاق على الدواء في عام واحد سيصل إلى 29 مليار دولار.

 

إصابات Aduhelm والآثار الجانبية

أفادت شركة Biogen (الشركة المصنعة لـ Aduhelm) أن ARIA-E هو الحدث الضار الأكثر شيوعًا المرتبط بأخذ Aduhelm ، حيث يصاب 35 بالمائة من المرضى بالحالة في تجربتين سريريتين في المرحلة المتأخرة. أظهرت الدراسات السريرية مستويات مختلفة من ARIA-E - خفيفة ومتوسطة وحادة - في المرضى الذين عولجوا بـ Aduhelm.

واحد وأربعون بالمائة من المرضى الذين تناولوا جرعة مخططة من 10 ملغ طوروا ARIA-E أو ARIA-H. يقارن هذا بـ 10 في المائة ممن طوروا هذه الحالة بعد تناول دواء وهمي.

يكشف موقع Aduhelm أيضًا عن خطورة التصوير الشعاعي لأحداث ARIA المبلغ عنها على النحو التالي:

  1. 10٪: خفيف
  2. 58٪: متوسط
  3. 13٪: شديدة

أظهرت التجارب السريرية لـ Aduhelm أن حوالي 30 في المائة من المرضى الذين تلقوا جرعات عالية من الدواء يعانون من تورم في المخ. لا يزال المرضى الذين لم يختبروا هذا التأثير الجانبي يعانون من الاضطرار إلى مراقبة صحتهم من خلال اختبارات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي المنتظمة لمتابعة التطورات المماثلة في أدمغتهم.

 

ما التعويض الذي يمكن استرداده في دعوى Aduhelm؟

إذا أخذ أحد الأحباء دواء Biogen's Aduhelm لمرض الزهايمر ، وكان مصابًا بـ ARIA-E ، ثم توفي بعد ذلك من هذه الحالة ، فسنطلب التعويض التالي للناجين:

  1. النفقات الطبية السابقة لعلاج إصابات ARIA-E.
  2. الآلام والمعاناة الماضية والمستقبلية الناتجة عن الموت.
  3. خسارة الأجور السابقة ، إن وجدت.
  4. فقدان قيمة التركة إن وجدت.
  5. تكبدت خسائر اقتصادية أخرى بسبب الإصابات والوفيات.
  6. أضرار عقابية ، إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا.

 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

بدأت شركة المحاماة في التعامل مع حالات الإصابة الشخصية في 1955. اليوم ، نحن معترف بهم كقائد وطني في الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي على إصابات المخدرات. تلقينا أحكامًا من 150 على هيئة محلفين بمبلغ $ 1 مليون أو أكثر ، وفازنا بأحكام ومستحقات المحلفين بما يزيد عن مليار دولار 8.

نحن مؤسس Mass Torts Made Perfect. هذا هو المؤتمر الوطني الذي يحضره محامو 1,500 كل عام حيث نعلم كيفية التعامل بنجاح مع دعاوى قضائية ضد شركات الأدوية. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في سنوات العمل 67 * $ 8 Billion in Verdicts & Settlement * أفضل الشركات القانونية: أخبار الولايات المتحدة والتقارير العالمية * المحامين المحتملين قاعة الشهرة * SuperLawyers
 
لدينا رسوم والتكاليف

يقدم محامونا تقييمات حالة سرية مجانية ، ونحن لا نفرض أي رسوم أو تكاليف ما لم نستعيد عافيتك أولاً.

تتراوح رسوم الطوارئ التي نتقاضاها من 20٪ إلى 40٪. يعتمد المبلغ الذي نحصل عليه على المبلغ الذي نسترده لك. لمراجعة ملخص الرسوم والتكاليف ، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
استشارة الحالة الحرة

للاتصال بنا للحصول على تقييم حالة مجاني ، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 . يمكنك أيضًا طلب تقييم عن طريق النقر نموذج تقييم Aduhelm المجاني والسري. سيتم مراجعة هذا النموذج على الفور من قبل أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعاوى Aduhelm.

 

الجدول الزمني مهم لقضايا Aduhelm ARIA-E

مارس 2019: أنهت Biogen فجأة تجربتين في المرحلة المتأخرة لـ aducanumab ، وتنخفض القيمة السوقية للشركة بمليارات الدولارات. أوقفت الشركة التجارب عندما أشار التحليل إلى أن العقار لن يكون فعالاً.

22 أكتوبر 2019: أعلنت Biogen أنها ستسعى للحصول على موافقة الجهات التنظيمية على aducanumab - وتتمتع الأسهم بارتفاع يزيد عن 26 بالمائة.

4 تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2020: قبل المراجعة التي أجرتها لجنة خارجية من الخبراء ، يبدو أن مجموعة من مراجعي إدارة الغذاء والدواء توفر دعمًا كبيرًا لـ aducanumab ، مما يشير إلى اعتقادها أن عقار الزهايمر آمن وفعال بما فيه الكفاية.

6 تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2020: صوتت لجنة خبراء خارجية 10-1 ضد موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية على aducanumab. وأشار أعضاء اللجنة إلى أن بيانات التجارب السريرية لم تظهر بشكل كافٍ أن الدواء كان فعالًا في إبطاء التدهور المعرفي.

7 يونيو 2021: حصل Aducanumab على موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية ، مع عدم وجود قيود على أنواع مرضى الزهايمر التي يمكن إعطاؤها الدواء عن طريق الوريد. أكثر من ستة ملايين مريض مؤهلون لتلقي الدواء ، وقد تم تصنيف Biogen الآن باسم Aduhelm.

7 يونيو 2021: أعلنت Biogen و Eisai (شريك في التنمية) عن إبرام عقد مع Cigna لتتبع الأداء ونتائج المرضى مع Aduhelm. تتحدث الشركات أيضًا عن الفحوصات المعرفية التي سيتم تقديمها في CVS Health في المدن الكبرى.

8 يونيو 2021: قررت شركة Biogen تسعير Aduhelm بمبلغ 56,000 دولار سنويًا ، مما يعني أن المستفيدين قد يدفعون ما يصل إلى 11,5000 دولار سنويًا في التأمين المشترك للدواء ، وفقًا لـ مؤسسة كايزر فاميلي التقديرات.

9-11 يونيو 2021: استقالة الأعضاء التالية أسماؤهم من اللجنة الاستشارية التابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء بعد أن وافقت الوكالة على Aduhelm على الرغم من تصويت اللجنة ضد الموافقة: جويل بيرلماتر ، طبيب أعصاب ؛ ديفيد كنوبمان ، طبيب أعصاب إكلينيكي من Mayo Clinic ؛ وآرون كيسيلهايم ، دكتوراه في الطب.

16 يونيو 2021: يدير مستشفى بتلر في بروفيدنس ، RI Aduhelm لمريض خارج تجربة إكلينيكية ، وهو أول مستشفى يقوم بذلك.

16 يونيو 2021: قامت مجموعة Public Citizen للدفاع عن المستهلك ومقرها واشنطن العاصمة بتدوين رسالة إلى سكرتير HHS Xavier Becerra تطالبه بإقالة المفوضة بالنيابة في FDA جانيت وودكوك ، MD ؛ باتريسيا كافازوني ، طبيبة ، مديرة مركز الوكالة لتقييم الأدوية والبحوث ؛ وبيلي دن ، دكتوراه في الطب ، مدير مركز تقييم الأدوية والبحوث في مكتب علم الأعصاب ، بعد أن وافقوا على Aduhelm.

16 يونيو 2021: أصدرت Altrarum ، وهي منظمة بحثية غير ربحية ، تقريرًا يفيد بأن Aduhelm يمكن أن تمثل 2020٪ من نفقات الرعاية الصحية في الولايات المتحدة بحلول منتصف عام XNUMX.

9 يوليو 2021: طلب رئيس إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية التحقيق في موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء على أدوهلم.

9 نوفمبر 2021: كشف FAERS من إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) أن مريضًا كنديًا بمرض الزهايمر توفي بعد تشخيصه بمرض ARIA بعد تناوله Aduhelm.

24 نوفمبر 2021: بدأت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية FDA تحقيقًا في وفاة مريض كندي يبلغ من العمر 75 عامًا توفي أثناء مشاركته في تجربة Aduhelm السريرية.

 

ما هو الغرض من Aduhelm؟

Aduhelm هو دواء مصمم لعلاج مرض الزهايمر ، وهو مرض دماغي تدريجي يصيب أكثر من 9 ملايين شخص (11.3 في المائة) ، وفقًا للمعهد الوطني للشيخوخة. الشيخوخة والتركيبة السكانية ودراسة الذاكرة (ADAMS)

يمثل Aduhelm أول علاج جديد لمرض الزهايمر معتمد من إدارة الغذاء والدواء منذ 18 عامًا. وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء على العقار بموجب مسار الموافقة المعجل للوكالة. لدى Biogen تسع سنوات لإنهاء الدراسات السريرية ، وفقًا لـ التل

ما صمم Aduhelm للقيام به

Aduhelm ليس علاجًا لمرض الزهايمر. تم تصميمه كعلاج.

تقر إدارة الغذاء والدواء بأن الدواء لم يُظهر أنه يمكن أن يبطئ في الواقع من تطور مرض الزهايمر لدى المرضى ، لكن الوكالة أعربت عن تقديرها للنهج الجديد للدواء في معالجة "الفيزيولوجيا المرضية الكامنة" لمرض الزهايمر ومنحت صانعي Aduhelm موافقة مشروطة ، مع الوقت لتقديمها. بيانات تظهر فعالية الدواء بهذه السعة.

وفقًا أدوهلم موقع الويب ، العقار "يرتبط ويحث على إزالة الأشكال المتراكمة لبعض اللويحات في الدماغ والتي تتميز بمرض الزهايمر". وفقًا لإدارة الغذاء والدواء ، فإن إزالة هذه اللويحة ـ كتل من بروتينات الأميلويد التي تتشكل في مرضى ألزهايمر ـ تجعل من "المرجح بشكل معقول" أن الدواء قد يبطئ التدهور المعرفي.

كواحد يبحث ألفا كتب الكاتب وخبير الزهايمر ، أن إدارة الغذاء والدواء قررت أولاً أن لويحات الأميلويد تسبب مرض الزهايمر ، ثم استنتجت أن الدواء الذي يزيل هذه اللويحات يجب أن يوقف المرض بطريقة سريرية مهمة. ومع ذلك ، يقول خبراء مرض الزهايمر أن هناك ارتباطًا ضعيفًا فقط بين هذه اللويحات والتدهور المعرفي.

يقول موقع Aduhelm على الإنترنت إن الدواء موصوف لعلاج المرض في المرضى الذين يعانون فقط من الخرف الخفيف أو مرحلة ضعف إدراكي خفيف من مرض الزهايمر.

العلاجات البديلة

يوفر جمعية الزهايمر حدد تقرير عام 2021 الأدوية المختلفة المتاحة لعلاج خرف ألزهايمر. من بين العلاجات الأربعة المستخدمة عند كتابة التقرير ، لم يعمل أي منها على إيقاف أو إبطاء تلف الخلايا العصبية وتدميرها - وهو ما يسبب أعراض مرض الزهايمر ويجعل الحالة قاتلة.

تنجح ثلاثة من الأدوية - ريفاستيجمين وجالانتامين ودونيبيزيل - بشكل مؤقت في تحسين الأعراض المعرفية لدى مرضى الزهايمر عن طريق زيادة عدد الناقلات العصبية في الدماغ. ومع ذلك ، يعالج ميمانتين الأعراض من خلال حماية مستقبلات الدماغ من التحفيز المفرط الذي يضر بالخلايا العصبية. لم يظهر أي من الأدوية فعالية ثابتة بين المرضى.

حتى كتابة التقرير ، كان aducanumab لا يزال قيد المراجعة من قِبل إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير (FDA) للموافقة عليه. على الرغم من أن العقار أظهر نتائج واعدة في إبطاء تقدم مرض الزهايمر ، فقد تم اختباره فقط في المرضى الذين يعانون من الخرف المبكر أو الاختلال المعرفي المعتدل (MCI).

 

أخبار دعوى Aduhelm ARIA-E

Biogen يحقق في وفاة مريض يتناول عقار الزهايمر

تم الإبلاغ عن وفاة المرأة البالغة من العمر 75 عامًا في كندا ونشرها في لوحة المعلومات الفصلية للإبلاغ عن الأحداث الضائرة التابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA). تم نقل المريض إلى المستشفى بعد تناول Aduhelm وتم تشخيص حالته بتورم في المخ قبل الموت. اقراء المزيد على التل

يقوم Biogen بالتحقيق في وفاة مستخدم Aduhelm بعد تورم المخ

قالت شركة Biogen Inc ، يوم الثلاثاء ، إنها تحقق في وفاة مريض يبلغ من العمر 75 عامًا تناول دواء الزهايمر المعتمد حديثًا من الشركة ، Aduhelm ، مضيفة أنه لم يُعرف بعد ما إذا كان له علاقة بالعلاج. اقراء المزيد على رويترز

يعرف طبيب الأعصاب المتقاعد المصاب بمرض الزهايمر عن كثب مخاطر عقار بيوجين الجديد

تركز الكثير من الجدل الدائر حول الدواء ، المسمى Aduhelm ، على بيانات التجارب المتضاربة حول ما إذا كان يبطئ التدهور المعرفي ، وتكلفته السنوية البالغة 56,000 دولار ، والعملية غير العادية التي أدت إلى الموافقة عليه في يونيو. ولكن على الرغم من كل الاهتمام المركّز على الفوائد المتنازع عليها للطب التابع لشركة كامبريدج للتكنولوجيا الحيوية ، يقول جيبس ​​إن جانبًا مهمًا من أدوهلم قد تم التقليل من شأنه - مخاطره. اقراء المزيد على بوسطن غلوب

تحدد لجنة من خبراء علم الأعصاب مضاعفات استخدام دواء Biogen الجديد لمرض الزهايمر

واحدة من أكبر المشاكل مع aducanumab هو أنه يزيد بشكل كبير من معدل تشوهات التصوير المرتبطة بالأميلويد ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم ARIA ، مقارنة بالمعدلات التي لوحظت في دراسات التاريخ الطبيعي أو مجموعات العلاج الوهمي التجريبية. وبينما أدى ARIA إلى توقف حوالي 6٪ من المرضى الذين عولجوا على aducanumab عن مشاركتهم لفترة قصيرة في التجارب ، مقارنة بـ 0.6٪ من المرضى الذين عولجوا مع الدواء الوهمي ، فإن ARIA (ARIA-E و ARIA-H) حدثت في حوالي 35٪ من المرضى الذين يعانون من ارتفاع وأشار أعضاء اللجنة إلى جرعة من aducanumab مقارنة بحوالي 3٪ من مجموعة الدواء الوهمي. اقراء المزيد على أخبار نقاط النهاية

استقالة العضو الثالث في اللجنة الاستشارية لإدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) بسبب الموافقة على دواء الزهايمر

استقال عضو ثالث في لجنة الخبراء الاستشارية التابعة لإدارة الغذاء والدواء (FDA) بسبب موافقة الوكالة المثيرة للجدل على عقار لمرض الزهايمر هذا الأسبوع. في خطاب استقالة تم إرساله إلى القائم بأعمال مفوض إدارة الغذاء والدواء جانيت وودكوك يوم الخميس وتم مشاركته مع The Hill ، قال آرون كيسيلهايم ، أستاذ الطب في كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد ، إن الموافقة على عقار Biogen's Alzehimer "ربما كان أسوأ قرار للموافقة على الدواء في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة الحديث . " اقراء المزيد على التل

 

إدارة الغذاء والدواء والدراسات العلمية بخصوص Aduhelm ARIA-E

تأثير جرعات 6 أشهر على معدل تشوهات التصوير المرتبط بالأميلويد (ARIA) في دراسة طريق مارغريت

خلصت هذه الدراسة إلى أن جرعة مدتها ستة أشهر عند 105 مجم جانتيروماب قبل التصعيد إلى 225 مجم نتج عنها معدل ARIA إجمالي قدره 10.8 بالمائة في موضوعات الدراسة. اقراء المزيد على المؤتمر الدولي لجمعية الزهايمر

أحداث عفوية تشبه ARIA في الالتهاب الوعائي الدماغي المرتبط باعتلال الأوعية الدموية النشواني

تؤكد هذه الدراسة على أهمية تحديد الأحداث الشبيهة بـ ARIA لدى مرضى الزهايمر ، خاصة في ضوء الآثار الجانبية المحتملة المرتبطة بـ aducanumab. اقراء المزيد على مجلة علم الأعصاب

شذوذ التصوير المرتبط بالأميلويد - الهيموسيديرين (ARIA-H) في المرضى المصابين بمرض الزهايمر المعالجين بالبابينوزوماب: تحليل ثانوي تاريخي مستقبلي

تتناول هذه الورقة البحثية الزيادة المبلغ عنها في حدوث ARIA-H لدى الأفراد الذين يتلقون علاجات دوائية تهدف إلى خفض ترسبات الأميلويد في المرضى. اقراء المزيد على J نيورول نيوروسورغ الطب النفسي

ميزات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي لتشوهات التصوير المرتبطة بالأميلويد

تكشف هذه الورقة عن نتائج فحوصات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي لـ 201 مريض يتلقون علاجًا مضادًا للأميلويد. تم تحديد ستة وثلاثين من المشاركين على أنهم مصابون بـ ARIA-E ، بينما كان لدى 26 منهم ARIA-H. يقترح المؤلفون أن الإلمام بهذه النتائج يجب أن يساعد المجتمع الطبي على إدارة المرضى الذين يتلقون هذا النوع من العلاج بشكل أفضل. اقراء المزيد على آم J نيوروراديول

Aduhelm Lawsuit – ARIA-E Compensation, Legal Help & Settlements

The Aduhelm lawsuits claim that Alzheimer’s patients who took Aduhelm were susceptible to a known side-effect of the drug (amyloid-related imaging abnormality-edema (ARIA-E) or swelling of the brain) that could result in death.

Our law firm is investigating cases where individuals took Aduhelm for Alzheimer’s disease (AD) symptoms, experienced ARIA-E, and subsequently passed away from this condition.

We have been handling lawsuits against drug companies since 1955. Each year, we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About Aduhelm ARIA-E Lawsuits?

Aduhelm Lawsuit

A 75-year-old Canadian woman died after taking the Alzheimer’s disease treatment medication Aduhelm, according to the Food & Drug Administration (FDA)’s quarterly adverse event reporting dashboard. When the woman was hospitalized, she was diagnosed with swelling in the brain, or amyloid-related imaging abnormality-edema (ARIA-E), which is a known side effect of Aduhelm. ARIA-E is believed to be the cause of her death, according to The Hill

The FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) also revealed other instances of ARIA-E in Alzheimer’s patients who had taken Aduhelm. One event involves a clinical trial case report of a 79-year-old female patient who had enrolled in the study and suffered from seizures, ARIA-E, and amyloid-related imaging abnormality-hemorrhage (ARIA-H). The woman was taken to the emergency room after suffering dizziness and an inability to speak. The investigator who reviewed the patient’s MRI connected the woman’s condition to her having received five doses of the Aduhelm.

Aduhelm also goes by the name aducanumab. The FDA fast-tracked approval of Aduhelm for the treatment of Alzheimer’s in June 2021 amidst criticism from critics who deemed the approval too hasty. Alzheimer’s expert and neurologist David Knopman of the Mayo Clinic remarked, "The evidence shows [aducanumab] will offer improvement to none, it will harm some of those exposed, and it will consume enormous resources."

Knopman was not alone in his concerns about the drug. Ten members of an 11-member FDA advisory panel voted against the drug’s approval. Aaron Kesselheim of Harvard Medical School called the approval "probably the worst drug approval decision in recent U.S. history." Both he and Knopman resigned after the FDA approved Aduhelm.

Main Legal Issues Involving Aduhelm

The primary legal issue is whether Biogen, manufacturer of Aduhelm, failed to adequately warn doctors and patients about the increased risk of potentially fatal brain swelling (ARIA-E) caused by Aduhelm (aducanumab).

Adding insult to injury, the drug was priced at $56,000 a year, despite calculations from the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review revealing that a proper price for the drug would be between $3,000 and $8,400 a year.

With allegedly excessive pricing and a deficit of evidence supporting the drug’s effectiveness, concerns about the implications on Medicare and the healthcare system at large grew.

On November 15, 2021, the LA Times reported that Medicare’s newly announced 2022 premium increase resulted in large part from the projected cost of Aduhelm.

The nonpartisan Kaiser Family Foundation reported that with a conservative estimate of 500,000 Medicare members being placed on Aduhelm, total spending for the drug in a single year would reach $29 billion.

 

Aduhelm Injuries & Side Effects

Biogen (the manufacturer of Aduhelm) reports that ARIA-E is the most common adverse event connected with taking Aduhelm, with 35 percent of patients developing the condition in the two late-stage clinical trials. Clinical studies showed various levels of ARIA-E—mild, moderate, and severe—in patients who were administered Aduhelm.

Forty-one percent of patients who took a planned dose of 10mg developed ARIA-E or ARIA-H. This compares to 10 percent who developed this condition after taking a placebo.

The Aduhelm website further reveals the radiographic severity of reported ARIA events as follows:

  1. 10%: Mild
  2. 58%: Moderate
  3. 13%: Severe

Clinical trials of Aduhelm showed that around 30 percent of patients who received high doses of the drug suffered from brain swelling. Patients who have not experienced this side effect still suffer in having to monitor their own health with regular MRI tests to keep tabs on similar developments in their brains.

 

What Compensation is Recoverable in an Aduhelm Lawsuit?

If a loved one took Biogen’s Aduhelm for Alzheimer’s disease, experienced ARIA-E, and subsequently passed away from this condition, we will be seeking the following compensation for the survivors:

  1. Past medical expenses to treat the ARIA-E injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering that results from the death.
  3. Past wage loss, if any.
  4. Loss of estate value, if any.
  5. Other economic losses experienced because of the injuries and death.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $8 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against drug companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 67 years * $8 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Aduhelm Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Aduhelm lawsuits.

 

The Timeline Important to the Aduhelm ARIA-E Lawsuits

March 2019: Biogen abruptly ends two late-stage trials for aducanumab, and the company’s market value drops by billions of dollars. The company stopped trials when analysis suggested the drug would not be effective.

Oct. 22, 2019: Biogen announces it will seek regulatory approval for aducanumab—and shares enjoy a spike of more than 26 percent.

Nov. 4, 2020: Preceding review by an outside panel of experts, a group of FDA reviewers appears to provide a major endorsement of aducanumab, suggesting its belief that the Alzheimer’s drug is sufficiently safe and effective.

Nov. 6, 2020: An outside panel of experts votes 10-1 against the FDA's approval of aducanumab. Members of the panel indicated that the clinical trials data did not sufficiently show that the drug was effective in slowing cognitive decline.

June 7, 2021: Aducanumab gets FDA approval, with no restrictions on which types of Alzheimer’s patients can be administered the intravenous drug. More than six million patients are eligible to receive the drug, with Biogen has now branded as Aduhelm.

June 7, 2021: Biogen and Eisai (a development partner) announce they have entered a contract with Cigna to track performance and patient outcomes with Aduhelm. The companies also speak of cognitive screenings to be offered at CVS Health in major cities.

June 8, 2021: Biogen decides to price Aduhelm at $56,000 per year, meaning beneficiaries might pay as much as $11,5000 annually in coinsurance for the drug, according to Kaiser Family Foundation estimates.

June 9-11, 2021: The following members of the FDA’s advisory panel resign after the agency approved Aduhelm despite the panel’s vote against the approval: Joel Perlmutter, MD, neurologist; David Knopman, MD, a clinical neurologist from Mayo Clinic; and Aaron Kesselheim, MD.

June 16, 2021: Butler Hospital in Providence, R.I. administers Aduhelm to a patient outside of a clinical trial, the first hospital to do so.

June 16, 2021: Washington, D.C.-based consumer advocacy group Public Citizen pens a letter to HHS Secretary Xavier Becerra requesting that he remove the FDA's acting commissioner Janet Woodcock, MD; Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD, director of the agency's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research; and Billy Dunn, MD, director of the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research's office of neuroscience, after they approved Aduhelm.

June 16, 2021: Altrarum, a research nonprofit, releases a report stating that Aduhelm could represent one percent of U.S. healthcare expenditures by the mid-2020s.

July 9, 2021: FDA head requests investigation into FDA’s Aduhelm approval.

November 9, 2021: FDA’s FAERS reveals that a Canadian Alzheimer’s patient died after being diagnosed with ARIA after taking Aduhelm.

November 24, 2021: FDA launches investigation into death of a 75-year-old Canadian patient who died while participating in the Aduhelm clinical trial.

 

What Is the Purpose of Aduhelm?

Aduhelm is a drug designed to treat Alzheimer’s disease, a progressive brain disease that affects over 9 million people (11.3 percent), according to the National Institute on Aging’s Aging, Demographics, and Memory Study (ADAMS)

Aduhelm represents the first new FDA-approved Alzheimer’s disease treatment in 18 years. The FDA approved the drug under the agency’s accelerated approval pathway. Biogen has nine years to finish clinical studies, according to The Hill

What Aduhelm is designed to do

Aduhelm is not a cure for Alzheimer’s disease. It was designed as a treatment.

The FDA acknowledges that the drug has not shown it can actually slow progression of Alzheimer’s in patients, but the agency voiced its appreciation for the drug’s novel approach in addressing the "underlying pathophysiology" of Alzheimer’s and gave Aduhelm makers conditional approval, with time to provide data showing the drug’s effectiveness in this capacity.

According to the Aduhelm website, the drug "binds to and induces removal of aggregated forms of certain plaques in the brain that are characteristic of patients with Alzheimer’s disease." According to the FDA, the removal of this plaque—clumps of amyloid proteins that form in Alzheimer’s patients—makes it "reasonably likely" that the drug might slow cognitive decline.

As one Seeking Alpha writer and Alzheimer’s expert wrote, the FDA first decided that amyloid plaques cause Alzheimer’s, then reasoned that a drug that removes these plaques should put the brakes on the disease in a clinically significant way. However, Alzheimer’s disease experts say only a low correlation exists between these plaques and cognitive decline.

The Aduhelm website says the drug is indicated for treatment of the disease in patients who suffer only from mild dementia or mild cognitive impairment stage of Alzheimer’s.

Alternative treatments

The Alzheimer’s Association’s 2021 report outlined various drugs available for treating Alzheimer’s dementia. Of the four treatments in use when the report was written, none had worked to stop or slow neuron damage and destruction—which is what causes Alzheimer’s symptoms and makes the condition fatal.

Three of the drugs—rivastigmine, galantamine, and donepezil— succeed temporarily in improving cognitive symptoms in Alzheimer’s patients by boosting the number of neurotransmitters in the brain. Memantine, however, tackles symptoms by protecting brain receptors from excessive, nerve-cell damaging stimulation. None of the drugs showed consistent effectiveness across patient populations.

As of the report’s writing, aducanumab was still under FDA review for approval. Although the drug showed promise for slowing the progress of Alzheimer’s, it had been tested only in patients with early dementia or MCI.

 

Aduhelm ARIA-E Lawsuit News

Biogen investigating death of patient taking Alzheimer's drug

The death of the 75-year-old woman in Canada was reported and published in the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) quarterly adverse event reporting dashboard. The patient was hospitalized after taking Aduhelm and was diagnosed with swelling in the brain before dying. Read more at The Hill

Biogen probes death of Aduhelm user after brain swelling

Biogen Inc said on Tuesday it was investigating the death of a 75-year-old patient who had taken the company's newly approved Alzheimer's drug, Aduhelm, adding that it was not yet known whether it was related to the treatment. Read more at Reuters

Retired neurologist with Alzheimer’s knows firsthand the risks of Biogen’s new drug

Much of the controversy surrounding the medication, called Aduhelm, has centered on conflicting trial data about whether it slows cognitive decline, its $56,000 annual cost, and the unusual process that led to its June approval. But for all the attention focused on the disputed benefits of the Cambridge biotechnology firm’s medicine, Gibbs says an important aspect of Aduhelm has been downplayed ― its risks. Read more at Boston Globe

Panel of neuroscience experts lays out the complications with using Biogen's new Alzheimer's drug

One of the biggest issues with aducanumab is that it substantially increases the rate of amyloid-related imaging abnormalities, also known as ARIA, compared to rates observed in natural history studies or trial placebo groups. And while ARIA only led to about 6% of patients on aducanumab stopping their involvement short in the trials, compared to 0.6% of patients on placebo, ARIA (ARIA-E and ARIA-H) occurred in about 35% of patients on the high dose of aducanumab compared to about 3% of those in the placebo group, the panelists note. Read more at Endpoints News

Third member of FDA advisory panel resigns over Alzheimer's drug approval

A third member of a Food and Drug Administration (FDA) expert advisory panel has resigned over the agency's controversial approval of an Alzheimer's drug this week. In a resignation letter sent to acting FDA Commissioner Janet Woodcock on Thursday and shared with The Hill, Aaron Kesselheim, a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, said the approval of Biogen's Alzehimer's drug "was probably the worst drug approval decision in recent U.S. history.” Read more at The Hill

 

FDA & Scientific Studies Regarding Aduhelm ARIA-E

The Effect of 6 Months’ Dosing on the Rate of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA) in the Marguerite Road Study

This study concluded that a six-month dosing at 105 mg gantenerumab prior to escalating to 225 mg resulted in an overall ARIA rate of 10.8 percent in study subjects. Read more at Alzheimer's Association International Conference

Spontaneous ARIA-Like Events in Cerebral Amyloid Angiopathy-Related Inflammation

This study underscores the importance of identifying ARIA-like events in the population of Alzheimer’s disease patients, especially in light of the potential ARIA side effects associated with aducanumab. Read more at Journal of Neurology

Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities-Haemosiderin (ARIA-H) in Patients With Alzheimer’s Disease Treated With Bapineuzumab: A Historical, Prospective Secondary Analysis

This research paper addresses the reportedly increased incidence of ARIA-H in individuals receiving drug treatments that aim to lower amyloid plaque in patients. Read more at J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry

MR Imaging Features of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities

This paper reveals results of MR scans of 201 patients receiving an anti-amyloid treatment. Thirty-six of the participants were identified as having ARIA-E, while 26 of the subjects had ARIA-H. The authors suggest that familiarity with these outcomes should help the medical community better manage patients receiving this type of treatment. Read more at Am J Neuroradiol