تم تطوير Actemra بدءًا من أواخر 1990s من طوكيو Chugai الصيدلة بالشراكة مع شركة الرعاية الصحية السويسرية هوفمان لاروش. في الأصل دواء للسرطان ، تمت الموافقة على Actemra لأول مرة لعلاج التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي (RA) في 2009. حصل Actemra على موافقة إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير في 2011 لعلاج التهاب المفاصل الشبابي مجهول السبب (SIJA) لدى الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين سنتين وكبار السن.

تواجه Hoffman-LaRoche اليوم دعاوى قضائية من المدعين الذين يزعمون أن Actemra كان سبب الإصابات الخطيرة ، والتي تشمل قصور القلب وأمراض الجهاز التنفسي والتهاب البنكرياس وثقب الجهاز الهضمي. موقع المدعين إلى التحقيق الأخير من قبل الصحفيين ل ستات الأخبار التي وجدت اكتيمرا متورط في وفاة ما يقرب من مرضى 1,200.

Actemra الاستخدامات الطبية والقضايا

Actemra الغرض

يشار في المقام الأول Actemra للمرضى البالغين الذين يعانون من التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي معتدلة إلى حادة عندما فشلت الحالة في الاستجابة للعلاجات الأخرى. يشار أيضا للبالغين مع التهاب الشرايين الخلية العملاقة (التهاب بطانة الشرايين) وكذلك الأطفال الذين يعانون من SJIA. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يكتب الأطباء وصفات "خارج التسمية" لحالات 60 الأخرى تقريبًا ، بما في ذلك:

  1. الذئبة
  2. التصلب المتعدد
  3. التهاب polymyositis (التهاب الأنسجة العضلية)

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن مثل هذه الاستخدامات لـ Actrema لم يتم اختبارها ، ولم تتم الموافقة عليها من قبل FDA.

معظم علاجات التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ، التي تصيب حوالي 1.5 مليون شخص في الولايات المتحدة ، لها آثار جانبية معتدلة إلى خطيرة. وتشمل هذه:

  1. إصابات في المعدة وتهيج
  2. نزيف داخلي
  3. ارتفاع السكر في الدم
  4. ارتفاع ضغط الدم
  5. مكاسب الوزن
  6. الصداع
  7. التعب الشاذ
  8. تلف الكبد
  9. إصابات العين
  10. عدوى
  11. أمراض الجهاز التنفسي

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم ربط بعض أدوية التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي بزيادة خطر الإصابة بأنواع معينة من السرطان والتصلب المتعدد والصدفية وفشل القلب.

ولدت شركة Actemra حماسًا كبيرًا عند طرحها لأول مرة في السوق الأمريكية ، لأنه وفقًا للشركة المصنعة ، لم يكن الدواء مرتبطًا بزيادة مخاطر الإصابة بنوبة قلبية أو سكتة دماغية أو مرض الرئة الخلالي. ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهر تحليل لأكثر من نصف مليون تقرير عن الأحداث السلبية أن المرضى الذين يتناولون Actemra يواجهون مخاطر السكتة الدماغية وأحداث القلب بمعدلات مرتفعة أو أعلى من تلك التي يتم وصفها للمنتجات المنافسة.

تاريخ Actemra

Actemra Heart Issues Banner

المعروف أيضًا باسم الأسماء العلمية تيليزوماب وأتليزوماب ، تم تطوير أكتيرا في الأصل كـ "جسم مضاد أحادي النسيلة إنسانيًا" (الأجسام المضادة المهندسة وراثياً من أجناس الأنواع غير البشرية لعلاجات محددة). يستخدم في البداية لعلاج سرطان الرئة ذي الخلايا الكبيرة ، ويستهدف توكيليزوماب مستقبلات له انترلوكين 6 (IL-6). هذا نوع من البروتين يلعب دورًا مهمًا في نقل الإشارات إلى الخلايا ، مما يؤثر على استجابة الجسم المناعية. هو متورط في تطور أمراض المناعة الذاتية وأنواع معينة من السرطان.

بدأت Chugai Pharmaceuticals العمل على tocilizumab كعلاج ل RA في 1997. دراسات سريرية إضافية للعقار التي تنطوي على مرضى مرض Castleman (وهو تضخم نادر وغير طبيعي يشبه السرطان في الغدد الليمفاوية) و مرض اللقطات (نوع من التهاب المفاصل في مرحلة الطفولة) أجريت في 2001.

بواسطة 2008 ، كان tocilizumab ثبت أن تكون فعالة لعلاج البالغين الذين يعانون من التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي المعتدل إلى الشديد ، سواء بمفردهم أو بالاشتراك مع علاجات أخرى. تمت الموافقة على Actemra لأول مرة لهذا الغرض ، مع قيود ، من قبل وكالة الأدوية الأوروبية في يناير 2009. اتبعت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية الدعوى بعد عام واحد. في الوقت الحاضر ، يتم تصنيع Actemra بموجب ترخيص وتسويقها من قبل جينينتيك، جزء من مجموعة روش ومقرها في هيلسبورو ، أوريغون.

الأرباح على سلامة المرضى

لم يكن لدى الشركات المشاركة في إنتاج وتسويق Actemra الكثير لتقوله حول سبب إهمالهم في تقديم تحذيرات شاملة حول مخاطر المنتج. يقول الدكتور جيفري سيجل ، مدير قسم منتجات الروماتيزم في جينينتيك ، إن تحقيق STAT News يثير "أسئلة مهمة نفكر فيها طوال الوقت. ... نحاول جاهدين ألا نكون راضين ، ولاستكشاف هذه القضايا بشكل كامل. "

استشهد سيجل أيضا أ دراسة ما بعد التسويق الحديثة يزعم أنه يوفر دليلًا "قاطعًا" على عدم وجود علاقة بين الأكتيمرا وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. ومع ذلك ، شهدت المرضى الذين شاركوا في الدراسة ارتفاع كبير في مستويات الكوليسترول LDL - عامل خطر رئيسي للسكتة الدماغية والسكتة القلبية. هذه الدراسة الخاصة برعاية هوفمان لاروش.

تجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أن ما يزيد عن 760,000 من المرضى يتلقون حاليًا Actemra في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مما يحقق إيرادات بقيمة 1.7 مليار دولار في 2016. هذا يجعلها الدواء روشي الخامس الأكثر مبيعًا. هذا يوفر لاروش وجينتيك حافزًا قليلًا للغاية للتحدث عن أي مخاطر مرتبطة بالمنتج.

في الوقت نفسه ، فشلت إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير في واجبها لحماية المستهلكين من الأدوية التي يحتمل أن تكون خطرة. خاصة منذ مرور "21"st قانون شفاء القرن "في ديسمبر 2016 ، أعطت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية موافقة سريعة على الأدوية الجديدة قبل أن يتم اختبارها بشكل كاف. بسبب أوجه القصور والبيانات غير المكتملة من نظام الإبلاغ عن الأحداث الضارة FDA ، كان من الصعب في كثير من الحالات تحديد ما إذا كانت إصابات المريض مرتبطة مباشرة بعقار معين ، أو ما إذا كانت هناك عوامل أخرى متورطة ، مثل المتزامنة القضايا الطبية والتفاعلات مع الأدوية الأخرى.

على أي حال ، لم تُظهر لاروش ولا جينينتيك ولا إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير أي اهتمام بتحديث ملصق التحذير الخاص بحزمة Actemra.

الدعاوى Actemra

Actemra التعويض

دعا المدعون إلى رفع دعاوى قضائية تتضمن أكتيمرا مطالبة Genentech و LaRoche بالإهمال في تصنيع وتسويق الدواء ، الذي عرفت الشركات أنه خطير ، لكنها فشلت في تحذير المستهلكين ومقدمي الرعاية الصحية من المخاطر.

للحصول على معلومات موسعة حول هذه الإجراءات القضائية ، قم بزيارة موقعنا Actemra الدعوى الصفحة. توضح هذه الصفحة بالتفصيل الدعاوى القضائية المعلقة ضد Genentech و LaRoche ، وكيف يمكن لشخص مصاب من Actemra المشاركة في إجراءات المحكمة والحصول على تعويض عن إصاباته.

لماذا نحن

وكان مكتب محاماة لدينا في وجود أكثر من 60 سنوات، ويعتبر زعيم وطني في هذا النوع من التقاضي. لقد تلقينا أكثر بكثير من الأحكام جنة التحكيم 150 في جميع أنحاء البلاد في كمية 1 مليون $ أو أكثر، وحققت الاحكام والمستوطنات تزيد من 4 مليار $.

نحن مؤسس كتلة الجنح صنع الكمال، وهي ندوة وطنية بحضور المحامين 800 تقريبا مرتين في السنة حيث نساعد تعليم التعامل الناجح قضايا ضد شركات الأدوية. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة موقعنا من نحن والقسم الخاص به.

في مجال الأعمال التجارية 62 عاما - 4 مليار $ في الاحكام والمستوطنات - المدرجة في أفضل المحامين في أمريكا، SuperLawyers ومحاكمة المحامين قاعة المشاهير
ما يكلف

توفر لدينا محامين مشاورات سرية حرة تماما، وإذا كنا محظوظين بما يكفي بالنسبة لك لاستئجار لنا، ونحن أبدا لن تهمة لكم أي رسوم أو تكاليف إلا إذا كنت استعادة أولا. لاستعراض ملخص لدينا الرسوم والتكاليف، انقر فوق الرسوم والتكاليف.

معلومات الإتصال

في الاتصال بنا للحصول على سرية مجانا التشاور، يمكنك الاتصال بنا على (800) 277-1193 (المجاني). يمكنك أيضا أن تطلب إجراء مشاورات سرية عن طريق النقر مجانا وسري استشارة، سيتم مراجعة النموذج فورًا بواسطة أحد محامينا الذين يتعاملون مع دعوى Actemra.

Actemra Side Effects & Injuries

Actemra was developed beginning in the late 1990s by Tokyo-based Chugai Pharmaceuticals in partnership with Swiss health care company Hoffman-LaRoche. Originally a cancer drug, Actemra was first approved for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) in 2009. Actemra received FDA approval in 2011 for the treatment of systemic idiopathic juvenile arthritis (SIJA) in children aged two and older.

Today, Hoffman-LaRoche is facing lawsuits from plaintiffs who allege that Actemra was the cause of serious injuries, which include heart failure, respiratory disease, pancreatitis and gastrointestinal perforations. Claimants site to a recent investigation by journalists for STAT News that found Actemra was implicated in the deaths of nearly 1,200 patients.

 

Actemra Medical Uses and Issues

Actemra Purpose

Actemra is primarily indicated for adult patients suffering from moderate to severe RA when the condition has failed to respond to other therapies. It is also indicated for adults with giant cell arteritis (inflammation of the arterial lining) as well as children suffering from SJIA. In addition, physicians write “off-label” prescriptions for approximately 60 other conditions, including:

  1. lupus
  2. multiple sclerosis
  3. polymyositis (inflammation of muscle tissue)

It should be noted that such uses for Actrema have not been tested, nor are approved by the FDA.

Most treatments for RA, which afflicts approximately 1.5 million people in the U.S., have moderate to serious side effects. These include:

  1. stomach injuries and irritation
  2. internal bleeding
  3. hyperglycemia
  4. hypertension
  5. weigh gain
  6. headaches
  7. abnormal fatigue
  8. liver damage
  9. eye injuries
  10. infection
  11. respiratory disease

In addition, some RA medications have been linked to an increased risk of certain types of cancer, multiple sclerosis, psoriasis and heart failure.

Actemra generated great enthusiasm when it was first introduced to the U.S. market, because according to the manufacturer the medication was not linked with the increased risks of heart attack, stroke or interstitial lung disease. Nonetheless, an analysis of over one-half million adverse event reports has shown that patients taking Actemra face risks of stroke and cardiac events at rates as high or higher than those being prescribed competing products.

 

The History of Actemra

 Actemra Heart Issues Banner

Also known known by the scientific names tocilizumab and atlizumab, Actemra was originally developed as a “humanized monoclonal antibody” (antibodies genetically engineered from those of non-human species for specific therapies). Initially used to treat large-cell lung cancer, tocilizumab targets a receptor for interleukin-6 (IL-6). This is a type of protein that plays a significant role in carrying signals to cells, affecting the body's immune response. It is implicated in the development of autoimmune diseases and certain types of cancer.

Chugai Pharmaceuticals began work on tocilizumab as a treatment for RA in 1997. Additional clinical studies of the drug involving patients with Castleman Disease (a rare, abnormal, cancer-like enlargement of the lymph nodes) and Stills Disease (a type of childhood-onset arthritis) were conducted beginning in 2001.

By 2008, tocilizumab was demonstrated to be effective for the treatment of adults suffering moderate to severe RA, both alone and in combination with other therapies. Actemra was first approved for this purpose, with restrictions, by the European Medicines Agency in January 2009. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration followed suit one year later. Presently, Actemra is manufactured under license and marketed by Genentech, part of the Roche Group and based in Hillsboro, Oregon.

 

Profits Over Patient Safety

The companies involved in the production and marketing of Actemra have had little to say about why they neglected to provide package warnings about the dangers of the product. Dr. Jeffery Siegel, Genentech's director for rheumatology products, only says that the STAT News investigation raises “important questions that we think about all the time. … We try very hard not to be complacent, and to fully explore these issues .”

Siegel also cited a recent post-marketing study that allegedly provides “definitive” proof that there is no association between Actemra and cardiovascular disease. However, patients who participated in the study experienced a significant elevation in LDL cholesterol levels – a major risk factor for stroke and cardiac arrest. This particular study was sponsored by Hoffmann-LaRoche.

It should also be noted that currently over 760,000 patients are taking Actemra worldwide, generating $1.7 billion in revenues in 2016. This makes it Roche's fifth best-selling prescription medication. This provides LaRoche and Genentech very little incentive to be forthcoming about any dangers associated with the product.

At the same time, the FDA has been failing in its duty to protect consumers from potentially dangerous medications. Particularly since passage of the “21st Century Cures Act” in December 2016, the FDA has been giving rapid approval for new drugs before they have been adequately tested. Because of the inadequacies and incomplete data from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS), it has been difficult to determine in many cases whether a patient's injuries were directly related to a specific drug, or if there were other factors involved, such as concurrent medical issues and interactions with other medications.

In any event, neither LaRoche, Genentech nor the FDA have shown any interest in updating Actemra's package warning label.

 

Actemra Lawsuits

Actemra compensation

Plaintiffs filing lawsuits involving Actemra claim Genentech and LaRoche were negligent in the manufacturing and marketing of the drug, which the companies knew to be dangerous, yet failed to warn consumers and health care providers of the dangers.

For extensive information on these court proceedings, visit our Actemra Lawsuit Page. This page describes in detail the litigation pending against Genentech and LaRoche, and how someone injured by Actemra can participate in the court proceedings and receive compensation for their injuries.

 
Why Choose Us

Our law firm has been in existence for more than 60 years, and is considered a national leader in this type of litigation. We have received well over 150 jury verdicts throughout the country in the amount of $1 million or more, and achieved verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect, which is a national seminar attended by approximately 800 lawyers twice per year where we help teach the successful handling of cases against pharmaceutical companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in business 62 years - $4 billion in verdicts and settlements - listed in Best Lawyers in America, SuperLawyers and Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame
What Does It Cost

Our lawyers provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

Contact Information

To contact us for a free confidential consult, you can call us at (800) 277-1193 (toll free). You also can request a confidential consultation by clicking Free & Confidential Consult, which form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Actemra litigation.