Иск Jardiance & Farxiga - Компенсация гангрены Фурнье

В судебных процессах Jardiance и Farxiga утверждается, что производитель этих препаратов для лечения диабета не смог предупредить пользователей о повышенном риске возникновения гангрены Фурнье.

 

Что мы знаем о судебных процессах Jardiance и Farxiga

В августе 2018, Управление по контролю за продуктами и лекарствами США (FDA) выдается предупреждение что Jardiance (empagliflozin) и Фарсига (дапаглифлозина) были связаны с гангреной Фурнье, редкой, но смертельно опасной бактерией гениталий и промежности. Эти два лекарства от диабета являются частью класса препаратов, известных как ингибиторы SGLT2.

Ключевой правовой вопрос

И Jardiance, и Farxiga были связаны с увеличением гангрены Фурнье, особенно среди женщин в возрасте до 50.

До утверждения первых ингибиторов SGLT2 для лечения диабета было зарегистрировано только 19 случаев гангрены Фурнье в течение периода, превышающего 30, связанных с использованием диабетических лекарств. Тем не менее, в течение года 15 после утверждения ингибиторов SGLT2, было в общей сложности 55 чехлы гангрены Фурнье Сообщается, что это связано с применением препарата.

Что еще более необычно в этом, так это то, что треть жертв 55 составляли женщины и были столь же молоды, как и 33 лет. Гангрена Фурнье обычно поражает мужчин старше 50.

 

Что мы знаем о гангрене Фурнье

Гангрена Фурнье (также известная как некротизирующий фасциит) представляет собой крайне редкую, но опасную для жизни бактериальную инфекцию ткани под кожей, которая окружает мышцы, нервы, жир и кровеносные сосуды промежности. Впервые он был идентифицирован в середине 18th века. Как правило, он затрагивает приблизительно 1 человека в 62,500 в год, причем число жертв среди мужчин превышает численность женщин от 40 до 1.

Симптомы гангрены Фурнье включают отек или внезапную боль в пораженной области тела, наряду с лихорадкой и общей слабостью и усталостью. В тяжелых случаях может появиться неприятный запах, сопровождающийся выделением гноя, часто связанного с бактериальными инфекциями.

A 2006 исследование Исследователи из Стамбульского университета обнаружили, что 46% пациентов с диагнозом гангрены Фурнье страдали повышенным уровнем глюкозы. Другие факторы риска включают алкоголизм, недоедание и подавление иммунной системы из-за химиотерапии или других лекарств.

До введения ингибиторов SGLT2 гангрена Фурнье была чрезвычайно редкой.

 

Другие осложнения и побочные эффекты, связанные с Фарсига и Jardiance

В дополнение к гангрене Фурнье ингибиторы SGLT2, такие как Farxiga и Jardiance, были связаны со следующими побочными эффектами:

  1. острый панкреатит (воспаление поджелудочной железы)
  2. аллергическая гиперчувствительность и дыхательная недостаточность (аналог анафилаксии)
  3. сердечно-сосудистое заболевание
  4. диабетический кетоацидоз (опасное повышение кислотности крови)
  5. гипогликемия (опасно низкий уровень глюкозы в крови)
  6. гипотония (серьезно пониженное давление)
  7. ампутации нижних конечностей
  8. серьезное повреждение почек и почечная недостаточность
  9. инфекции мочевых путей и мочевого пузыря
  10. уросепсис (инфекция крови)
 

Что мы знаем о Фарсига и Jardiance

Jardiance (empagliflozin) и Фарсига (дапаглифлозина) являются двумя из самых популярных лекарств от диабета, назначаемых сегодня, и являются частью класса лекарств, известных как ингибиторы SGLT2.

Лекарства, такие как Jardiance и Farxiga, были первоначально приветствованы медицинским сообществом из-за их эффективности в снижении уровни гемоглобина A1C, основной показатель контроля сахара в крови. Их механизм действия отключает действие белка, известного как котранспортер глюкозы натрия 2 (SGLT2), который встречается в основном в почках и играет важную роль в поддержании нормального уровня сахара в крови.

Функция SGLT2 состоит в том, чтобы облегчить повторное поглощение избыточной глюкозы в почках, после чего она повторно высвобождается в кровоток. Отключая действие SGLT2, избыток сахара в крови передается через мочу, тем самым снижая уровень глюкозы. Ученые-медики считают, что именно этот механизм действия повышает риск гангрены Фурнье.

Другие серьезные побочные эффекты, которые были связаны с использование ингибиторов SGLT2 такие как Jardiance и Farxiga включают ампутации, повреждение почек и кетоацидоз.

 

Фарсига и Джардианс - это одно и то же лекарство

Хотя Фарсига (дапаглифлозин) и Jardiance (эмпаглифлозин) являются членами одного и того же фармацевтического класса и связаны со многими одинаковыми рисками для здоровья, оба препарата имеют несколько разные формулы. Поэтому некоторые из побочных эффектов разные.

Например, пациенты, которые приняли Фарсига, сообщили:

  1. гиперфосфатемия (высокий уровень фосфора в крови)
  2. боль в спине и конечностях
  3. предрасположенность к простуде и гриппу

Те, кто принимает Jardiance, пострадали от:

  1. боль в суставах и воспаление
  2. инфекции дыхательных путей

Похоже риск сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний ниже среди пациентов, принимающих Jardiance, по сравнению с теми, кому были назначены Фарсига и другие ингибиторы SGLT2

 

FDA и научные исследования, касающиеся Фарсига и Jardiance Связь с гангреной Фурнье

FDA Исследования Баннер

Гангрена Фурнье, связанная с ингибиторами котранспортера-2 натрия-глюкозы: обзор случаев спонтанного постмаркетинга

Использование ингибиторов натрий-глюкозного котранспортера-2 (SGLT2) было связано с гангреной Фурнье (FG), редкой неотложной урологической ситуацией, характеризующейся некротической инфекцией наружных половых органов, промежности и перианальной области. Чтобы узнать больше, нажмите Анналы внутренней медицины

FDA предупреждает о редких случаях серьезного заражения половых органов ингибиторами SGLT2 при диабете

Управление по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов США (FDA) предупреждает, что случаи редкой, но серьезной инфекции половых органов и области вокруг половых органов были зарегистрированы с помощью класса диабетических лекарств типа 2, называемых ингибиторами натрия-глюкозы, котранспортера-2 (SGLT2). Эта серьезная редкая инфекция, называемая некротическим фасциитом промежности, также называется гангреной Фурнье. Мы требуем, чтобы новое предупреждение об этом риске было добавлено к информации о назначении всех ингибиторов SGLT2 и к руководству по лечению пациентов. Чтобы узнать больше, нажмите Связь FDA безопасности лекарственных средств

Jardiance & Farxiga Lawsuit - Fournier's Gangrene Compensation

The Jardiance and Farxiga lawsuits claim the manufacturer of these diabetes drugs failed to warn users of the increased risk of experiencing Fournier's Gangrene.

Our law firm is representing individuals who contracted Fournier's Gangrene after beginning the use of Jardiance or Farxiga. We have been handling lawsuits against drug companies since 1955. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About the Jardiance and Farxiga Lawsuits

In August 2018, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a warning that Jardiance (empagliflozin) and Farxiga (dapagliflozin) have been associated with Fournier's Gangrene, a rare but deadly flesh-eating bacteria of the genitalia and perineum area. These two diabetes medications are part of a class of drugs known as SGLT2 inhibitors.

The Key Legal Issue

Both Jardiance and Farxiga have been linked to an increase in Fournier's Gangrene, especially among women under the age of 50.

Before the approval of the first SGLT2 inhibitors to treat diabetes, there were only 19 reported cases of Fournier's Gangrene over a period of more than 30 years related to the use of diabetic drugs. Yet, during the 15 year period after the approval of SGLT2 inhibitors, there were a total of 55 cases of Fournier's Gangrene reported to be linked with the use of the drug.

What is even more unusual about this is that one-third of the 55 victims were female, and were as young as 33 years of age. Fournier's Gangrene typically impacts males over the age of 50.

 

What Do We Know About Fournier's Gangrene

Fournier's Gangrene (also known as necrotizing fasciitis) is an extremely rare but life-threatening bacterial infection of the tissue under the skin that surrounds muscles, nerves, fat, and blood vessels of the perineum. It was first identified in the mid-18th century. Generally, it affects approximately 1 person in 62,500 per year, with male victims outnumbering females 40 to 1.

Symptoms of Fournier’s Gangrene include swelling or sudden pain in the affected area of the body, along with fever and overall weakness and fatigue. Severe cases may present a foul odor, accompanied by a discharge of pus often associated with bacterial infections.

A 2006 study from researchers at Istanbul University found that 46% of patients diagnosed with Fournier's Gangrene suffered from elevated glucose levels. Other risk factors include alcoholism, malnutrition, and suppression of the immune system due to chemotherapy or other drug therapies.

Prior to the introduction of SGLT2 inhibitors, Fournier's Gangrene was exceedingly rare.

 

Other Complications and Side Effects Related to Farxiga and Jardiance

In addition to Fournier's Gangrene, SGLT2 inhibitors such as Farxiga and Jardiance have been linked to the following adverse effects:

  1. acute pancreatitis (inflammation of the pancreas)
  2. allergic hypersensitivity and respiratory distress (similar to anaphylaxis)
  3. cardiovascular disease
  4. diabetic ketoacidosis (dangerous rise in blood acidity)
  5. hypoglycemia (dangerously low blood glucose levels)
  6. hypotension (seriously low blood pressure)
  7. lower limb amputations
  8. serious kidney injury and renal failure
  9. urinary and bladder infections
  10. urosepsis (a blood infection)
 

Compensation in Farxiga and Jardiance Lawsuits

If you or a loved one experienced Fournier’s Gangrene while taking Farxiga or Jardiance, then we will be seeking the following damages for you:

  1. Past and future medical and funeral expenses that result from the injuries.
  2. Past and future pain and suffering (physical and mental) caused by the injuries, and the treatment and recovery process.
  3. Past and future wage loss and loss of estate.
  4. Past and future loss of earning capacity.
  5. Past and future loss of enjoyment of life.
  6. Punitive damages, if appropriate.
 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Our law firm started handling personal injury cases in 1955. Today, we are recognized as a national leader in lawsuits involving drug injuries. We have received over 150 jury verdicts for $1 million or more, and have won jury verdicts and settlements in excess of $4 billion.

We are the founder of Mass Torts Made Perfect. This is a national conference attended by 1,500 lawyers each year where we teach how to successfully handle lawsuits against drug companies. For more information, please visit our About Us section.

in Business 64 years * $4 Billion in Verdicts & Settlements * Best Law Firms: U.S. News & World Reports * Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame * SuperLawyers
 
Our Fees & Costs

Our lawyers provide free confidential case evaluations, and we never charge any fees or costs unless you first recover.

The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40%. The amount we charge is based on how much we recover for you. To review a summary of our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

 
Free Case Consultation

To contact us for a free case evaluation, you can call us at (800) 277-1193. You also can request an evaluation by clicking Free & Confidential Farxiga and Jardiance Evaluation Form. This form will be immediately reviewed by one of our attorneys handling the Farxiga and Jardiance lawsuits.

 

What Do We Know About Farxiga and Jardiance

Jardiance (empagliflozin) and Farxiga (dapagliflozin) are two of the most popular diabetes medications prescribed today and are part of a class of drugs known as SGLT2 inhibitors.

Medications such as Jardiance and Farxiga were initially hailed by the medical community because of their effectiveness in lowering hemoglobin A1C levels, a primary measure of blood sugar control. Their mechanism of action disables the action of a protein known as sodium glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2), which occurs mainly in the kidneys and plays a significant role in maintaining normal blood sugar levels.

The function of SGLT2 is to facilitate the re-absorption of excess glucose in the kidneys, after which it is re-released into the bloodstream. By disabling the action of SGLT2, excess blood sugar is passed through the urine, thus lowering glucose levels. Medical scientists believe this mechanism of action is what raises the risk of Fournier's Gangrene.

Other serious side effects that have been associated with the use of SGLT2 inhibitors such as Jardiance and Farxiga include amputations, kidney damage, and ketoacidosis.

 

Are Farxiga and Jardiance the Same Drug

Although both Farxiga (dapagliflozin) and Jardiance (empagliflozin) are members of the same pharmaceutical class and are associated with many of the same health risks, the two drugs have slightly different formulas. Therefore, some of the side effects are different.

For example, patients who have taken Farxiga have reported:

  1. hyperphosphatemia (high levels of phosphorus in the blood)
  2. pain in the back and extremities
  3. predisposition to colds and flu

Those who take Jardiance have suffered from:

  1. joint pain and inflammation
  2. respiratory tract infections

It appears the risk of cardiovascular disease is lower among patients taking Jardiance compared to those who have been prescribed Farxiga and other SGLT2 inhibitors.

 

Farron Cousins and Attorney Alex Taylor Discuss SGLT2 and Fournier's Gangrene

 
Watch More Videos
 

FDA and Scientific Studies Regarding Farxiga and Jardiance Link to Fournier’s Gangrene

FDA Research Banner

Fournier Gangrene Associated With Sodium–Glucose Cotransporter-2 Inhibitors: A Review of Spontaneous Postmarketing Cases

Use of sodium–glucose cotransporter-2 (SGLT2) inhibitors has been associated with Fournier gangrene (FG), a rare urologic emergency characterized by necrotizing infection of the external genitalia, perineum, and perianal region. To read more, click Annals of Internal Medicine

FDA warns about rare occurrences of a serious infection of the genital area with SGLT2 inhibitors for diabetes

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is warning that cases of a rare but serious infection of the genitals and area around the genitals have been reported with the class of type 2 diabetes medicines called sodium-glucose cotransporter-2 (SGLT2) inhibitors. This serious rare infection, called necrotizing fasciitis of the perineum, is also referred to as Fournier’s gangrene. We are requiring a new warning about this risk to be added to the prescribing information of all SGLT2 inhibitors and to the patient Medication Guide. To read more, click FDA Drug Safety Communication