Exactech Lawsuit - استدعاء وتعويض وتسويات

تدعي دعاوى Exactech القضائية أن الأشخاص الذين لديهم بدائل معينة من غرسات Exactech Inc. يحتاجون إلى إجراءات إضافية لإصلاح الضرر الذي يمكن أن تسببه الأجهزة المعيبة.

يقوم محامو مسؤولية المنتجات في شركة المحاماة لدينا بالتحقيق في هذه الحالات وقبولها.

نحن نتعامل مع قضايا المسؤولية القانونية عن المنتجات منذ عام 1955. وفي كل عام ، نقوم بتعليم 1,500 محامٍ كيفية التعامل مع هذه القضايا بنجاح. نحن مُدرجون في قائمة أفضل المحامين في أمريكا وقاعة مشاهير محامي المحاكمة الوطنية.

 

ماذا نعرف عن دعاوى Exactech؟

أصدرت Exactech عمليات سحب ضخمة لبعض أجهزة استبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك.

حشوات UHMWPE للركبة والكاحل من Exactech

في 7 فبراير 2022 ، أرسلت Exactech رسالة التصحيح العاجل للأجهزة الطبية إشعار لجراحي الركبة والكاحل والمستشفيات والمتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية. يُعلم الإشعار القراء بأن الشركة قد وسعت عملية الاستدعاء الخاصة بها في 31 أغسطس 2021 لتشمل "جميع إدخالات البولي إيثيلين في الركبة والكاحل المعبأة في أكياس غير مطابقة بغض النظر عن الملصق أو مدة الصلاحية."

وفقًا لـ Exactech ، تم تغليف الملحقات المصنعة منذ عام 2004 في أكياس مفرغة من الهواء غير مطابقة. على الرغم من أن الأكياس مقاومة للأكسجين ، إلا أنها لا تحتوي على طبقة حاجزة ثانوية من كحول الإيثيلين فينيل (EVOH). الغرض من EVOH هو تعزيز مقاومة الجهاز للأكسجين.

نتيجة لهذه المقاومة المنخفضة ، ينتشر الأكسجين إلى مادة البولي إيثيلين عالية الوزن الجزيئي (UHMWPE) ، مما يتسبب في زيادة أكسدة المادة ، مقارنةً بالإدخالات المعبأة مع طبقة الحاجز الثانوية.

يمكن أن يتسبب الأكسجين المضاف في تدهور UHMWPE ، مما يؤدي إلى ما يلي:

  1. تسريع إنتاج حطام التآكل
  2. فقدان العظام
  3. تفكك خلايا العظام (تحلل)
  4. الم
  5. تخفيف
  6. تكسير / إجهاد المكونات
  7. جراحة المراجعة التصحيحية اللازمة

يوفر الغذاء والدواء (FDA) صنفت الاستدعاء على أنه استدعاء من الدرجة الثانية.

تم إنتاج حوالي 147,732 إدخالًا مزروعًا في الولايات المتحدة منذ عام 2004 مع عبوات غير مطابقة ، وفقًا لإشعار Exactech. يشمل الاستدعاء جميع مكونات Exactech Knee and Ankle UHMWPE غير المطابقة في الحقل ، بغض النظر عن مدة الصلاحية.

تم نصح الجراحين بتجنب زرع البدائل غير المطابقة.

قامت Exactech بنشر ملف قائمة الأجهزة ورموز المنتجات والأوصاف والأرقام التسلسلية المتأثرة. تشمل الأجهزة التي تم سحبها من أجهزة Exactech أنظمة الركبة والكاحل التالية:

  1. Optetrak: 60,926 وحدة مزروعة منذ عام 2004
  2. Optetrak Logic: 60,518 وحدة مزروعة منذ عام 2004
  3. Truliant استبدال الركبة: 24,727 وحدة مزروعة منذ عام 2004
  4. أفضلية زراعة الكاحل: 1,561 وحدة مزروعة منذ عام 2004

استبدال الورك Connexion GXL

علاوة على عمليات استدعاء جهاز الركبة والكاحل ، واجهت Exactech مشاكل مماثلة مع أجهزة استبدال مفصل الورك.

في 28 يونيو 2021 ، أرسلت الشركة رسالة الاتصالات المهنية الصحية العاجلة للجراحين والمستشفيات والمتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية. ذكرت الرسالة أن نسبة مئوية من مرضى Connexion GXL قد عانوا من التآكل الذي أدى إلى انحلال العظم الفخذي والحقي.

شمل هذا الاستدعاء حوالي 90,000 عملية استبدال مفصل الورك باستخدام Exactech Connexion GLX Liners.

 

قد لا يعرف مرضى استبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك شيئًا عن الاسترجاع

لم تقم Exactech بإخطار الأفراد الذين تم استرجاعهم للركبة أو الكاحل أو الورك بشكل مباشر. بدلاً من ذلك ، قدمت الشركة نموذجًا لخطاب الجراحين الذين طُلب منهم إرسال الرسالة إلى أي مريض ربما يكون قد تأثر بسبب الأجهزة الطبية المعيبة.

إذا انتقل المريض ، أو تقاعد الجراح أو فشل ببساطة في إرسال أي إخطار ، فلن يكون لدى هذا المريض أي وسيلة لمعرفة أن بدائلهم يمكن أن يتسببوا في إصابة أو ضرر.

يمكن لمتلقي استبدال الكاحل والركبة والورك الزيارة أداة Exactech على الإنترنت لتحديد ما إذا كان قد تم استدعاء استبدالهم. ستحتاج إلى إدخال الرقم التسلسلي لجهازك ، والذي يمكن العثور عليه في سجلاتك الطبية.

 

Exactech الإصابات والآثار الجانبية

يمكن أن يؤدي التدهور المبكر لاستبدال الركبة أو الكاحل أو الورك في Exactech إلى سلسلة من المشكلات الطبية.

الزليل

يشير التهاب الغشاء المفصلي إلى حالة طبية تتميز بالتهاب الغشاء الزليلي الذي يبطن المفاصل في جسم الإنسان. الانتفاخ يسبب الألم ، خاصةً عندما يتعلق الأمر بحركة المفصل. إذا استمر التهاب الغشاء المفصلي لفترة طويلة ، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تنكس المفصل المصاب.

تشمل علامات التهاب الغشاء المفصلي وجود عقيدات أو كتل صلبة وتورم مصحوبًا بألم أو إيلام في المفاصل.

انحلال العظم في العظام

انحلال العظم هو عملية مرضية تقوم فيها ناقضات العظم بتكسير أنسجة العظام بشكل فعال ، وإطلاق المعادن ودفع الكالسيوم إلى الانتقال من أنسجة العظام إلى الدم. تظهر هذه الحالة غالبًا بالقرب من طرف اصطناعي أو استبدال مفصل صناعي ، بما في ذلك استبدال الركبة والورك بالكامل.

في حالة استبدال الأجهزة ، يحاول الجسم تنظيف جزيئات التآكل المعدنية أو البلاستيكية من الكرة الاصطناعية ووصلة التجويف. يبدأ الجهد برد فعل مناعي ذاتي يؤدي إلى ارتشاف أنسجة العظام الحية. في النهاية ، يمكن أن يتسبب انحلال العظم الناتج عن الأجهزة البديلة في إصابة متلقي الغرسة بكسور في العظام و / أو ارتخاء في الغرسة.

يمكن أن تبدأ هذه العملية في غضون اثني عشر شهرًا من زرع استبدال الركبة أو الكاحل أو الورك وعادة ما تكون تقدمية وتتطلب استبدال الطرف الاصطناعي أثناء جراحة المراجعة.

مراجعة الغرسة مع ملحق بديل

على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة لا تحتفظ بسجل لاستبدال المفاصل ، إلا أن المراجعة عالية المستوى لبيانات التسجيل (المقدمة من Exactech) من أستراليا ونيوزيلندا والمملكة المتحدة تكشف عن معدل فشل كبير في عمليات زرع الركبة من Exactech:

أستراليا: معدل مراجعة الركبة 10٪ ، بما في ذلك 374 مراجعة من أصل 3,684،XNUMX من عمليات استبدال الركبة Exactech Optetrak المتأثرة بمكون البولي إيثيلين. زاد سبب تآكل البولي إيثيلين في المراجعات من ثلاثة إلى سبعة أضعاف في Optetrak-PS / Optetrak (التركيبة الأكثر شيوعًا لاستبدال الركبة بالكامل)

المملكة المتحدة: أظهر نظام Exactech Optetrak TKR الذي يستخدم المكون الفخذي الصليبي زيادة ملحوظة إحصائيًا في معدلات المراجعة التراكمية

نيوزيلندا: 63 إجراءً إجماليًا لمراجعة الركبة من أصل 661 عملية استبدال أساسية للركبة من Optetrak وزيادة مضاعفة في معدل المراجعة مقارنة بجميع عمليات استبدال الركبة الأولية الأخرى

تنصح Exactech الجراحين بالحفاظ على مؤشر الشك لمرضى استبدال الركبة والكاحل الذين يبلغون عن الأعراض التالية:

  1. ألم جديد أو متفاقم
  2. عدم القدرة على تحمل الوزن
  3. طحن أو ضوضاء أخرى
  4. تورم
  5. عدم استقرار في الركبة أو الكاحل

يُنصح الجراحون أيضًا بمراقبة المرضى المصابين عن كثب من أجل:

  1. تآكل محتمل
  2. انحلال العظم
  3. أوضاع الفشل المرتبطة

إذا اشتبه الجراح في فشل جهاز استبدال المفصل ، توصي Exactech الجراح بإجراء أشعة سينية. تنصح الشركة بعدم الإزالة الوقائية لأجهزة Exactech للركبة والكاحل إذا كان الجهاز يعمل ولا يعاني المريض من الألم.

في حالة اكتشاف وجود تآكل سابق لأوانه من البولي إيثيلين ، توصي Exactech الجراحين بالنظر في إجراء جراحة مراجعة بما يتماشى مع حكمهم السريري.

 

مستوطنات الدعوى Exactech

يجب أن تدرك أن Exactech قد احتفظت بخدمات شركة تعديل التسوية ، Broadspire ، للتعامل مع تعويض المطالبات للأفراد الذين يشاركون في هذه العملية. تظهر تفاصيل كيفية تقديم مطالبة على موقع Exactech الإلكتروني.

يرجى العلم ، مع ذلك ، أن Exactech تؤكد أنها ستغطي فقط "المصروفات الشخصية" للمطالبين. لن تمنحك الشركة فحصًا مجانيًا أو إجراء استبدال. بدلاً من ذلك ، ستحتاج إلى تغطية هذه النفقات بنفسك وتجاوز أصابعك أن Exactech سوف تعوضك.

علاوة على ذلك ، من الممكن أن يؤدي تقديم مطالبة استدعاء Exactech بهذه الطريقة إلى فقدان حقوق مهمة في أي مطالبة مستقبلية قد ترغب في متابعتها.

ننصحك بشدة بالتحدث إلى محامينا قبل التواصل مع Exactech أو Broadspire.

 

ما هو التعويض الذي يمكن استرداده في دعوى قضائية من شركة Exactech؟

يمكن أن تغطي تسوية سحب الركبة والكاحل والورك من Exactech ما يلي:

  1. أي علاج طبي ، بما في ذلك تكاليف الجراحة ، بعد فشل استبدال جهازك
  2. المصاريف الطبية (الماضية والمستقبلية)
  3. الألم والمعاناة (الماضية والمستقبلية) الناتجة عن الإصابات والعلاج والشفاء
  4. أجور ضائعة (في الماضي والمستقبل)
  5. فقدان القدرة على الكسب
  6. فقدان التمتع بالحياة (الماضي والمستقبل)
  7. الأضرار العقابية المحتملة

يوفر محامي مسؤولية المنتج في Levin Papantonio Rafferty ستعمل على منحك أقصى تعويض مالي عن الخسائر التي تكبدتها نتيجة لاستبدال الركبة أو الكاحل أو الورك المعيب من Exactech.

 
 
لماذا اختيار مكتبنا القانون

منذ عام 1955 ، كان مكتبنا القانوني يتولى قضايا الإصابات الشخصية ويكافح من أجل تعويض الأضرار لعملائنا. لقد اكتسبنا سمعة طيبة كشركة وطنية رائدة في الدعاوى القضائية المتعلقة بإصابات الأجهزة الطبية.

نتج عن التزامنا وخبرتنا أكثر من 150 حكماً من قبل هيئة المحلفين بقيمة مليون دولار أو أكثر. أسفرت انتصاراتنا عن أحكام هيئة المحلفين وتسويات بلغ مجموعها أكثر من 1 مليارات دولار.

حتى المحامين الآخرين يبحثون عن معرفتنا. بصفتنا مؤسس المؤتمر الوطني السنوي Mass Torts Made Perfect ، نرحب بـ 1,500 محامٍ لمعرفة كيفية تعامل شركة المحاماة لدينا مع الدعاوى القضائية ضد شركات الأجهزة الطبية مثل Exactech.

تعرف على المزيد حول نجاحاتنا في من نحن قسم من موقعنا على الانترنت.

 
ماذا تتوقع في الرسوم والتكاليف والاستشارة

لن يتم محاسبتك على تقييم حالتك السرية. هذه خدمة مجانية نقدمها حتى نتمكن من فهم قضيتك بشكل أفضل وإبلاغك بخياراتك القانونية للحصول على تعويض.

أيضًا ، يرجى ملاحظة أن شركتنا تعمل مقابل رسوم طوارئ. هذا يعني أنه إذا قمنا بتمثيلك في الدعوى القضائية لاستبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك من Exactech ، فلن نفرض عليك أي رسوم قانونية أو تكاليف أخرى ما لم تسترد التعويض.

إذا استعدنا تعويضًا لك ، فسنخصم رسوم طوارئ (بين 20٪ و 40٪ من المبلغ الذي تسترده) لتغطية رسومنا القانونية. اقرأ المزيد عن الرسوم والتكاليف.

 
تواصل معنا

اتصل بنا اليوم للحصول على تقييم مجاني وسري للحالة على (800) 277-1193 أو عن طريق استكمال وتقديم نموذج تقييم استبدال مفصل الركبة والكاحل والورك مجانًا وسري.

 

ما هو الغرض من استبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك؟

تهدف جراحة استبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك إلى تخفيف الألم واستعادة وظائف مفاصل الركبة والكاحل والورك المتضررة أو المصابة. يختلف الإجراء الخاص بكل عملية استبدال مفصل.

تقويم المفاصل (استبدال الركبة)

إلى مايو كلينكعادةً ما يقوم الأشخاص الذين خضعوا لجراحة استبدال الركبة بذلك لتخفيف الألم الناجم عن هشاشة العظام ، والذي يمكن أن يكون شديدًا. يمكن أن يجعل هذا الألم من الصعب على هؤلاء الأفراد المشي والصعود والنهوض من الكراسي وصعود السلالم. في بعض الحالات ، يستمر الألم حتى عندما يكون الفرد مستريحًا.

في إجراء الاستبدال ، يقوم الجراحون بقطع العظام والغضاريف التالفة من عظم الفخذ وعظم الساق والرضفة. يتم استبدال المواد المزالة بطرف اصطناعي - وهو مفصل صناعي يتكون من سبائك معدنية ومواد بلاستيكية عالية الجودة وبوليمرات.

تقويم مفصل الكاحل الكلي (استبدال الكاحل)

كما هو الحال مع استبدال الركبة ، فإن الأشخاص الذين خضعوا لجراحة استبدال الكاحل يقومون بذلك لتخفيف آلام الكاحل المصابة بالتهاب المفاصل. إذا كانت الأدوية المضادة للالتهابات أو المشابك أو حقن الكورتيزون لا توفر الراحة الكافية ، فيمكن للمريض متابعة عملية دمج الكاحل ، حيث يقوم الجراح بربط العظام التالفة معًا ، مما يسمح لها بالاندماج في عظم واحد أثناء الشفاء. مايو كلينك تشير التقارير إلى أن هذا العلاج يمكن أن يكون فعالًا في تسكين الآلام ، ولكنه يمكن أن يقلل من حركة مفصل الكاحل ، مما قد يؤدي إلى التهاب المفاصل في المفاصل المجاورة.

بدلاً من ذلك ، من خلال جراحة استبدال الكاحل ، يقوم الجراح بإزالة أطراف العظام التالفة للفرد واستبدالها بمفصل اصطناعي مكون من المعدن والبلاستيك. يحتفظ المريض بقدرته على تحريك الكاحل ، مما يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالتهاب المفاصل في المفاصل المحيطة.

تقويم مفصل الورك (استبدال مفصل الورك)

تشمل المحفزات الشائعة لجراحة استبدال مفصل الورك أمراضًا ، مثل هشاشة العظام والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ، بالإضافة إلى تنخر العظم (عندما تموت أجزاء العظام بسبب انخفاض إمدادات الدم). يمكن أن تؤدي الكسور والكسور من السقوط أيضًا إلى طلب الراحة والعمل من تقويم مفصل الورك.

كواحد من أكبر مفاصل الجسم ، يتكون مفصل الورك الكروي والمقبس من "كرة" في الطرف العلوي لعظم الفخذ (رأس الفخذ) تتناسب مع "تجويف" عظم الورك (الحُق) في الحوض.

تتضمن جراحة استبدال مفصل الورك قيام الجراح بعمل شق لإزالة العظام والغضاريف التالفة أو المريضة من مفصل الورك. ثم يتم استبدال رأس الفخذ والحُق بقطع من المعدن والبلاستيك و / أو السيراميك الصناعي.

 

الجدول الزمني المهم لقضايا Exactech

1985: تأسست Exactech.

2018: تندمج Exactech مع شركتها الأم الحالية ، TPG Capital ، وهي شركة استثمار وأسهم خاصة كانت تُعرف سابقًا باسم Texas Pacific Group.

2004: بدأت شركة Exactech في تغليف العبوات في أكياس مفرغة من الهواء غير مطابقة والتي تفتقر إلى طبقة حاجز ثانوية من كحول الإيثيلين فينيل (EVOH). بدون استخدام EVOH لزيادة مقاومة الأكسجين المدخلة ، كانت الأجهزة عرضة للأكسدة والتآكل المبكر عند الزرع.

يونيو 28، 2021: تستدعي Exactech أجهزة استبدال مفصل الورك من Connexion GXL بعد أن أبلغ المرضى عن تآكل مبكر للبدائل بسبب الأكسدة الناتجة عن عبوة غير مطابقة للأجهزة.

أغسطس شنومكس، شنومكس: تبدأ Exactech في استدعاء إدراج البولي إيثيلين في الركبة والكاحل بسبب تقارير مماثلة عن التآكل المبكر للأجهزة ، ولكنها تقيد الاسترجاع لملصقات محددة ومعلمات العمر الافتراضي.

7 فبراير، 2022: توسع Exactech فترة استدعاء أغسطس لاستبدال الركبة والكاحل لتشمل جميع إدخالات البولي إيثيلين الخاصة بالركبة والكاحل والمعبأة في أكياس غير مطابقة بغض النظر عن الملصق أو مدة الصلاحية.

 

إدارة الغذاء والدواء والدراسات العلمية المتعلقة باستبدال الركبة والكاحل والورك

الاستبدال الكامل لمفصل الكاحل والركبة والورك: كيف يدرك المرضى نتائجهم الجراحية في عمر 10 سنوات؟

تهدف هذه الدراسة إلى مقارنة النتائج التي أبلغ عنها المريض بين الاستبدال الكلي للكاحل (TAR) ، والاستبدال الكلي للركبة (TKR) ، ومجموعات مرضى استبدال مفصل الورك الكلي (THR) في سنة واحدة وخمس سنوات و 10 سنوات. خلص الباحثون إلى أن المرضى كانوا سعداء بنفس القدر بنتائج TAR الخاصة بهم ، مقارنةً ببدائل المفاصل الأخرى. اقراء المزيد على جراحة عظام القدم والكاحل (6 يوليو 2021)

معدل مراجعة تراكمي أعلى لعمليات رأب مفصل الركبة لدى المرضى الأصغر سنًا المصابين بهشاشة العظام

كان الغرض من هذه الدراسة هو اختبار ما إذا كان المرضى الأصغر سنًا الذين يتلقون TKR بسبب هشاشة العظام يعانون من انخفاض معدل بقاء الزرع مقارنةً بالمرضى الأكبر سنًا. أشار البحث إلى أن المرضى الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 60 عامًا لديهم مخاطر أعلى للمراجعة المبكرة مقارنة بالمرضى الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 60 عامًا. جراحة العظام السريرية والبحوث ذات الصلة (أبريل 2004)

انحلال العظام: الأساليب الطبية والجراحية

يستكشف الباحثون الحالة الطبية لانحلال العظم ، وهو تفكك تدريجي للأنسجة العظمية يمكن أن يؤدي إلى "ارتخاء معقم وفشل كارثي" للزرع. تحدد الدراسة عوامل متعددة: العوامل الجراحية ، والمضيف ، والطرف الاصطناعي ، وتصف كيفية تشتت جزيئات التآكل على طول مساحة المفصل في العظام وفي جميع أنحاء الأنسجة الرخوة القريبة. وفقًا لهذه الورقة ، لا يعاني المرضى عادةً من أعراض حتى يتقدم فقدان العظام إلى النقطة التي تفقد فيها الغرسة أو تفشل. اقراء المزيد على جراحة العظام السريرية والبحوث ذات الصلة (أكتوبر 2004)

دور التهاب الغشاء المفصلي في التسبب في هشاشة العظام

تتعمق هذه الدراسة في حالة التهاب المفاصل (OA) ، وهو أكثر أمراض التهاب المفاصل انتشارًا وسببًا شائعًا للإعاقة. على وجه التحديد ، يستكشف الباحثون الأدلة الحديثة على أن تأثيرات الزراعة العضوية تمتد إلى ما بعد الغضروف المفصلي ، لتشمل سلامة أنسجة المفاصل المتعددة. هذا يعطي الاعتراف بأن الزراعة العضوية هو مرض "مشترك كامل". تركز المراجعة على تأثير التهاب الغشاء المفصلي (التهاب زليلي) في التهاب المفاصل. اقراء المزيد على العظام (أغسطس 2012)

Exactech Lawsuit - Recall, Compensation & Settlements

The Exactech knee, ankle, and hip recall lawsuits claim that people who have had certain replacements from Exactech Inc. implanted require additional procedures to repair the damage the defective devices caused.

Our law firm’s product liability attorneys are investigating these cases.

We have been handling product liability lawsuits since 1955. Each year, we teach 1,500 attorneys how to successfully handle these cases. We are listed in Best Lawyers in America and The National Trial Lawyers Hall of Fame.

 

What Do We Know About The Exactech Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Lawsuits?

Exactech has issued massive recalls for some of its knee, ankle, and hip replacement devices.

Exactech Knee and Ankle UHMWPE Inserts

On February 7, 2022, Exactech sent an Urgent Medical Device Correction notice to knee and ankle surgeons, hospitals, and healthcare professionals. The notice informs readers that the company has expanded its August 31, 2021, recall to include “all knee and ankle arthroplasty polyethylene inserts packaged in non-conforming bags regardless of label or shelf life.”

According to Exactech, inserts manufactured since 2004 were packaged in non-conforming vacuum bags. Although the bags are oxygen resistant, they do not feature a secondary barrier layer of ethylene vinyl alcohol (EVOH). The purpose of EVOH is to bolster the device’s resistance to oxygen.

As a result of this lowered resistance, oxygen diffuses to the ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) insert, causing increased oxidation of the material, as compared with inserts packaged with the secondary barrier layer.

The added oxygen can cause degradation of the UHMWPE, prompting the following:

  1. Accelerated wear debris production
  2. Bone loss
  3. Disintegration of bone cells (lysis)
  4. Pain
  5. Loosening
  6. Component fatigue cracking/fracture
  7. Necessary corrective revision surgery

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) classified the recall as a Class II recall.

Around 147,732 inserts implanted in the U.S. since 2004 were produced with non-conforming packaging, according to Exactech’s notice. The recall comprises all non-conforming Exactech Knee and Ankle UHMWPE inserts in the field, regardless of shelf life.

Surgeons have been advised to avoid implanting nonconforming replacements.

Exactech has published an online list of affected devices, products codes, descriptions, and serial numbers. Recalled devices include those from the following Exactech knee and ankle systems:

  1. Optetrak: 60,926 implanted units since 2004
  2. Optetrak Logic: 60,518 implanted units since 2004
  3. Truliant Knee Replacement: 24,727 implanted units since 2004
  4. Vantage Ankle Implants: 1,561 implanted units since 2004

Connexion GXL Hip Replacement

On top of these knee and ankle device recalls, Exactech has experienced similar problems with its hip replacement devices.

On June 28, 2021, the company sent an Urgent Healthcare Professional Communication to surgeons, hospitals, and healthcare professionals. The letter stated that a percentage of Connexion GXL patients had experienced wear that led to proximal femoral and acetabular osteolysis.

This recall involved around 90,000 hip replacements with Exactech Connexion GLX Liners.

 

Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Patients Might Not Know About the Recall

Exactech has not directly notified individuals who received the recalled knee, ankle, or hip replacements. Rather, the company provided a template letter for surgeons who were requested to send the letter to any patient who might have been impacted by the defective medical devices.

If a patient moved, or their surgeon retired or simply failed to send out any notification, that patient would have no way of knowing their replacements could cause injury or harm.

Ankle, knee, and hip replacement recipients can visit Exactech’s online tool to determine whether their replacement has been recalled. You will need to enter the serial number of your device, which can be found in your medical records.

 

Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Injuries & Side Effects

The premature degradation of Exactech’s knee, ankle, or hip replacements can prompt a series of medical problems.

Synovitis

Synovitis refers to a medical condition characterized by inflammation of the synovial membrane, which lines the joints in the human body. The swelling causes pain, especially in association with movement of the joint. If synovitis persists long term, it can result in the affected joint’s degeneration.

Signs of synovitis include the presence of nodules, or hard lumps, and swelling, along with joint pain or tenderness.

Osteolysis of the Bone

Osteolysis is a pathological process in which osteoclasts actively break down bone tissue, releasing minerals and prompting calcium to transfer from bone tissue to the blood. This condition often manifests near a prosthesis or artificial joint replacement, including total knee and hip replacements.

In the case of replacement devices, the body tries to clean up metal or plastic wear particles from the artificial ball and socket joint. The effort initiates an autoimmune reaction that triggers resorption of living bone tissue. Ultimately, osteolysis brought on by replacement devices can cause an implant recipient to suffer broken bones and/or loosening of the implant.

This process can commence within twelve months of the knee, ankle, or hip replacement implantation and is typically progressive, requiring that the prosthesis to be replaced during a revision surgery.

Revision of the Implant With a Replacement Insert

Although the U.S. does not maintain a registry for joint replacement, a high-level review of registry data (provided by Exactech) from Australia, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom reveals a significant failure rate of Exactech’s knee implants:

Australia: 10% knee revision rate, including 374 revisions out of 3,684 Exactech Optetrak knee replacements impacted by the polyethylene component. The cause of polyethylene wear in revisions increased three- to seven-fold in Optetrak-PS/Optetrak (the most popular combination of total knee replacements)

U.K: Exactech Optetrak TKR System using the cruciate-retaining femoral component showed statistically significant increased cumulative revision rates

New Zealand: 63 total knee revision procedures out of 661 primary Optetrak total knee replacements and a two-fold increase in revision rate compared with all other primary total knee replacements

Exactech advises surgeons to maintain an index of suspicion for their knee and ankle replacement patients who report the following symptoms:

  1. New or worsening pain
  2. Inability to bear weight
  3. Grinding or other noise
  4. Swelling
  5. Instability in knee or ankle

Surgeons also have been advised to closely monitor affected patients for:

  1. Potential wear
  2. Osteolysis
  3. Associated failure modes

If a surgeon suspects that the joint replacement device has failed, Exactech recommends the surgeon perform X-rays. The company advises against the pre-emptive removal of Exactech knee and ankle devices if the device is functioning and the patient is not experiencing pain.

In the event that premature polyethylene wear is detected, Exactech recommends that surgeons consider revision surgery in line with their clinical judgment.

 

Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Lawsuit Settlements

You should be aware that Exactech has retained the services of a settlement adjusting company, Broadspire, to handle claims reimbursement for individuals who participate in this process. Details for how to file a claim appear on Exactech’s website.

Please know, however, that Exactech asserts it will cover only claimants’ “out-of-pocket expenses.” The company will not give you a free examination or replacement procedure. Rather, you would need to cover these expenses on your own and cross your fingers that Exactech will reimburse you.

Furthermore, it is possible that filing an Exactech recall claim in this manner could cause you to lose important rights in any future claim you might want to pursue.

We strongly advise you to talk to our attorneys before you reach out to Exactech or Broadspire.

 

What Compensation is Recoverable in an Exactech Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Lawsuit?

An Exactech knee, ankle, and hip recall settlement could cover the following:

  1. Any medical treatment, including surgery costs, after your device replacement device fails
  2. Medical expenses (past and future)
  3. Pain and suffering (past and future) resulting from injuries, treatment, and recovery
  4. Lost wages (past and future)
  5. Loss of earning capacity
  6. Loss of enjoyment of life (past and future)
  7. Possible punitive damages

The product liability attorneys at Levin Papantonio Rafferty will work to get you the maximum financial compensation for the losses you have suffered as a result of your defective Exactech knee, ankle, or hip replacement.

 
 
Why Choose Our Law Firm

Since 1955, our law firm has been taking on personal injury cases and fighting to recover damages for our clients. We have gained a reputation as a national leader in medical device injury lawsuits.

Our commitment and experience have generated more than 150 jury verdicts of $1 million or greater. Our victories have yielded jury verdicts and settlements totaling over $30 billion.

Even other attorneys seek out our knowledge. As the founder of the annual, national Mass Torts Made Perfect conference, we welcome 1,500 lawyers to learn how our law firm handles lawsuits against medical device companies like Exactech.

Learn more about our successes in the About Us section of our website.

 
What to Expect in Fees, Costs, and Consultation

You will not be charged for your confidential case evaluation. This is a free service we offer so we can better understand your case and inform you of your legal options for compensation.

Also, please note that our firm works on a contingency fee. This means that if we represent you in your Exactech knee, ankle, and hip replacements lawsuit, we will never charge you any legal fees or other costs unless and until you recover compensation.

If we recover compensation for you, we will deduct a contingency fee (between 20% and 40% of the amount you recover) to cover our legal fees. Read more about our fees and costs.

 
Contact Us

Call us today for a free, confidential case evaluation at (800) 277-1193 or by completing and submitting our Free & Confidential Exactech Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Evaluation Form.

 

What Is the Purpose of Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacements?

Knee, ankle, and hip replacement surgery aims to relieve pain and restore function in damaged or diseased knee, ankle, and hip joints. The procedure for each joint replacement varies.

Arthroplasty (Knee Replacement)

Per Mayo Clinic, people who have knee replacement surgery typically do so to relieve osteoarthritis-caused pain, which can be severe. This pain can make it difficult for these individuals to walk, get in and out of chairs, and climb stairs. In some cases, the pain persists even when the individual is resting.

In the replacement procedure, surgeons cut away damaged bone and cartilage from the patient’s thighbone, shinbone, and kneecap. The removed materials are replaced with a prosthesis—an artificial joint composed of metal alloys, high-grade plastics, and polymers.

Total Ankle Arthroplasty (Ankle Replacement)

As with knee replacements, people who undergo ankle replacement surgery do so to relieve the pain of an arthritic ankle. If anti-inflammatory medicines, braces, or cortisone injections do not provide adequate relief, a patient can pursue an ankle fusion, in which the surgeon fastens damaged bones together, allowing them to fuse into a single bone while healing. Mayo Clinic reports this treatment can be effective at pain relief, but it can reduce the mobility of the ankle joint, which can cause arthritis in nearby joints.

Alternatively, with an ankle replacement surgery, the surgeon removes the ends of the individual’s damaged bones and replaces them with an artificial joint composed of metal and plastic. The patient retains their ability to move the ankle, reducing the risk of arthritis in surrounding joints.

Hip Arthroplasty (Hip Replacement)

Common catalysts for hip replacement surgery include diseases, like osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis, as well as osteonecrosis (when bone parts die from a drop in blood supply). Breaks and fractures from falls could also lead an individual to seek relief and function from hip arthroplasty.

As one of the body’s largest joints, the hip’s ball-and socket joint consists of the “ball” at the upper end of the thigh bone (femoral head) fitting into the hip bone’s “socket” (acetabulum) in the pelvis.

The hip replacement surgery involves the surgeon making an incision to remove damaged or diseased bone and cartilage from the hip joint. The femoral head and acetabulum are then replaced with artificial metal, plastic, and/or ceramic pieces.

 

The Timeline Important to the Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacement Lawsuits

1985: Exactech is founded.

2018: Exactech merges with its current parent company, TPG Capital, an investment and private equity company formerly known as Texas Pacific Group.

2004: Exactech began packaging inserts in non-conforming vacuum bags that lacked a secondary barrier layer of ethylene vinyl alcohol (EVOH). Without EVOH to augment the inserts’ oxygen resistance, the devices were subject to oxidation and premature wear when implanted.

June 28, 2021: Exactech recalls Connexion GXL hip replacement devices after patients report premature wear of the replacements due to oxidation caused from a non-conforming packaging of the devices.

August 31, 2021: Exactech initiates a recall of knee and ankle arthroplasty polyethylene inserts due to similar reports of premature wear of the devices but restricts the recall to specific labels and shelf-life parameters.

February 7, 2022: Exactech expands the August recall for knee and ankle replacements to include all knee and ankle arthroplasty polyethylene inserts packaged in non-conforming bags regardless of label or shelf life.

 

FDA & Scientific Studies Regarding Knee, Ankle, and Hip Replacements

Total Joint Replacement of Ankle, Knee, and Hip: How Do Patients Perceive Their Operative Outcomes at 10 Years?

This study aims to compare patient-reported outcomes between total ankle replacement (TAR), total knee replacement (TKR), and total hip replacement (THR) patient groups at one, five, and 10 years. The researchers concluded that patients were equally happy with the outcomes of their TAR, as compared with other joint replacements. Read more at Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics (July 6, 2021)

Higher Cumulative Revision Rate of Knee Arthroplasties in Younger Patients with Osteoarthritis

The purpose of this study was to test whether younger patients receiving TKR for osteoarthritis experience a lower implant survival rate in comparison to older patients. The research indicated that patients under the age of 60 have a higher risk of early revision compared with patients over the age of 60. Read more at Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (April 2004)

Osteolysis: Medical and Surgical Approaches

Researchers explore the medical condition osteolysis, a progressive disintegration of bony tissue that can lead to “aseptic loosening and catastrophic failure” of an implant. The study identifies multiple factors: surgical factors, host, and prosthesis, describing how wear particles along the joint space are dispersed into bone and throughout nearby soft tissues. Per this paper, patients typically do not experience symptoms until bone loss has progress to a point where the implant loosens or fails. Read more at Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (October 2004)

The Role of Synovitis in Osteoarthritis pathogenesis

This study delves into the condition of osteoarthritis (OA), which is the most prevalent arthritic disease and a common cause of disability. Specifically, the researchers explore recent evidence that the effects of OA extend beyond articular cartilage, to include the integrity of multiple joint tissues. This lends to the acknowledgment that OA is a “whole joint” disease. The review centers on the effect of synovitis (synovial inflammation) in OA. Read more at Bone (August 2012)